Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

School days...the best days of your life?

• 20-08-2007 10:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

How many times were we told this as children? Who thinks it's actually true? I'm on the 'no' side of the fence...

Pass the rose-tinted glasses please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭UnReg123

school? god no!! But i'm in college at the mo, and loving every minute of it!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

I'm in secondary school and I sincerely hope these aren't the best days of my life;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Me hole.

Best days of your life is the summer between end of school and start of college. Ah summer of 2004, 17 going on 18. Thursday to Sunday, nothing but clubs, pubs, birds and house parties. I honestly havent a ****ing clue how we cant re catch the spirit of that summer :( (alright, so the weather this year hasnt helped). But it seems like back then there was always something on, a different adventure every weekend. If you asked me what I did three weekends ago, meh, whatever, probably got locked I cant even remember it was average. Compare that to 04, if i thought long and hard I ould probably name a dozen house parties, nights in clubs, debs, the leaving results session, first concert (the "forbidden on boards" one :) Wu Tang, Faithless, The Madchester Experience, Felix Da Housecat, absoloute belter), plenty of memories of falling home at 5am as the sun is coming up (Snoop and Dres G Thang video reminds me of 2004 alot, drinking all day in the sun, house party and the bit with Snoop falling about the path as he crawls in as the sun comes up, takes me right back to it). I want those days back :( Now its the same old same old, work 40 hours, get paralytic, if your lucky score the odd bird, to have nights like summer 2004 i have to go abroad, I went to Glasgow lately and it was honestly the best craic we had in two odd years (05 summer was pretty good as well).

Mind you, the "we were poor but happy" days, it sometimes rings true. Sometimes i think we had more of a laugh back when a night out consisted of 6 cans of Bavaria in the gaff, tenner into the club, buy a pint, drink a smuggled naggin in the club, stumble home because you couldnt afford taxi, and all in all have a night out on 40 euro. There was almost some type of buzz about being in these places at 17, a bit of a novelty to it, thinking your the man because your ID gets you in while the rest of the losers are drinking in fields.

Maybe its because i didnt live on campus but college was pretty ****e and all. Constant pressure, always an exam around the corner, its no craic.

school no, college yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

I loved my school days but maybe its because our school was very relaxed and not that strict at all. Just after finishing my first year of college, didnt like it so im transferring to another college so heres hoping it gets better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

If when I'm old I find this to be true I'll consider it a very sad reflection on my adult years, the one's I was most responsible for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Oh yes!
    Definitely the best days!
    Primary School moreso than Secondary but still loving Secondary so far...
    College has yet to come so perhaps it'll get even better! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

My school days are turning out to be pretty damn fun! (only two years of em left though! *tear*) If it really gets better from here I'm into a hella fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Loved my school days, primary (despite the grey plastic chairs *rubs back*) and secondary. I got on well with everyone really and had great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

I definitely have fonder memories of primary school than I do of secondary school. Something to do with innocence, I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭aequinoctium

no, they weren't so great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

nah, i was waaaaaay too slow on picking up social skills and too geeky to have enjoyed school too much... despite the exams and stuff, 5th and 6th year were great for me, kinda starting to find my own skin...

i did a year of college, and twas teh best year of my life.

til i dropped out, and the last year has been just amazing! id a job i liked, flexible enough hours-ish, and fúcking FREEDOM! ive money to do stuff i want now, moved out from the parents, know myself so much better, have all these huge plans for the future, and am actually carrying them through!

life this year is amazing, and, if the plans go to plan, next year will be more amazing still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

Ruu wrote:
    Loved my school days, primary (despite the grey plastic chairs *rubs back*) and secondary. I got on well with everyone really and had great craic.

Plastic chairs? You lucky bastard. Half the desks in my secondary schools were the bench types with the inkwells and the flip-lid top. It was like something out of f**king Dickens

I was born in 1982

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I really enjoyed 5th and 6th year. Upon reflection, I should have worked harder, but the social aspects were fantastic and even going to school was good craic, then the nights every weekend and at least once a week, funded by my parents.
    For now it's 9-5, responsibility, "maturity" etc. Not so much fun, and the days, months, years seem to be passing faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

College ruled.... never liked school (it bored me)!

Probably because i didn't do well at school.. but excelled when i went to college thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

I sure hope it gets better than this.....

I think it's just different for different people. I had a class year in 5th year, loads of free gaffs and partying. 6th year not so much, but there were still loads of great nights. This summer has been good, but not as good as shane86 describes his summer between 6th year and college.

I hear college is meant to be great fun though, I can't wait to meet new people etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

The only School Days I ever liked is Stanley Clarke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

It depends on what you define as exciting, for some people 'adventures' to clubs, pubs etc. are great fun, but for me going camping up the Dublin Mountains was what true excitement is, you one on one with nature can't beat it. . Unfortunately no wild animals to defend ourselves from, but still all and all a great time.

I liked my final 2 years(I did not do 4th year) the previous year bored me, they had this little wannabe cool thing going on, and I purposely made myself an outsider from day one. My primary school years were the worst days of my life, seriously I could be put in a 12 by 12 cell for 10 years and then faced with the death penalty and it would still be a better option than those first years of my life.

kids can be so cruel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

hated primary school, liked secondary school but loved college.
    but i wouldn't want to go back.
    prefer having money, not living at home and did i say having money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

College was like being released from jail into disney world, the sense of reality was equally contorted but it was much more fun

What if the prospect of jail was everything you ever wanted? As stupid as it sounds, certain people love the challenge of surviving in jail. I'm interested in survivalism but that may be a bit far, and by a bit I mean way too far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

No, big pile of shít... it's like work but without the money or ability to change jobs.

eoin5 wrote:
    College was like being released from jail into disney world, the sense of reality was equally contorted but it was much more fun

that is an EXCELLENT comparison!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I always thought school was pretty good. No projects/deadlines and the innocence of it all.

