Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S.Emporium Mini Festival

• 07-08-2007 5:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

Here is the details of our up and coming Festival.

Saturday 1st September.

The Main Event. €500 + €50 "No Limit" Hold'em Freezeout.

2 Day Event.

7pm Start.

10,000 Chips Starting Stack.

45 Min Clock.

120 Players Maximum.

Structure for Day 1 :

25 - 50
    50 - 100
    75 - 150

25 Min Dinner Break

100 - 200
    150 - 300
    150 - 300 - Ante 25

10 Min Break

200 - 400 - 25
    300 - 600 - 50
    400 - 800 - 50

10 Min Break

500 - 1,000 - 100
    600 - 1,200 - 100
    800 - 1,600 - 200

Play will stop either at 4am or when The Final Table is reached, whatever happens first.

Structure for Day 2 of the Main Event :

Tournament will restart at 7pm.

800 - 1600 - 200 Repeated Level
    1,000 - 2,000 - 300
    1,500 - 3,000 - 300

25 Min Dinner Break

2,000 - 4,000 - 500
    3,000 - 6,000 - 500
    4,000 - 8,000 - 500
    5,000 - 10,000 - 500
    6,000 - 12,000 - 1,000
    8,000 - 16,000 - 1,000
    10,000 - 20,000 - 1,000

Please Note : The Monthly €200 Tournament will be postponed for this Month and will return on Saturday 6th October.

Sunday 2nd September.

€100 + €10 "No Limit" Hold'em Double Chance Freezeout.

1 Day Event.

7pm Start.

3,500 + 3,500 Chips.

25 Min Clock. ( Same Structure as our 2nd Thursday of The Month ).

25 - 50
    50 - 100
    75 - 150

20 Min Dinner Break

100 - 200
    150 - 300
    200 - 400
    300 - 600
    400 - 800
    500 - 1,000
    600 - 1,200

10 Min Break

800 - 1,600
    1,000 - 2,000
    1,500 - 3,000
    2,000 - 4,000
    3,000 - 6,000
    4,000 - 8,000

10 Min Break

5,000 - 10,000
    6,000 - 12,000

Super Satellite Programme for Septembers Main Event.

€50 + €5 "No Limit" Hold'em.
    1 x €50 Rebuy or Top-up.
    Starting Chips : 3,000.
    Rebuy/Top-up : 4,000.
    1 Ticket for every €550 collected.

Dates :

Tuesday 7th August. 8.30pm Start.
    Tuesday 14th August. 8.30pm Start.
    Tuesday 21st August. 8.30pm Start.
    Tuesday 28th August. 8.30pm Start.

If anybody would like to reserve a seat they can pm myself or ZSoulking or telephone the Poker room on 01-7030600. This Tournament is expected to sell-out before Saturday September 1st as our capacity is only 120.

Alex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

Please Note : The Monthly €200 Tournament will be postponed for this Month and will return on Saturday 6th October.

this weekend is gonna clash with the international poker thingy magigy

mini festival looks good think i'll get my name down for this

also, can u tell me wat the story is with the handbags and gladrags charity event, I know it was postponed but were we supposed to get our money back or are tickets just going to be re-issued to people who paid already ???

cos I aint recieved no refund :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

The Al Lad wrote:

this weekend is gonna clash with the international poker thingy magigy:

The SE have there 200 game the first Saturday of every month so I would think that the International thingy is clashing with it rather than the other way around. Anyway id expect plenty of casulties by 6pm on the Saturday evening in the RDS and would then expect a big turnout and a real good game in the SE.
    The Al Lad wrote:
    mini festival looks good think i'll get my name down for this :

for sure, speaking with Alex last night they are expecting big numbers for this and he has reported a very positive response so far.

The Al Lad wrote:
    also, can u tell me wat the story is with the handbags and gladrags charity event, I know it was postponed but were we supposed to get our money back or are tickets just going to be re-issued to people who paid already ???

cos I aint recieved no refund :eek: :eek: :eek:

I was wondering the same but I expect we need to contact the charity directly as the SE was only providing the venue and the refunds have nothing to do with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Looks great. But I'll be at Electric Picnic.

Which is partially :( (as I would love to play this tournament); but is mostly :D !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

Cant play any of these games as im going away on the 31st Aug and wont even be able to play the cash league so lots of hours gone to waste .Meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

LuckyLloyd wrote:

Which is partially :( (as I would love to play this tournament); but is mostly :D !!

its grand, you can buy me in and i'll send you text updates....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

What is the blind structure for the Super Satellite Programme?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

LuckyLloyd wrote:

There having a casino down there so if you get antsy like.........

