Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

drug raid

• 02-08-2007 9:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

ok so i need help my boyf house was raided dont kno how much he had perhaps like an ounce of hash but the brought him in,why would they do that im so worried. he possibly could have had more also he had like 6000 in a safe which was mine as im gettin a car do you think that couldve made him look worse please help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Well if he was in possession of drugs.....he will be charged with that more than likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

I'd imagine they found a hell of alot more than an ounce of hash to bring him to the station for questioning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 girlwithprob

i hope he didnt have more,
    the **** has really hit the fan now dont kno how many people it'll have affected,by the way dont touch drugs myself
    was always on to him bout givin it up. my parents are goin to kill me ..hes 9 yrs older its not going to look good

And how old are you then....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You have to admit though that finding drugs and a safe with fair sum of cash in the house would make it hard for the arresting garda to walk away.

No idea of your situation, maybe his name was dropped by someone else who was being questioned earlier today. They must be more to it than one lousy ounce so I'm assuming they have some sort of information and time will tell if it's accurate or not

im 19 unfortunately still livin at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Electric

There's probably more to it than the ounce of hash. It could be that he's involved in more stuff that you know about or that they suspect that he's involved or has information about stuff.

In terms of the cash they'll probably seize it until he can prove he came by it legitimately.

im so worried i was freakin out earlie cos he was on his way over after an hour i text him got no reply phoned the paniced thought hed crashed or something then he rang sayin the guards had his phone and not to call it

how do i prove its mine it was jus rolled up in my hairband!

I wont ask what you are doing with a 28 year old guy......at 19...

As I always say "Honesty is the best policy.."

he gives me what i want lol!
    doubt ill be with him after tonight

LOL!

You'll just have to hang in there and see what happens...

Well you'll have to provide some account of how you got the money. Either through wages slips or bank statements showing that you saved it. Is there anyone else that knew you put the money there for safe keeping. Actually why would you put €6000 in a safe rather than in the bank to earn interest?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭ambman

Gardai seize drugs worth €6 million
    From ireland.com21:57Thursday, 2nd August, 2007
    Two men (26 and 27) were arrested and drugs with an estimated street value of over €6 million were seized following a planned search by gardaí in Dublin this evening.

Shortly after 6.30pm Gardaí from the divisional drugs unit based at Dundrum searched a yard and sheds at a location in Cornelscourt, Dublin 18.

During the search the gardaí uncovered quantities of various drugs believed to be heroin, cocaine, ecstasy, and cannabis.

The men are currently being held at Blackrock Garda Station under section 2 of the drug trafficking act.

:D maybe he never told you

was goin to look at a car saturday had the money jus in case

hes not into anything cept hash and grass,he isnt a dealer by the way!

was goin to look at a car saturday had the money jus in case

Then as long as you can prove that you earned it and it's not from drugs it should be fine.

ps have you rang your bf's solicitor?

he doesn have one, my parents dont kno yet might take the day off work and try get one ...how do you go about that by the way?

Lol...you call into one or ring one. And explain etc.......

Do your parents have one would they willing to ring them?

He can also request his solicitor to be present. If he hasn't got one there is usually a duty solicitor appointed.

As it's 11pm I'd say your best bet is to ring one in the morning. Give them as much details as you can. The other thing is with the new Criminal Justice Act suspects can be questioned for longer without being charged. If possible once you have sorted out the solicitor then try to meet up with him and give him a change of clothes for your bf he could be there for a while.

What time was he arrested at? There are procedures in place that limit the amount of time the Gardai can spend questioning him.

I suppose the main thing is to wait and see what happens. Ring the station in the morning and see if they will tell you if a solicitor has been appointed. If not sort one out.

If he's charged then he'll need bail and they usually look for a bond to be paid

Has he any other convictions? That'll make bail tricky cos on the application all previous convictions have to be declared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Why would you leave 6 grand in your boyfriends place instead of your home? You have such a slim chance of convincing the cops that money is your its practically zero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

If he only has an ounce then I don't think that's gonna be enough to charge him with intent to sell (or whatever the term is)... The 6k cash sure looks dodgey, but buying a car is a legitimate reason to have that much cash (and I gather your boyfiend is helping you buy one because he knows more about them than you), and I presume you can account for where it came from, the bank or CU will have records of it being withdrawn, etc.

It looks dodgey at first, but if you can account for the cash and there's nothing else going on that you don't know about, then I can't see him being charged with anything.

Of course I have no legal education! But that's just my guess.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Can you show withdrawals to the sum of the 6k along with proof of where the money came from (and why you needed such a sum in cash). Most people don't go around with cash like that these days- if you're buying a car a transfer is the norm, not cash......

If you can show where the cash came from, and what you intentions for it were/are then you should probably be ok (but it may be some time before you get it back......)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Best advice is don't go out with scumbags in the future? And that's a state of mind before you go telling us how he's wealthy and 'gives you everything you want'.

Domestic Garda raids and you're *still* not sure about him, or maybe you get off on it? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

an ounce is twice the amount theyll need to charge him with intent. the fact that they raided his house as well means he was being watched. they dont just do it for the laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

28yo alleged drug dealer with in-house 6K allegedly belonging to 19yo girlfriend.
    It does sound bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

MojoMaker wrote:
    Domestic Garda raids and you're *still* not sure about him

LOL I was surprised that it took someone so long to point this out..... The gardai don't very often raid peoples houses unless there is a reason. I mean, they weren't just sitting in the station bored with a map and a dart... **Thunk** Dats de house lads, grab your riot gear, Mickey get the sledge.

