Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cool Hand Lukes Tournament Schedule

• 10-08-2007 12:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭

Cool Hand Luke’s
    TOURNAMENT SCHEDULE 2007
    Commences 18th August 07
    Monday
    8.30PM
    €50+5 1 Re-Buy or Top –Up @ €50
    Starting Stack 4K Re-Buy or Top-Up 4K

Tuesday

8.30PM
    €70+5 Double Chance Scalps (“€20 SCALP”)
    Starting Stack 4K + 4K
    30 Min Clock

Wednesday

8.30PM
    €30+5 1 Re-Buy and 1 Top-up OR 2 Re-Buys @ €30
    Starting Stack 2K, Re-Buy 3K, Top-Up 4K

Thursday

8.30PM
    €100+10 Deepstack Freezeout
    7.5K Starting Stack
    30-Minute Clock

The Tenner @ “10”
    10PM
    €10+5 Unlimited Re-Buys for the first 3 level’s + 1 Top-Up @ “€10”
    (Dealers Provided)

Friday

8.30PM
    €40+5 2 Re-Buys OR 1 Re-Buy + 1 Top-up @ €40
    Starting Stack 3K, Re-buy 4K, Top-Up 5K

Saturday

8.30PM
    €50+5 Double Chance
    Starting Stack 3K + 3k

Sunday

5PM
    €25 + 5 Freezeout
    (Dealers Provided)

8.30PM (Barcode @ Luke’s)
    €20+5 + 3 Re-Buys and 1 Top-Up @ €10

Monthly Game

€300+30 FREEZEOUT (2 Day Event)
    3rd Saturday of Every Month 6PM
    10,000 Starting Stack, 30 – 45 Minute Clock

Tournament BAD BEAT

Introducing Irelands first tournament BAD BEAT. Every night the BAD BEAT jackpot will run throughout the tournament and will have a guaranteed €500 nightly,
    €5 will be taken from the entry fee and added to the jackpot with 50% going to the current jackpot and 50% going to the next jackpot.
    Minimum criteria for the jackpot will be Aces Full of Jacks beaten using both hole cards and holding an Ace, the hand must also come to a showdown.

COOL HAND LUKES 81 MERRION SQUARE DUBLIN 2 IRELAND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

looks good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Woohoo!! Nothing I don't like the look of!!! :D

But the best bit has to be 8.30pm starts - please stick to this and start on time. PLEASE!! :p

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

First things first, mod hat on. We need more details Mick, but as you said in your PM that you will provide more when known that is ok, and we'll allow it as is for now, but in future, you know the drill. When you get a chance either post a new thread or PM me with the following details which I will edit here.

1. Blinds - whether standard levels used, 75/150, 150/300 etc.
    2. Whether any bonus/early bird chips given out.
    3. When there are changes in blind lengths (such as end of month) the split between the different lengths and where it changes.

Now, on to commenting about the schedule. Mostly good, some bad.

Good: Seems like planety of chips. Especially like the end of month on a weekend and the structure, and the Thursday game looks good as well. Some dealer dealt games for the student types as well.

Bad: No Omaha in the tournie schedule. €20 scalp too much in a 50+20+5 game. €5 taken from each entry for a bad beat tournie jackpot. I don't like this one especially. In the example of the scalps game above it means that a persons scalp is worth nearly 50% of their chipstack in monetary terms. This is far too big a %. I am not in favour of the €5 deduction at all in fact. Tuesday would be a great game if the scalp was a standard tenner, or up the entry fee to €70+20+5+5 (prizepool+scalp+reg+bad beat thing).

I'm sure I will be in there for a decent % of my tournies anyhow. What is the food situation in there Mick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

5starpool wrote:
    Bad: No Omaha in the tournie schedule. €20 scalp too much in a 50+20+5 game. €5 taken from each entry for a bad beat tournie jackpot. I don't like this one especially. In the example of the scalps game above it means that a persons scalp is worth nearly 50% of their chipstack in monetary terms. This is far too big a %. I am not in favour of the €5 deduction at all in fact. Tuesday would be a great game if the scalp was a standard tenner, or up the entry fee to €70+20+5+5 (prizepool+scalp+reg+bad beat thing).

Good point on the €20 scalp Dom! It's too much alright.

The bad beat jackpot is one of those things which is better value for regulars and people who tend to go deep in tournies (as they will be playing for longer for the same bad beat rake) as well as encouraging mad/bad gamblors to play. Both of which I like. On the downside I prefer to win my money playing poker not on a pure gamble. But its something different so I won't prejudge and I'm sure practise will show if this proves popluar, if it doesn't I'm sure it'll be reviewed.

