Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sligo v Cork

• 04-08-2007 2:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭

What a poor game! Neither of these teams is good enough for QF. Pity Dublin didn't draw Cork;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Cork are looking ****. Sligo, meh. It's days like today that I'm glad I prefer hurling :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Ah now, if ya watched the Tommy Murphy Cup final, you may not be saying the same nesf! The match on now is awful though

Mushy wrote:
    Ah now, if ya watched the Tommy Murphy Cup final, you may not be saying the same nesf! The match on now is awful though

I watched the Tommy Murphy Cup, it was a good game for the spectators and neutrals. But the Cork performance is overcoming it with negativity. With a bit of luck we might have a second half worth watching coming up.

You know, if Sligo claw a few more points back it might wake up Cork and we'll have something worth watching. Hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

its a dreadful game.. if sligo win this i'll eat my hat..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭yeraulone

whats the score?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

finished 1-11 to 0-8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭dats_right

Worst game I've seen in ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

very poor game, i was watchin it on tv with my dad and after 10 minutes i put a tenner with him that sligo wouldnt score another point for the rest of the half, they finally got one in the 32nd minute. to be honest i never expected sligo to do much better, they beat roscommon and galway on a tight field in roscommon by crowding out defense and running out with the ball, it also took them 20 chances to score 9 points, they werent gonna get away with that today. cork didnt look overly impressive either, id say meath will beat them fairly easily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Cork did enough for the win but they won't get past Meath playing like they did today or against Louth some weeks ago.Meath could find themselves in the Final and fair play to them if they do but if I was from Meath,I wouold not fear this Cork team at all.

I said before the Cork-Sligo game that Cussen and Masters were the key men and they were but they were not impressive or too convincing today.l would still expect Cork to up their game but I think Meath will be happy and confident of getting to the final based on what we saw from Cork today.Their best performance this year came in a losing effort.Could we see a Meath v Kerry or Meath v Dublin final?Could be Derry v Cork.My point is that bar Dublin,the bigger teams have been unimpressive this year while teams like Derry,Meath and Monaghan have played the best football this year.

I was yawning at the Cork-Sligo game.Wicklow v Antrim was more exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Was at the match, pooor game indeed.

Sligo had a chance from the get go to get a goal, settled for a point. They didn't take their chances, were never following up the ball etc.

blackbelt wrote:
    My point is that bar Dublin,the bigger teams have been unimpressive this year while teams like Derry,Meath and Monaghan have played the best football this year.

Bar Dublin? I thought they've been performing way below what they are capable of this year. They've excellent potential but just haven't seemed to be able to reach it imho. There's just so much talent in the team but it hasn't come together for them yet.

I hope it does, they're a lovely team to watch when they're on form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

nesf wrote:
    Bar Dublin? I thought they've been performing way below what they are capable of this year. They've excellent potential but just haven't seemed to be able to reach it imho. There's just so much talent in the team but it hasn't come together for them yet.

I hope it does, they're a lovely team to watch when they're on form.

Yeah their players are such wonderful sportsmen too :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

They are indeed wonderful sports. I was there, and as I have just posted in the other thread, our manager, a member of the Garda Síochána, did not arrest Graham Geraghty for his antics. Now you can't get much better sports than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

blackbelt wrote:
    Meath could find themselves in the Final and fair play to them if they do but if I was from Meath,I wouold not fear this Cork team at all.

I said before the Cork-Sligo game that Cussen and Masters were the key men and they were but they were not impressive or too convincing today.l would still expect Cork to up their game but I think Meath will be happy and confident of getting to the final based on what we saw from Cork today.Their best performance this year came in a losing effort.Could we see a Meath v Kerry or Meath v Dublin final?Could be Derry v Cork.My point is that bar Dublin,the bigger teams have been unimpressive this year while teams like Derry,Meath and Monaghan have played the best football this year.

Have to agree almost in the entirety there! :D

Cork even after Sligo, the least impressive team in the Q/F's so far. Masters hasn't done it at AI Level and can't see him doing it against Meath. He could well do it, but not on record so far.

I've a notion if there's going to be a surprise next weekend could be Monaghan even though its Kerry's to lose. Monaghan will not fear Kerry, tight defence, 2 good full forwards and some good half backs/forwards. If they believe it enough they could take it. They really are playing blanket defence this year and its still effective.

at least 2 Ulster teams have been revelations this year. Grasping at straws after Tyrone:D but if one of those got to a S/F would be a good record in Semis in last 6 years.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

lukin wrote:
    Yeah their players are such wonderful sportsmen too :rolleyes:

There's plenty of cynical play on all sides tbh. No county is "immune" to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Flukey wrote:
    They are indeed wonderful sports. I was there, and as I have just posted in the other thread, our manager, a member of the Garda Síochána, did not arrest Graham Geraghty for his antics. Now you can't get much better sports than that.

Why is Geragthy being dragged up again? Was Pillar such a great sportsman last year when he didn't arrest Whelan for that clothesline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭D. Coughlan

The worst championship match I have ever been at.

Silgo were awful, Cork were bad and I changed my radio station to today fm's music after 15 minutes.

Cork always seem to get easy quater draws, like Donegal last year where we barely got a one point after another poor match.

