Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft discussion on Adrian Kennedy show FM104

• 14-08-2007 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭

My mum just rang me to say that Adrian Kennedy mentioned they would be discussing airsoft on the show. Not sure if it's happened yet or not.

I've no way to record the show, so tune in if you can and record it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

On Now! They Think Its Illegal ! Get On The Line Now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭whupass

erg some scanger is saying his friend was lucky not to be imprisoned for having one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

It's on right now... Apparantly air guns can shoot right through ya!

That's the calibre lads (pun intended)

Will I send in an email from the IAA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

is it still on?
    their web says he's off the air?
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

let me be first...WHAT ABOUT THE CHILDREN!!!, THINK OF THE CHILDREN FOR GODS SAKE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

DaveMcG wrote:
    It's on right now... Apparantly air guns can shoot right through ya!

That's the calibre lads (pun intended)

Will I send in an email from the IAA?

hahahah....good one....

i would not send ...its only feeding the troll...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Listening myself.

All I heard was them talking about air guns. er...these aren't airguns...blah blah etc etc.

"Hello,

I am writing to address the negative response from listeners regarding BB guns.

The "BB guns" that are being discussed are used in a sport called 'Airsoft', which is a
    combat simulation game almost identical to paintball, and which is played in designated
    venues all over Europe, Asia, and America. The main difference between the sports is that
    the equipment used in Airsoft looks more realistic, and shoots little plastic balls
    rather than paintballs, with the former producing a fraction of the amount of energy
    produced by the latter.

Airsoft equipment was illegal until a few months ago, when the Criminal Justice Act 2006
    amended the definition of 'firearm' under the Firearms Act, to exclude equipment with a
    muzzle energy under 1 Joule of energy. This means that Airsoft equipment can be bought
    legally and without regulation, thus leaving it open to abuse. By way of comparison,
    because paintball guns produce a muzzle energy in excess of 10 Joules, they are
    considered firearms, and as such require a firearm certificate to possess.

Airsoft participants are aware of the problems present since the change in legislation
    legalised the equipment. We are not putting our heads in the sand, and are highly
    critical of any and every shop that sells the guns to minors, or sells them as toys, when
    they are in fact sporting equipment, and should be treated with the same level of respect
    and safety as any other such equipment.

To address the problems presented by the sudden arrival of Airsoft in the Republic, a
    number of participants of the sport have formed what is to become a representative group
    for players, and a guiding body for all matters relating to airsoft in this country.

The Irish Airsoft Association (IAA) hopes to regulate the sport in order to eradicate
    problems such as sale to minors. We hope to provide structure and administration to
    airsoft in Ireland, in a similar manner to the FAI act in relation to football. We will
    act in the best interests of members of the IAA, as well as the Irish public, and liaise
    with airsoft venues around the country to ensure that they provide a safe and friendly
    environment in which to partake in the sport.

I urge you to point your listeners in the direction of our website,
    www.irishairsoftassociation.com , and have them read the 'About' section, to find out in
    more detail what the sport entails and how we are hoping to address the problems you
    discuss on your show, without resorting to the knee-jerk reaction of illegalisation.

One sentence that I have heard to sum up the sport is the following: 'Airsoft is nothing
    but a bunch of grown-ups playing soldier'. That's all it is, and it's nothing to be
    alarmed about once it is done in the safe manner envisaged by all participants.

It is also important to note that Airsoft guns (these are the ones that are for sale in the shop in Cork) are completely different to Air guns, which are illegal to own without a licence.

Please read this email out on your show in the interest of journalistic balance.

Dave
    Administrator, www.IrishAirsoftAssociation.com"

That alright? I just copied the email I sent to the last radio station and modified it a bit! lol

Oisín, should I send it in? Before they finish talking about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Well done.

Master of the Universe

As long as they're talking about airguns, which are firearms then no, I wouldn't send that in.

Maybe send in something pointing out the difference between airguns and airSOFT. They're totally confusing the issue.

Master of the Universe

go alan!

Alan's sayin it all anyway... fair play to him

Hope he mentions the IAA! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Fair play Alan, and fair play to Kennedy for listening to him and giving him a chance to speak.

Who's this lad now........?

Master of the Universe

I don't know but he sounds familiar....?

He's still not getting the whole airgun/airsoft thing. Really doing my head in! :mad:

Good on alan and Paul. I may be called back aswell.

NOTE: Your man in spain was shot with a METAL Pellet! Thus that was a FIREARM!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

i got cut off while the other guy was talking about the banana. didnt get a chance to mention any of the websites. wanted to mention wikipiedia aswell but couldnt.

o1s1n wrote:
    I don't know but he sounds familiar....?

He's still not getting the whole airgun/airsoft thing. Really doing my head in! :mad:
    Think he rang up the other radio station before..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

That Paul guy isnt doing anybody any favours. Alan is doing an excellent job though.

Yeah I wish they'd kept on Alan and not Paul... Seems they have an agenda to me. Think of the children-type-crap

Master of the Universe

Ah, I think that's our own whupass :D

That Paul guy isnt doing anybody any favours. Alan is doing an excellent job though.

