Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xtravision - Displayed Movies Not In Stock

• 20-07-2007 8:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭

I don't know whether this happens to anyone else but on numerous occasions I've seen a movie for sale cheap enough in Xtravision, took it to the counter, queued up, handed it in..then a few minutes later they come back "Sorry we don't have that in the back"...is this legal? Seems a bit strange. Sometimes it happens when you have 2 DVDs for €20, and the one you really want is not in stock, so you end up getting nothing. Never happened to me in HMV or Golden Discs, but happens loads of times in Xtravision..:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

more to the point................why do they have prison break series 2 BUT NOT prison break series 1 and im not talking about it being sold out as i know the guys who work there they never stocked it:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

I don't know whether this happens to anyone else but on numerous occasions I've seen a movie for sale cheap enough in Xtravision, took it to the counter, queued up, handed it in..then a few minutes later they come back "Sorry we don't have that in the back"...is this legal? Seems a bit strange. Sometimes it happens when you have 2 DVDs for €20, and the one you really want is not in stock, so you end up getting nothing. Never happened to me in HMV or Golden Discs, but happens loads of times in Xtravision..:confused:

Yep! Happened me plenty of times.

Worse one ever was my missus went in and bought the Thomas Crown Affair (the one with Pierce Brosnan) and when I went to watch it 3 or 4 weeks later Steve McQueen was looking back at me from the TV! The cover of the DVD was right but the disk was the old movie.

Didn't have the receipt so i'm stuck with it!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Happened to me with Loaded Weapon. Damnit, and it was only €4 as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

It happens a lot in xtravision alright. Main reasons for this are poor filing of discs and discs being sold without their correct boxes.

For example someone goes up to the counter and asks for a film, the guy goes and gets the disc in the back but cant find the box out on the shelves for it. Next day somebody finds the box and wants to buy it, but wouldnt you know it the last copy was sold the day before without said box.. eep!

It happens a lot in xtravision alright. Main reasons for this are poor filing of discs and discs being sold without their correct boxes.

For example someone goes up to the counter and asks for a film, the guy goes and gets the disc in the back but cant find the box out on the shelves for it. Next day somebody finds the box and wants to buy it, but wouldnt you know it the last copy was sold the day before without said box.. eep!
    There were no mistakes like that when I worked in Movie Magic. Then Xtra Vision bought us out, made us all redundant and hired a bunch of slackers and idiots. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Petey2006

Having worked in Xtra Vision, I can safely say, it's down to the laziness of the clerks. If it's not staring them in the face the moment they go into the vault, they give up. Ah, memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭randomchild

Petey2006 wrote:
    Having worked in Xtra Vision, I can safely say, it's down to the laziness of the clerks. If it's not staring them in the face the moment they go into the vault, they give up. Ah, memories.

I am also a former employee of xtra-vision and I can confirm that this, in combination with reckless/lazy filing is the culprit. God I love that place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭purplegeko

This happened to me at Christmas having queued for 20 minutes i handed over the disc, 7 minutes later (i timed them coz i was fed up) bloke comes back - "don't have it in the back" no apology or anything. Made me so angry and it has happened a couple of times since.
    On the other hand they helped me get a wii in mid january so i forgive them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Happened me last week went up with copy of res evil 4 and they had loads of cases but no games in stock.

Game also did it too.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Petey2006 wrote:

i work there now and while some staff are dopes and will give up asap, most of the time it's because we sell so many dvd's that people can't find cases for on the shelves, so we give it to them in a blank case (with a discount). then some unlucky punter picks up the case and there's no dvd for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

i work there now and while some staff are dopes and will give up asap, most of the time it's because we sell so many dvd's that people can't find cases for on the shelves, so we give it to them in a blank case (with a discount). then some unlucky punter picks up the case and there's no dvd for it.

Ye i work there too and this is generally what happens. There is one copy of something in the 3 for 25 section which contains about 500 dvds in our shop anyway. So you usually give them a blank case because they get pissed off if you tell them you are not selling it to them. The filing is also a joke but if I can't find something I do spend as long as possible looking for it, I don't just give up. To be honest it is more annoying for me when I can't find it because I have to go out and tell the pissed off customer we don't have it which is a right pain in the ass.