I wonder about this Cork team, they only seem able to get motivated to play Kerry, which is understandable beacause Cork people HATE Kerry.

I do feel however that Cork would have played better in the second half, if the opposition was not so bad. It's hard to play your best with that lack of atmosphere and not feeling that you could lose the match

At the end of the day, Cork are in the semi's after a comfortable five point win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭modmuffin

Lemlin wrote:
    Why is Geragthy being dragged up again? Was Pillar such a great sportsman last year when he didn't arrest Whelan for that clothesline?

He wasnt on Duty :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

modmuffin wrote:
    He wasnt on Duty :D
    Haha :D Spot on! Lemlin, for a Cavan man, you really seem to love coming to poor little Geraghtys aid. Why is that? Also, you dont have to bring up Whelan every time GG is mentioned. Especially after yesterday. Whelan knows when to watch his ass, GG doesnt seem to have enough in the head to realise when he needs to watch his.

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Haha :D Spot on! Lemlin, for a Cavan man, you really seem to love coming to poor little Geraghtys aid. Why is that? Also, you dont have to bring up Whelan every time GG is mentioned. Especially after yesterday. Whelan knows when to watch his ass, GG doesnt seem to have enough in the head to realise when he needs to watch his.

It's not coming to Gero's aid I love, its pointing out how one-sighted some people on here can be.

As long as ye continue lambasting Geragthy, I'll continue bringing up Whelan. If yas don't want to hear me whingeing about Whelan, then stop your whingeing about Geragthy. It's that simple.

I mean, FFS, Geragthy's conduct is brought up here by a Dublin supporter on a Cork vs. Sligo thread. What the feck does GG have to do with Cork vs. Sligo!!!!!???

Lemlin wrote:
    I mean, FFS, Geragthy's conduct is brought up here by a Dublin supporter on a Cork vs. Sligo thread. What the feck does GG have to do with Cork vs. Sligo!!!!!???

I couldn't agree more. There's so much childish crap going on in this forum.

Lemlin wrote:
    Are you actually looking for an answer to that? Let me know and ill answer if its really confusing you that much. He made one comment and pointed out that it relates to another thread. Thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Cork vs Sligo was truly awful. Both teams are useless. I should have painted a wall and watched it dry, that would have been more entertaining.

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Are you actually looking for an answer to that? Let me know and ill answer if its really confusing you that much. He made one comment and pointed out that it relates to another thread. Thats all.

But why make one comment? As said, make it on the other thread that it relates to.

This thread is about Sligo vs. Cork.

Cork vs Sligo was truly awful. Both teams are useless. I should have painted a wall and watched it dry, that would have been more entertaining.
    No offence, but id rather watch a truly terrible game than paint dry :D I hear what your saying tho. (sorry, im in a very sarcastic mood lately) ;)

Lemlin wrote:
    But why make one comment? As said, make it on the other thread that it relates to.

This thread is about Sligo vs. Cork.
    Ok, but why continue the discussion here. I dont think anyone had brought the post up until you did. Havent checked back to see but im quite sure you were the first, ahead of any Meath fans ect to complain about it. Odd that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Was at the game on Saturday but didnt realise Masters was so badly injured, I didnt even see him going off. What happened?

Broken Jaw i hear pd, or cheekbone, not sure. Didnt see it myself either. Dont know how it happened. Off topic but any word on the Cork hurler that went off? Looked awful for such a small knock. Thought first it could be very serious but i suppose they have to treat any neck injuries like that as you never know. Gotta say, when i saw no challenge on him and he wasnt moving on the ground, people like MacInallen (spelling?) and Marc Vivian Foe came to mind. Good to see it wasnt anything like that tho. Without Masters in the Semis and a meath team on fire, i think it could be last orders for Cork. Dont tell my dad i said that tho ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Broken Jaw i hear pd, or cheekbone, not sure. Didnt see it myself either. Dont know how it happened. Off topic but any word on the Cork hurler that went off? Looked awful for such a small knock. Thought first it could be very serious but i suppose they have to treat any neck injuries like that as you never know. Gotta say, when i saw no challenge on him and he wasnt moving on the ground, people like MacInallen (spelling?) and Marc Vivian Foe came to mind. Good to see it wasnt anything like that tho. Without Masters in the Semis and a meath team on fire, i think it could be last orders for Cork. Dont tell my dad i said that tho ;)

Yeah, I thought the same, although what happened to Cormac Cormac McAnallen didn't happen on the pitch. When I saw his body wasn't moving I was worried, I forgot my disappointment at Cork losing the match fairly quick.
    Imagine how worried his parents and friends and family were at that moment too.

lukin wrote:
    Yeah, I thought the same, although what happened to Cormac Cormac McAnallen didn't happen on the pitch. When I saw his body wasn't moving I was worried, I forgot my disappointment at Cork losing the match fairly quick.
    Imagine how worried his parents and friends and family were at that moment too.
    Absolutely, but Foe`s did on the pitch and that was the first thing to hit my mind. Didnt see anything that would have hurt him so thought it could be something else. Thankfully the replay showed he did take a knock and hopefully not too serious but once it wasnt another one of them thats good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Think he was ok, travelled home on team bus. Masters, Sunday Game showed a clip where he might of tooken a knock. Nothing too bad, so may have been another incident.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.