Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Holidays in Mosney

• 28-08-2007 10:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭

ha anyone remember going for the two weeks in a chalet in mosney..:D
    dan lowrys for a smithwicks shandy! and looking at womens arses in the glass behind the bar:D
    having a crush on a redcoat or lifeguard ! and getting a chase off the greencoats:D
    the 2nd hand shop ha ha and the freezing out door pool:D

i won young tarzan twice:D :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,039 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

steveone wrote:
    ha anyone remember going for the two weeks in a chalet in mosney..:D
    dan lowrys for a smithwicks shandy! and looking at womens arses in the glass behind the bar:D
    having a crush on a redcoat or lifeguard ! and getting a chase off the greencoats:D
    the 2nd hand shop ha ha and the freezing out door pool:D

i won young tarzan twice:D :D
    Shouldn't that be 'Butlins' - this is the Retro Forum! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭steveone

i only ever went to mosney... isn't butlins veteran and vintage:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

all d baby monitor yokes in d bar and announcing chalet d baby is crying in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Ah yes,butlins. Nearly got my first ride there, I say nearly as in we sat on the same bed which was as close as I'd ever got.Christ that place was a kip,can you imagine spending 2 weeks couped up in a 1/2 mile square place now for your holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ah yeah i remember butlins, dan lowreys was great i got served there from 14:) , kilkenny was my weapon of choice then. great days, especially on the rafts with that little island in the middle that the skangers used to lay claim to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Never stayed in Mosney, but used to go over to Butlins in Pwllheli every summer.

Did anyone else ever go there?

was it that small?
    i have great memories of that place.......the army using the beach for target practice:D
    anyone been there recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

It was closed and then opened as a concentration camp for immigants,as Mo calls them ,for several years. Not sure if it's still used for that. I know there is a classic car show every year down there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

DesF wrote:
    Never stayed in Mosney, but used to go over to Butlins in Pwllheli every summer.

Ye, was like mosney only good. There was no glass wall in the swimming pool to check out the girlies underwater but it was bigger and generally had more to explore for a young teenager. I use to go around at night trying to get my pic taken with groups of girls and then next morning rob the pic from the pic shop (I am a northsider Dub after all ;) ) so I could tell my cousin I was with loads of girls.

Spent a lot of time playing the snooker / pool comps and trying to hit on well sexy older teenage girlies without any luck. Got a few sympatric pats on the head for my efforts though.

good times. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

Poor clown bag :(

It kinda set a standard for what was to come.. eh?

It was too close for the Wolf household to consider it a holiday.. that and the fact it was in Meath.. We spent a few wet fortnights in Kerry, Cork and Donegal..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Irish Wolf wrote:
    Poor clown bag :(

It kinda set a standard for what was to come.. eh?
    yup, I learned to accept rejection from an early age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭jazoo

Yeah butlins was cool went with lots of cousins one time only half paid the rest bunked in..one of the cousins took a **** in the pool right beside the dan lowrys windows so every one could see.We started going to one in wales then ,not as good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

It was the sort of place that you wiped your feet on the way out, not on the way in.

clown bag wrote:

Spent a lot of time playing the snooker / pool comps and trying to hit on well sexy older teenage girlies without any luck
    Used to go over with my family and my cousin's family. He and I were the same age. We met another family from round his way one year. We played pool with the young one of the family, same age as us, and I remember always standing at the opposite side of the pool table to her, so I could get a good look down her top when she was playing her shots, she had some rack on her! After we finished playing we went to the disco and I got off with her, my first kiss!

My bastard cousin was with her the next night though :(:(
    clown bag wrote:
    good times. :)
    Indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭roughan

Yeah its closed now i remember goin there on Hols years ago
    It was used to house foreign nationals and closed but i remember going down the motor way and there was a big sign saying MOSNEY 3 miles
    and some smart fupper put an IA on the end of it in red paint

MOSNEYIA 3 miles hahahahahah:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭mickrourke

I actually worked there in the summer of 1990 for 2 months or so, worked in the kitchens as a welly boy (kitchen porter). Some of them red coats were quite hot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

DesF wrote:

I used to work there in 94. Great fun.:D Its heaven holidays now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

yeah i remember mosney.. i can pretty much just remember the wimming pool there and that mushroom with the water spilling out over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

i went there for the community games.... classic stuff.. people going around the disco floor stoping the couples from shifting!!!!!

cymro wrote:
    I used to work there in 94. Great fun.:D Its heaven holidays now.
    Judging by your username I'd say you hail from that part of the world too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Michasm

mickrourke wrote: »
    I actually worked there in the summer of 1990 for 2 months or so, worked in the kitchens as a welly boy (kitchen porter). Some of them red coats were quite hot

Mick, I was a redcoat in the summers of 1990 and 1991, i secretly hope you mean i was one of the Hot ones.If not, who do you mean? I can remember there being Kathy Mclaughlin,Karen, Jean,Mary, i dont recall the rest but would be interested.Dont suppose you remember me do you??? Mind you i didnt have a a pair!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Man, I used to go to Mosney and Pwllwhel every Summer! The Irish ballroom dancing championships were in Mosney every year and the UK ones were in Pwllheli (I did ballroom dancing for years, in case that wasn't obvious already!)

Ah even reading this thread is bringing back stuff I haven't thought about for years! Happy days! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

Went there for 3 years in a row in the late 80's!!
    It was brill...swimming and the waltzers and the lads doing the waltzers would turn the cart more and more as the week went on and he got to know you.
    And the Apple centre with the video games...sitting in the dark playing games...was great. Loved boulder dash(I think that was the name!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Pontins in the UK for me. And Trabolgan in Cork. Thought both were brilliant. I was aged between eight and 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭texas star

The outdoor rollerskating rink,haha.A bit of concrete painted blue and white squares and a railing around it.We used to think we were American,we were about 8:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 milliemoo

orestes wrote: »
    Man, I used to go to Mosney and Pwllwhel every Summer! The Irish ballroom dancing championships were in Mosney every year and the UK ones were in Pwllheli (I did ballroom dancing for years, in case that wasn't obvious already!)

Ah even reading this thread is bringing back stuff I haven't thought about for years! Happy days! :D

Hi Orestes, when did you dance, danced myself back in the days and my daughter now dances, ballroom and latin, would love to know you name to see if i remember you.:confused:

Butlins was the place to be, we went on family holidays from about 1969 for donkeys year every June, it was a family event, my nana came, my 2 aunts. God the chalets were cold at night but they were the best years of my life. absolutely loved the place. Remember Good night campers? what memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

All I remember about Mosney was diving into the deep end of the pool (despite not being able to swim) and only just about grabbing the ladder while I was drowning! When I dragged meself out, there was a very bored lookin young fella, masquerading as a safety officer, staring blankly at me. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

milliemoo wrote: »
    Hi Orestes, when did you dance, danced myself back in the days and my daughter now dances, ballroom and latin, would love to know you name to see if i remember you.:confused:
    Orestes has left the building...that's what you get for dragging up two year old threads!

I remember a bunch of us ended up there for a pissed up day back in the OLE! OLE! OLE! summer of 1990 and nearly getting kicked out because one of the lads tried to take the letter L off the big sign that said "Have a pleasant stay".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

aw i loved that place so much back in the day!! :) went there from a really early age till i think about 11 or 12, then it closed for the current inhabitants:mad:!
    Wonder if it will ever be brought back?! :rolleyes:
    Loved the whale ride thingy, where u went up in the air n back down! and the swan boats in the river, and the umbrella ride thing! :D

Orestes has left the building...that's what you get for dragging up two year old threads!

My god I posted this thread 2 years ago!! where is the time going?]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Mosney - memories
    If you stayed full board in the Chalets you got your meals served up - there were two sittings - Tara and Slane. There was a sound like an airraid warning and the masses trudged over for breakfast or lunch or whatever. Highlight was that I got a huge beetle in my swiss roll and custard - got lots of attention for that. I thought it was deadly at the time.

I won the Junior Princess - still have the photos. Also won the sports 100m. Loved Carnival rides - got on the thing that looked like a cage and spun you sideways 5 times then got off and puked.

Myself and my sister were in the street outside where you could see the legs in the pool and we kept pointing and going "ma, there's something wrong with that man, look, look". Ma was trying to scuttle us up the street before anyone else noticed. Turns out the man was a bit excited. Innocence.

There was a kids show where some poor old couple had to enterain all the mad hyped up kids - they used to sing a song with the words "I like a donut with jam in the middle" - still remember every word.

Lastly, we got our photo taken at one of the meals (dont know if it was beetle day) and it was put as a key ring where you look into it from the top and you can see the photo - would you believe mine is still somewhere in my ma's.

We were only there a week and almost thirty years later my mind is like a video camera replaying the whole week.

Great times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Jeez, I was just about to respond to this thread when I saw I did so two years ago with a word-for-word answer. Retro indeed. :)