Prosperity

• 29-08-2007 04:09PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭

Did anyone see the new Irish drama series Prosperity, 9.30 Monday night. I wanted to watch but missed it.

Seems each episode follows one character.

If you watched it, was it any good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭hot fuss

It's not starting until next Monday, so you're in luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

The ads look good. How many episodes is there?
    Yeah, definitely didn't start last monday because the finale of Prison Break was on at that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Just a heads up, the new RTÉ show is starting now!

Looks alright :)

Pretty dire so far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

These skangars have wonderful conversational skills

Man: Ya drinkin' your cans?
    woman: yeah
    Man:Thats nice
    woman: yeah

lol

Whoever wrote the script should be shot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

Bleedin' despreh!

I'm going to watch "Bwitten's ne'xt to'p moddouwl" now, just to get the smell of chips, cigarettes and baby sick out of my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,347 ✭✭✭lukin

I think the stilted conversations in it were the point of the series, i.e. this is ordinary life, nothing much happens, life is dull, hum-drum stuff.
    It was fairly depressing alright but I suppose that's what most days are like for some single mothers in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,256 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Missed it... simply due to it being an RTE production.

Ah well.. doesn't sound like i missed much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Is this one of those hand-wringing lefty dramas that protray the oppressed masses as hardy folk doing thier best in difficult cirumstances, loike? "teh hell of soink estate etc"?

Mike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

DaveMcG wrote:
    lol

Whoever wrote the script should be shot...

kill a ten year old child:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭lukegriffen

Brutal stuff. Nothing dramatic about it.
    How could anyone write such terrible dialogue ? Mike Leigh can get away with monosyllabic dialogue, but you know there's a story & a plot & a tension building
    This story had nothing going for it. I switched over, then switched back & thought it had improved - there was 2 characters chatting and smiling, but it turned out to be a Coke ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Wasn't great.

Interesting to see how RTE still are not aware of the smoking ban in the workplace and get away with it for their dramas :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭masseyno9

Didn't catch it myself, but sounds a bit like Adam & Paul the film that was out a while ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

mike65 wrote:
    Is this one of those hand-wringing lefty dramas that protray the oppressed masses as hardy folk doing thier best in difficult cirumstances, loike? "teh hell of soink estate etc"?

Mike.

That exactly what it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Maybe I'm reading a bit too much into it, but I think the dullness of the dialogue and the story in general was supposed to reflect the situation of young single mothers in Dublin, nothing much to do, no money to do it with, everyone else is working or in school during the day so you end up trapped in an extremely monotonous lifestyle. Like it was a literary device or whatever the television equivalent is.

But yeah it was terrible television, next episode seems like it could be better though.

Brutal stuff. Nothing dramatic about it.
    How could anyone write such terrible dialogue ? Mike Leigh can get away with monosyllabic dialogue, but you know there's a story & a plot & a tension building
    This story had nothing going for it. I switched over, then switched back & thought it had improved - there was 2 characters chatting and smiling, but it turned out to be a Coke ad.

hahaha, I fell for that too! :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,150 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I think we already saw the best part of the next episode:

'How did you break your arm? Did your girlfriend cross her legs?'

'No, I fell off YORE MA!'

I think the dull conversations were part of the point of the episode. Stacy seemed to be having the same conversation with everyone. Still it didn't make great TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

slipss wrote:
    Maybe I'm reading a bit too much into it, but I think the dullness of the dialogue and the story in general was supposed to reflect the situation of young single mothers in Dublin, nothing much to do, no money to do it with, everyone else is working or in school during the day so you end up trapped in an extremely monotonous lifestyle. Like it was a literary device or whatever the television equivalent is.
    I'll reply to your post because its the only one of any intelligence in the thread.

I thought it was very well done. First time Ive seen anything like it on Irish television. It illustrated the reality of the lives of the underclass in Dublin; Child from a broken home falls pregnant by a violent thug due to lack of moral guidance or any type of protection from a parent in her life, gets sucked into the same situation herself perpetrating the cycle. The creeping lonliness, isolation, the onset of depression and the inevitable turning to drink. Nods to the inarticulate, confused nature of a working class youth bereft of any real education and to the prevalence of mental health issues among Dublins poorest.

Depressing stuff, and all too close to the bone for some of us. Unfortunatley, I dont imagine there will be many other Boards users along to agree with me, as most (all?) here are products of the 'prosperity' alluded to in the title.

You may now return to your regularly scheduled 'skanger' jokes. Even better, pop over to AH and join the thread there. Dont forget your copy of the Daily Mail. If you do, sure no harm you can have one of your daddies drop it over in his 07 Primera ;)

Ah yes, you're the only one who 'gets' it and everyone else is just missing the point.......

