Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BRING BACK Solskjaer (Solskjaer for MOD)

• 27-07-2007 1:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭

i think he should come back so gonna put up a poll Bring back Solskjaer
    i for one miss his slapstick humour that rubs people up the wrong way..!

Bring Back Solskjaer 51 votes

YES
    0% 0 votes
    NO
    54% 28 votes
    ATARI JAUGAR
    45% 23 votes

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

In before lock baby.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I was going to lock this but what's the point? I know Mick only posted it to rile me, and also, for Mick's benefit, without going over any of the past, his latest incarnation is not banned as far as I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭MickL

5starpool wrote:
    I was going to lock this but what's the point? I know Mick only posted it to rile me, and also, for Mick's benefit, without going over any of the past, his latest incarnation is not banned as far as I know.

i tought all his accounts was bad delete at will if anybody feels uncomfortable and i would never do anything to rile you up dom :p:p:p

i only sayin i miss his humour and would like to see him back

MickL wrote:
    what is my latest incarnation lol

i only sayin i miss his humour and would like to see him back
    Is your whole boards persona there to wind me up? I notice your new (first time I have noticed it anyways) sig, and that is obviously at least in part aimed here too. Post in the soccer forum a bit and see how that goes down there.
    MickL wrote:
    what is my latest incarnation lol
    Also, I presume you are not serious in this specific comment

5starpool wrote:
    Is your whole boards persona there to wind me up? I notice your new (first time I have noticed it anyways) sig, and that is obviously at least in part aimed here too. Post in the soccer forum a bit and see how that goes down there.

Also, I presume you are not serious in this specific comment
    iv edited now are ya happy lol and my sig id off iv posted in d soccer forum a couple of times

that sig is there since the great champions league final of athens 2007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Silver-Tiger

The ladbrokes thread was one of the most serious threads i have read in a long time, and was a good read, until solskjaer started adding his piece and the starting the other thread about the poker million was not even borderline funny,
    So if he's gonna start sh*te like that, No Thanks

Seeee ya later Solskjaer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 Solskjaer11

I Hate Solksjaer. So I Vote Nough.
    He doesn't even spell his name correctly....
    I think he disguises his humour a bit too much though for some people. I think he should remain a man of many aliases each one having their little time in the sun and then cut off in their prime by some shooting star in the league of Bast'rds.

He's leveled a couple of MODs so far and neither suspect a thing as he's been fairly convincing with some finely picked assault at their achilles heals, (it's fun when to get them into the pulpit, seeee how they raaaant.) I guess it should be called MOD trolling and Dom is such a sweet nice guy who will one day win a big one. (my guess is the buglers Poker events Tuesday night game)
    I do have issues that need looking at though (anyone recommend a good shrink)

Ecksor is still my fav MOD. He can spot a villian a mile away and appears not to rise to any criticism. Give me time I'll find his weakness. (maybe calling him a mere Mod will do it)

Btw Mick , that dealer Lucy in the Fitz makes you all look like broken down robots,

Hugs and kisses to all mods for the weekend, my you get outside the door and get some fine clean air...(yer bordsies will be there when ye get back....

IN BEFORE LOCK and BAN.

The ladbrokes thread was one of the most serious threads i have read in a long time, and was a good read, until solskjaer started adding his piece and the starting the other thread about the poker million was not even borderline funny,
    So if he's gonna start sh*te like that, No Thanks

Seeee ya later Solskjaer

Nice shot Tigere, you make the cut....my ladbrokes thread was actually serious...(I know I'm so out of touch)

But you are correct. my post in the actual thread was horrendous, please post a link so I can be damnned for it....what can I say I like the doc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

To be honest willie, I think you make a fool of yourself on these boards. It can get annoying at times, but a lot of people on these boards find it funny. What I don't understand is all this drama you go through about banning yourself and starting new accounts. Whats the point about it all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

Solskjaer for Mod

seconded can i change this threads name to Solskjaer for MOD

ah i will say that she is good but her hair is very out there lol not something you would want to look at when you get the spinnies after to much drink

To be honest willie, I think you make a fool of yourself on these boards. It can get annoying at times, but a lot of people on these boards find it funny. What I don't understand is all this drama you go through about banning yourself and starting new accounts. Whats the point about it all?
    The DRAMA as you call it is to have fun, what else is the internet for? I don't really see that I'm a fool as I don't really take the boards serious. I don't really give a rats hiny if someone like you thinks I'm a fool...(Isn't that suprising?) The whole ban and reban is amusing to me......I could just post 'move up levels' but that would be really tedious and I think make me look even more foolish that you perceive. (in my eyes) The thing is and I do quote myself here, the Mods do a great job here and I act the mickey with them. They ban me then I act the mickey again. There is no point to it really, I'm quirky and like riling nerds and they like....must be something to do with having 6 brothers
    I've been kicked out of worse places than here me lad. Also I did mention I need help.

Anyway move up levels to 2+ 2. ya little begger (binboy :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

No is the NAP of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I think it's back to my turn to ban Solksjaer, is it??