Seriously like..... And then he has apparently just an ounce of hash and by amazing coincidence a ball of cash with is apparently yours for a car he just so happened to be looking at on the day....

Trying......hard......to......believe.......you...that.....he's......a......good......person........

Nope.... Can't do it.

Did you ring the station and see if he's been charged or had a solicitor appointed?

The more I think about it seems that there is probably more to it than you know. If you can head down to the station with bank statements etc proving you own the cash. Someone else pointed out that it will take time to get it released (esp if he's charged and there's a trial!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

'
    MojoMaker wrote:
    Best advice is don't go out with scumbags in the future? And that's a state of mind before you go telling us how he's wealthy and 'gives you everything you want'.

Domestic Garda raids and you're *still* not sure about him, or maybe you get off on it? :rolleyes:
    Where the **** do you get off calling the chap a scumbag? You've never met him and know nothing about him other than the fact that he smokes a bit of dope, as does/has about half the young adult population of the country.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

you will be looking at about 6-9months go get the cash back. make sure he gets a receipt for it when he gets released from the slammer....

doesnt look very good tho all the same. if it was just an ounce of hash then its not really a big deal.

was there any sort of weighing scales in his house cos if he has a small scales then hes fooked. literally. being caught with one of these and immediately done for intent to supply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

That money could be your communion money for all it matters
    chances are its being held by the gaurds untill someone comes to claim it
    when you go make sure you bring someone with you eg soliciter or your dad
    make sure the cops have it and hes not spinning you a story if so
    then call the cops immedietly
    6000 is a lot of cash it has probably taken you years to save it just for some druggie to either spend it or have it taken by it the cops or otherwise
    talk to your dad get him to help you
    it doesnt matter what happpens he will always help you out
    ps one more piece of help
    dont waste your time on this guy like others have said it would be a lot more than an once for him to be taken into custody and questioned do you want to spend your life like this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

LOL I was surprised that it took someone so long to point this out..... The gardai don't very often raid peoples houses unless there is a reason. I mean, they weren't just sitting in the station bored with a map and a dart... **Thunk** Dats de house lads, grab your riot gear, Mickey get the sledge.

Seriously like..... And then he has apparently just an ounce of hash and by amazing coincidence a ball of cash with is apparently yours for a car he just so happened to be looking at on the day....

Trying......hard......to......believe.......you...that.....he's......a......good......person........

Nope.... Can't do it.

Yeah, in all fairness, I think it's pretty obvious that this guy is obviously keeping alot from you. The gardai do not execute "raids" for the laugh. I reckon you're chances of getting your cash back are slim to none. Best suggestion, is to tell the gardai it's your money and hope for the best. And ditch the bloke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

evad_lhorg wrote:
    an ounce is twice the amount theyll need to charge him with intent. the fact that they raided his house as well means he was being watched. they dont just do it for the laugh

Exactly, they don't just pick random people's houses and go......right this one tonight lads!!! :rolleyes:

He's clearly either dealing or hanging around with dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

MojoMaker wrote:
    Best advice is don't go out with scumbags in the future?
    Doing drugs doesn't automatically make you a scumbag however, the Police don't just raid a house for no reason.

I think there's way more to this than we're being told. Either the OP isn't telling the full story or she's just telling us what she's been told, i.e. a big fat lie. Telling an innocent 19 year old that the police raided his house for drugs is an easy way of making 6k. Or am I being too cynical?

he got out at 3 am the let him go as whoever blabbed told the guards it would be a big haul it was only half an ounce in the end the guards found it funny! hes jus mortified and is givin it up!
    but i dumped him

as for the money got a call to go in with wage slips and bank statement and its sorted

cant wait to get my golf now

Did you get your money back?

not yet as i am in work but im headin in tomorrow to see what the story is

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Seriously- its not a good idea to go buying a car with 6 grand in cash in your pocket. Have a word with your parents and get a cheque off them, or organise a draft- its dangerous carrying that much cash around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

smccarrick wrote:
    its dangerous carrying that much cash around.
    Yeah, some drug dealer could rob it off you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

I wont ask what you are doing with a 28 year old guy......at 19...

I've just recently turned 20 and am in a relationship with a 28 year old... what's your point?

Glad to hear you're getting your money back, good luck with the car :).

'Sounds like a lot of people on this thread owe these people an apology. Naivety and arrogance abound.'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Only drug dealers hold money in a safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Only drug dealers hold money in a safe.

What does that make Bertie Ahern :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

'Sounds like a lot of people on this thread owe these people an apology. Naivety and arrogance abound.'

What are you talking about. He was a drug dealing so and so. Drug dealers or people caught with drugs (other than private use) should be put straight into Cloverhill until a hearing date is finalised. Filth is what they are - no apologies needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭sjaakie

i would not call a person that has one ounce of hash in their house a drug dealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

but i dumped him
    you sound like a quality catch.
    dumping your bf cos he got caught with 1/2 ounce.

Mutz wrote:
    What are you talking about. He was a drug dealing so and so. Drug dealers or people caught with drugs (other than private use) should be put straight into Cloverhill until a hearing date is finalised. Filth is what they are - no apologies needed.

Please read the thread, especially before stating as fact that someone is a drug dealer. Its already been established he's not. The gardai dont think so. The op doesnt think so. Do you have some additional information that adds credence to your claims?