Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gadget Shop Airsoft?

• 29-08-2007 3:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭

Went over to the Square there on my break the other day and decided to take a wander into the Gadget shop. Apparently their now supplying Airsoft! :P
    They only have 3 pistols at the moment but are getting more apparently.
    Anyone seen these/ know if their any use?
    They were fairly cheap so have no huge expectations of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Frisbee wrote:
    Went over to the Square there on my break the other day and decided to take a wander into the Gadget shop. Apparently their now supplying Airsoft! :P
    They only have 3 pistols at the moment but are getting more apparently.
    Anyone seen these/ know if their any use?
    They were fairly cheap so have no huge expectations of them

The absolute best you can hope for is that they are CYMA and quite frankly they are probably the "I fre nasty .12g Orange oblongs" kind of stuff.

I recommend that you and any one else into Airsoft stay away from such things, both the for the sake of your wallet and the inevitable cries of "Handguns sold to hooligans!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

*sigh*... this is exactly the kind of shop we dont want selling airsoft, although likely itll be exactly like the cheapo stuff which people will buy, mess with at home for a few days and then forget about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Oh great thats all we need !!

I'll check it out over the next couple of days as its my local shopping centre now.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Damn, was in the Gadget shop today handing in a CV :D Didn't stop to check out the merchandise though!

This aint good though. Especially with some of the f*ckers who live around here! :( Hopefully they'll exercise a degree of common sense when selling these (at least asking for ID).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Ha I doubt that....
    Nah I wasnt expecting much of them to be honest. Not suprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Someone from IAA could protest outside to ensure the responsible selling of airsoft stuff, and ill say this.... NOT IT(even though i haven't filled the form yet)!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I kinda got mixed opinions on Shops selling Airsoft toys.

Just remember guys cant bad mouth all the shops that
    decide to stock them they may not all be irresponsible

Nobody had a problem with Ballymount stocking AEG's and
    Shiva has Cyma brands too and nobody has a problem with him stocking them.

I'm all for airsoft and would not want anything bad to happen to the sport
    but if ye will indulge me and look at things from a completely alternative
    side of things for a minute..........

"Potentially" The same Kids or knackers or gob****es that may ruin the sport for
    all of us could also just as easily visit any online store if they knew about it and ordered online all they would need was an email addy and a paypal account.

In this day in age walking down the street and spotting something in a shop window
    is like surfing ideally on the web and spotting something you want to buy.
    While a really young kid may not have a paypal or credit card they could
    use a parents while surfing.

For example how does Shiva or another online retailers know who or what age
    someone is that is buying from him!
    (I am not trying to pick on Shiva but only using him as an example as he is Local)

At least in a Physical Store the Owner can "See" who
    is buying and refuse if they think someone is too young.
    (Plus do they actually even have a right to refuse a customer
    regardless of their age. Theres no law determining an age limit like
    with a pack of Fags and a 6 pack so I am
    guessing its up to the owners discretion's

And what age to you refuse a sale 18 or 16.
    I am sure their are airsofters here that are 16 or even maybe
    under 16 that currently own AEG's.

If it was not for spotting a Cyma MP5 in one of those shops
    and buying one I would have never bothered my arse even
    popping over to this board to find out more info and to
    start collecting. I would have stuck to the shooting boards.

There's probably loads of people with a "potential" and genuine interest
    in Airsoft that have not got a clue that its legal to buy some of the gear
    without any legal hassles. When I walked into Mmmad in Cork and
    made my first buy...my First Question was is that perfectly legal?
    and yer man quoted me the 1 Joule bit from the firearms act.
    So I said Grand give me one of them so.

I know ye dont like Mmmad shop and I have heard horror stories myself
    but it helped me spark an interest in airsoft, I always ignored the
    Airsoft International magazine in Easons as I assumed everything was
    Not legal.

I wonder if it would be worth the effort to approach the gadget shop
    and enquire if they would be willing to stock some good stuff.
    Shiva or Ballymount could even be a potential supplier if they
    wanted a few samples to sell.

