Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Message To Fans of English Teams

• 31-08-2007 7:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

Basically I think that all Irish people should support Celtic as they are a great club with a strong Irish identity. In northern ireland thats the case. They have held onto their Irishness and haven't started supporting teams in a country that used to send its troops over to shoot civilians and intern innocent people.

Go to parkhead and be with your own people. Don't worship England and everything English. When you support Celtic you are following a team that you have a claim to, a team that plays in Scotland but is Irish to core. Was started by the Irish for the Irish and has turf from Donegal planted in it whenever there is a new stadium.

In wednesdays Champions league qualifier, the club had a 10ft Tricolour waved on the track behind the goal. In Seville there were more tricolours than Porto fans. Why choose Spurs over a team like this? Have you no patriotism?

There is a huge amount of bigotry in scotland and people with Irish roots have had to put up with so much for many many years. We have stayed proud of our Irish parents and grandparents and proudly sung in defiance against the bigots.

We have united as Celtic fans and have held the tricolour high when there was so much adversity against the Irish in Britain. Personally I have endured years of 'fenian bastard' and 'mickey tim'.

We thought that we had the support of Ireland behind us, but it appears that that is not the case. It appears that the vast majority couldn't give a toss, which is a real shame. They would rather pander to the cash rich English Premiership who are doing what the English have always done - building an empire than robs from the rest of the British Isles.

Ok, we dont play in a fancy league or sign world famous players. We still fill a 62000 stadium each week and took more suporters to a european final than Manchester and Liverpool combined. But we are an Irish club that every one of you has a claim to, and I think that its a real shame that so many dont seem to appreciate that.

I'm not saying you shouldn't support your local team. I think everyone should do that. I just think that if you want to follow a bigger European side you should look to the green, white and gold of Celtic and not the Union Jack of a premiership side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Ok, will do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

How about you stop Irish people speaking English and watching English TV shows before you get them to stop supporting English football teams?

Dumb thread.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

How is this thread any different from the other Celtic thread?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

How about people support who they want...?and by the way your not meant to talk about football in after hours thats why we have a soccer forum.

zaph wrote:
    How is this thread any different from the other Celtic thread?

He intones it slightly different. The other one had an air of melancholy to his writing, while this one has an air of being a spamming goober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Don't get me started on the Greeks though!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

He intones it slightly different. The other one had an air of melancholy to his writing, while this one has an air of being a spamming goober.

Now i know why you're a mod, I missed all that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Henrik7 wrote:
    Basically I think that all Irish people should support Celtic as they are a great club with a strong Irish identity.
    Or support clubs in Ireland, with an ACTUAL Irish identity.

Real life Irish clubs. Not some tinpot sham from Glasgow, pretending to be Irish with their green and white hoops, Shamrocks and all that other bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Henrik7

I can assure you I am not a spammer.

Although I sincerely think you should lighten up. Its an online message board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Such anti-Englishness....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Poppycock

Henrik7 wrote:
    I can assure you I am not a spammer.

You posted the same crap 3 times in the space of 5 minutes, what the hell do you call that but spam?

Durrrr.... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Henrik7 wrote:
    Basically I think that all Irish people should support Celtic as they are a great club with a strong Irish identity. In northern ireland thats the case. They have held onto their Irishness and haven't started supporting teams in a country that used to send its troops over to shoot civilians and intern innocent people.

Go to parkhead and be with your own people. Don't worship England and everything English. When you support Celtic you are following a team that you have a claim to, a team that plays in Scotland but is Irish to core. Was started by the Irish for the Irish and has turf from Donegal planted in it whenever there is a new stadium.

In wednesdays Champions league qualifier, the club had a 10ft Tricolour waved on the track behind the goal. In Seville there were more tricolours than Porto fans. Why choose Spurs over a team like this? Have you no patriotism?

There is a huge amount of bigotry in scotland and people with Irish roots have had to put up with so much for many many years. We have stayed proud of our Irish parents and grandparents and proudly sung in defiance against the bigots.

We have united as Celtic fans and have held the tricolour high when there was so much adversity against the Irish in Britain. Personally I have endured years of 'fenian bastard' and 'mickey tim'.

