Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best cinema in Dublin?

• 23-07-2007 3:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭

Will be staying in Dublin for a few days week after next and just wanted to some recommendations for the best cinema in Dublin. Last time I went (in Dublin) I went to the Liffey Valley Shopping Centre. So I'm not looking for the knacker experience again. Can anyone recommend a cinema where one can watch a film in peace.

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I'll tell you where to avoid like the plague so, UCI Collock (apologies to anyone who frequents there).
    I hate to say every cinema in Dublin Ive been to does get infiltrated by annoying people by times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

If you want to see a film the right way go to see it in Savoy on O'Connell Street, screen 1 and 2 are huge. For the best overall cinema then it's Cineworld on Parnell Street.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,018 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Cineworld is probably the best - city centre location. lotsa screens. If you get into Screen 17, then it's even better http://www.cineworld.ie

If you don't want the "knacker" experience, Cineworld is usually OK, but the IFI is usually unfavourable charcter free. Depends if you are into art house cinema or not, but it is a very nice place. Again, city centre - temple bar this time
    http://www.ifi.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Savoy is better for the cinema experience because it's old fashioned but still modern. Unfortunatly their prices are extortionate in comparison to Cineworld and they never have more then a handful of films on, with few showings on throughout the day.
    Cineworld have more screens, more movies, more showings and are cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

vue in liffey valley isnt bad, its really about what time/film you go to. I've never really had a bad experience though my friend did have his window smashed in, and I've read of similar experiences.

These days I'm normally with my girlfriend in town so we either go to what was called the UGC on parnell street, or the omniplex in santry both I find are good.

I'm from dundrum, so I often go to both the Movies at Dundrum cinema and the ormonde in stillorgan. I wouldnt reccomend the ormonde as I got double charged for tickets and they were making it a pain in the ass to get my money back so I just decided to write it off and never go back. My mother got double charged in dundrum too which is run by the same company as the ormonde so it must be a fairly common occurance.

As far as knacks in cinema, you will likely get that everywhere and there's not much you can do to salvage yoru cinema experience once this happens - even going out to the manager will ruin your evening, I wouldnt be able to stop thinking about it for the rest of the evening. The air conditioning in dundrum doesnt seem to be working and the screens can get really stuffy so I'd really reccomend the one on parnell street, used to be called UGC, cant remember what they call themselves these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Savoy or Cineworld, depending on the screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭uncle ernie

cineworld also has the added bonus of a bar upstairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭europhile

www.ifi.ie and www.screencinema.ie are the only guaranteed skanger and nacho free zones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

I went to see Nacho Libra while my wife was shopping in the Liffey valley. Bunch of knacks down the back shouting/throwing popcorn etc.

My son wants to see the Simpson film while were in Dublin (if it's out) but judging from the feedback I might wait till we get back to Galway to go see it in peace. Jesus is the infiltration in Dublin really that bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Cineworld on Parnell St is good.
    OP, Galway isn't much better as I remember from my college days.

I'd happily pay €1 on top of my ticket price to have a full-time bouncer in my area or maybe popping in or out every few minutes.
    Cinemas should spend more on security staff and I'd pay extra for a skanger free environment.

Debate for another thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

micmclo wrote:
    OP, Galway isn't much better as I remember from my college days.

Since the Eye Cinema opened, going to see a film has been a much, much better experience. Infact, I don't believe I've ever had any bother in the Eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Fair point Karl, when I was in Galway the main cinema was on the Headford Rd and that could be a rowdy at times. Good to hear :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

micmclo wrote:
    Fair point Karl, when I was in Galway the main cinema was on the Headford Rd and that could be a rowdy at times. Good to hear :)

Aye, that was a hole and half the time I was in there, it was chock full of skangers, but they recently done it up, and now it's not so bad at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

I as mucho impressed with Cineworld.

Can't remember the last time I had hassle in a cinema in Galway tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Like others I'd recommend Cineworld or the Savoy.