That way someone who may be potentially intersted in Airsoft could
    get something OK as a first buy.
    And if its not a really really bad el cheapo springer using orange/yellow BB's
    with flash/mould lines on them it will mean they will be a little bit more expensive
    and maybe your average trouble making kid may not bother trying to by a more
    expensive toy and just pass on buy.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I know for me Bullets it's how each shop portrays the sport and what their agenda is. Places like mmmad stock drug paraphernalia, sex toys and things along that line. From that I can then gather that they're stocking airsoft simply for the Shock/danger factor.I mean their website says "fun for all ages" beside a Mac 11.

Places like BFSL and eirsoft on the other hand are airsoft specific and want to progress the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

You can't control who buys the airsoft guns unfortunately. This shop is just another source, nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

i posted bout this last week , there cheap jls pistols actuly got my hands on one ,they feel and look cheap ,its not real airsoft, they been selling them to 12/13 years olds, 50 quid, get them on line a lot cheaper , basicly all the scum bags uphere will be roaming the streets with them thinking there hard men , if your going to waste your money spend it with Eirsoft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Hmm my local sport shop also has em. Handguns cost 200 and Sniper Rifles over 250.
    Rip off :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Markspi

i was in there last Sunday and they had no problem in wanting to sell one to my 12 yr old.
    Shoot yellow BBs cheap.

There is a guy in the liberty market selling them aswell
    12 euros for glock spinger.

so before long they will be all over the place .

That's not good...

Are we anywhere close to at least sending an official letter to some TDs to make them aware and educated on the sport? Cos we've seen how quickly legislation can be passed when there is deemed to have been a mistake made... See Mary Harney and the magic mushrooms 'loophole'.

It wouldn't require too much effort to just send a letter and include with it the press release.

What ye think?

DaveMcG wrote:
    That's not good...

Are we anywhere close to at least sending an official letter to some TDs to make them aware and educated on the sport? Cos we've seen how quickly legislation can be passed when there is deemed to have been a mistake made... See Mary Harney and the magic mushrooms 'loophole'.

It wouldn't require too much effort to just send a letter and include with it the press release.

What ye think?

Funny you should mention it but I just sat down to sketch out the parameters of the second IAA press release in which I hope to include;

-A number of scientific formulas explaining the potential energy of airsoft as well as laymans translations and how they relate to the current Firearms bill.

-A section explaining in detail the approach the IAA intends to take towards Airsoft and its official position on various subjects ranging from armed robbery to kids with springers.

-A selection of photographs and a case study of a day out at HRTA (permission will be sought).

-Graphs showing the number of players joining up and the expansion of the game in Ireland since the introduction (including a time line).

Possibly a lot more. I dont know what will make the final cut.

As for a letter to the Gov' you would be best to ask extremetaz right now. Officially he is the PR department.

I was also told that some of the market traders in differnt areas are thinking of bringing them in Springers at first but God Knows were that will lead

Funny you should mention it but I just sat down to sketch out the parameters of the second IAA press release in which I hope to include;

-A number of scientific formulas explaining the potential energy of airsoft as well as laymans translations and how they relate to the current Firearms bill.

-A section explaining in detail the approach the IAA intends to take towards Airsoft and its official position on various subjects ranging from armed robbery to kids with springers.

-A selection of photographs and a case study of a day out at HRTA (permission will be sought).

-Graphs showing the number of players joining up and the expansion of the game in Ireland since the introduction (including a time line).

As for a letter to the Gov' you would be best to ask extremetaz right now. Officially he is the PR department.
    Okily dokily, Sounds good! I'll PM extremetaz in a while

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Hivemind187

you could also include the IAA membership scheme ,showing eveyone that attends skirimishes signatures ,showing the how well the sport is run ,also state that nobody wants the 1 joule limit increased ,more ramblings from me again

Gatling wrote:
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Hivemind187

you could also include the IAA membership scheme ,showing eveyone that attends skirimishes signatures ,showing the how well the sport is run ,also state that nobody wants the 1 joule limit increased ,more ramblings from me again

Good suggestions, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Graphs showing the number of players joining up and the expansion of the game in Ireland since the introduction (including a time line).
    Ill get my IAA application in asap then. The more the merrier and all that. ;)

Markspi wrote:
    so before long they will be all over the place .