DeadParrot wrote:
    There having a casino down there so if you get antsy like.........

There are more important things in life than poker. There I said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    There are more important things in life than poker. There I said it.

Go see Spiritualized, or I will hit you with a stick.

I will have hit myself with a stick before you get a chance if I miss that particular act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

I presume the 2 day event will play out to the end no matter what the finish time?

ie, if the is final table is still going at 5.30am it won't be halted and a deal/come back the next day situation enforced?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Is the SE opening early on these days? I know it does not open normally until 6pm, so advertising a start time of 6pm isn't right surely if it only opens the doors then? Hopefully I can play in this either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭S.Emporium

Structure for The Main Event Satellites.

€50 + €5 "No Limit" Hold'em.

1 x €50 Rebuy or Top-up.

Starting Chips : 3,000.

Rebuy/Top-up : 4,000.

Rebuy Period : 80 Mins ( 4 x 20 Mins ).

20 Min Clock.

25 - 50
    50 - 100
    75 - 150
    100 - 200

20 Break

150 - 300
    200 - 400
    300 - 600
    400 - 800
    600 - 1,200
    800 - 1,600

10 Min Break

1,000 - 2,000
    1,500 - 3,000
    2,000 - 4,000
    3,000 - 6,000

1 Ticket for every €550 collected.

As part of our everyday Tournaments Prize pool, we will be giving away tickets into these Satellites so that there will be at least 14 players in each Satellite before a card is even dealt.

There will be no cash alternative allowed but it is ok to sell the ticket.

Alex.

Here is some news on this Tournament with just 10 days to go....

Unfortunately the club will now not be opening until 6pm on Saturday 1st September with the Tournament starting at 7pm. I appreciate that this only allows one hour for 1 Table Satellites but this decision is out of my hands.

1 Table Satellites are available every day and there are still 2 Super-Satellites left to be played. Dates below :

Tuesday 21st + Tuesday 28th August. 8.30pm Start.

The Capacity for the €500 Tournament is only 120 runners so if you would like to reserve a seat you can pm myself or ZSoulking.

Currently there are 21 players qualified or paid in for this with another 12 reserving their seats so that only leaves 87 seats.

I will keep everybody updated with the amount of runners as we get more qualifiers from the Super-Satellite and people paying in.

Alex.

how many runners have the tuesday sats got so far?

We have given away 14 tickets for tomorrows satellite so theres already 1 Ticket up for grabs for the €500 Tournament. We expect between 35-45 runners tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Looks great Alex,

Can you put me down for this one.

Jp

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Alex,

I have changed the start times for day 1 and 2 in the original post to 7pm. If you need any more details changed let me know,

Dom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Can you put my name down for this please,

Thanks,

Eoin Olin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Wont be around for this. Took the decision to go down to my cuz for the weekend and go on a beer swilling weekend and leave the poker behind... :(

Seems that i had to cancel my holidays i may *LIMP* into this....

tumbleweed.sized.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭BuChan

Lol!

Flushdraw wrote:
    tumbleweed.sized.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭zsoulking

BUMP!

This Tuesday 28th August is the final satellite for this event.

Buy in €50 + €5

1 x €50 Re-Buy/Top-Up

Starting stack 3,000

Re-Buy/Top-Up 4,000

Blind levels 20/30min.

Seats for the €500 game are limited so if you want to reserve a seat please contact the card room.

John.

Please note:
    This event is being run by the Sporting Emporium and all events at this location are commercial unless otherwise stated.
    All tournaments start at 9pm sharp unless otherwise stated.
    “”We ask all players as a courtesy to each other to arrive at least 30min before the event to ensure a prompt start time.””
    All players must be at least 21 and be a member of the club.
    All tournaments are No-Limit Texas Hold’em unless otherwise stated.
    Structures and starting stacks are set in relation to the size of the buy-in and may be amended or changed at the tournament director’s discretion. (We always make an effort to give maximum value for all our players.)
    All tables are dealt to the highest standard.
    Card room rules available on request (amended TDA rules in practice in the club)
    As normal practice the Tournament Director / Floor person’s decision is final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

back from canada on thursday could make this if i can manage to stop handing ppl money in the games over here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭58o

Whats the expected turnout for this? Very tempted to make the trip up if I can lie my way out of some other commitments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

9pm start then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Limped into getting a ticket here. 8 prizes 1 - 7 ticket + 8th €350, so when it got to 8 decided that everyone take €20 off their ticket and give it to the 8th player (bad beat joe was the shortest stack) so everyone got a ticket.

