Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Street in Dublin?

• 31-08-2007 11:45am
    Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭

Whats your fav Dublin Street?
    I like Wexford Street, it's got a bit of everything, pubs, cafes, street sellers, gym, some quirky shops etc etc. Not too up itself either. Needs a bit of work at the top on the west side, but a quality street if you will.

Too many for a poll but lets have some opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

oh man, Theres gonna be culchie mods all over this thread like its giving away free bottles of red lemonade in a minute :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

copacetic wrote:
    Whats your fav Dublin Street?
    I like Wexford Street, it's got a bit of everything, pubs, cafes, street sellers, gym, some quirky shops etc etc. Not too up itself either. Needs a bit of work at the top on the west side, but a quality street if you will.

Too many for a poll but lets have some opinions.
    Appently theres streets in Cork aswel.
    *everyone disapears with fright*

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Plug wrote:
    Appently theres streets in Cork aswel.
    *everyone disapears with fright*

really? maybe I should start a thread?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Bambi wrote:
    Theres gonna be culchie mods all over this thread like its giving away free bottles of red lemonade in a minute

Exsqueeese me, who are you calling a culchie mod?

copacetic wrote:
    really? maybe I should start a thread?
    yeah you should you started one about Dublin why not Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

benburb st is my favourite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

copacetic wrote:
    Not too up itself either.

How can a street be up itself?

Warsaw way is my favourite street.

Plug wrote:
    yeah you should you started one about Dublin why not Cork?

what did your last maid die of? you can't expect me to do everything around here..

Beruthiel wrote:
    Exsqueeese me, who are you calling a culchie mod?

I'm calling the mods who are also culchie's culchie mods. Its pretty self explanatory i would have thought. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

A whole 15 minutes and our country cousins haven't moved it to the Jackine forum :eek:

Biko and co are getting slow, or perhaps they now approve of us Dubs using AH to talk about "town".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Not a street as such, but I like the Ha'penny Bridge. It's got character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Ah they're all just jealous really !! We dubs being so great and all ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Bambi wrote:
    I'm calling the mods who are also culchie's culchie mods. Its pretty self explanatory i would have thought. :confused:

We prefer the term 'country folk' thanks muchly

Beruthiel wrote:
    Meh, you think Dubs care?

Anyone from outside the city limits is a culchie, simple as that.

It's also nice that this annoys them.

Exit wrote:
    How can a street be up itself?

i dunno, but the likes of dawson street manages it. It's all airs and graces..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Can we use Avenues? Or Roads? Does it have to be a street? City Centre or Suburbs?

Mount street is literally up itself..lower and upper run parallel to each other :confused:

DesF wrote:
    Meh, you think Dubs care?

It's also nice that this annoys them.

Don't forget the dulchies.

Beruthiel wrote:

Yeah, and i prefer the term "husky" but it doesnt change the fact that I'm a tubby little f****r.

Annways the other alternative to culchie is spud gobblin-bog hoppin-muck warriors and that's just a mouthful. :(

krazy_8s wrote:
    Can we use Avenues? Or Roads? Does it have to be a street? City Centre or Suburbs?

go nuts.

would have thought it'd be a busy street/road/ave/park/crescent/grove but anywhere will do.

The Crescent in Clontarf is a cool street.

It's where Dracula used to live.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

I prefer Camden Street - It is even less up its own arsé than Wexford Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Wicklow Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I like the one with all the hobo's on it....

Hill Billy wrote:
    I prefer Camden Street - It is even less up its own arsé than Wexford Street.

i will admit I was kind of combining them into one, basically from kevin street to harrington street was what I was thinking of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

M50

I like the one with all the hobo's on it....

the shop or the people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Essex street huh!

Always had a soft soft for marlborough street, its so not up its own arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

I love Grafton Street, I dunno why. Especially at Christmas when its all lit up.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

should this not be in the Dublin City forum?

moore st ftw

krazy_8s wrote:
    M50
    The fastest way out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

do any of you guys even know the definition of culchie???

For those that don't:
    Culchie = a person living outside the Pale who possesses a very low IQ.

I have seen Jacks calling Masters and PHD grads from Wicklow and Kildare "culchies" :rolleyes:

Getting back to the question at hand, Sackville street anyone :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭BrotherTotz

Plug wrote:
    The fastest way out!

Way out : Yes
    Fastest : God no

rossie1977 wrote:
    do any of you guys even know the definition of culchie???

For those that don't:
    Culchie = a person living outside the Pale who possesses a very low IQ.

I have seen Jacks calling Masters and PHD grads from Wicklow and Kildare "culchies" :rolleyes:

Everyone from outside the pale has a low IQ though.

So yeah, your definition holds up I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Fishamble street.

Johnson's court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

I used to love Dundrum Main street til it got ruined by the Dundrum Town Centre

Many a time I'd take a wander up and then end up at Crazy Prices to wonder at all the secret items hidden in boxes :) Them were the days!!!

Other than that? I love Johnson Court - It's that tiny little road the leads from Grafton Street to Powerscourt centre and has all the jewelers along it

I almost forgot.

Holles Street.

I was born there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

I take it as a compliment when I'm called a culchie or whatever. Simply because it implies i'm not a dub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Coke St.

Fellatio Terrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Yore ma's road. I'm disappointed in all of you because i had to step in ON PAGE 3 to do that. Hang your heads in shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

beans wrote:
    Coke St.

It's "Coke Lane" - bottom of Smithfield... Presume "Fellatio Terrace" is an attempt at humour...

Back on topic -

Foster Place beside Bank of Ireland, College Green, could be great - it's one of my favourites. Shame that BoI have closed the Arts Centre there :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

i dont like streets, i prefer roads, they're more friendly and i feel more comfortable walking on them....... jaysus what a dull topic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Lynibeth

Leeson's st. :D

Nah.. I dunno.. Eh.. Capel st.. All those sex shops and then there's the hemp shop and nirvana.. It's pretty cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

DesF wrote:
    Pale, outside the Pale.

Dawson st. for me thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭missmatty

Wexford & Camden Street ftw, I remember when there was nothing much going on there at all.

So if you've lived in Dublin for yonks and have 2 higher degrees are you still a culchie, is there a cut-0ff point or are you doomed by birth? :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I like the one with cobbles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Beruthiel wrote:
    I prefer the term muck savage.

My favourite road is st. Stevens green and the M4 headin wesht.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Patraick Street, The Grand Parade, Oliver Plunkett St - they're all so nice to walk in these days. :cool: