Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Let down

• 21-08-2007 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭

Really basic issue here, just feeling a bit let down and want to know if I'm overreacting...

Mates of mine did the a fundraising challenge (climb the highest mountain in each of the 4 provinces of Ireland) for charity a while back. I helped them massively with their fundraising - organised a tablequiz that raised over 2000 quid. I then acted as their driver which meant driving over 900km over the course of a weekend, and waiting around while they completed their climbing challenges (which they all did and fair play to them). Next week I'm doing a fundraising challenge of my own, I emailed all of them to let them know and ask for sposorship. Not one of them has donated so much as a cent. I know it's for charity, which is why I was eager to help them out on theirs, and that I shouldn't take it personally perhaps, however I can't help feeling very let down that they aren't offering any support at all.

What do you reckon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

Thats quite mean of them.
    Would you not say it to them, tell them how you feel? if they are real friends then they deserve a slap on the wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Some people just balk at the thought of donating money to a charity. I'm in the same boat myself at present (Fundraising Challenge this weekend), I was surprised by the amount of people who didnt email/text/call back or who pretended I never mentioned it.

Mind if I ask what the Chalenge is ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Deediddums

It's called the Sucata Run, basically we've committed to driving from the North of France to Portugal in a car worth less than 250 quid, should be interesting! I know what you mean c - 13, I wouldn't normally expect people to donate, I just felt since I'd put myself out so much to accomodate them on their endeavour that some reciprocation would be forthcoming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

That's very mean of them after all you did for them in their challenge! Maybe instead of asking them for money you could ask them for help like how you helped them? Ask them to help you fundraise and stuff.

It's probably thoughtless rather than mean, they're fairly busy at the moment, otherwise I would have asked them to help out fundraising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Ah right, maybe ask them one last time then leave it.

But don't fail to mention it if they're looking for fundraising help again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Deediddums wrote:
    It's called the Sucata Run, basically we've committed to driving from the North of France to Portugal in a car worth less than 250 quid, should be interesting! I know what you mean c - 13, I wouldn't normally expect people to donate, I just felt since I'd put myself out so much to accomodate them on their endeavour that some reciprocation would be forthcoming!

Just re-reading your first post there, I personally think that you ring them and ask directly. You put yourself out there for them when they needed your help and they should remember that.

Its easy to ignore emails etc. (Oh spam filter must have caught it) buts its hard to ignore direct communication.

All the best with it Deediddums, I hope it all goes well for you guys.

Thanks! And likewise for yours. I think asking directly isn't a bad idea. My poor little motor needed a service after driving them the length and breadth of the country so it's the least they could do to offer a little contribution.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Gumbyman

Pr1cks. Direct contact would be best but it could be pretty awkward. They've put you in a position. Maybe email them all saying something like "Lads my fundraising isn't going very well here. Wondering if ye could return the 4 peaks favour and help me out. Can't do this on my own."

Sadly, I've already done that. Was thinking I'd ring one of the girls i'm closest to and let her know I haven't gotten the support I'd hoped for... in the hope she might get the others to get their wallets out! It shouldn't be awkward, it's for a good cause (www.gemini.org by the way!) so I'm not embarrassed asking outright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

While I think they are mean in this case as you've helped them in the past, I refuse to give money to ANY 'charity' challenge where the individual raises a few grand and then goes off on some trek in South America, Nepal blah blah.
    I'm not paying for your holiday !!! There's even one going on here at work where those involved decided they didn't like any of the challenges on the website so they booked their own ? I'm actually planning a trip to Antartica in 2009 maybe I should get my friends to pay for it. tut tut.

Anyway my point is maybe they don't agree with your challenge...to be fair to the lads doing the 4 peaks isn't exactly a holiday ..yours does sound like one.

Hey Muppetkiller, thanks for your response. On principle I utterly agree with you, which is why ALL the money we raise is going directly to the charity and none of it will be used to finance the trip. I was surprised by the sizeable chunk of fundraising money that went towards accomodation, food, petrol etc on the 4 peaks challenge and personally don't agree with it. So I don't think that's the issue here because we've made the fact that we won't be benefiting from the donations quite clear from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

when you helped them with the 4 peaks had they asked for it or did you offer or just take on the role of assisting them. It makes a difference. If you were asked I would say it's bad form for them not to support you in return.However if you offered then you have to offer with out expecting anything in return - not that they are obliged even if you had been asked. It's a tough business.
    I am currently fundraising and I have been amazed by the responses I've gotten - nothing from those I thought would be making a donation and lots from those I would never have dreamed of giving. I would hope to that if it's a charity they don't agree with they should be able to say it and you should be able to accept it.

Best of luck.