Mickste was unlucky to exit in 10th and Lazare in 9th when his AK ran head first into Kings, yuck.

We had a 5 minute (smoke break) before the final table re-commenced. People headed out to the loo, smokes etc., I i went to the loo, when I came back the final table had started:mad: :mad: I was small blind and my hand had been folded. I thought it was bad form considering we all agreed to a 5 minuted break to facilitate the smokers etc., In the end I got a ticket but you think they would wait........... I had 12K after losing my sb and the antes with 1,200 2,400 so I was really short stacked (I had 1K more that bad beat joe)....

Anyway it worked out okay in the end......

Congrats Smurph..wp

Yeah thats bad form alright about the 5 min break but i've seen it happen before and its usually when a 5 min unscheduled break turns into a 15 min break. Not saying that was you now but if i was there, i would have said no to a break anyway and let you smokers suffer!! :D

Flushdraw wrote:
    Congrats Smurph..wp

Yeah thats bad form alright about the 5 min break but i've seen it happen before and its usually when a 5 min unscheduled break turns into a 15 min break. Not saying that was you now but if i was there, i would have said no to a break anyway and let you smokers suffer!! :D

F*ck the smokers, it was to let wes, hop out to the toilets and back.... He got a ticket aswell which was great. I kinda think that play just started back and people said they didn't notice I was gone.... I mean like im not exactly small if you get what i mean...... No harm done..... happy to get ticket, and im off to berlin in morning for 2 days so happy all round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

smurph wrote:
    F*ck the smokers, it was to let wes, hop out to the toilets and back.... He got a ticket aswell which was great. I kinda think that play just started back and people said they didn't notice I was gone.... I mean like im not exactly small if you get what i mean...... No harm done..... happy to get ticket, and im off to berlin in morning for 2 days so happy all round.

what was all the shouting about from the FT Smurph?

that perpetually drunken idiot (Paddy?) was certainly making his opinions heard about something....

what was all the shouting about from the FT Smurph?

that perpetually drunken idiot (Paddy?) was certainly making his opinions heard about something....

It was about the discussion as to whether or not to take €20 off per person to make up the 8th ticket, paddy was saying No, No. translated through the Paddy 8sec rule theory actually mean't "No, No I have no problems with it"...... I was keeping very quiet, so was Bad beat Joe as we were short stacks.... Paddy's not that bad, bit loud with Drink, but sure aren't we all.

On a side note this, when down to 2 tables this happened.... guy at table was just commenting on how unlucky he had been in the last 2 hands, I said "Be careful now you are only allowed 3 official moans a night in a tournament" except for Bad Beat Joe, who has a pardon, Joe isn't impressed.....

Very Next Hand Wes (bottomfeeder) raises on the button to 8 K Bad Beat Joe flat Calls, in SB. Flop comes down 7 8 10 rainbow, Bad beat Joe goes all in and Wes say's "I call, I have the nuts" and turns over j9offsuit..... Joe had flopped a set of 8's

No help on turn or river and Joe is crippled, down to 3.5K and he turns to me spitting at this stage, saying "I think im allowed to F*ckin well give out about this one Colette" and then steams for a solid 10 minutes after.

I had to just find a spot on the table and stare at it for a while, I mean you just couldn't write the script..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

smurph wrote:
    Very Next Hand Wes (bottomfeeder) raises on the button to 8 K Bad Beat Joe flat Calls, in SB. Flop comes down 7 8 10 rainbow, Bad beat Joe goes all in and Wes say's "I call, I have the nuts" and turns over j9offsuit..... Joe had flopped a set of 8's

No help on turn or river and Joe is crippled, down to 3.5K and he turns to me spitting at this stage, saying "I think im allowed to F*ckin well give out about this one Colette" and then steams for a solid 10 minutes after.

I had to just find a spot on the table and stare at it for a while, I mean you just couldn't write the script..........

haha, brilliant! fair play to him for coming back to nab a ticket and fair play to you on your self-control!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭The Tourist

smurph wrote:
    when I came back the final table had started

Down with this sort of thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

I was absolutely gutted last night :mad:

Bubble play lasted about an hour and a half, I was sitting with Mickste and Paddy on my direct left and card dead for the whole time, Paddy always had me covered and was calling pretty light, I had no room to do anything. Anyway, got to final table and the actual bubble, I had 15k with blinds @ 1k 2k, which surprisingly enough wasn't too bad as I was 6th in chips. Folded the first 5 or 6 hands, then BBJ pushes, Wes goes into the tank for a bit, and I curse him inside for eventually mucking :p

UTG, I find AKo, and push hoping either Paddy will call with something I crush guaranteeing me a ticket, or I get to see another orbit for free. Shorty in LP wakes up with KK, and I'm the bubble boy. Sick.

