Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Beers

• 04-08-2007 1:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭

I've never been, and I'm tempted to go this time...

So since this is quite possibly the forum where we should all be jumping at the chance to out savour our flavours, of, um, beer&wine&spirits ....

who's going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I am, and it's my first one too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Not this time, I'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

seansouth wrote:
    I am, and it's my first one too!

Yeah but you're on the aul boards soccer team arent ya? You'd be like royalty if it wasn't an internet forum :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Peter Collins

I prefer going to the pub with people I know, not you shower of geeks and nitwits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

You're online at 4am on a Saturday night and calling people on the same website as you geeks?

Good man. You keep up that quality posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

Ibid wrote:
    You're online at 4am on a Saturday night and calling people on the same website as you geeks?

Good man. You keep up that quality posting.

Oh and lads don't worry if you've never gone to one before. Have only gone to one myself, this time last year. It was great craic. I was there fairly early, just went up to a table and asked "This the Boards beers?" They said "Yep." I said "Who are all you then?" And we were off. Got myself a seat and a pint and was chatting away until more folks started streaming in. A few fellow newbies arrived looking anxious so I tried to be welcoming to them, asking them if they're here for the Beers and then introducing them. The regulars are sound too, normal people who just like the web, just like me, just like you. Do expect there to be a bit of a grown-ups table though. The admins/smods/people who joined at the start were very pally with each other. But that's to be expected I suppose, as they've been friends for ten years and only see each other once/twice a year.

Then I got obnoxiously drunk and really can't remember much of the rest of the evening. But I do remember it being great fun, so don't worry if you don't know any one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

i've never been to one, but would it be the case if i went to one i'd be easily be able to find a floor to sleep on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I prefer going to the pub with people I know, not you shower of geeks and nitwits
    oh no, he lives still. i was hoping the white spirits would have done away with him. feck.

Jizzlord, check out the thread on the Events forum. It's located under the System category.

Yeah but you're on the aul boards soccer team arent ya? You'd be like royalty if it wasn't an internet forum :D
    Well, I'm the manager.

I can't wait to get mobbed, Beckham style, when I arrive!

seansouth wrote:
    Well, I'm the manager.

I can't wait to get mobbed, Beckham style, when I arrive!

I fuppin' knew it! Royalty ya iz! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭sillymoo2007

I'm a newbie to boards too but am very tempted to go saturday night just to put faces to names and make some friends the initial uncomfort of introducing myself does scare the hell out of me though but might arrange to go for one or two sociables beforehand bit of dutch courage and all that if anybody wants to join me.

See the pre-beers sociables sound good, but think how bad it is walking down into a known place full of random boardsies compared with walking into a bar full of people and trying to pick out the one boardsie you're trying to meet for sociables :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Well, the Dublin GAA lads are meeting in Madigans first. Maybe the B&W&S lads ciould meet in Porterhouse or somewhere and then migrate inwards.

It's my first one as well.

That's a good idea alright, though judging by the lack of the usual bunch of regulars on this thread I reckon everyone's either not going or are being coerced by some other more glamorous forum! Dun Dun dunnnnn

Well, the team are playing in a tournament on Saturday, last night most of the lads said they'd head straight to Messrs. Just look for a bunch of BO smelling lads.

Oh wait....that's most of the lads on Boards.ie :D