Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

things to do

• 15-08-2007 12:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

I want to take up some sort of a hobby ......get out and meet new people Any one recommend anything in Kildare/ Newbridge .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

My wife played hockey and found that quite good fun.

You can find out about sporting events and teams in the community sports centre on the Caragh road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Ay Cee

Drama groups, if that's your kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

A part-time/night course perhaps?

http://www.kildarevec.ie/AdultEdFrameSet.htm lists evening courses run by the VEC in a wide variety of subjects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

Newbridge Drama Group are having an open day on the 30th August. I can't remember where though. We got a flier through the door about it. Maybe someone else can give more details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

Macra na Feirme are starting up in Naas (it's not a farmer's organisation these days before ye ask!)....includes drama, sports, activities, weekends away, nights out etc....should be up and running this week or the next.

dame wrote:
    Newbridge Drama Group are having an open day on the 30th August. I can't remember where though. We got a flier through the door about it. Maybe someone else can give more details.

That's in An Chistin, Newbridge @ 7.30pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

dame wrote:
    That's in An Chistin, Newbridge @ 7.30pm.
    Macra na Feirme meeting in a place called An Chistin? Well, I never! :D

Ibid wrote:
    Macra na Feirme meeting in a place called An Chistin? Well, I never! :D

Eh no, that was the drama group but maybe Macra could follow them there, farmers in the cistin drinking tae does seem appropriate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

dame wrote:
    Eh no, that was the drama group
    Whoops, my mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭the flananator

Get locked.

In Newbridge, I would suggest several beers in Coffeys before moseying on up to Swifts for shots, a dance and a snog.

In Naas, drinks in the Ivy or Graces before making your way to Time, or Bondai if you're a knacker.

Get locked.

In Newbridge, I would suggest several beers in Coffeys before moseying on up to Swifts for shots, a dance and a snog.

In Naas, drinks in the Ivy or Graces before making your way to Time, or Bondai if you're a knacker.

LOL,

Every place you mentioned here is a DUMP....

I don't know many of the pubs in Newbridge, however I know Coffeys and Swifts are awful places.

In Naas, your best bet is Fletchers for a decent pint. Also Kavanaghs (but it is always packed), Haydens is great if the Rugby is on and Lawlors hotel is decent too.

prospect wrote:
    LOL,

I don't know many of the pubs in Newbridge, however I know Coffeys and Swifts are awful places.

In Naas, your best bet is Fletchers for a decent pint. Also Kavanaghs (but it is always packed), Haydens is great if the Rugby is on and Lawlors hotel is decent too.

What are you? A 45-year old industrial banker?

You might not be too far off......

That explains it then... :0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

So she says she wants to take up a new hobby and ye mention pubs? Ha ha...Lorraine what are you interested in? Any kind of sports? Or drama? Tell us what you're in to and we might be able to steer you in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭armchairninja

prospect wrote:
    LOL,

are you loosing the bit you have!, coffeys is a great spot, or perhaps you would prefer fine establishments such as The Keg or Edward House(McCabes) and as for swifts its like an institution in newbridge, i get the feeling your not from newbridge:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Baggio

there's an athletics club up around punchestown somewhere...i run around there a few times a week,,and see the club runners too up there doing their stuff,,,if thats any good........

oh by the way am a user of boards quite a lot,,the music forums usually,,,but only spotted a "kildare" forum tonight......so apologies if ya's are thinking "who's this blow in sticking his noze in our forum?"!!,,,,am from Naas and thought i'd start taking an interest here too...

ciao' amigos...Baggio....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

No worries Baggio, it's a new forum, welcome :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Baggio

cheeers MayMay :)