Based purely on conversations with people at Salute, I think there are a lot more airsoft guns (from springers to AEG's) in Ireland than we think. And a lot are owned by kids. I remember speaking to one woman who wanted to know if there was a store near Meath that was selling AEG's. Her three eldest kids had aeg's and she wanted to buy one for her 10 year old son. We just don't know about these 'airsofters' because they don't skirmish or post here on boards.

I'd guess that there are thousands who do nothing more than shoot targets in the back garden.

I know of a few people that have spring pistols and the likes from years back that wouldnt even know what skirmish or airsoft means. They bought them as kids for the sheer "i have a pistol that looks kinda real" effect and basically just shot coins on a kitchen table or whatever. Id say at this stage the pistols are fairly rarely used by them tho.

Nalced_irl wrote:
    I know of a few people that have spring pistols and the likes from years back that wouldnt even know what skirmish or airsoft means. They bought them as kids for the sheer "i have a pistol that looks kinda real" effect and basically just shot coins on a kitchen table or whatever. Id say at this stage the pistols are fairly rarely used by them tho.
    Yeah I used to have 3 or 4 of those kind of things and used to shoot the sh*t out of my mates with them... I'd say there's loads of people with those but they've grown out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭davvowl

true true

a good example for this is a short documentary about airsoft that was on tv 2 years ago. they said theres "around 600 airsofters in france, belgium and switzerland"
    at that time, france-airsoft.fr already had over 10.000 members :rolleyes:
    and theres alot of active teams i know of who dont have all their players registered on that forum

anyway, theres no way to know (precisely or not) how many airsofters there are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

I guess in a way its kinda good that we dont know about them because then atleast they arent being brought to our attention in a bad way :)

well, in reality these have nothing to do with Airsoft. They arent bought with a view to playing it and most people buying them wouldnt know what Airsoft is, theyre just for kids to play cops and robbers in the back garden. For that reason i presume and hope they are a fairly weak strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

Nalced_irl wrote:
    well, in reality these have nothing to do with Airsoft. They arent bought with a view to playing it and most people buying them wouldnt know what Airsoft is, theyre just for kids to play cops and robbers in the back garden. For that reason i presume and hope they are a fairly weak strength.

Not if there battery powered cymas(for the short period they work) or a type of springer that my brother bought over in spain one year it was nearly as sore as being hit by his p90

they are made by a company called jls , kinda look like a walter ppk and a p99, the p99 looka like comes with torch ,laser, flat piece or perspex for a sight ive held one,they are extremely cheap seen them on line for 20$ and yet gadget shop are selling them for 50 with 200 bb costing a tenner, it says there electric felt more likea springer to me,and the shop lost the silencer belonging to one of them ,advice get a real airsoft if thats what u want to do, dont waste your cash ao cheap tat, they dont care who they sell to and as for parents buying airsoft for there kids when little jonny gets hit in the eye ,they will be the first to in line to get airsoft banned , then they will tell everybody that they didnt know the so called airsoft gun can be dangerous ,cause no body warned them:mad: :mad: :mad:

I know therebare one or 2 market traders are thinking on brining in aegs and gas pistols.
    These people deal in Hong Kong etc every day of the week .
    |Not knocking them mind they do bring in some bargains for us all in one way or an other.

But what happens when kids start getting a hold of these , what kinda name will it give airsofters .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

I'd guess that there are thousands who do nothing more than shoot targets in the back garden.

Yep...I'd agree with that.

Most of my sales have been to people who've never been near a skirmish site or posted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Longsword_CZ

Don´t be surprised, lads. Same situation is (and was) in any country where AS was legalized. Ask davvowl.