About it being legal,it is not done on purpose to annoy you or anything so forget about legality, its like looking for a needle in a haystack when trying to find one cover in those sections.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭The Denouncer

Originally posted by tvnutz
    its like looking for a needle in a haystack when trying to find one cover in those sections.

My heart bleeds for you. All I know is (as the common punter), if I see a DVD for sale, with a sticker on it telling me the price, I wish to exchange my hard-earned cash for the goods on display. Its bad form not to receive the item when you go up to the counter, its bad salesmanship, its bad business. Especially when the DVD is hard to find elsewhere. I think good business practice would be to a) not sell movies without the cover (have them arranged properly on the shelves) and b) arrange them properly in the backroom so they'll be easier to find when Johnny Punter queues up box in hand.
    It's quite simply poor organisational skills. Certainly I won't be purchasing a DVD in Xtravision ever again until they get their act together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

My heart bleeds for you. All I know is (as the common punter), if I see a DVD for sale, with a sticker on it telling me the price, I wish to exchange my hard-earned cash for the goods on display. Its bad form not to receive the item when you go up to the counter, its bad salesmanship, its bad business.
    It seems to me you don't understand what they're saying. Yes it's a pain in the arse, but it's also a pain in the arse when I go up to the counter the day before (having not been able to find the cover of a movie) and say "Sorry, do you have Star Wars for sale?" They say yep, but then proceed to search for the cover for twenty minutes.

I get pissed off and say "Look nevermind lads, can you just give me the disc and an empty box?" They say "No, The Denouncer will be in tomorrow and we won't have the disc for him unless you wait until we find the case." That's bad business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Why do people buy a movie without the correct box?

Mossy Monk wrote:
    Why do people buy a movie without the correct box?

some people just want the movie, not the case for it. personally i wouldn't bother if i couldn't gander at the artwork and have a nice box to store it, but i guess some people just want the movie to watch and that's it...

KdjaCL wrote:
    Happened me last week went up with copy of res evil 4 and they had loads of cases but no games in stock.

Game also did it too.

kdjac

The game I went to had no RE4 cases but still had a few copies behind the counter. Odd.

Sorry, but I see a lot of people defending Xtra vision here. They shouldn't because its shoddy business practice. If someone asks for a film and you give it to them without the case then its up to you to go find that case and remove it from the shelves. That way customers won't be wasting their valuable time waiting ages on a product which doesn't exist.

I'm working in xtravision at the moment and I agree with you galvasean. Cases without dvds should ideally be searched for and taken from the shelves and I do that myself and so do most of the other people who work with me.

Most of us try our best to get you your dvd to be fair because I dont like having to tell someone they queued for 15 minutes for nothing.

edit : on a side note, this problem would be cut out altogther if we forced everyone to bring up boxes for everything (rent and buy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Interesting Thread,

Being an Xtra-Visionee myself also I have a vested interested here.

Heres my take,

Taking into account that there is 180+ branches of xtra-vision, stock control is a tricky business. Virgin, HMV etc dont operate on that kind of scale in Ireland branch wise therefore individual store control is less strenuous (from a corporate perspective)

Then moving onto a store level, the varying types of manager running any one store can be hugely different from managers that 'care' to managers that dont and managers that are capable of their job and managers that aint. (E.G. A customer came in to Trade games stating that he had just come from a nearby branch where the manager had said that they didnt know how to trade and said they had to come to my store.......other xtra-visionees will find that hard to believe, or maybe not!)

Anyhow, my point is that levels of stock control, staff competence and courtesey are borne from the manager of that store. I can safely say that if I was discourteous to a customer I would get a rap on the knuckles.

But missing DVD's is sloppy, unprofessional and embarressing from our point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I worked in XV during Uni.

Two reasons for this that I have encountered first hand

1) The cover is on the floor and when you pick it up and take it to counter the staff members may see a note on the box in back that its kept for another staff member or customer and they didnt bother to take cover in.