I've had a bad experience in the Screen Cinema though - loads of junkies at the back shouting at the screen, was horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 lukej

What so good about screen 17 in cineworld?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

lukej wrote:

its huge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

I concurr ....HUGE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

I like the liffey valley cinema, big screens, good seats, but then I try not to go there at busy times (I had a whole 300ish seater cinema to myself once)
    Cineworld is okay too, screens and seats arn't as good though, and like anywhere if youre unlucky you can get annoying jerks. Also just two days ago went to see die hard and four or five time during the movie, some very loud drilling was going on under the theatre, ruined two or three minutes of the movie
    I've heard dundrum is good cinema too

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

lukej wrote:
    Umm the size of it? Nearly the biggest screen in the country (I think one elsewhere is bigger) - very good for big screen movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

Can't believe UCI coolock is getting slated!

Sure its full of knackers but.....

THE BUTTER POPCORN!!!

Is absolutely amazing, I dream about it sometimes....

MMMMMMM.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

I like the Screen best.

The big out-of-town malls - Liffey Valley, Coolock and the like - have the sound turned up for those who think they need to hear things VERY LOUD if they're to understand them (and who am I to disagree), and they're haunted by people who bring in meals with them and slush and gulp their hamburgers and chips behind you and belch and mouth-breathe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

ixoy wrote:
    Umm the size of it? Nearly the biggest screen in the country (I think one elsewhere is bigger) - very good for big screen movies.
    its the 3rd biggest... only 403 seats.. savoy and vue have bigger screens.... around the 1000 mark ive hurd....

WellyJ wrote:

THE BUTTER POPCORN!!!

MMMMMMM.......

Take it from someone who used to work there....that 'aint butter your eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

Take it from someone who used to work there....that 'aint butter your eating.

Well if it smells like butter and tastes like butter and looks like butter then.....

Well I dont care either way, it tasted nice :)

I eat sausages too and god knows whats in them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I miss buttered popcorn, such a load of sh1te that they took that away.

I was in The Square Tallagh Cinema recently, seats were awful, so uncomfortable, years since I'd been there.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

The only cinema I've ever experienced any real annoyance in is UCI in Blanchardstown on my one visit there a couple of years ago. Have been to Vue in Liffey Valley many times and it's always fine, and was in Dundrum last week and there was no bother there either. A lot depends on what you go to see and what time. If it's a popular film, as opposed to something like Lost in Translation for example, you'll have more scumbags at it. If it's in daylight hours their numbers increase. If your son is old enough to be broughtto a later showing then I reckon it would improve on your last Dublin cinema experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

anto-t wrote:
    its the 3rd biggest... only 403 seats.. savoy and vue have bigger screens.... around the 1000 mark ive hurd....
    But what about the sizes of the actual screens? (rather than the capacity) Which is biggest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

I used to have a Cineworld unlimited card. Gave it up cause I couldn't enjoy a movie - no matter what I went to see there was constant talking and kicking my seat. I was always pissed off.

Since then I've stopped going to the cinema as much, but when I do I head out to either Dundrum or Liffey Valley, I have had better experiences with them.

The best though, for clientelle, but not comfort are The Screen and the IFI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭randomname

Have to say I have been a cineworld (ugc) unlimited card holder for a few years and I think cineworld is one of the best cinemas in dublin.

IFI is good as well but find seats aren't great in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

I've been going to Cineworld roughly once a week for the past two years, and the only hassle I've ever had was, oddly enough, at Harry Potter last week, when a couple a few seats up from me kept giggling (and they shut up when I asked them nicely to quit it).

It's a really good cinema - it's cheap if you're a student (plus the family discount is good), best selection of food of any cinema (although dear god, the prices are extortionate) and there's loads of screens so good choice.

I sound like an advertisement for the place so I'll stop now, but just to say, daveg don't be put off by horror stories. Most cinemas are grand, and if there's ever any hassle then just say it to the cinema staff and they're usually decent about sorting it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I do like Cineworld, but I was in it on Sunday to see Transformers and the screen I was in had the most ridiculously inconveniently placed cupholders in human history. They were on the floor sticking out of the seat in front. Who had that brainwave?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

every cinema has a bit of scum. if you want to avoid it, you look at the time and the film, other than that you dont have much of an option. the only time ive ever seen scum in uci coolock was at batman and robin (and im only 18 now) and dodgy horrors around halloween.
    you'll see as much scum everywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭The Denouncer

I'll just throw a good word in for the new cinema movies@Swords, previously I had to go to Santry Omniplex, a horrible place full of skangers. Movies@ is a much better cinema, the cosy seats are positioned so you could have a tall chap in front and he's not really blocking your view and I haven't really had a bad experience there at all.

