Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stupid stunt shown on Bebo

• 01-08-2007 1:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭

Just heard on the news that a guy buried a hole in the middle of a train track near Monasterevin and got into the hole so that only his head was sticking out of the ground. His friends then proceeded to video him while a train passed over him at 100km per hour! They then posted the video on Bebo. Needless to say, this was an incredibly stupid stunt in which someone could have died, and the gardai are going to prosecute those involved.

What are people's thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

pity his head wasnt knocked off tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Stupid people do stupid things. The world continues to go round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

linky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Lisapeep

I don't have the link. Has anyone here found it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

really? mad bastard........yeah the shouldnt have put it up . but do you really think someone like that would have the mental capacity to comprehend that it was wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Pity the stupid tosser wasn't decapitated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

but do you really think someone like that would have the mental capacity to comprehend that it was wrong?

I doubt it he's proberly a txt kid who has no brains.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Seems pretty safe to me.

The train came along so fast! Anything could have been hanging loose under it. And the guy doing it seemed so relaxed about the whole thing, sticking his arms and head up when his friends warned him not to!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Gardai are looking for someone 10 inches tall with no neck, body, arms or legs :D

The next generation of mobile mpeg cameras will act as perfect evidence as the pictures will be so good.

T'was a pity the driver did'nt know as he could have taken the oppotunity to empty the toilets over him :)

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭lady_j

IDIOTS...

though it was in the station by the looks of it- how did nobody see them digging a hole!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Gator

Savage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

that was awesome :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Obviously an intelligent chap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

And if it was on Jackass, we'd all be praising it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

descry wrote:
    IDIOTS...

though it was in the station by the looks of it- how did nobody see them digging a hole!!!!
    I doubt they dug the hole, I'd say they just found it and said "oh cool, lets act like complete f*cking idiots"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Hopefully next time he'll win a Darwin award. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

The only way that video would have been interesting was if the passing train swiped his head clean off.

Which station is it? How did nobody in the station notice what was going on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

when he was getting up after, i fully expected a train to be flying past the other way.....! pack of eejits anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

This is the same as the panaorama hysteria piece that was on the other night.

This kind of stuff has been going on for years. The only difference now is that people are videoing it and putting it online, so people who thought the world was warm and cuddly are getting a shock. Bebo and mytube don't cause stupid people to do stupid things.

As mike points out, the quality of future cameras will provide a lovely amount of high-quality images of people doing illegal things, leading to their arrests.

To quote Jimbo; "Videotaping this crime spree is the best idea I ever had". It's an extreme stupidity filter for real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

There's a certain inevitability of stunts like this being posted on the t'internet when you have programmes like Jackass and Dirt Sanchez on every 2 minutes and with video capture and nearly every mobile phone.

Won't be long before someone is killed or worse, kills someone else. The press will have a field day and there'll be a witch hunt for the likes of Johnny Knoxville and his ilk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

They empty the toilets on the tracks. I wish they emptied it on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

I was waiting for a second train to come along and blow him to pieces.

the post underneath it are just as bad ....like "that was savage" ....its like they cant find something better to do with their lives so they find that sh1t savage......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

My, he's an intelligent chap, isn't he? What a loon though I have to say you must get some serious buzz off that if you were under the line. I wonder where he left his brain before he crawled under there.

Clap, clap to video taping it that shows some faces.

Clap, clap to putting it up on Bebo and not expecting something to happen.

Clap, clap to again stirring up more shít about how "dangerous" YouTube & Bebo are to our precious little teenagers & children. Roll on Joe Duffy and disgruntled parents!

And so the world still turns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

OP (or anyone else who knows), has this been in any newspapers yet? You said you heard about it on the news - what station was it on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Lisa, do you have a link to where you heard it, or from the same source? I'm just interested to see if the spin was on the stunt itself or any outcry against Bebo that people seem to be assuming was there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Yes so i had seen that bebo were looking to host movie files and my reaction was wow that is dumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure why not? People have done way crazier things and filmed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

That’s a crying shame, I worked for CIE for a while and can happily say that some of the trains will have lose connection chains hanging low between the carriges….one of those in the head will really upset your day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭barryfitz

Eh. his head wasnt stickin up by the looks of that.

barryfitz wrote:
    Eh. his head wasnt stickin up by the looks of that.

Thats not the point!

well its not half as dangerous as the OP suggests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

I wish I was that stupid to try it, really. Anyways, we've seen far, far, far worse videos on the net than this and we never hear anything of 'em. They're run of the mill videos you'd expect on the net.

Anyone ever see the one were a guy plays chicken with a really fast train, he jumps outta the way just in time.

Anyways, you wanna see extremely bad? Type anything with the word japanese and you'll get some freaky stuff. I.e. "Japanese badger porn" (I dunno if such a thing exists but I wouldn't put it past those crazy asians!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

barryfitz wrote:
    Yeah, I was expecting to see something like this while the train whooooshed over....

IS453-012.jpg

barryfitz wrote:

well.. it is quite dangerous ....its a train. there is a chance he could of got pulled up by the train as it went by...also the point is that it was put on bebo for all to see. including young kids... if they saw that and think oh well if they're allowed do it so am i....

Jasus he really is a 'thick', post illegal act, link it back to your home page and have a nice crisp picture for the cops to print off.

smile

Mike.

Shamrok wrote:
    Not hard to find yer man's bebo.

lol i love his slideshow... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Duggy747 wrote:
    Anyways, you wanna see extremely bad? Type anything with the word japanese and you'll get some freaky stuff. I.e. "Japanese badger porn" (I dunno if such a thing exists but I wouldn't put it past those crazy asians!)
    So, it's you behind the Japanese Badger Porn Ring? :D

Shamrok wrote:
    So, it's you behind the Japanese Badger Porn Ring? :D

Hey, if there's a business for it I'm glad to provide. I mean come on, if poo turns people on why can't badgers?

Anywho, that Pikey Mikey is, how they say down in Bulgaria.............fúcked!!" He is soooooo nicked!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

barryfitz wrote:

Of course its dangerous, the degree of danger might be debatable, but he was risking serious injury. The bigger danger though, is that some other clown will try a similar stunt and either get themselves killed or damage the track and risk derailing an intercity train!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I remember I saw one where some dude thought he'd be the toast of the mall if he pulled off this little stunt. he intended to jump halfway down a escallator, grab the rails and swing himself the rest of the way down... it didn't quite work out that way

http://my.break.com/media/view.aspx?ContentID=85918

Never said it wasnt dangerous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

there should be sterilisation for people this stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Duggy747 wrote:
    I.e. "Japanese badger porn" (I dunno if such a thing exists but I wouldn't put it past those crazy asians!)

Rule 34 of the internet would suggest so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

wow. i was expecting something a bit more hardcore than that. I have to say i did far worse in my youth- never filmed it though:D