2) It was often the case in teh store I worked in that the manager had no filing system and simply threw dvds onto the shelves in the back and are impossible to find until stocktake, audit.

Its a pain in the arse, so give CS a call in head office

Galvasean wrote:
    The game I went to had no RE4 cases but still had a few copies behind the counter. Odd.

Sorry, but I see a lot of people defending Xtra vision here. They shouldn't because its shoddy business practice. If someone asks for a film and you give it to them without the case then its up to you to go find that case and remove it from the shelves. That way customers won't be wasting their valuable time waiting ages on a product which doesn't exist.

the no cases on the floor but discs behind the counter phenomenon stems from people damaging their own cases, so they steal one from a store. my xtra-vision has a huge problem with more traded discs in the back then there are cases on the floor.

My heart bleeds for you.

Ye,I am sure we will survive without your business,especially with an attitude like that.

So there is a queue out to the door on a saturday night and I should go looking through hundreds of dvds for one cover instead of serving all the while getting the evil eye from everyone in the queue. Of course then by the time the night is done it has been so busy and we have take in about 7grand that I am fairly certain I will have forgotten what dvd I sold without the cover. Sh!t happens and in my experience some people just expect too much. It is not a common occurance (you must have been just unlucky) and if you tell the other customer you are not telling the dvd without the case they get seriously p!ssed off with you. You can't please everyone and at minimum wage I certaintly aint getting paid enough to give a rats ass.

Part of me can't believe I am defending the place since I dislike working there with a passion. I can see why you would be annoyed as you wanted the dvd,but it like I said sh!t happens and bitching to the part time over the counter for half an hour makes no difference. You can't please everyone,and in my experience the vast majority of the public are as$holes :D

tvnutz wrote:
    Ye,I am sure we will survive without your business,especially with an attitude like that.

Part of me can't believe I am defending the place since I dislike working there with a passion. I can see why you would be annoyed as you wanted the dvd,but it like I said sh!t happens and bitching to the part time over the counter for half an hour makes no difference. You can't please everyone,and in my experience the vast majority of the public are as$holes :D

You make a very fair point, but unfortunately it's only relevant to the people behind the counter. The public (including you and me when availing of all other services apart from the ones we work in) don't concern ourselves with what 'problems' are happening at that present moment (i.e. busy store, one customers complaint e.t.c.). The public want their expectations to be met or exceeded and to be brutally honest that is a difficult task, because the 'front line' people are being paid the lowest wages to enrich higher and higher levels of management, Who.....the higher they elevate the more they lose the connection with the customer and what its really like to deal with a disgruntled housewife with a DVD of 'Shrek' that wont play!!!!!!!!!!!!

I do understand that as well. It has happened to me before as a customer in other stores but I understand because of where I work. My post probably made it seem like I don't care when working. Its actually the opposite. Any job I do I always work hard and do my best even if I dislike the job. I feel like I may have a slight form of OCD or something because no matter how bad I am treated in a job I still feel the need to do everything properly,so I still do what is best for the customer. But you just have to hope that people have some common sense.

Only a few weeks ago on a saturday night some woman asked did we have a certain dvd for sale. We had one copy, the cover of which would be in the 3 for 25 section. If it was mid week and there was no one at the counter I would give her a hand looking for it,but with a queue out the door in what is a large shop I said I couldn't and she went mad at me. I did what was best for the rest of the customers. Same applies when I sell a dvd without a cover, I can't go looking for that cover because most of the time you are too busy trying to help other customers,not being lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭randomchild

Wow I did not know so many (ex)employees of the 'Vision were here. We should petition for are own forum! :D

no... we shouldn't. even as a soon-to-be-ex employee, my experience with other employees in the workplace is usually of bewilderment at their complete lack of product knowledge and skill.

i can see exactly where the public image of the company comes from :D

no... we shouldn't. even as a soon-to-be-ex employee, my experience with other employees in the workplace is usually of bewilderment at their complete lack of product knowledge and skill.