Until today is in main Czech AS forum daily discuss about "gym-shoes players" who buy from almost everywhere these cheap AS "toys" and play in neighborhood. You can do nothing with this. Maybe just warn owner, that selling this items under 18(?) is illegal same as alcohol, and Gardai really don´t like see on the street boys with guns. If he has some responsibility he stop, or instruct shop assistants to whom they can or cant sell this "toys".
    I´ll be happiest when specialized shops come around, but it´s same like with car tunning parts. You can buy good one in usually small Sparco (tm) or Recaro (tm) shop, or you can find some cheap one beside bread or napkins in Tesco (tm). With first one you can do something useful, with second one just loud noise ...

Don´t be surprised, lads. Same situation is (and was) in any country where AS was legalized. Ask davvowl.

Until today is in main Czech AS forum daily discuss about "gym-shoes players" who buy from almost everywhere these cheap AS "toys" and play in neighborhood. You can do nothing with this. Maybe just warn owner, that selling this items under 18(?) is illegal same as alcohol, and Gardai really don´t like see on the street boys with guns. If he has some responsibility he stop, or instruct shop assistants to whom they can or cant sell this "toys".
    I´ll be happiest when specialized shops come around, but it´s same like with car tunning parts. You can buy good one in usually small Sparco (tm) or Recaro (tm) shop, or you can find some cheap one beside bread or napkins in Tesco (tm). With first one you can do something useful, with second one just loud noise ...

Unfortunately, there is no legal age limit on the sale of Airsoft guns here in Ireland. The shops are free to sell them to 4 year olds if they choose to do so.

Heh ... little bit foolish. In other EU countries is age restriction, ´cause AS gun is usually declared as "gas powered gun with limitation under XX J" (somewhere 1J, somewhere more) :(
    In this case I don´t know ... :(

ok this is getting old ,i posted the original thread on this , but just by chance i was in the gadget shop in the square not half an hour ago ,they are now stocking AEGs from ASG and decent .20 polished bbs they have a black styer aug with original markings and a DSG m4 both are complete packages battery ,charger glasses, sight, all for around E120 was talking to the owner he said getting a full range of AEGs ,and he never heard of AIRSOFT and dosent have a problem selling to kids as he see's them as harmless toys

Another "I know brown thing about it, but its make me money." :-(
    Education, education .. and something like that, You know what I man ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Only a matter of time before we have something similar to this
    happening in ireland.
    http://news.sky.com/skynews/picture_gallery/0,,70141-1285047,00.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Guns.Ie

I point blank refuse to sell to under 18s. If a parent wants to buy and give to their child well that's their choice and its happened but what amazes me is that most customers are 30+ males who want now what they were denied decades ago. My 60 year old father gets a great kick out of chasing off crows from his apple trees without doing any harm to them.

Airsoft is exploding here in Ireland and all we can do is be responsible ourselves and as one buyer said to me "I am buying them because the more that are out there the harder it will be to ban them!"

guns.ie: where did you come from??

airsoft != bb guns, if you want to earn respect around here as an airsoft supplier, you will learn this difference very quickly and remove such mentioning from your website

also, you are not the first online store for airsoft in ireland, that honour belongs to Shiva and eirsoft.ie

now, on-topic, fair enough, dont sell to under 18s. however shooting crows in apple trees is not exactly responsible behaviour either.

this may annoy you a great deal, but from the first post you've made on here, (i will be brutally honest here), i dont like you, even your domain name guns.ie is not representative of what airsoft is about, to me you appear to want to appeal to the type of irresponsible and foolish people who will buy and airsoft because it looks cool rather than a genuine interest in the sport or collecting. i.e. someone out purely to make money rather than having a genuine interest in the sport.

feel free to prove me wrong of course :)

ps, your signature is too big, see the rules

What have i gone and started :):)

Guns.Ie wrote:
    .... "I am buying them because the more that are out there the harder it will be to ban them!"...

Great idea ... surprisingly does not work ... Try ask Americans about alcohol and 1930´s, or newly Germans about (and this is more close to us) 290FPS rule in AS .... In first its make crime behavior (and after cool movies about ;-) ), in second its just sucks (and skirmish in "backdoor" places ). Or even better, ask our English friends about new pact .... restriction, problems and mess around. And why? Because terrorism? Terrorist using real guns, they dont need toys. Its because irresponsible jackass with naked guns in the street, its because children with real look-like handguns in neighborhood.
    If we dont push as hard as is possible, its grow up, and after couple of years we will stay in same position as UK.