Thats why Alan got "cut off" and they're ripping paul apart...they know he can't argue the point as well as Alan.

Lads...annoying as this is getting, do NOT call up this show - you will do more harm than good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

Where can I listen? Internet link or radio signal, please.

moneyman wrote:
    Where can I listen? Internet link or radio signal, please.
    http://www.fm104.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Turlock

This **** really pisses me off, thicks who don't have a clue what they're talking about. Paul keeps getting shouting down!!!

Anger rising...

This hick moron farmer Mick thats on now is an ignorant fúck.

Over now, god that did not go well.

Was just about to call in there, it's so frustrating listening to these c*nts talking f*cking b*llocks.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Was just about to call in there, it's so frustrating listening to these c*nts talking f*cking b*llocks.

Yea same. Im not as big into airsoft as some people here but that was doing my head in.

Media 1, Airsoft 0!

They thought you were firing lead pellets at us Paul. Slight clarity issue.

IAA: We need a press statement.

yeah i asked the guy if he was shot by an airgun pellet (champagne cork shapped) and adrian cut me off saying what's that got to do with it, i was trying to point out that he was shot with an airgun not airsoft gun

yeah alan where you go?? leave me hanging!! i got cut off too, REALLY wish i hadn't called back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

i wasnt getting answered when i rang back, it just kept ringing out. i wanted to say how water pistols look like guns and shoot something and they are clearly not firearms and not illegal in the same vain that airsoft is not illegal.

i had a feeling i was going to get cut off while i wasnt talking.
    i wanted to tell him exactly who i was and what i do to shut them all up.

it's a tad biased

Fair play for trying Paul, you were fairly up against it with those ignorant gobsh*tes. Fair play to you too Alan.

yeah i called three times becasue they ONLY had hurt people on there was one guy who got it in cork but he knew nothing about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I was on the phone for over 20 mins waiting to go on & they hung up on me.

Alan did a fantastic job. And Paul did his best considering the amount of bull**** that was being thrown at him by that ignorant and very rude Mick guy.

Biggest failure on that show was that the difference between airsoft guns and airguns was not made clear enough. The other big point that was missed is that airsoft guns/airguns/golf clubs/stones don't cause injuries...criminals and irresponsible people do. If the intent to hurt someone is there, then it will be done regardless of the legal status of airsoft guns.

did you mention you were a guard alan? i wasn't sure if it was you so when you were gone i mentioned i knew a guard who played

Yea you were up against some of the best (worst?) ignorance Ireland has to offer, well done for trying it sounded like you were having a hard time with some of them.

if it wasn't live i'd have swore my head off, but i didn't think that would look good for airsoft

i REALLY didn't like the fact one of them called my parents irresponsible!!!!!!

can i sue him for slander????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Lads just look at the type of show it is ffs. Its a late night radio show that thrives on shock. There was no way it would have been "Airsoft is safe and a good sport" outcome. They had decided the angle before the show and they funnelled the responses in that manner.

TBH I wouldn't boast their internet hit figures or even bother to ring or email them. Tomorrow Night on FM104 "Elvis spotted in a Romanian Camp on the M50 Roundabout".

whupass wrote:
    if it wasn't live i'd have swore my head off, but i didn't think that would look good for airsoft

i REALLY didn't like the fact one of them called my parents irresponsible!!!!!!

can i sue him for slander????

Nope, you can't sue since your identity was not given out over the air.

It's very difficult to get ignorant closed-minded people to see the difference between airsoft guns and airguns. I honestly don't think you would have been able to convince that guy on any point. He was not open to any ideas other than his own deeply flawed beliefs.

Don't beat yourself up over the show. Take's a lot of guts to go on air and face such a hostile group of people. I think you did well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Anyone know where I can get a playback of this?

yeah would like to hear it myself, missed the whole event..

Lemming wrote:
    Anyone know where I can get a playback of this?

You could email the show and ask them if they have a copy. I'm sure they record the shows in case any legal issue arise.

I agree with CrazyRabbit, Whupass - don't beat yourself up. They knew exactly who they were letting on air and what kind of response they wanted.

I thought it would be balanced when I first tuned in because that Jeremy guy was letting Alan speak, but I reckon he was deliberatly cut off.

The one thing we should all take away from this and the recent Indymedia crap is this - DO NOT try to debate professional journalists and agitators when you see airsoft under attack - the likelihood is you'll just make things worse. Leave it to the IAA guys.

for future reference guys, emails are no good!

Invite said presenter to an event..luckily enough you guys have one close to hand..let him see what its all about, you never know, he might accept!

iceage wrote:
    Invite said presenter to an event..luckily enough you guys have one close to hand..let him see what its all about, you never know, he might accept!
    Nah, if a media person were to be invited to an event, anybody from the Adrian Kennedy phone show would be last on my list of preferences personally!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

professionals never debate with journalists.you cant win and you never will,
    good news never makes money rember that, if you ever have to speak to one.