i can see exactly where the public image of the company comes from :D

Ditto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I enjoyed reading the messages in this thread. As a Chartbusters employee myself, I can understand how the 'visioners feel. It's the same thing with us. We don't purposely say that we don't have a dvd just to pi** off the customer. It makes our jobs a hell of a lot easier to sell them what they want, but for some reason people who haven't worked in retail, especially when it comes to dvd's, cd's etc. if you say you don't have something in stock they seem to think that it's a conspiracy against them.
    I also worked in Virgin last year and I remember on Xmas Eve someone coming in and asking for a certain dvd. I looked it up on the computer and it said we had none left in stock, when I then revealed this to the customer, they asked how do I know, if I haven't gone out on the floor to look for it or out to the stockroom. When I then explained that if it's not on the computer, it's not gonna be anywhere else and then he said I should check the stock room anyway. This is when there's a queue about a mile long in the shop.
    From my experience of working in many different jobs, customers who work in jobs that doesn't involve retail can be very rude and ignorant towards retail staff. I don't understand why people are so negative towards retail staff all the time. We get s**t pay for dealing with A****les all day and no respect from anyone. NEWSFLASH - You're not better than us.

I can understand the Xtravision staff being annoyed and talking about a queue out the door and all the problems therein, but I started this thread to simply talk about DVDs that were displayed as on sale, but actually not in stock (and I'm not talking about times when the 'queue was out the door, or DVDs that were in the back but no box was available'). This has happened to me on numerous occasions in Xtravision, but never in HMV - why is that? Why are Xtravision (a Chartbusters guy) so defensive, and say things like "We don't need your business"? That's a pathetic attitude, to be frank. Even they say they can be shoddy and unprofessional going by the posts here. I can understand some customers are rude and ignorant and all the rest - that applies to everyone. The times when I went to the counter with the DVD boxes and the movies were not in stock I calmly told the staff that wasn't good enough, and its not. That's a fact. It is NOT acceptable to display goods for sale, and then not have the item - it is the stores employees fault - simple as that.

Your in the wrong forum then ffs,take it to consumer issues. It doesn't happen in HMV because the dvds are already in their cases and everything is security tagged.

Yes security tagging is the way to go, you don't have to deal with guys like "tvnutz" behind the counter in Xtravision picking his nose in the backroom or handing DVDs out without their cases, and who cannot take a consumer complaint seriously without resorting to the old chestnut "I am sure we will survive without your business" or tell me I'm in the wrong forum whilst simply bringing the issue to the attention of the Film-loving boards users - and it seems to have struck a chord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Yes security tagging is the way to go, you don't have to deal with guys like "tvnutz" behind the counter in Xtravision picking his nose in the backroom or handing DVDs out without their cases, and who cannot take a consumer complaint seriously without resorting to the old chestnut "I am sure we will survive without your business" or tell me I'm in the wrong forum whilst simply bringing the issue to the attention of the Film-loving boards users - and it seems to have struck a chord.

I doubt tvnuts or anyone else will lose any sleep over your insults. It hardly affects his life greatly (in fact at all) if you don't get your dvd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

KdjaCL wrote:

Game also did it too.

kdjac

No way, I had a simialr incident in Game on saturday.
    I was looking for the new Command and Conquer and when I finally found the last one they guy couldn't sell it to me becasue it been sold the previous day,...without a case. Very ridiculous indeed.

I worked in a video shop myself a few years ago. This never happened. I'd say its up to how well the shop is managed. I never get angry with the person behind the counter because 95% of the time its not their fault.
    However if the manager is unlucky enough to be serving me... oh boy :cool:

and it seems to have struck a chord.

Indeed......in uniting current and ex Xtra-Vision staff against the tyranny of the demanding 'Denouncer'.