I said I wasn't going to comment but the more I think about it the more I have to. Calling your site guns.ie is very misleading and is giving an image of Airsoft in Ireland that I think the majority of us do not want. In one breath you say that you'd never sell to under 18's which is great and then you say your old man is shooting at birds in the back garden. Do you honestly not see anything wrong with this?

Also I don't think the claim first online airsoft store is accurate either, especially as I cannot order online, pay online and see the order online.

Those images from that Skynews story above actually are frightening because a few incidents and airsoft could quite easily be banned over here.

Quote from Wiki re:BB guns 'Airsoft guns are also commonly referred to as BB guns or pellet guns, as they also shoot spherical projectiles through a smoothbore barrel. However, airsoft "BBs" are 6 mm in diameter (0.24 inches), made of plastic or other non-metallic materials, and are designed specifically to be non-lethal.'

Re: Eirsoft.ie and guns.ie, Company registration office records www.cro.ie
    Eirsoft registered 2/7/07 Guns registered 9/5/07 but I would like to point out I didn't raise the issue and best of luck to Shiva and his site.

Quote "Calling your site guns.ie is very misleading and is giving an image of Airsoft in Ireland that I think the majority of us do not want"
    AEG= Auto Electric GUN, M16/MP5/AK47 all guns. Trying to distance airsoft from the word Gun is ridiculous, they are airsoft guns! Anyway the website www.guns.ie was picked so it would not be forgotten or have to be written down or spelled out and it works. Regarding online transactions I am still in two minds about selling online to faceless buyers as you only end up with idiots like the kid all over sky news now as I type, the site is first point of contact then I meet people and I can make a decision if I show them just the <200fps stuff or 420fps sniper rifles. As for the mention of my father he is definitly a grown man who is responsable for his own actions and I would rather him ruffling a few crow feathers (they barely notice been hit due to plummage) then killing them with a .22

I have been treading the airsoft waters carefully and have no desires to make a quick buck and blacken the sport, I hope that soon with enough 'saturation' down here we can start skirmishing down in the Rebel County.
    I already have dealings with Coilte and can organise access to forests.

So hopefully that clarifies a few issues
    and relax people..... it's supposed to be a hobby and fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭cpb

Quote "the site is first point of contact then I meet people and I can make a decision if I show them just the <200fps stuff or 420fps sniper rifles"

Hope you are not selling 420fps rifles as these would be classed as firearms.

Guns.Ie wrote:
    Quote from Wiki re:BB guns 'Airsoft guns are also commonly referred to as BB guns or pellet guns, as they also shoot spherical projectiles through a smoothbore barrel. However, airsoft "BBs" are 6 mm in diameter (0.24 inches), made of plastic or other non-metallic materials, and are designed specifically to be non-lethal.'

I think the point you are missing is perception. Personally your name doesn't suggest that you are airsoft only. But hey thats my perception of it.
    Eirsoft registered 2/7/07 Guns registered 9/5/07 but I would like to point out I didn't raise the issue and best of luck to Shiva and his site.

No but I would count the first online store to be one I can buy online from, something that cannot be done with yours at this moment.
    Quote "Calling your site guns.ie is very misleading and is giving an image of Airsoft in Ireland that I think the majority of us do not want"
    AEG= Auto Electric GUN, M16/MP5/AK47 all guns. Trying to distance airsoft from the word Gun is ridiculous, they are airsoft guns! Anyway the website www.guns.ie was picked so it would not be forgotten or have to be written down or spelled out and it works. Regarding online transactions I am still in two minds about selling online to faceless buyers as you only end up with idiots like the kid all over sky news now as I type, the site is first point of contact then I meet people and I can make a decision if I show them just the <200fps stuff or 420fps sniper rifles. As for the mention of my father he is definitly a grown man who is responsable for his own actions and I would rather him ruffling a few crow feathers (they barely notice been hit due to plummage) then killing them with a .22

Again its about perception. I personally do not like real guns or what they do. Airsoft allows me to play soldier without the risks. I think with the view in dealing with the general public and authorities that this is extremely important.