I just assumed there would be food :o That's why Dom is a mod!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭MickL

5starpool wrote:
    First things first, mod hat on. We need more details Mick, but as you said in your PM that you will provide more when known that is ok, and we'll allow it as is for now, but in future, you know the drill. When you get a chance either post a new thread or PM me with the following details which I will edit here.

1. Blinds - whether standard levels used, 75/150, 150/300 etc.
    2. Whether any bonus/early bird chips given out.
    3. When there are changes in blind lengths (such as end of month) the split between the different lengths and where it changes.

Now, on to commenting about the schedule. Mostly good, some bad.

Good: Seems like planety of chips. Especially like the end of month on a weekend and the structure, and the Thursday game looks good as well. Some dealer dealt games for the student types as well.

I'm sure I will be in there for a decent % of my tournies anyhow. What is the food situation in there Mick?

Tought About Omaha tourney and one will be added at a later date!!
    we also tought about the bad beat and that the only option would be a percentage basis but wit such a different buy in variety in the schedule it just wont work!! this things are mostly a working progress and will but mae to suit as ya can understand!!

as Regards to food!! Food will be provided!!

Just to let people know also i forgot to mention that the first monthly game starts the 22nd of september

I must update the sticky with this in a wee while. Alos, my food enquiry was more a general one as opposed to in the break during tournies.

i figured that dom yes food will be provided in the club throughout the night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Mick do me a favour and make sure the results from your monthly game are emailed to me pronto for the rankings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Don't like the idea of the bad beat jackpot yoke. Other than that its looks alright.

Shortstack wrote:
    Mick do me a favour and make sure the results from your monthly game are emailed to me pronto for the rankings.

yea no probs Mike i have your e-mail addy ill send them on to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

I'm behind the times..i just saw this thread now! The schedule looks very good with lots of games to suit everyone. Would like a deepstack on a Friday night though. I agree with Dom though about the omaha. Would be nice to squeeze in an Omaha tournie during the week.

I hate the idea of a tournament bad beat. There is such a difference between tournament and cash game play that its not even close and i cant see the bad beat working for the tournament. If i was holding winning bad beat hand in a cash game, i'll probably not bet the river if i'm sure my opponent has the losing end. In a tournament, i'm not going to let him keep his tournament life by leaving him with some chips if i think he will pay me off "just incase" i dont have it.

The same applies if the roll was reversed. If i had the losing bad beat hand, i'm not going to be willing to knock myself out of a tournament just to receive the bad beat. I cant see the jackpot ever getting big enough to make an exceptions because bad beats come around more often during tournament play.

In saying that, taking €5 from the entry fee isn't going to bother me too much and i'll be a frequent visitor here when it opens. Good stuff Luke/Mick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

Flushdraw wrote:
    I'm behind the times..i just saw this thread now! The schedule looks very good with lots of games to suit everyone. Would like a deepstack on a Friday night though. I agree with Dom though about the omaha. Would be nice to squeeze in an Omaha tournie during the week.

I hate the idea of a tournament bad beat. There is such a difference between tournament and cash game play that its not even close and i cant see the bad beat working for the tournament. If i was holding winning bad beat hand in a cash game, i'll probably not bet the river if i'm sure my opponent has the losing end. In a tournament, i'm not going to let him keep his tournament life by leaving him with some chips if i think he will pay me off "just incase" i dont have it.

The same applies if the roll was reversed. If i had the losing bad beat hand, i'm not going to be willing to knock myself out of a tournament just to receive the bad beat. I cant see the jackpot ever getting big enough to make an exceptions because bad beats come around more often during tournament play.

In saying that, taking €5 from the entry fee isn't going to bother me too much and i'll be a frequent visitor here when it opens. Good stuff Luke/Mick

all that is very important. tournament bad beat will not work, it may attract a few gamblers who like the gimmick, but in practice it doesnt... wont work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

really, you won't stack off with aces full of jacks, quads, or a straight flush in a tournament? Be a bit more realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

RoundTower wrote:
    really, you won't stack off with aces full of jacks, quads, or a straight flush in a tournament? Be a bit more realistic.

Suppose youre right there RT

I may be wrong, but I cannot ever recall getting knocked out of a tournament holding Aces over Jacks or better, and I have played (and been knocked out of) hundreds of tournaments. I have only seen it happen a handful of times as well I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

i was looking forward to the opening night but will give my support when able, tournies look great..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

5starpool wrote:
    ... €20 scalp too much in a 50+20+5 game.
    I like this idea.