Is it just a cold deck, or does anyone muck there? (considering shorty almost folded KK)

Lazare wrote:

Is it just a cold deck, or does anyone muck there? (considering shorty almost folded KK)

nah it just plays itself you were unlucky, if you fold here your usually all in with some muck soon after and kicking yourself you didnt push the Ak.
    Similar to last nite one off the bubble i think and its folded around to my sb and i have 10bb's and Ad2d. I push and the bb has JJ*. I have no regrets.

*I done something really lame here. When i pushed the bb looked up at me bug eyed and i knew he had something good. I said "I'll show" as in "i'll show if you fold" lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

*I done something really lame here. When i pushed the bb looked up at me bug eyed and i knew he had something good. I said "I'll show" as in "i'll show if you fold" lol.

I remember you doing that in a hand against me a long time ago when I had AK and you had KK. I folded on that occasion! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

...I said "I'll show" as in "i'll show if you fold" lol.

a particular favourite of mine - snapcall!!

ollyk1 wrote:
    I remember you doing that in a hand against me a long time ago when I had AK and you had KK. I folded on that occasion! :p

Yeah i remember that, the sunday 30 freezeout in the fitz back in the days when i had remorse!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Yeah i remember that, the sunday 30 freezeout in the fitz back in the days when i had remorse!.

You were just merging your range for "I'll show, if you fold...." lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

At the break I had 1900 and had used up my buy-in. All-in on the first two hands after the break, then a bit of luck got me to 9300.

The highlights of my play were world-class suck-outs when all-in. My AT v AK flopped two tens, then AT V AJ (Liam Flood) rivered a magical ten.

Lazare was very unlucky with nine left (eight prizes) as four of us were short-stacked with about 15k. He ran AK into KK.

The player who got the bad beat against Wes .... 88 V 9Q (Wes) - flop 8TJ, soon tripled his remaining 2500 with KQ against both blinds when he didn't hit, but neither did the blinds.

I was the chipleader on our table with 30k at the last break (other table had many more chips with their chipleader on 57k). I then knocked out two players (found AA against an all-in K6; and had QQ V TT and called his all-in on a king high flop) but still managed to work my way down to 15k. :confused:

smurph wrote:
    It was about the discussion as to whether or not to take €20 off per person to make up the 8th ticket, paddy was saying No, No. translated through the Paddy 8sec rule theory actually mean't "No, No I have no problems with it"...... I was keeping very quiet, so was Bad beat Joe as we were short stacks.... Paddy's not that bad, bit loud with Drink, but sure aren't we all.

On a side note this, when down to 2 tables this happened.... guy at table was just commenting on how unlucky he had been in the last 2 hands, I said "Be careful now you are only allowed 3 official moans a night in a tournament" except for Bad Beat Joe, who has a pardon, Joe isn't impressed.....

Very Next Hand Wes (bottomfeeder) raises on the button to 8 K Bad Beat Joe flat Calls, in SB. Flop comes down 7 8 10 rainbow, Bad beat Joe checks and Wes say's "all in, Joe says im sorry Wes i have a set and i said i have the nuts" and turns over j9suited..... Joe had flopped a set of 8's

FYP

LOL was very funny tho... highlight of the night i think....!

how many players do you reckon the 100 game on the sunday will get? cant see many who bust out of the 500 playing the 100 game, or am i wrong? more likely to get a load of regulars playing the 100 game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭The Tourist

...and how many players are expected for the main game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

The regular sunday game tends to get a pretty healthy field (4-6 tables), so i wouldn't be shocked to see at least 6-8 tables for the 100 double chance (which i'll hopefully attending if my vision has cleared up by then).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

there are 30 satellited into it and a further 15 who have already paid in as of last night. Thats 45 so far. I see no rreason why this shouldnt get 80+ players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

I'll probably be playing this 500 game

Heres the Latest for the Weekend....

The Main Event.

27 Satellite Qualifiers,

4 Paid in,

26 that have reserved a seat,

57 is a good number for this stage so we are on course for a sell-out.

€100 Double Chance Freezeout.

The Average field for our €50 Sunday Tournament is between 55 - 60 runners and a similar sized field is expected for this one.

Again, if anybody would like to reserve a seat for either Saturday or Sundays Tournament feel free to send me a pm.

Alex.

ok so how many boardies are playing this.....?