Thanks for the feedback folks. Will have a another good read through this and pickout a cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Hey don't diss the Omniplex in Santry I had a great experience in the back row there :)

Normally would head to Cineworld or Dundrum and both are normally fine. Didn't like Dundrum at first but have warmed to it.

(My pet hate are the twats in the cinema's who keep texting all the way through the film..............)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭dubmick

I like Santry and Movies@Swords is growing on me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭giggles

I was in movies@swords last night and was very impressed with it. Was in the VIP screen, my BF booked it, but think it was around €17 euro and it includes a massive bag of pop corn and choice of drink:- wine, bottles of beer, softdrinks (looked like xlarge size to me)

The seats were roomy & very comfy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭niall2j

+1 for Movies @swords ... The Mezz is the screen with the €17 seats and if, like me you always go for the lagre popcorn/coke, it works out the same price as a normal ticket plus the food.

It also means you get big comfortable seats, a slighly older crowd (less chance of annoyance imo) and they always have the sound up nice and loud for the big blockbuster style movies, which I love!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

Vue Liffey Valley!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

+1 for cineworld. Marvellous place for a night out at the cinema. Screen 1 in savoy is good but rest are way below par

Liffey Valley's OK and certainly no more scum than anywhere else. Haven't been to any of the UCIs in a while so won't comment on them. The place in dundrum is awful

I do like Cineworld, but I was in it on Sunday to see Transformers and the screen I was in had the most ridiculously inconveniently placed cupholders in human history. They were on the floor sticking out of the seat in front. Who had that brainwave?
    What the ****?
    Which screen is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭jazoo

We used to go to liffey valley all the time but cleanliness is a major factor who wants to be walking on sticky floors.i live just outside dublin and have started going to movies @swords its fairly new and once it is kept tidy and keeps nice friendly staff it should be cool .the cinema experience has to be enjoyable and comfortable..................................keep up good work swords

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭MiloFoxburr

What the ****?
    Which screen is that?

Screen 9 is like that. Was the old Screen 1 before the cinema took over the IMax Building

Cineworld is the best cinema in Dublin (Unlimited Card ftw) I goto Vue quite often but find there screens are alot blurrier and of course sticky floors..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

luckat wrote:
    I like the Screen best.

The big out-of-town malls - Liffey Valley, Coolock and the like - have the sound turned up for those who think they need to hear things VERY LOUD if they're to understand them (and who am I to disagree), and they're haunted by people who bring in meals with them and slush and gulp their hamburgers and chips behind you and belch and mouth-breathe.

I think the loudness is a deliberate thing to drown out the incessant talkers; it's cheaper than usher enforced silence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Have to reccomend Savoy, Screen and IFI as the only places to watch movies in Dublin.

I hate all the "McCinema's" that have been popping up since the early 90's. They seem to have been designed solely for people looking for anything to kill a bit of time until the soap-operas start.

If getting beer / pop-corn / luxury-seating / giant-screen are honestly your priorities when it comes to your cinematic experience there's really no hope for you and I hope you enjoy your mental-vacation through life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

WellyJ wrote:

THE BUTTER POPCORN!!!

MMMMMMM.......

same reason i go to UCI In Blanch!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Thelikefaneire

Cineworld, the best in the Dublin. Sure its pricy but at €680 student its not too bad. And screen 17, what a screen, i had the perfect seats in it for star wars, right in the centre, row h 19 to 21 i think, perfect!

Also the lax security there means somedays if you go to an early showing you can catch a late one without paying. Although one time i cought epic movie by sneaking in, it was so bad i had to walk out, im glad i didnt pay for it. Also when they were making the ben and jerries stand they were drilling during movies, i was on the 1st floor below it so it was even worse! Its all done now, the work was worth it.

What happed with the old entrance its still sitting there unused and the big waiting area where most of the screens are used to be the stairs, even back when it was the Virgin Imax. I think i remember seeing James and the Giant Peach there back when it was the Virgin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 harrybosch

Have to admit liver close to it and i really like Vue in liffey valley. The screens are big and the seats are nice and comfy. As regards to all the stuff bout skangers, i find you get that in almost every cinema depending on what you go to see. Also, at least you dont have to pay extra money for premium seats, and they do give out those vouchers for 2 euro off your next visit, better than nothing, my 2 centsw neways