I always feel that the tenner scalp in a 100 buy in is more or less irrelevant and does little or nothing to encourage extra action (we all know that the ones who say they were only calling for the scalp when they hit their two outer were always calling anyway :rolleyes: ). And they are invariably used to tip the dealer on the FT.
    But scalps worth 15 - 20 % of the average buy in is pretty sure to make this an action packed event.

Otherwise its a nice looking schedule, I'd prefer if the Thursday and Friday were swapped but I can still see myself turning up to one or other as often as I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

Don't like the idea of the bad beat jackpot yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

Some of the tournaments look good but as an infrequent (maybe 1 a month) live tournament player I don't like money kept from the prize pool for leagues or Bad Beat jackpots or whatever. This BB jackpot seems particularly bad and aimed at providing a big pool every now and then as it won't be won often.

Is it really €5 taken from a €10 entry in one instance?

But having said that I'm sure I'll be in soon enough :D

Another Edit to mention the first Monthly Game is acutally the 15th Not the 22nd sorry about that dam calender having the 1st of september on a Saturday!!! :mad: :mad: :mad: :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Looks great. Not sure about the badbeat either but, meh. And please post the blind structures in detail when you get a chance Mick. Good stuff.

no probs lylod ill talk to luke tomorrow and try get them up!!!

MickL wrote:
    no probs lylod ill talk to luke tomorrow and try get them up!!!

Ty sir!! Just good to do it once so that it can be referred back to going forward. Looking forward to the opening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

The bad beat is trial and error, if people dont like it itll be replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭The Tourist

HiCloy wrote:
    Some of the tournaments look good but as an infrequent (maybe 1 a month) live tournament player I don't like money kept from the prize pool for leagues or Bad Beat jackpots or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Lplated

MickL wrote:
    Cool Hand Luke’s
    TOURNAMENT SCHEDULE 2007
    Commences 18th August 07
    Monday
    8.30PM etc

I wish Luke and the new staff here all the best.

Any chance you would consider starting times of 8 o' clock that actually did start at eight??

Maybe its just me but tournies starting at nine and possibly still being in without having reached a final table at one or two in the morning aren't very convenient on week nights.

I happened to be in Cork lately, went to a club there that advertised its tournies as starting at 8. At 8 exactly a bell went throughout the casino and the game started. Some people came late but the tournie was under way anyway (and stacks were left out to be chipped away). Ditto for the break, the clock timed down a ten minute break, at the end of which a bell went again and the game commenced whether people were seated or not.

Weekend nights (or non working nights) don't matter so much, but you might encourage more people more regularly if they knew game would start on time and either would finish early or at least that you'd be at a final table and thus making a bit of money if it ran late.

If you did introduce an earlier/stricter approach to time, you might find a bigger take up for cash games during the week - if tournie started at 8 and person is knocked out at 10 or 11, they might be prepared to play cash/other games for an hour or two, but where things dont start until 9 and there are 15/20 min breaks, the bulk of people aren't being knocked out until 12 or thereabouts by which time working folks may not bother with an hour or two of cash.

Just my tuppence worth. Best of luck to all involved anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭sumoward

Lplated wrote:

Any chance you would consider starting times of 8 o' clock that actually did start at eight??

Maybe its just me but tournies starting at nine and possibly still being in without having reached a final table at one or two in the morning aren't very convenient on week nights.

I happened to be in Cork lately, went to a club there that advertised its tournies as starting at 8. At 8 exactly a bell went throughout the casino and the game started. Some people came late but the tournie was under way anyway (and stacks were left out to be chipped away). Ditto for the break, the clock timed down a ten minute break, at the end of which a bell went again and the game commenced whether people were seated or not.

Weekend nights (or non working nights) don't matter so much, but you might encourage more people more regularly if they knew game would start on time and either would finish early or at least that you'd be at a final table and thus making a bit of money if it ran late.

If you did introduce an earlier/stricter approach to time, you might find a bigger take up for cash games during the week - if tournie started at 8 and person is knocked out at 10 or 11, they might be prepared to play cash/other games for an hour or two, but where things dont start until 9 and there are 15/20 min breaks, the bulk of people aren't being knocked out until 12 or thereabouts by which time working folks may not bother with an hour or two of cash.