We thought that we had the support of Ireland behind us, but it appears that that is not the case. It appears that the vast majority couldn't give a toss, which is a real shame. They would rather pander to the cash rich English Premiership who are doing what the English have always done - building an empire than robs from the rest of the British Isles.

Ok, we dont play in a fancy league or sign world famous players. We still fill a 62000 stadium each week and took more suporters to a european final than Manchester and Liverpool combined. But we are an Irish club that every one of you has a claim to, and I think that its a real shame that so many dont seem to appreciate that.

I'm not saying you shouldn't support your local team. I think everyone should do that. I just think that if you want to follow a bigger European side you should look to the green, white and gold of Celtic and not the Union Jack of a premiership side.

Shut up.

Anyhow, I support Liverpool. The city of Liverpool has always had plenty of Irish connections.

I would hazzard to guess that far more Irish people have gone to Liverpool (and London for that matter) than Glasgow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Henrik7 wrote:
    Its an online message board.
    What?! :confused:

So there's no need for this carrier pigeon i've been sending back and forth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've been to Celtic Park six times, did the stadium tour and have several jerseys.
    In fact, our supporters club is the largest outside Dublin and Cork and very successful.

Despite all this I'm taking a break this year after getting sick of all the sectarian nonsense that goes on at meetings.

I've heard Alan Maybury, an Irish international called an Orange bastard countless times for no other reason then he is Protestant and played for Hearts. Oh, he must be a "hun", don't you know

Many Celtic fans are convinced that Kop (like a stand in Anfield) stands for "King over Pope" so therefore Irish people have no business supporting Liverpool.
    Wikipaedia has a good article on thishere

I started supporting the club as Packie Bonner after Italia 90 was a childhood hero but this sectarian ****e turned me right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

basquille wrote:
    Don't get me started on the Greeks though!

ha Ha thats utterly brilliant:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

basquille wrote:
    What?! :confused:

So there's no need for this carrier pigeon i've been sending back in forth!

I shot that anyway! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Yeah, this is the 3rd time he has posted with the same subject body. SPAMMER!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Celtic Smeltic.
    We thought that we had the support of Ireland behind us, but it appears that that is not the case. It appears that the vast majority couldn't give a toss, which is a real shame.

No Irishman (I mean a proper Irishman, you know the type who is born and bred here) is contractually obliged to support any club anywhere.

That many happen to follow an English team be they big or small (you proberly don't know about kensutz who travels from Waterford to watch Norwich week in week out) is borne of exposure from a young age to the game in England while others may have family connections. Its not to be condemned or pitied.
    They would rather pander to the cash rich English Premiership who are doing what the English have always done - building an empire than robs from the rest of the British Isles.

This is just funny, the Prem is a global machine with players, managers, coaches, chief executives and owners and fans from all over the world. It looks outwards as you look at your navel.

You Rally round the flag bhoy. The rest of boards.ie does'nt have to.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The-Rigger wrote:
    Shut up.

Anyhow, I support Liverpool. The city of Liverpool has always had plenty of Irish connections.

Yeah but do you have any liverpool connections? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Henrik7 wrote:

Did I see a picture of you outside Croke Park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Bambi wrote:

Yes, I support them :)

They had some good Irish players when I began.

'the sports team from my area is superior to the sports team from your area'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

You sound very anti-English so I suggest you stop supporting Soccer then, since soccer is a well... ENGLISH sport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Henrik7 wrote:

Basically I think that all Irish people should support Celtic

Get a grip man, they're a british team, based in Britain.
    At best the have a scottish identity.
    Irish, no no no.

Support an Irish team, with actual Irish roots and identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Henrik7 wrote:
    I think everyone should do that. I just think that if you want to follow a bigger European side you should look to the green, white and gold of Celtic and not the Union Jack of a premiership side.

No gold in the Irish flag. Must have an association with some other country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

deswalsh wrote:
    Support an Irish team, with actual Irish roots and identity.

You mean Hibs? :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

wow the mod has really opened my eyes. I feel so enlightened!

i dont support an english club OP. :)

well, only cos i dont like club football. (from any country)

i hate celtic supporters

i happen to like england alot, especially london

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭gosimeon

The-Rigger wrote:
    Shut up.