It couldn't just be a good idea but sh*tty implementation.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Ah yes, you're the only one who 'gets' it and everyone else is just missing the point.......

It couldn't just be a good idea but sh*tty implementation.
    lol, why didnt you say that then?

I thought the production values were decent, the acting was good with a few exceptions and the accents were spot on.

Maybe Im just a cantankerous old skanger bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭bobbyjoe

Thought it was brutal.
    Yeah
    Yeah
    Yeah
    Yeah
    Yeah
    Looked good well filmed etc but the dialogue was terrible and not much of a story. Her talking to the security guard was painful yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Probably a realistic conversation though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

I think you're all being very hard on it; for me it was an excellent production.

These characters are never going to deliver snappy Tarantino-esque dialogue. Their lives are dull, bleak, hopeless and violent. This is inner city Dublin, this is the people who have bigger problems than what to do with their SSIA.

Have you ever tried talking to a 17 year old girl from that kind of background? "Yeah" and "It's alright" are most likely the only two phrases you'll manage to draw out of them. Admittedly that's a generalisation but it's a realistic one.

To paraphrase previous poster, maybe the programme is a bit too real to be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

What a load of rubbish.

I think that the main problem is the characters being Dublin skangers, who seem to have poor conversational skills at best.

They should have picked different characters for the show. Just because they're skangers doesn't mean the dialogue has to be so bland, full of "yeaaah".

There was pretty interesting dialogue in the likes of the Welsh Twin Town and of course Trainspotting.

RTÉ seem to think that drama = boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I thought it would divide people alright. Personally I enjoyed it - thought it was very understated and well written. Abrahamson and O'Halloran work well together and I will definitely be tuning in to see how the other 3 episodes play out.

The whole point of the series I think will be that there's not much of a story - it's a slice of life set over the course of one day. I think these kind of stories can be much mroe interesting in ways.

That could be just me though. :D

What a load of rubbish.

I think that the main problem is the characters being Dublin skangers, who seem to have poor conversational skills at best.

They should have picked different characters for the show. Just because they're skangers doesn't mean the dialogue has to be so bland, full of "yeaaah".
    Firstly, this was the first episode of the series, other episodes will feature other characters.

The whole point of the show is that it features Dublin 'skangers', those left behind by the 'Celtic tiger' due to factors like alcoholism, drug abuse, physical & sexual abuse, lack of education and poverty in our inner cities. The dialogue was spot-on in the most part.

Suggesting that they shouldnt have used these characters is like suggesting that DaVinci should have painted a bowl of petunias for the Mona Lisa. He could have, but then it wouldnt be a picture of a bird smiling, would it?
    There was pretty interesting dialogue in the likes of the Welsh Twin Town and of course Trainspotting.

RTÉ seem to think that drama = boring.
    The episode was supposed to reflect the drudgery, isolation, boredom, depression and lonliness of the main characters life, and to explain why people become like they do in Dublins underclass, which it did well. If you want comedy, go watch a comedy. Its simple really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Alright, I was probably overly harsh.

But it did seem quite a slow moving episode. It could have possibly done with a bit more drama that would still remain true to what the creators want to portray.

Some of the stuff I have witnessed and/or have been told about would make far more interesting/depressing than a single mother drinking cans and talking to a fella with replies of "yeah". That's just so stereotypical it doesn't make interesting viewing, we unfortunately see it so much.

Some of the real stuff that happens you couldn't make it up. The cops battering a load of skangers on a garage forecourt cos the were always nicking stuff from it, lads nicking a small dumper at nightime from a construction site and ended up driving it through a large roundabout, making sh*t of the place. A builder getting dodgy characters to track down some windows that were robbed off a site, the characters finding out who stole them and threatened them with violence to return all the windows. Which they did! :D

If they really want to send a message out about Irish society they may be better off with a hard-hitting dcoumentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 blackhead

To me it was a typical RTE piece about lower class life. Condesending in the extreme. I wonder who researched this. You could do the same piece about half of the stay at home mothers on lower incomes whose lives I'm sure are equally bleak.

Most people who end up in those circumstances have grown up like that and don't know anything different. They are not unhappy that is their life and they have nothing else to compare it to. It is condesending in the extreme to look down in that way on them.

It's like upperclass rich kids looking down on everyone else saying, oh imagine having to have a job etc, they probably think my life is awful, it's not, it's all I know!!

To me this was more of Adam & Paul, without the humour or the character development.

I find the whole thing quite smug to be honest. I have lived in Dubin inner city, and alot of these 'poor single mothers' are having a ball. They get loads from the state, their partners are working and they get free housing, medical, etc etc. I used to see them hanging out in the park, not a care in the World on them. And it's not just in Dublin, they are in everytown in the country, same story! Of course that woudlnt be as controversial.

Look, loads of people have boring lives, doesn't make it good TV!!