QFT

The time keeping in Dublin venues is woeful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Lplated wrote:

really agree with all of this to be hoenst, i realise the tbale games are profitable for the casinos and if that is the case have a 15min break jsut make sure it starts after 15mins exactly as its really frustrating standing around for ages not knowing when it starts, new club new habits etc it would be great to start like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Lplated wrote:

nicely put. i can't play in games that go on all night either. 8 o'clock starts on the buton would be great.
    Luke brought in early bird chips and they did the trick for a while in the Fitz. maybe he can do the same here Mick?

While I am sure that we all have the absolute height of respect for Luke, we have to admit that when he was in the Fitz the starting times were always disregarded. Particularly for the bigger events like the EOM or the €500 which would routinely be more than an hour past the advertised starting time. I won't be holding my breathe on this one - infact, I would expect this new club to be particularly bad in this respect relevant to the SE and Jackpot who have made some good strides in this regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

nicely put. i can't play in games that go on all night either. 8 o'clock starts on the buton would be great.

I'd be in favour of this too, even one night a week

I agree that this prob increase the cash game rake too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

5starpool wrote:
    I may be wrong, but I cannot ever recall getting knocked out of a tournament holding Aces over Jacks or better, and I have played (and been knocked out of) hundreds of tournaments. I have only seen it happen a handful of times as well I think.

Once saw Quad Kings beaten by Royal flush in a live tournament. I also had 4 Aces against 4 7s once on level one of a tournament and the guy didn't go broke because he was too stupid and excited to raise the river on an AA77x board!!

Lads im wrecked was working on the new place since this morning ill reply in the morning but intresting that this came up this evening at the club with the staff meeting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Looks like a really good schedule, introduce a weekly omaha event and switch Thurs to Fri and it is spot on. As for the TBB trial and error, see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

the Merrion always started there tournaments exactly on time whenever i was there (usually tuesday for the double chance), the Emporium are usually pretty good at starting on time as well.

looking forward to this opening up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭bell_boy

HiCloy wrote:
    I'd be in favour of this too, even one night a week
    ditto

Mentioned it to luke today all tourneys will start at the advertised start time regardless if there is 2 runners or 100!!?!!?!

ALSO

Ill post the regular tourney info tomorrow have to finish them off with Luke and make sure 5Starpool is happy and we all know how hard it is to make Dom happy on a Friday morning :);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

Excellant news! I don't think there's a poker player out there that wouldn't want games to start at advertised time...

Best of luck to all concerned with this venture..

Really looking forward to your monthly game in particular...Great structure(starting stack, minutes) I presume most levels are included...

Russh wrote:
    Excellant news! I don't think there's a poker player out there that wouldn't want games to start at advertised time...
    The ones who are consistently late do. I hope this lasts........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 FullTiltEric

Is there a tourney opening night? Is it jsut the regular Friday tourny?

Different tournie, details in this thread.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055133371

Having played the tournaments on Sat, Sun Mon and Tuesday may aswell give my thoughts

Saturday - 50 doublechance 3k+3k not bad, 20minute levels all the way make it fast enough but with 6k its not a complete crapshoot either

Sunday, 25entry, 3 10euro rebuys, good fun rebuy tourney, need to double up first hand you play or itll cost you a bit, loads of chips in play.

Monday - 50+50 4k+4k chips, nearly sure its 30 min blinds but loads of play all the way

Tuesday - 50+20scalp+5 4k+4k 30minute blinds all the way, great tourney for those who want loads of play, far too slow for me. Went out just before the final table blinds at 150-300 average stack 16k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

rough numbers the tournaments have been getting?

20-40, would expect it to pick up a bit and average 30-40 quickly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 smilingatyou

bad beat: could it be tournament specific, different pools for each tourney.
    regulars for each tourney get better chance of being involved.
    surely the omaha when it comes would be excluded or have its own.

like the scedule especially the sunday@5 will this be deep? >>>STUDENT:)

Hi folks. Sorry to sound like a dreary and curmudgeonly bastid; but if the details of the structures for every tourney were posted I would appreciate it.

Obv, Oscar's feedback sounds good - but I would like to know the specifics myself.

Thanks in advance!!

ill try post them on this is the first chance time iv been online since friday afternoon s i havin had a chance to do a thing ill try get through them now but 10 tourneys will take a bit of typing!!!

MickL wrote:
    ill try post them on this is the first chance time iv been online since friday afternoon s i havin had a chance to do a thing ill try get through them now but 10 tourneys will take a bit of typing!!!

Do a couple at a time? :) Breaks in between are good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

wat else will u be doin?