If you cannot complete a sale online then I would not count you as an online store. You are a company that is using the web to advertise rather than carry out commerce.

Also and I know I am nitpicking here but if you are offering airsoft guns that are capable of a velocity of 420fps without a license you are breaking the law.

And I disagree with your attitude towards firing at wildlife with an airsoft gun. Frankly as a retailer of airsoft guns I find it irresponsible.
    I have been treading the airsoft waters carefully and have no desires to make a quick buck and blacken the sport, I hope that soon with enough 'saturation' down here we can start skirmishing down in the Rebel County.

Great if you can organise that as there are loads of potential players and customers in Cork.

I am sorry if I appear to be hard on you I just feel you need to stand back and look at the way you are presenting your site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 voldermore

Guns.Ie wrote:

hi Guns.ie wher have you been hiding

Guns.Ie wrote:
    yes, they are commonly reffered to as BB guns by the uneducated masses, you won't find any airsoft players referring to them as such and as a retailer you should also endeavour to make that distinction
    Guns.Ie wrote:
    as has been pointed out, your not actually selling online yet, if you change it to "the first registered company who intends to sell online, but is still in two minds about it", then it'd be correct :D
    Guns.Ie wrote:
    AEG= Auto Electric GUN, M16/MP5/AK47 all guns. Trying to distance airsoft from the word Gun is ridiculous, they are airsoft guns! Anyway the website www.guns.ie was picked so it would not be forgotten or have to be written down or spelled out and it works.
    i understand your need/want for an easily remembered url, but you'll find most people on here will agree that guns.ie is not the best one for airsoft, perhaps airsoftguns.ie would be a better idea? still relatively easy to remember

Guns.Ie wrote:
    Regarding online transactions I am still in two minds about selling online to faceless buyers as you only end up with idiots like the kid all over sky news now as I type, the site is first point of contact then I meet people and I can make a decision if I show them just the <200fps stuff or 420fps sniper rifles. As for the mention of my father he is definitly a grown man who is responsable for his own actions and I would rather him ruffling a few crow feathers (they barely notice been hit due to plummage) then killing them with a .22
    a 420fps sniper rifle is legally a firearm in this country, any further discussion of them here will earn you a ban, take it to the shooting forum if you want to discuss firearms
    Guns.Ie wrote:

Not sure what dealings you've been having with Coillte, but most of their forests are open to the public for hillwalking, i would doubt you'd have much success in getting access to that land for a skirmish, but it would be an excellent site if you could.

and yes, it is a hobby and it is immensely fun, but there are certain areas where we need to be careful about things such as public perception of our sport and people who supply airsofts to under 18s or even irresponsible adults

Edit: just reading over that post, and i am deeply concerned by your mentioning of 420fps sniper rifles, any responsible individual or retailer who would want to actively encourage the development of airsoft in Ireland would know the legal limit is 328fps (with 0.2g bb) and anything higher is illegal, you would also know that discussion of such on here is completely against the rules.
    (unless of course your claiming 420fps with a 0.12g bb, in which case you have my humble apologies, but since 0.2g is the standard, i doubt that)

Guns.Ie wrote:

Guns.ie, I am going to be polite and ask you nicely to refrain from mentioning "420fps sniper rifles", shooting at animals or claims of bringing skirmishers onto public land.

If I see this kind of carry on again I will not hesitate to contact the Gardai in relation to your claims.

Airsoft is a safe and fun hobby and it does not need the potential black eyes it will be dealt by irresponsible dealers selling units that are above the legal safety limit, condone the behaviour of senior citizens shooting at wild animals or encouraging unsafe skirmishing on public land. All three of which are an offense.

If you are willing to play by the rules and refrain from foolish comments then I am very happy to hear about another retailer opening, especially one operating outside of Dublin.