The majority views offered from xtra-vision staff here is offering an explanation as to why it happens. Persecuting us will achieve nothing, we are the employees with the least power and cannot affect change. "Calmly telling the staff that this wasnt good enough" will just result in the staff walking into the back and laughing at you. You might gain temporary respite from venting at the person in front of you but the complaint was made through the wrong channel and therefore is futile. I would not be inclined to say 'dont shop here as we dont need your business' however I will say that this problem in question will not be going away so to save yourself the headache and dont shop there. (For the record the store I'm in rarely experiences missing DVD's)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

My heart bleeds for you. All I know is (as the common punter), if I see a DVD for sale, with a sticker on it telling me the price, I wish to exchange my hard-earned cash for the goods on display. Its bad form not to receive the item when you go up to the counter, its bad salesmanship, its bad business. Especially when the DVD is hard to find elsewhere. I think good business practice would be to a) not sell movies without the cover (have them arranged properly on the shelves) and b) arrange them properly in the backroom so they'll be easier to find when Johnny Punter queues up box in hand.
    It's quite simply poor organisational skills. Certainly I won't be purchasing a DVD in Xtravision ever again until they get their act together.

As an ex xtra-vision staff, I used to love people when people mentioned this to me, like we the staff actually cared if you come back or not!

4 years, oh the joy.

save yourself the headache and dont shop there.
    As an ex xtra-vision staff, I used to love people when people mentioned this to me, like we the staff actually cared if you come back or not!

I like this though:
    Indeed......in uniting current and ex Xtra-Vision staff against the tyranny of the demanding 'Denouncer'.

I have been too hard on the poor Xtravision staff - I have got on well with the managers there in a lot of stores - a lot of the staff seem like really nice guys (especially tvnutz) - as evidenced by these posts. Sorry for being so hard on you guys. As a rental store Xtravision is excellent, much better than Chartbusters.
    But I'll continue to buy online or maybe the odd time in HMV or Golden Discs, Xtravision is a no-no for retail, that's all I'm saying. Not just for me but for anyone.

I like this though:

I have been too hard on the poor Xtravision staff - I have got on well with the managers there in a lot of stores - a lot of the staff seem like really nice guys (especially tvnutz) - as evidenced by these posts. Sorry for being so hard on you guys. As a rental store Xtravision is excellent, much better than Chartbusters.
    But I'll continue to buy online or maybe the odd time in HMV or Golden Discs, Xtravision is a no-no for retail, that's all I'm saying. Not just for me but for anyone.

Whats this....A compromise....On Boards.ie....:eek:

1. The take my job seriously, I am by far the best in the store and I rarely make mistakes. There are a lot of staff that come and go who are useless and are actually embarrassing to work next to. I hate the job,but I take it seriously because that's just me. Its the same with any job. It's only part time during college but I still take it seriously.

2. I do take complaints seriously. I just despise that some people think everything can be perfect. You said it was "unacceptable". Nothing is perfect and it happens so you cannot expect it to be perfect. If anything it is the store that is losing out,they don't get your money. It is annoying for you,sorry about that,but you can't please everyone. If it had been a complaint where the customer was losing out on money then you take it more seriously,but you were only inconvienced by not getting a dvd,it happens. Life is like that :)

3.At least it thought you a lesson,don't buy dvds in shops,I work there and don't buy dvds there. Always online!

Originally posted by tvnutz
    3.At least it thought you a lesson,don't buy dvds in shops,I work there and don't buy dvds there. Always online!

Yep online is the way for all regions.

BTW regarding ex-rentals - do you recommend them as an employee? Usually cheap and any I have bought in the past never had problems, but some friends of mine wouldn't touch them. Funnily enough they are usually in stock without fail. Apart from the odd finger print they're usually fine.

Ye, 9 times out of 10 ex rentals are grand. They can be a bit dirty, some with a few nicks but we rarely get any back faulty. When a rental is returned faulty it is flagged as faulty so it wouldn't make it into previously viewed. I always tell customers to make sure they hold onto their receipt when buying traded games or ex-rentals,you can just go back and get a replacement or refund once you have it.

But ye,there are some good deals in the ex-rental section and usually they are grand. can't say the same for traded games though, we don't have anything to test them at the moment so you get a good few of them back.

Yeah, the thing for customers to remember is check the sound or film ratio on these ex-rentals - for example Pans Labrinth was only in stereo ex-rental, but has an amazing 5.1 soundtrack. I have no problem buying ex-rentals in Xtravision, but I know some lads who refuse to buy them as if it sullies their collection.

