Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spartan MMA's new home

• 31-07-2007 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭

Spartan MMA will be opening it's doors in it's new, dedicated venue this Saturday at 12:00.

Eveyone's welcome! Like Roper's place it's a work in progress but once we get the place fully kitted out it should be a rocking venue.

The Address is Unit 7, Taurus Business Centre, Greenhills Road, Tallaght, Dublin 24. Directions are up on www.spartanmma.com right now, and I'll have maps up on Thursday.

Spread the word from Free Greek to Free Greek!

I'd also like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has supported the club over the years and in particular my athletes who've been homeless for the last few weeks while we sorted the move.

Colm
    -We have Sledge Hammers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Cool, best of luck with it Colm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

looks deadly. has plenty of potential. well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭bella1

well done lads great to see more full time gym..ps let me know when the toliets are up and running ,ill get karl to come over and test them out..best of luck from all the team at sbgnorthside..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Well done Riley. And as per our conversation this morning I will bring some piey/cakey/muffiny goodness along to celebrate the opening. Jim makes some mean Krispie Buns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭StrateBlastJim

columok wrote:
    Well done Riley. And as per our conversation this morning I will bring some piey/cakey/muffiny goodness along to celebrate the opening. Jim makes some mean Krispie Buns.

Colum you have obviously been away for to long i dont do things anymore, i get other people to do things.

To The Shane: Either find me sombody to make rice krispy buns or make them yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Nice one. Congratulations and the very best of luck!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Good one! We at KO will pay you a visit soon, preferrably before Karl is testing the jacks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

colm will your hours be changing , I notice they haven't been updated on the website in a while , I would like to visit your new place during august while NG winds down a little for August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭David Jones

while NG winds down a little for August

Turn my back for a second, (well two weeks in Greece) and you are off, I see how it is. ;)

good luck with new place, bit disappointed in the size of the tyres. :p Also you will find the wooden sledges might not last too long, you can get steel handle with rubber grip on web plus you can go all the way up to 22lb hammers. If you want kettlebells I have a contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Some people have no loyalty Dave!

I never thought of the sledge handles breaking. Hopefully they'll last a bit. If you're upset with the tyres Dave I can offer you solace in the fact we've rings.

John,
    We've a Saturday class, and will look to expand the timetable as time goes on and membership expands.

Colm

product_image.php?imageid=609

Yeah you would think the wooden ones would be decent but if they are the ones you would get in woodies etc you would be surprised. Try the above for up to 16lbs other than that you will have to hit the US. Also if you want bigger tyres give me a shout. Ones that make what sherk flips look small. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭wasabi

Roper wrote:
    Good one! We at KO will pay you a visit soon, preferrably before Karl is testing the jacks!

Deadly! It looks great, Colm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

I was going to say that to you Zen, just get fiberglass handled sledges.

You starting out going in the right direction (Poaching Jones' students) so it can only go up from here!

Peace

Dave has superior Linda scores than me, so I'm scared of him. :eek:

However, Dave can't do Muscle Ups on rings :p

I think I'll stick to poaching the Fianna boys :D

Colm
    -The maps are up now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Drummo

I think I'll stick to poaching the Fianna boys :D

SOLD!!! :p

However, Dave can't do Muscle Ups on rings

No unfortunately our rings are out of action since last year, bloody expensive to replace too, but I can do repetition muscle ups on bars, maybe I should come across and try your rings but Ill be so fat and out of shape coming back from holiday, maybe not. :p as for Linda that bitch is well and truely mastered its now all about Murph now.

* 1 mile Run
    * 100 Pull-ups
    * 200 Push-ups
    * 300 Squats
    * 1 mile Run

For time.
    Partition the pull-ups, push-ups, and squats as needed. Start and finish with a mile run. If you've got a twenty pound vest or body armor, wear it, which i did.

completing this made me feel superhuman but then I saw "Jason" today and felt sick just looking at it. :( Damn you Crossfit!!!

Dave,

www.ringtraining.com, I got mine on sale, worked out about €65. Even full price you're only looking at €80. In fact, everybody should get rings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Nice one colm. Was gonna ask where you got those rings. Not a bad price.

Would you be able to lash them up on / take them down off your local gaa crossbar handy enough? (there's a pitch close to our house).
    completing this made me feel superhuman

Damn well should too. Very nice job. That looks animal.
    but then I saw "Jason" today and felt sick just looking at it. :( Damn you Crossfit!!!

Just started back at the crossfit myself....Jason's a bit intimidating looking alright but no worse than the one you listed above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Fight Gone Bad is probably the worst Crossfit i have ever done. It just sucks really, really badly.