OK, well I'll do it anyway, Reason, hmmmm: "Multi-accounting to get around ban", I suppose will do this time.

As everyone knows Solksjaer has self banned his original account and was personally abusive to a couple of people/mods/admin so to get unbanned he'll have to apologise to those people and have that accepted, it's not a democracy here people.

Until the next time, GL Solksjaer.

I won't lock the thread as I'll let people give out for a while, I think it's my turn by now...

No is the NAP of the day.
    i dunno i can see atari jaugaur gettin this one in a close photo

The DRAMA as you call it is to have fun, what else is the internet for? I don't really see that I'm a fool as I don't really take the boards serious. I don't really give a rats hiny if someone like you thinks I'm a fool...(Isn't that suprising?) The whole ban and reban is amusing to me......I could just post 'move up levels' but that would be really tedious and I think make me look even more foolish that you perceive. (in my eyes) The thing is and I do quote myself here, the Mods do a great job here and I act the mickey with them. They ban me then I act the mickey again. There is no point to it really, I'm quirky and like riling nerds and they like....must be something to do with having 6 brothers
    I've been kicked out of worse places than here me lad. Also I did mention I need help.

Meh I never called you a fool, but you just have the propensity to act like one. I have nothing against you really, so don't take things too personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

lol at this thread, for ppl who missed it here's the thread where solks requested to be banned forever: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055098409

Afaik I've never banned him from poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

We're too old and too much in the real world to be here really willie. the pompous egotype of kid who makes nasty comments online would never open their mouths when they meet you coz they know that they'd get an elbow in the face. But thats only a very small percentage of ubernerd, 90% of posters here are just regular joe nerds like you and me.

I think we take too much to heart, best to just use boards for general news and leave the squabbling to those with nothing better to do.

Dom is a great mod and you shouldn't be riling him, there's plenty worse i can point you in the direction of.

you going to kerry Willie? we'll have a few pints and a cigar if you smoke.

thinking about it, Ireland at the moment has probably the best cheap poker tourneys in the world and its great to see boards doing so well. It would be great if we could keep out the trashy lack of courtesy that makes most other online forums unreadable.

Dom is a great mod and you shouldn't be riling him, there's plenty worse i can point you in the direction of.

Please point i love rilling?? lol

on a seerious note des Dom knows anything im sayin is only for laughs and jokes and does not take it to much to heart!!

Oh and YES just hit the front lol looks like the nap of the day is gonna be stuffed lol

MickL wrote:
    Please point i love rilling?? lol

on a seerious note des Dom knows anything im sayin is only for laughs and jokes and does not take it to much to heart!!

Oh and YES just hit the front lol looks like the nap of the day is gonna be stuffed lol
    That's where you are wrong, I am sobbing into my cuppa as we speak. I'm going drinking so I can forget about all my troubles.

5starpool wrote:
    That's where you are wrong, I am sobbing into my cuppa as we speak. I'm going drinking so I can forget about all my troubles.
    woooooo it had always been a lifetime ambition of mine t drive somebody to drink lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

It would be great if we could keep out the trashy lack of courtesy that makes most other online forums unreadable.

Anyone else find Doc posting this deeply ironic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

15 people voted Yes so far. WTf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

probably just Solskjaer using his multi-accounts to vote.

solskjaer is a ledge he must return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

Not me anyway. This your latest grudge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

i do.
    Des i mean no offence to you at all but in nearly every single one of your posts you say something deeply negative about these 'kids/students/nerds/gingers/wannabe pros/etc.'. It's really exhausting reading you get your digs in repeatedly.
    I go through phases of playing poker (normally compulsively for 3 months) and then off for about 6, and anytime i come back to the boards poker forum i seem to see another little dig in at certain posters (reggie in particular).

For someone who so often preaches of tolerance, compassion, respect and manners (and i have no problem with that at all), I really don't think you're practicin what you preach with your constant subtle (and not so subtle) deriding of other posters.

As I said at the start it's nothing personal it just seems genuinely unfair to be constantly going on about how much of a great guy x is and how these student type/wannbe pros/gingers/kids are so disrespectful, unmannerly etc.

I've never had any problem with anyone on boards and i can honestly say that everyone i know from here have been extraordinarily easy to get on with (although i haven't been around for quite a long time and there are a lot of new boardsies since i last played live). The boards poker forum is nothing short of a phenomenon when you think about it, and i wouldn't have enjoyed my time in poker half as much without it.
    But the moral judgements been thrown around about more and more often these days aren't entertaining anymore. They're just genuinely bitchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

I do. Des, I have to admit your posts are definitely high in trash content! I don't mind trash talk, I ignore it for the most part, but the added remarks, contradictions and inaccurate comments on groups and individuals is not cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭pumpkinpints

yes i do too.
    i see other have posted it too, but ill add weight as well, i often find myself when reading the threads checking to see the names because i always waste type reading the tripe posted by himself and others.
    i have met willie a few times and find him a nice man, his metaphorical writing does get a little tedious although some gems (like the mustard thread) were quite good. ( "all hellmans broke loose" a contender for quote of the year), but i would struggle to find anything useful/interesting to quote from DocF.
    I think most of Cardsharks posts have been in retaliation to rubbish posted rather than outright slagging, and he usually speaks for most of the forum in my experience.

