Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

damage to car

• 16-08-2007 12:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭

I have had my new car seat leon for aproximately 3 months now. Bought it new.
    Yesterday I caught a bunch of scumbags trying to vandalise it .... ultimately they left scratches on the front bonnet and roof.
    The gardaí (hats off to them.. they were extremely helpful, sympathetic and did a fantastic job) caught the little bastards. I have opted to press charges. However after all the hooplah and stress of getting this sorted my mind was on other things (namely the damage done to my car) and i was stressed out driving back from the cop shop having made my statement.
    Unfortunately driving into my driveway which i have done for ages now, i swiped the pillar and damaged the left rear quarter of the car ....

165059826a5284058809lew7.th.jpg

I'm worried this is going to be severely expensive. I have fully comp with quinn and I am on my first year insurance (have not gotten a no claims yet), but I have a full licence.
    Do you guys reckon I could get it beat out back as good as new and resprayed perfectly again? If so in the dublin region can you recommend anybody with a high quality of work and that is reasonable when it comes to pricing ... ive heard somebody mention hopkins and lockhart south circular road.
    One of my mates reckons I probably wont be able to get away with 'reskinning' the door.. he believes i might need a new rear quarter panel. Is this likely to cost the thousands he suggests ? This has been one disaster of a week for me... please somebody give me some good news to perk the spirits up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I hate to say it, but that does look pretty bad to me. I've no idea how much it will cost, but if I had to guess i'd be saying a couple of grand. Given that the car is almost new, you really have no option but to go through your insurance and get the job done properly. I'd recommend Exclusive Autobody, I don't have the number on me but it's in the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Sorry for your troubles, unfortuately when it rains, it pours!

I'm no expert on body work but I would say that your looking at a new rear door there, the wheel arch can probably be filled, sanded down and resprayed. At least that's probably what I would do with a 07 car.

The thing here is to get the best job done irrespective of the cost, as the car is brand new a poor repair job will stand out a mile and affect the resale value of the car. Plus the fact that looking at it everyday will eat you up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭CoNfOuNd

A thread I was reading earlier mentions a body repair company in Dublin.

However, in my opinion this doesn't look repairable. I'm no expert but it looks like your driveway pillar has sliced through the cars door panel, not just scraped the paint or dented it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭skibum

Crimmins garage in enniskerry, they do top quality work.

01 2860646

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Looks like a new door skin, and sand/fill the wheel arch. Doesn't look too bad to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭AlanAhern

it doesnt look to bad from studying it. worst case a new door. its not going to be cheap though, i do this on the side for myself and friends and i can tell you the prep work is the hardest. a repair garage will charge alot of labour just to get the car prepped for paint. From looking at the pic you will have to definatly get the door sprayed if not replaced (i cant really tell from the pic), the side of the car from up near the front passengers door to the back and the back bumper painted aswell (because i see a scratch on the back bumper, again i cant see how bad it is). from people telling me, a garage will normally spray and repair a rear bumper from E200 to E400 depending on damage etc. Best bet anyway mate is to ring around and get a few quotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Sorry to hear about the damage, but its great to read about scummers actually getting caught and prosecuted for their behaviour - its all too rare now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

Give carcraft a ring mate, www.carcraft.ie
    I had something similiar, if not quite as bad a dent in the door. Was charged just over 400 for it. Top job, good as new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

As stated before, it's not going to be cheap. Anyway, you don't want a cheap job done - it will show. Get it done right. You might get away without a new door, but either way there will be labour involved in stripping and painting the door.

I use Crofton Motors in Sundrive for bodywork - not the cheapest but I have to say, they do a great job. 01 492 1833 if you want to get a quote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭agent_smith

Thanks guys,
    Yup its heart breaking. Like I was saying .... it doesn't rain... it pours!
    Im hoping to get away with an as new type job regardless of cost. The advice here is great.. you guys are right... a cheap and chearful will affect the resale value. I want a proper , as good as the day it rolled off the line type job.
    Ideally im hoping there will be no cutting involved.
    I'm due to get my first quote today. Say a prayer for me guys!
    As for the scumbags.... i deliberately didn't beat the snot out of them, my mate was with me and calmed me down thankfully.... said that if i layed a finger on them or threatened them i could be done for assault. Thankfully i did nothing. At the very least Im getting them to pay for the paint repairs to the bonnet and roof.

agent_smith

JHMEG wrote:
    Looks like a new door skin

Seat don't do door skins (as with all VW Group brands - MKII Golf was one of the last to have skins available as a spare part) so if it can't be repaired it will need a whole door, unfortunately :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Fair play to you for containing yourself. Was it just pure vandalism or attempted theft? Where did it happen, so we can all be wary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

skibum wrote:
    Crimmins garage in enniskerry, they do top quality work.

01 2860646

I'll second that recommendation - Pricey but perfect....

Rathfarnham carpark bunch of teenagers bouncing around on the roof and bonnet.
    If i had reacted I would have been the one in court and probably with a heavy charge for assaulting minors. No way.... il take my 'get the parents ' to pay for damage and get the little bastards in trouble as jouvenille offenders.

Rathfarnham carpark bunch of teenagers bouncing around on the roof and bonnet.

Which car park in Rathfarnham? - I regularly park in Rathfarnham (overnight sometimes) and based on your story I'd rather avoid it if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Well, thanks for the info, I hope it all gets sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

Tony Byrnes Crash Repairs
    5 Fairview ave Ringsend 4 (01) 6689896
    Know this guy personally, does really good work and reasonable prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Sorry to see the damage; at least the little scrotes who were at your car got caught.

Try AC Car Sales for the repair; they recently started bodywork and it's supposed to be really good (I know that their mechanical work is top notch, but I haven't seen any of their bodywork myself).

http://www.accarsales.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

You may get the work done a bit cheaper if you get it done with the repair of the damage caused by the scumbags. I presume the scumbags have to pay for the damage done to your car? Perhaps get a quote for the work they have to pay for and get the garage to inflate the cost a bit to offset the repairs you have to pay for. Not exactly honest but I think the scum deserve it. I had my side mirror smashed a while ago and got a quote from VW to get it replaced and fitted, the scum paid and I did it myself and saved €30 for my troubles

Well my car was parked in the under ground car park in rathfarnham village.... inside rathfarnham gate. Scumbags were caught thankfully.
    To be honest im annoyed at myself for driving while so angry. I should known better. And if i had waited to calm down i might not have clipped the pillar of my driveway coming home. I was just so angry...
    Anyway... il keep you guys updated with damage and cost estimate (for paintwork damage caused by scum and the damage caused by muppet yours truly.