Edit: Footnote - BB is actually the gauge of the shot used in BB guns (which fire .88g metal ball bearings) and they range from B to BB to BBB gauges. It is inaccurate to call an Airsoft Unit a BB gun for this reason since they do not operate using he same round. this is like calling a rifle a gun, technically it is not since it possesses a "rifled barrel" rather than a smooth bore barrel, hence, if anything, AK47/M16/G36 are rifles, not guns. Airsoft equipment is neither a gun nor a rifle rather they are replica sporting equipment. Semantics I know but a point that needed to be made.

I currently shoot every weekend on Coilte woods with a compound bow, american flatbow and traditional recurve bow.... with up to 80 others....and its perfectly legal and permitted. Have a look at the Coilte website, you can pay your money and shoot away. So back off with the ill-informed threats.

1 Joule = 428FPS x 0.12g, I can mention 420 without fear of you calling the garda on me and in fact members are one of my better customers along with gun club members... but thats probaly irresponsable selling to them!

You ask any joe soap what an airsoft 'gun/rifle/toy' is and they will say "Oh you mean a BB gun" I used the term to convey meaning and it works. Laguage works only if both parties understand it and newbies been hit with AEG/FPS/RPS/MPEG/LPEG etc only confuses. Correct terms can be imparted at a later stage. We don't start bashing new archers due to them 'shooting' an arrow instead of 'loosing'

I think I will take my posts back over to www.airsoftretreat.com where I can have an adult discussion. Speaking of age limits I get the feeling like most posters on here are sixteen year olds spoiling for a fight.
    I have no beef with anyone and so I will leave you and head for calmer waters.

And if you think airsoft is dangerous try a 550grain arrow doing 300fps. thats 150 joules! Just make sure to wear a mask ;)

Guns.Ie wrote:
    I currently shoot every weekend on Coilte woods with a compound bow, american flatbow and traditional recurve bow.... with up to 80 others....and its perfectly legal and permitted. Have a look at the Coilte website, you can pay your money and shoot away. So back off with the ill-informed threats.

1 Joule = 428FPS x 0.12g, I can mention 420 without fear of you calling the garda on me and in fact members are one of my better customers along with gun club members... but thats probaly irresponsable selling to them!

You ask any joe soap what an airsoft 'gun/rifle/toy' is and they will say "Oh you mean a BB gun" I used the term to convey meaning and it works. Laguage works only if both parties understand it and newbies been hit with AEG/FPS/RPS/MPEG/LPEG etc only confuses. Correct terms can be imparted at a later stage. We don't start bashing new archers due to them 'shooting' an arrow instead of 'loosing'

I think I will take my posts back over to www.airsoftretreat.com where I can have an adult discussion. Speaking of age limits I get the feeling like most posters on here are sixteen year olds spoiling for a fight.
    I have no beef with anyone and so I will leave you and head for calmer waters.

And if you think airsoft is dangerous try a 550grain arrow doing 300fps. thats 150 joules! Just make sure to wear a mask ;)

Actually "Guns" I am well aware of the rules regarding archery, and they are different to those regarding firearms and replicas.

Second, no one was threatening you. By your own statement language is best used when both parties understand it and the fact is that a 0.2g BB is the standard for FPS (as will be confirmed by a look at ANY reputable site on the web, magazines or the sides of manufacturers boxes). By your own argument you portrayed something as being an illegal item. Please be careful in your statements.

Third. 428fps with a .12g BB is 1.02 joules, not 1. Splitting hairs maybe but I think you'll get my point.

Fourth, please do not assume that attempting to undermine my response to you (or that of others on this forum) with inane references to age is going to do anything other than make you look desperate and dismissive. If you ask around, or bothered to read the site at all you would be aware of my reasons for concern.

Finally, regarding archery vs. airsoft in coillte woodland. Brandishing an Airsoft in public (much like the turd on Sky the other day) is an offense and would result in arrest, prosecution or even being double-tapped by the ERU. Any one who had regular dealings with the police would be aware of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Do 1.2g bb's have more range?

krazy_8s wrote:
    Do 1.2g bb's have more range?

No. They are bloody awful cheap things. The kind of yellow/orange rubbish you get with a cheap springer and frankly they really arent worth the effort.