My favourite soup is pumpkin soup, especially cream of pumpkin soup, I love it. A few freshly baked rolls to go with it. mmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

MickL wrote:
    solskjaer is a ledge he must return

I genuinely find most of his posts funny.......That should not be taken as a compliment solks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    but I guess perceptions of our personallity can be thrown way out of line through a review of what we write on the internet.
    very good point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Ihave10aliases

The MODs will have to shoot me :)

FFS LLoyd, an articulate outburst but unfortunately in the words of Macker malone from Gardiner st. 'a load of mebollx;..

the post in question was perhaps only stressful to the pedants who posted incorrect opinion on the thread..(WTF does WTF mean) . Please see below my post, which didnt indict anyone of the 4 players involved, nor cause any stress to anyone involved....something I think you had to apologise for in that very same thread....so please THINK yourself before you type......my post in fact backed all involved, other comments I made in it were not related to it but to the handbag attack on another poster.(still going on for some strange reason) ....Also, I don't think I'm more mature than anyone on this site (well not mentally:) ) but Im glad to say I've my own mind and not bothered by popular opinion or achievement of others in poker to sycophantly change it.. ..the fact the you think humour is not welcome in that thread is your opinion, if Eamo, or any of the parties involved require an apology :eek: I'll look them in the eye and give them one....

the part of my post that refered to the labrokes mess is below in BOLD, feel free to compare it to the rest of the thread....

As for the Fitz situation, following the thread logically, it was just a mess up by the tourny orgsr, they should really hold their hands up. Congrats to Eamo on a nice touch in this event. Pity he is camera shy, would have been nice to see him play like he does, on TV.
    As to Don Fagan, it's a pity that you were the victim of this mess up, and well handled btw... I myself would probably have flipped and kicked up a major fuss for justice. (especially seen as I look and sound great on TV, ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Anytime I have ran into Des playing cards in town he has been polite to me and has always carried himself well while at the same table as myself.

However, I too am getting tired of his snide comments and jeers on this forum, as they seem to be aimed at posters like myself in particular. In my opinion, it wouldn't be nearly as annoying if he actually bothered to contribute somewhat to the handhistory and poker theory threads.

As regards Willie, if he wishes to use the internet solely for having a laugh that is fine. There are plenty of threads every week on this forum that are tongue in cheek or taking the piss. But if there is a decent bit of poker debate or an important community thread like the Ladbrokes one (I mean wtf? That was not the place for comic relief - I know for a fact that the parties involved were stressed out about the situation and some of the accusations floating about were of an extremely serious and potentially damaging nature); Willie should have the sense to just not click on the post reply button.

Ultimately, it grates a little to read the repeated implication that we are all immature and unaware little kids - when the source of such suggestions are the ones who come across as having a little growing up to do. Not that I am insinuating that they are actually impolite or immature people - but I guess perceptions of our personallity can be thrown way out of line through a review of what we write on the internet.

Please lads - think before you type.

Lloyd I have to say that I would have a far greater problem with all of the posters that got involved in that thread whilst clearly not having any clue as to what took place. Eamon had to spend a couple of days coming under attack until Don cleared up things.

In fairness I did not read Solk's post in that thread and do not plan to because it will mean that I will have to trawl through a pile of crap posted by random anonimous people with nothing better to be doing than stirring up rumours.

Lastly Solks doesn't use this forum solely for humour and some of his posts have been the most incisive I have read here.......

Stephen Mc Lean.

P.S. I know that I should really not get away with all the spam I post but I'm trying to organise a tournament or two :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

carfax wrote:

Lastly Solks doesn't use this forum solely for humour and some of his posts have been the most incisive I have read here.......

Linky?

I'm not that bothered one way or the other, but man, solkskjaer does tend to talk an unbelievable amount of sh!te. Entertaining, definitely, but sh!ite all the same!

BACK ON TOPIC

THE VOICE HAS SPOKEN 22 people agree bring him back lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

MickL wrote:
    22 people agree

LOL @ you thinking Boards is a democracy!! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I'd rather see ROONEY_DIVES unbanned, at least he'd have something to contribute.

Infact, after so many re-registrations and other shenanigans, only a full IP Ban is appropriate.

LOL @ him saying he wanted a ban, then re-registrating a number of times. Quite pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

rb_ie wrote:
    ROONEY_DIVES

I was going to bring it up but thought better .. meh .. atari jaguar it is so ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Ah bring him Back .......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

I think the poker forum could benefit from group therapy.

i think we should have a vote once a month to bring back banned poster, like freeing Barabus in Jerusalem, i mean that worked out fine didnt it?:rolleyes:

rb_ie wrote:
    Quite pathetic.
    yeah, kind of reminds me of a joke i heard recently...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

yeah, kind of reminds me of a joke i heard recently...
    lol, burn

lafortezza wrote:
    lol, burn

lol was about to post the exact same thing.