Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celebrity You're a Star!

• 28-07-2007 8:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭

Beggy/O'Shea/Rock are a shooo-in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Mikosyko

Who cares?:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Mikosyko wrote:
    Who cares?:rolleyes:
    If you've nothing to add to the thread, don't bother posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Mikosyko

byte wrote:
    If you've nothing to add to the thread, don't bother posting.

new_really.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Wheels

I'm not so sure. There is something to be said for the pure hilarity that is SBB!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

SBB has balls.... he deserves to go far! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭robo

Sure John Aldridge hadn't a note in his head last year and he won!
    Go SBB!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Aldini98

I 'd like to see the Weather girl win, purely because shes the closest thing to Punch (from Punch and Judy fame) that I've ever seen in the human form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,356 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Who exactly are competing? Any hotties? The only ones i know are SBB, the old irish hooker (Shane Byrne) and Brendan Courtney (who's gone already, right?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

ABSOLUTE DISASTER

Was flicking last night and came accross this. Could not believe not abysmally bad it was.

Please don't use the "but its for charity excuse"

Anyone associated with the production of this abomination should be ashamed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭TT&TO

Oshea was sooooooo fine (when you turn the sound off)

he has a bit of a dry mouth problem - needs a bit of rescue remedy. in fact ahhh, a lot of rescue remedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

dulpit wrote:
    the old irish hooker
    Is Twink still doing it this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

I saw the recap bit at the end of the first episode and from that I'd say Shane Byrne should win. The rest seem terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

I think its great. Far more entertaining than all the rest of the talent show genre, where anyone with actual talent is essentially exploited by first TV then the record label. And the english celebrity shows (big brother, I'm a celebirty) where these are used as vehicles for people to get back into public eye. I've a feeling that's why some contestents are on it - (Nuala Carey possibly) but msot on it have very little to gain.

So, the Irish performers dont particularly give a crap, dont want to improve, and the voting is a joke, and bears no actual reflection to the amount of talent shows on the program. That's all part of the package. RTE production can be shaky, but I think its good TV.

I dont get how the voting works though. Not that it matters. Ordinarily, if the voting continues through the program, and ends about 3 minutes after the last act performs, surely those on lads have a huge disadvantage. Am I missing something simple? Goes to show that the actual performance doesnt matter. Lets hope that the mobile companies arent creaming off the top on this and the money does actually go to the charities.

Really like this, and two characters I hated before the show have generally impressed me - Brunker and McFadden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

Can i just ask who teh hell is Brent Pope?

Your Da!!!

He's a former Rugby player that does the commentary for Rugby matches on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Steve01

Was flicking last night and came accross this. Could not believe not abysmally bad it was.

To be fair, the celebrities have some bit of talent compared to the contestants on You're a Star from earlier in the year. And that was meant to be an actual talent contest, not some annual charity shindig.
    David O'Connor anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Wheels

Morgans wrote:
    So, the Irish performers dont particularly give a crap, dont want to improve, and the voting is a joke, and bears no actual reflection to the amount of talent shows on the program. That's all part of the package. RTE production can be shaky, but I think its good TV.

Well said, it is pretty refreshing that most of them are up for a laugh and not taking themselves too seriously. They know they'll never be taken as serious musicians so they're (on the majority) getting on with it. And BOC is pretty funny to watch still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Brunker has really gone to bits! She used to be quite attractive once IIRC?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Pigman II wrote:
    Brunker has really gone to bits! She used to be quite attractive once IIRC?
    Amanda "I've got tits, I have" Brunker has very recently given birth to number two.

So she's eating for 3 now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

Last year - some charitys got so little money. (€1000 or €2000)

Does anybody know what RTE and the 3 judges get from this programme?

SBB to win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭petals

I love SBB, The All Stars and Brian McFadden :lol:

SBB is excellent.. in the fact that he hasn't got a note in his head can't sing in time but still gives it loads of wellie! Go ON SBB!!

The All Stars are just legends.. Loved YMCA!

And Brian McFadden is just pretty.. oh the shorts the other night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

OK I'm new to this kind of show so I have some pretty simple questions:

Does Twink just hang around backstage? I mean what's she doing there? Does she even get paid? Is that where she lives or something?

Puck wrote:
    OK I'm new to this kind of show so I have a pretty simple questions:

Does Twink just hang around backstage? I mean what's she doing there? Does she even get paid? Is that where she lives or something?
    Twink is teaching them the songs and choregraphy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

What!? Twink? It really is like watching a car wreck.

:lol: I just think it's amazing that RTE seem to have managed to find what is it nine acts originally that haven't a note in their heads.. I admit some were better than others but really none of the were great singers.. suppose that's not what they're there for but still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 frosty66

Who Won?

Nobody won. Humanity as a whole, lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 frosty66

???
    Do U Kno Who Won Please, Just Missed The Results By A Sec

Nope, but I'm sure you'd find out on the RTE website or Aertel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Aldini98

The Allsatars won thank God. SBB disgraced himself yet again, the twat cant even learn a few words to Yellow Submarine FFS !

Twink = Washed up has been that never was a been in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭ifconfig

Last nights programme was quite entertaining.
    It's all real "leave your brain at the door" summer big top silliness but the
    allstars lads were great craic and uplifting.

It says on RTE site that Dave Beggy is 40 (really? I'd have thought 45+)
    is that a misprint ? GAA buffs ? anyone ? In any case he is a natural
    performer - very confident and chirpy.

I thought that the backing band this year were superb and way better than
    the backing bands they've used (in either charity or youth/competitive
    versions of the show). The guitarist (elvis costello lookalike) was obviously
    a thoroughbred session musician who could perform great live (in fact slightly
    lost the run of himself when Brian McFadden got up to do his party piece).
    The previous guitarists, the fella with the silly looking hair and Paul whatisface
    from ex-Blades were bland and very average in comparison.

-ifc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Aldini98 wrote:
    Twink = Washed up has been that never was a been in the first place.

ah, Twink's a legend: 'zip up yer mickey!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

The Allstars pretty much had it won with "You can leave your aht on"...its like going to show what people will do for a charity...
    SBB was a disgrace..

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

BaZmO* wrote:
    Nobody won. Humanity as a whole, lost.

haha, this sums up all reality tv shows as well as you're a stay and x-factor etc