Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

There's a new club in town

• 10-08-2007 2:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭

I have spoken to DeV and 5star about posting this:

All are welcome:
    Opening-Night-Poster.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Hold a seat for me Paul!! A great charity idea too. Can we buy charity chips twice??? As ye all know I love to donate. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Cuban Son

ollyk1 wrote:
    Hold a seat for me Paul!! A great charity idea too. Can we buy charity chips twice??? As ye all know I love to donate. :o

AFAIK Olly, you can only buy one set of charity chips, but it would be an idea for multiple ones for a good cause.There'll be a lot of chips in play anyway, so it could be a long 'un....

Shure where else would you want to be next Friday..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭MickL

Paul im first on the Play BTW lol

thats ok mick- friday is my day off.....lol

Cuban Son wrote:
    thats ok mick- friday is my day off.....lol
    lol lucksack

BUMP - Just in case ye all forget!:)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Paul, what is the capacity of the new club likely to be? I think there is a good chance there will be a big crowd there tomorrow night and I don't want to miss out as I won't be there before 8 I'd imagine, and might even be a bit later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

18 poker tables so 200 or so max.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

bohsman wrote:
    18 poker tables so 200 or so max.

Lovely.

Remember the €25 is at the buy-in stage and increases your stack by 50% straight off the bat. Its a one-off that will not be in the regular Friday game.

Luke has trained really hard for the Triathlon for a worthy cause. To open a club and then do this a week later takes some balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,956 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

whats the story with registration - got to do that tomorrow?

Open from 6 for drinks and finger food so loads of time to register. Tourney starts at 8 30.

Ace2007 wrote:
    whats the story with registration - got to do that tomorrow?
    I presume drivers licence or passport needed for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

5starpool wrote:
    bring your pension book dom :)

5starpool wrote:

that was going to be my next question.... sure dom you can bring your bus pass

bring your pension book dom :)
    Why I oughta......

I'd have gotten away with it if it weren't for you pesky kids.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Looking forward to this! Went in to give Luke a hand and he asked me if I'd be in on Friday, I told him I certainly would!

"Great!" he says, "wear a white shirt, I might need you."

Some things never change!

DeV.

Back to the Future in more way than one it seems.......

anyone know what the blind levels for this are?

o and a little OT but does the club close at a certain time - like 6am???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭[DM] Frink

WWWooooo can't wait!! Going back to the Cellar Bar for a few pints during the breaks!

ur going conor???
    wow dead money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Is this a black tie affair? For some reason somebody told me it was and i went out today and got a tux especially for it. Hope everybody else abides by the dress code.

once you got clothes on you will be grand well respectable clothes noel no Pyjamas or things :)

Ace2007 wrote:

Donal as Long as you wanna stay in the Building it will be open

30 min levels
    i have that dam peice of paper somewhere with everything on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

lol If you come in half cut to the cash games in a black tie I may just have to bust out of the tournie....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

MickL wrote:
    Donal as Long as you wanna stay in the Building it will be open

30 min levels
    i have that dam peice of paper somewhere with everything on it

This could be a long night...

I'm in work at 7am Saturday for 13.5 hours.....meh cant let a little thing like that put me off! I'll be there on Friday. See you all at 6

Ace2007 wrote:

I doubt we'll be stopping a game if its lively, not sure what the closing times are but in the works is 24hour poker during the weekends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

ollyk1 wrote:
    lol If you come in half cut to the cash games in a black tie I may just have to bust out of the tournie....

so thats the excuse then olly?? ever the optimist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

I said i would take some pics and post them online and for the board in the cardroom so comb your hair! (yes, dev, that means you!)

you will only remember the best times of your life long after they are gone. this could be one of them, as could Vera's game on Sunday. so if you are free and can afford it, i do heartily recommend them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭mcaul

Hi - Was in Lukes place earlier - army of people there cleaning carpets checking everything, and generally getting the place ready. Looks really good. Things still to be added (such as new chips!!!:) - which will be there next week) but overall a very large and comfortable looking club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭[DM] Frink

Donal I wont be going in to play tournament, I'll pop my head in.....and me easy money....then what are you :)

I assume there will be cash games after? Omaha only and stuff???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭sumoward

you will only remember the best times of your life long after they are gone. this could be one of them, as could Vera's game on Sunday. so if you are free and can afford it, i do heartily recommend them.

You just sold me on these.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭30something

I got a hall pass, just one question, can I give ALL my entry fee and top up to Charity seeing as its dead money anyway?

lol you most certainly can but give it a spin ya might get lucky then give all the dead money to charity lol

[DM] Frink wrote:
    Donal I wont be going in to play tournament, I'll pop my head in.....and me easy money....then what are you :)

I assume there will be cash games after? Omaha only and stuff???

when was the last time me and you played a game????

as for cash games - will there be any?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

just a reminder to ppl not to forget to adhere to the strict dress code. Tux is required by all.

except for you noel you come in your tiger skin underwear and cowboy hat LoL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

MickL wrote:
    except for you noel you come in your tiger skin underwear and cowboy hat LoL

Jesus, I was going to go to this and then you go putting images like this in my head....sick

<rushes to bathroom for projectile vomiting>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Uh-Oh

Looks like i'll have to stay home and cry.

Jesus, I was going to go to this and then you go putting images like this in my head....sick

<rushes to bathroom for projectile vomiting>

wevev all seen it before (Noel on s good day)model1-9941.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Folks - is it actually black tie??? Can I not turn up my usual scruffy self in jeans and a hoodie?? If so - boo!! :(

Lloyd, cop on ffs and stop asking stupid questions.

Other answer, yes, you should wear a tux.

5starpool wrote:
    Lloyd, cop on ffs and stop asking stupid questions.

Other answer, yes, you should wear a tux.

That really confused me. :( Which is it? :mad:

Minimum requirement is a Grosvenor Lane tracksuit.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    That really confused me. :( Which is it? :mad:
    You'll figure it out. I'm going if that helps your decision making.

5starpool wrote:
    You'll figure it out. I'm going if that helps your decision making.

Looking like **** FTW. Phew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

pha0111l.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Fcuk it anyway, had been making plans to attend this and then my mate goes and organises his stag to Galway this week-end. Just like to wish Luke and all his staff a successfull night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Im in Dublin tonite so i will be attending this. Im in Dublin every nite though. Just need to drop into blacktie first.
    Early photo so far from CoolHandLukes reception
    Come on Lloyd now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Folks - is it actually black tie??? Can I not turn up my usual scruffy self in jeans and a hoodie?? If so - boo!! :(

mods, 24hr ban!??!?! we don't need this kind of idiocy around these forums!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Looking for forward to this tonight should be a great game.