College was good but was sometimes hectic if you partied too much and didn't do project work or had a continuous assessment exam. Sure you could just not bother your hole but it's not cool to fail college kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

shane86 wrote:
    Me hole.

LMAO :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

4th year was probably the best eyar of my life thus far. The other school years were very much meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭angelsfire

Well my school days are way behind me, and I think I know why older people say that the school days were the best time of their life. I think they are saying that becasue they were so carefree in those days. Not having to worry about bills and kids and all that grown up crap. As for me I do understand it but I don't think it's a case for me as I don't particuallarily have fond memories of school.:(

Much better my memories of the my late teens up till I was about 26 or 27. Then life started getting a bit serious and having to do sh** you didn't want to do. But if you keep a positive attitude of life and live it to the full each and every day, then I don't think school days will be the best days of your life.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

No i think they are. Took me 5 years to stop missing School. Not the Actual learning and classes part....purely for the Friends back then that i NEVER see now....they all dropped off the face of the earth or something...

Plus, When you're in School you're more Carefree....no idea of what the "Real World" has instore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

School was a bunch of monotonous shíte for me, was stuck in a year with 70% people who were utter annoying, shallow people. However, life outside school during me teens was exceedingly fun ;) Still hang out with all my best friends from primary school.

I finish college next Friday week when I complete me work experience. Ah, never to step into the college life again :( *sniff*

Now comes the hard part..............finding a job, durp!! I guess I'm gonna be selling my ass again :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

I hated school. College was a lot better but still not as great as I expected. Hardly the best days of my life anyway, at least I hope not :/

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

absolutey no way - i hated every single moment of it - HATED IT

Duggy co-sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I absolutely loved school. They were definitely the best days of my life. I had the best time and i loved my school, made some amazing friends (still my best mates) and I just remember really happy most of the time. I didn't enjoy college though, probably because I was doing something I hated and had a long term not so nice (in hindsight) boyfriend. My other happy year has been the last one, a year or two out of college, doing a job I like for good money and getting to travel a lot and have money to have fun. kit was just the college years in between i wasn't happy for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Duggy747 wrote:
    School was a bunch of monotonous shíte for me, was stuck in a year with 70% people who were utter annoying, shallow people. However, life outside school during me teens was exceedingly fun ;) Still hang out with all my best friends from primary school.

I finish college next Friday week when I complete me work experience. Ah, never to step into the college life again :( *sniff*

Now comes the hard part..............finding a job, durp!! I guess I'm gonna be selling my ass again :(

Don't stress over it, we have time to have a game of football before the bell rings. :)

I scared the kids off in my first three years in secondary school. Little do they know behind the paranoid exterior was a warm, talkative person who couldnt give a **** about opening up to a crowd of glorified dip ****s with no reason to leave, other than to go to 'wezz', and act cool smoking behind the 'bleedin' school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

If I had to live my school days over again I'd...probably go to a better school.

Hated it. So much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

2nd year and 5th year were the best years. Not in college yet, but having a nightmare with the CAO already. So yeah, school was pretty fun..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

eoin5 wrote:
    The only School Days I ever liked is Stanley Clarke

You do realise that there are only about 5 people in the entire world who are going to get that joke. Being a Jazz Fusion fan can be lonely sometimes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

Best days of my life? Nearly made me kill myself. It's a joke. As soon as I left my spirits soared, never looked back.

It's a big joke.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

I never really liked sitting in the class waiting for the time to go by but those days were great. No worries, playing soccer with the lads till it got dark every day and getting into all sorts of trouble......Even robbing a shop was only a bit of craic. Ah yeah, sitting in front of the couch watching the Thundercats. Just class.

So yeah being that age was cool, even secondary school was good coz you were the future and the economy was just kicking in, now it's just all about money and who has what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

School days were'nt they shouldnt be either or your not doing a very good job with the following 60-70 years of your life!!! I finish college next may and they have been the best years so far much more independance Im having a great time but I intend on improving on them :D

narco wrote:
    kids can be so cruel...

We can? Thanks Narco! *punches boardsie*......sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

I never got that *sigh* *punches* bullsh!t

sorta geeky wouldn't you say?

Yes its geeky but dammit it serves the purpose:D *slaps mise_me_fein for questioning me*:D :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

Not a chance in hell. School was just mind-numbing, both in the lack of choice of subjects and learning (nothing frustrated me more than having to do subjects I knew I would never ever use, just "because") and in the lack of fun or interesting people in my school. College has been fantastic though, if the "real world" tops it I'll be kinda surprised...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

School, no way but college..... :D:D:D

Those were some great years, free from the parents, girls mad for it, non-stop booze, beans on toast for breakfast, lunch and dinner! School doesn't come close to it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

School was bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

I cant remember liking primary school too much. I liked secondary, well the last 3 yrs of it anyway. and i simply loved college! i would love to go back a few yrs just for a few days to re-live the madness that was college times.