Ye some people are like that with dvd collections. I have a good few movies that are 2 and even 3 disc special editions etc but I never watch any of those extra discs. Don't have the time. Just want the movie really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭irishthump

Getting back on topic.....

I think Denouncer's view is actually spot on.

If this sort of thing occurs then ultimately it's the fault of the staff.

BTW, I'm also a former Xtravision employee.
    I had the misfortune to be a store manager, so when this sort of thing happened, I was the poor sod that these disgruntled customers came to!

Yeah, the thing for customers to remember is check the sound or film ratio on these ex-rentals - for example Pans Labrinth was only in stereo ex-rental, but has an amazing 5.1 soundtrack. I have no problem buying ex-rentals in Xtravision, but I know some lads who refuse to buy them as if it sullies their collection.

Thats exactly why I wont go near them, also sometimes they wont have some of the special features and sound and vision choices like you said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Another XV employee here !

Like TVNutz, I hate the place but still do my best to maintain a professional attitude and do my best to help folk.

We don't suffer much from Cover and No disc syndrome, I won't sell anything without a box and any excess covers get dumped. I'll just ring around to the other local branches and try source the customer one. I blame those ****ty little carboard disc holders, its near impossible to keep them in order in the vault !

I don't see the need to be a pr!ck to a customer, this generally means the customer has no reason to be a pr!ck back to you. Showing a bit of enthusiasm and genuine compassion (I know its only DVD's) goes an awful awful long way ! Something to remember is that customer on the other side of the counter could be your employer in the future !

Ye,to be honest the reason I had given about selling dvds without covers isn't the main reason this problem happens. A lot of it is down to bad filing. It amazes me how stupid some people can be,they don't know their ABCs. I do spend ages in the back looking for something if I can't find it but some places they might be are crazy. Everything is filed under the name of the movie,excluding "the" or "a" etc. Yet you still sometimes find The Matrix under "T" etc etc. It is so damn annoying,obviously for the customer but for me as well. Some classic examples were finding several Disney movies such as Snow White, Aladdin etc filed under "D" for Disney or some nature series called "In the Wild" filed under "W" for Wild. :rolleyes: Of course you only eventually find them days later after you tell the customer you couldn't find it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Thelikefaneire

Wow i never realised that people actually bought their dvds that frequently from extravision, or even that any of its branches where that busy!

Where i used to live it used to be a eurovison and then a chartbusters that were my local video stores and they had no real problems and were never really busy. And now living near drogheda the eurovideo there is never busy. Ive never seen any of this queing out the door stuff, i guess 30'something 9 to fivers really like renting dvds! My main problem with dvds is the fact that no one in louth seems to look after them or know how to handle them. The store i go to is good, but the punters are idiots. Every second dvd is scratched to F*ck or covered in a range of stains and smudges. Even for such a small shop its organised, they know whats in stock and what sells, also they whatch the movies and tell you whats good, even random flops and b-movies.

Wow i never realised that people actually bought their dvds that frequently from extravision, or even that any of its branches where that busy!

Where i used to live it used to be a eurovison and then a chartbusters that were my local video stores and they had no real problems and were never really busy. And now living near drogheda the eurovideo there is never busy. Ive never seen any of this queing out the door stuff, i guess 30'something 9 to fivers really like renting dvds! My main problem with dvds is the fact that no one in louth seems to look after them or know how to handle them. The store i go to is good, but the punters are idiots. Every second dvd is scratched to F*ck or covered in a range of stains and smudges. Even for such a small shop its organised, they know whats in stock and what sells, also they whatch the movies and tell you whats good, even random flops and b-movies.

During winter or if the weather is bad (i.e this whole summer) we could make between 7 and 8 grand on a saturday night alone. mostly people buying and renting dvds. phone sales also bring the numbers up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

The lady who runs the local xtravision beside Tesco's in Lucan takes her managers job really seriously, she can work 14 days straight, even she's been dying sick a couple of times and she still works through it! So she always knows where the stock is when u bring a box up to her!
    I'd say TV Nutz and some of the other Xtravisioners know the lady in question!

Snake ;)