Though i am sure Colm will come up with his own brand of Spartan evil in the new place, it looks awesome dude.

Actually I found FGB alright. I subbed rowing for PUs. It wasn't the worst one I've done.

Haven't busted out Jason yet, I plan to over the weekend in the new place.

The rings are handy enough to install, even for someone as dextruously inept as me. I got them going in about 10 minutes the first time, now it's about 3-4 to thread them. It depends on how smooth the end of the belt is when you're feeding it through the catch.

Funny story - when I was setting up my rings down the road to do some MUs, an old man came out of the house - he thought I was trying to hang myself!

Guys we're going to be training this Monday, so it'd be great if anyone who wants to visit from another club could pop up.

Dragan, try "Valerie" - one I made up: 21, 18, 15, 12, 9, 6, and 3 reps of Pull Ups, Hand Stand Push Ups, 24" box jumps for time!

I'm also trying to think of suitable workouts for the names "Tyred?" and "Get Hammered"

Thanks again for all the support lads, it really helps!

Actually I found FGB alright. I subbed rowing for PUs. It wasn't the worst one I've done.

Fair play, i found that one really took it out of me....i was doing it for five rounds, threw up during the fourth but finished it off somehow.

Maybe it's the rest scheme and you are just used to it? The difference between fighter and fan so to speak! :D

Dragan, try "Valerie" - one I made up: 21, 18, 15, 12, 9, 6, and 3 reps of Pull Ups, Hand Stand Push Ups, 24" box jumps for time!

Looks like a heap load of fun! Thats my Saturday workout sorted!

I'm also trying to think of suitable workouts for the names "Tyred?" and "Get Hammered"

Right, been think about these and would like to make a recommendation if i could be so bold?

"Tyred"
    21 tyre slams ( think ball slams )
    400 meter tyre drag forwards ( load the center of a small tyre to medium tyre with a heavy ass sandbag )
    400 meter tyre drag backwards
    21 Overhead Squats holding the same tyre used for the slams.
    30 Pass Over Push Ups Perfromed on the Tyre

for 3 rounds for time

"Hammered"
    50 Hammer Swings onto Tyre
    30 Ring Push Ups
    75 Hammer Swings onto Tyre
    20 Ring Push Ups
    100 Hammer Swings onto Tyre
    10 Ring Push Ups

For time.

Notes : Ring Push Ups hurt so much it's not even funny, the repetitive hammer swinging will not only test the lungs, but also work to tire the shoulders, back and even the legs if you are using proper form. Ring Push Ups involve pretty much EVERY upper body muscle you can think off.....as Gym Jones would say "tenderise the meat, then cook it."

Here is one I have been using with a couple of mates.
    Its called "So Tyred of Cindy, Put on the Kettle" :-)
    5 chins
    10 pushups
    15 squats
    two 250lb tyre flips plus jump in and out of tyre each time
    5 hang cleans with 50kg
    10 kettlebell swings with 20kg bell
    20 sledgehammers on above tyres

rounds for 40 mins

It will make a man of ye I tell ye.

I have others but two sore from jason to type much :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭The Shane

I've said it before, usually when you're not around, but Dave you're crazy.

Shane, The

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

Cooool.I live just around the corner from Greenhills road.I live on Bunting road,off Walkinstown Roundabout.Have to pop in some time.What are the Class times?

I've said it before, usually when you're not around, but Dave you're crazy.

:D "When dealing with the insane, the best method is to pretend to be sane. " Hermann Hesse

Here is another one you can try, its actually one of the hardest I have ever done, its an amalgamation of Randy Coutures workout and some crossfit and some of my own craziness.

20kg olympic bar with two 5 kgs so 30kg total

8 bent over rows
    8 close grip upright rows
    8 hang cleans
    8 push press (military no legs)
    8 thrusters, front squat plus military press
    8 behind the neck squats
    8 lunges each leg

25 kettlebell swings with 16kg
    5 chin ups
    10 push ups
    bear crawl 20m

repeat above for 5 rounds
    2nd round with 20kg KB 20 swings
    3rd round with 24kg KB 15 swings
    4th round with 32kg KB 10 swings
    5th round with 5 32kg, 5, 24kg, 5 20kg and 5 16kg

I was still sore 2 days later. Its a nightmare. Hadn't called it anything but maybe "Are you serious Randy?" would be suitable.;)

Im always wondering how much you can put your body through before your mind has to take a holiday to get through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Your place looks like its near the Power City. How much is training if someone wants to join?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Oh, and congratulations on your move. I wish you great success with it.