Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bridesmaid become Bride

• 22-07-2007 7:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭

All I can say is congrats to Padraig, and it's about feckin time too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭andrew1977

Fair play to him and congratulations Padraig, great to see the tricolour flying at the end of the open !!
    Didnt look good for him before the play off but showed the bottle and nerve to win the play off
    You have done us proud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

well done paddy never in doubt :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭paulie.walnuts

It couldn't have been much more dramatic but what a great win by a great irishman. His humility and skill do us all proud.

Also he landed me a win with Paddy Power at 25-1 !
    euro10 on it so won't be retiring on it but very nice all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

decies wrote:
    well done paddy never in doubt :D:D:D

Yeah right!! ;)

Congrats Padraig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Fantastic result. I really thought he'd bottled again when he hit the water twice on 18. But what a way to start the playoff with a birdie and good tactics on the 18th - play it as a par 5 and force Sergio to get a birdie. Good job :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

I was shouting at the TV when he took a driver at the 18th. There was a method to his madness. Great result.

One very annoying thing for me. The ole ole brigade were in full voice after the presentation. Can't we find something else to sing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭paulie.walnuts

we stole that from the spanish right? Maybe it was to wind up Garcia :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

Congrats to Padraig on a great win

...anybody catch the very end of the coverage where he was on the green showing junior the claret jug and the youngster asked. " Can we put ladybirds in it?" Harrington replied. "Indeed we can son, we can put ladybirds all around it".

Brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭ctc_celtic

could not be happier for a true gentleman of sports. Garcia will have his chance soon enough again.

great comeback to Faldo's **** stirring at the start of the week;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭denachoman

Ok, can we get this thread renamed to be the official "Congratulations" thread for Padraig Harrington. He has just immortalised himself as an Irish sporting hero.

Congratulations Padraig. A brilliant final day performance to capture the Claret Jug. I hope it will be a stepping stone to further majors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭extopia

CLADA wrote:
    Congrats to Padraig on a great win

...anybody catch the very end of the coverage where he was on the green showing junior the claret jug and the youngster asked. " Can we put ladybirds in it?" Harrington replied. "Indeed we can son, we can put ladybirds all around it".

Brilliant!

Yeah, what an ending to the fantastic BBC coverage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

That a day yesterday, head is a bit sore today!

Well done to Padraig, he showed some bottle in the play-off. You have done us proud son!

Also a big high-five to Rory McIlroy. The future is bright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

I have to admit that I stood in the pub with tears streaming down my face.

Having been working in the golf area for the last 15 years or so, growing up watching Harrington/Clarke/McGinley I was totally overwhelmed by the moment.

I can only liken it to Packie Bonner's save against Romania in 1990, maybe even Ray Houghton's goal against England in 1988.

Even standing at the K-Club in September watching Clarke and the emotion surrounding it I did not feel what I felt yesterday.

I should have the mother and father of a hangover this morning but instead I feel fantastic.

Fair play to McIlroy too. Never again will you be able to bet on him at 1000/1 to win a professional event. The young lad handled himself fantasically - what a credit to himself, his parents, the GUI and Holywood Golf Club.

If I never see another Irishman win a major, I don't think I will mind because an Irish double like that may never be seen again.

S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

I was nearly in tears myself at his speech. The man had nothing left!

Amazing achievement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 hobosoap

Anyone know when he is arriving into Dublin airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Well done Podger, absolutely incredible performance, played the play-off like a true seasoned professional. He has joined the ranks of Nicklaus, Floyd, Palmer, Norman and Woods at the peak of his profession, a true credit to Ireland.
    And as for Rory McIlroy, his future and the future of Irish golf look well and truly bright.
    Commiserations and well done to Sergio, my favourite non-Irish golfer, he will have his day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Harringtons been in decent form last 12 months, Ryder Cup, a Major, European Order of Merit winner,wins in Scotland, Japan, Ireland x 2, sixth in world, top of the European Order of Merit so far this year...:)

hobosoap wrote:
    Anyone know when he is arriving into Dublin airport?

He's not.

Harrington's private plane will touch down at Weston Airport in Lucan at 2pm today.

I have it on good authority that the government is arranging an official civic reception for him later this week.

S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭BrianTheMessiah

What a great day's golf. Usually we'd be watching the racing in my local, but all the tellys had the golf on it. Fair play to 'Bottler'. I too had a tear im me eye during his speech, as did a few others. I was expecting a hang over this morning, but I awoke wired. Starting to come down now.

I wonder will he join us for 18 next Sunday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

does anyone know when he is coming home and if he'll get a massive homecoming

swingking wrote:
    does anyone know when he is coming home and if he'll get a massive homecoming

as i said earlier
    slumped wrote:
    Harrington's private plane will touch down at Weston Airport in Lucan at 2pm today.

I have it on good authority that the government is arranging an official civic reception for him later this week.

S