Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Troll vs real insults

• 30-07-2007 10:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭

Just wondering, but why is troll a generally acceptable term to use in a thread to describe a boards member who is clearly a bollix who talks sh1t, but calling them "a fcuking twat" etc etc is bannable?

Honestly, not "trolling", just wondering :) Its simply that if i dont like the cut of someones jib i think its more sensible to use a "real world" term but anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

as far as i know if the mods think they are obviously trolling they will get banned maybe not in ah but in pi for example but ye i think we should be able to call an idiot an idiot but it wont happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Because the site is ruled by Nazis and they like things done in a certain way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Mostly because it tends to be a true summation of the poster involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

PeakOutput wrote:
    as far as i know if the mods think they are obviously trolling they will get banned maybe not in ah but in pi for example but ye i think we should be able to call an idiot an idiot but it wont happen

Indeed. It was always against the rules afaik, however i cant recall many bans for calling a spade a spade (i.e. a dickhead a dickhead) until WhiteWashMan started modding here for a bit, in that period it was basically a purge Stalin would have been wary of. Certain mods around here will let it fly, a certain unamed one or two never do.

Bring back Monty :) Always seemed rather level headed in comparison to some who followed.
    BuffyBot wrote:

Correct, however its just somehow more sensible to use a real world term rather than some obscure l33t fcuk u teh n00by faeg intraweb one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

If you want to insult people go over to the T/dome.

The lads and lassies over there know how to give and take.

They actually don't, they just make themselves come across as though they're retarded, which I suppose could be called amusing but at the end of the day...it's still retarded.

Spoken like a true lurker who keeps up to date with the T/dome but hasn't the balls to dive in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

That places sucks teh ghey c0ck (hey, seeing as its about our restriction to online invented insults only, might as well talk in nerdlish :D ). Its no matter PM`ing someone and saying "hey, go to thunderdome to see what i really think of you" when you wish to point out in a particular thread the person has posted in that he is a complete knob whos opinion isnt relevant to the real world.

Agreed,nothing I'd like better than tell someone with say 6 thousand two hundred and 26 post or any other random number that they sicken my ass big time.

However.. I agree that you can't do that or otherwise the whole system would break down.

There are certain supercilious punters on boards whom you would love to have a crack at but..... rules are rules ...don't go there.

Spoken like a true lurker who keeps up to date with the T/dome but hasn't the balls to dive in.
    Wouldn't want to damage my I.Q., English or overall intelligence, now would I?

Might improve your punctuation;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Ahh leave rb alone, he's right. The Insult Thread is quite simply rediculous. Not particuarly fresh or original.

Everybody is entitled to their opinion,I suppose.

Nothing wrong with that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

BuffyBot wrote:
    imo, calling the person something with lots of stars is usually a true summation too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

rb_ie wrote:
    They actually don't, they just make themselves come across as though they're retarded, which I suppose could be called amusing but at the end of the day...it's still retarded.

Come on over to the thunderdome then and we'll see how "un-retarded" you are...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

imo, calling the person something with lots of stars is usually a true summation too
    Is that so, Co******er Vimes!!1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

rb_ie wrote:
    Wouldn't want to damage my I.Q., English or overall intelligence, now would I?

For someone with such a high IQ, and who considers himself Ireland's heir to Joyce or Shaw you use "retarded" and "nazis" a little too much.

Slow coach wrote:
    For someone with such a high IQ, and who considers himself Ireland's heir to Joyce or Shaw you use "retarded" and "nazis" a little too much.

Maybe his intellectual influences also include Jessica Simpson and The cast of Laguna Beach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Or maybe he's a pretentious cock. Maybe, not saying for sure like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Everybody is entitled to their opinion,I suppose.

Nothing wrong with that at all.

I'm not trying to have a go at you Flutter but TD is a horrible place.
    I've browsed threads in there that I would consider bullying by picking on specific people or worse an individual. It's usually started by one popular poster who get's all his chums to gang up and ridicule a specific person.

Can you honestly tell me that's right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I'm not a fan of the Thunderdome but the bullying thing wouldn't worry me. No one is forced to post in the Thunderdome, so as long as what is said in the TD and the attitudes prevalent in the TD STAY in the TD, then there's no problem.

layke wrote:
    I'm not trying to have a go at you Flutter but TD is a horrible place.
    I've browsed threads in there that I would consider bullying by picking on specific people or worse an individual. It's usually started by one popular poster who get's all his chums to gang up and ridicule a specific person.

Can you honestly tell me that's right?

There's no such thing as a popular poster in thunderdome..we all deeply,deeply dislike each other.Anyway,its meant to be a terrible place,if you dont want to get some then dont go there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

True Degsy, but threads are raised about people who don't go in there nor want to. Then after reading the thread they kinda have to go in and defend themselves.