I would hazzard to guess that far more Irish people have gone to Liverpool (and London for that matter) than Glasgow.

Anyhow, I support Kildare County FC. The County of Kildare has always had plenty of Irish connections.

I would hazard a guess far more Irish people have gone to Kildare than Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Bambi wrote:

Does everyone in Ireland have Glasgow connections?:confused:

Anyhoo this thread makes me want to support England as a protest

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

glasgow celtic....great irish team....my hole:rolleyes:

the last time i heard glasgow was in scotland...so that makes them scottish & british

anyway if they're so proud of their irish roots why don't they repatriate over here to ireland.

anyway the scottish league is pocksey...when was the last time a team other than celtic or rangers won the league??.......20yrs or so??

Stekelly wrote:
    Does everyone in Ireland have Glasgow connections?:confused:
    I certainly don't.

I do have Dublin connections, I'm from there. So I support a team from Dublin, they are called Shelbourne.

Go on Ste. I know you love me.

Are you from Liverpool?
    Stekelly wrote:
    Anyhoo this thread makes me want to support England as a protest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Henrik7 wrote:

Are you for real? Why don't you support an ACTUAL Irish football team which plays in this country than supporting a club outside it?
    IMO supporting a Scottish team is just as bad as supporting an English team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

He's a WUM, i wouldn't bother entertaining him.

SantryRed wrote:
    Are you for real? Why don't you support an ACTUAL Irish football team which plays in this country than supporting a club outside it?
    IMO supporting a Scottish team is just as bad as supporting an English team.
    Hey SantryReds.

Welcome to Boards.ie:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Anto McC wrote:
    He's a WUM, i wouldn't bother entertaining him.

And a WUM would be what??

Most stupid thread ever in any case.

Wind Up Merchant.

DesF wrote:
    I certainly don't.

I do have Dublin connections, I'm from there. So I support a team from Dublin, they are called Shelbourne.

Go on Ste. I know you love me.

Are you from Liverpool?

Sure am. lost my scouse accent on the boat when I puked due to seasickness.

In fairness des, if we are all to pick an EL team to support, we wont be looking in the 1st division, much less the Northside.:D

I'm fully prepared to walk 10 mins up the road when (if?) Rovers get that Stadium finished.

You'll be held to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Henrik7 wrote:

i was at Pats vs waterford tonight mad that 2 irish clubs and 1500 people at it , and you on here saying how irish people should support a scottish team.

How come you still posting here :confused:

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I love when people read the whole thread.

KdjaCL wrote:
    i was at Pats vs waterford tonight mad that 2 irish clubs and 1500 people at it , and you on here saying how irish people should support a scottish team.

How come you still posting here :confused:

kdjac

Was there a tall "heavyset" (no offence looney if your reading) doing a crossbar challenge at half time?

Apparently one of the lads was, but we were playing astrop at 7 so we couldnbt go along to watch him make a tit of himself.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

DesF wrote:
    Hey SantryReds.

Yeah was bored.Thought I'd join.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Rossibaby

i am a former barstool man u fan and thank god i've seen the light and support my own local eircom league side.i do follow uniteds results still,as i do celtics,but my local team above all else.im irish,proud to be,and i think supporting your local club is a lot more irish than supporting celtic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

DesF wrote:
    Hey SantryReds.

Welcome. Santry FTW.

Slow coach was born in Santry. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

How many "english" clubs can't field 11 foreign players ?
    How many aren't owned by johnny foreigner ? including those where shareholders are abroad
    How many need foreign coaches ?

If you remember that Irish, Scottish, and Welsh players aren't English and also remove people who aren't English by birth, are there any "English" teams left ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

How many "english" clubs can't field 11 foreign players ?
    How many aren't owned by johnny foreigner ? including those where shareholders are abroad
    How many need foreign coaches ?

If you remember that Irish, Scottish, and Welsh players aren't English and also remove people who aren't English by birth, are there any "English" teams left ?
    Rochdale ringers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Rossibaby

accrington stanley [in scouse accent]

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Norfolk N' Chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭lawhec

Did I see a picture of you outside Croke Park?
    <
    That guy there? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Rossibaby wrote:
    accrington stanley [in scouse accent]

"Accrington Stanley, who are they?!?!"
    "Exaccctly!"