Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thursday 19th July Fitz - Ladbrokes Poker Millions Satellite (ticket Guaranteed)

• 18-07-2007 1:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭

Is anyone else heading into this tomorrow night?
    It is a guaranteed ticket. 8.30 p.m. start
    Buy-in €200 + reg €20 + 1 re-buy or top-up for €200.
    5K starting stark + 5K for top-up or re-buy.

I think i'll give it a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Shhhh!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭5pin5

better ring first about the ticket

5pin5 wrote:
    better ring first about the ticket

y?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I got a call from Paul Cryan about this today. He said there is a ticket guaranteed regardless of numbers but they are obv trying to drum up enough business to meet the cost of the ticket which makes sense. I think it is a must take ticket (i.e. no cash alternative but I might be wrong). I can't make it anyhow though tomorrow night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

Anyone know who won the ticket?
    Think it got close to 50 runners.

willie kavanagh and myself did a deal

well done, seem to go from 11 players down to 4/5 very quickly last night..(within 10 hands maybe),

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

5pin5 wrote:

Excellent stuff, Eamonn! Which of you will play on da telly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

5pin5 wrote:

N1 Eamonn, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

congrats Eamonn, is that soljskaer willie?

ocallagh wrote:
    congrats Eamonn, is that soljskaer willie?
    Not unless Eamonn got the surnames mixed up which I doubt he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Go on Eamonn ya good thing!!

Solksjaer is Willie Clynes, the legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Eamonn on the telly! Yippee! i can't wait to see their faces when he starts reraising with middlers! :D

sorry it was terry

hey just wondering, what table were u on - when it got to the final 2 table, just wondering...

table 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭MickL

i heard there was some problem with the deal done an ladbrokes aint happy anyone else hear this

yea something about the player who finished 3rd, complained about collusion and ran ladbrokes and they pulled the ticket ( i think that was the story) so when it was heads up - they took cash.

apparently a single hand was not played heads up and the ticket was sold to some1 by 2 of the 3 players when there was 3 left after the 3rd player refused bussiness and was playin for the ticket (but im 99% sure ladbrokes are firm on no deal making for the poker million tickets and the winner MUST take his seat as there is no cash allterintive)

so what happened with the ticket -

there was a rumour that some english guy was offering 40K for the ticket from anyone who won it, heard that from 4/5 different ppl on the nite...

iv a friend in ladbrokes finding out for me but tells me he doubts he'll find out much as ladbrokes poker relations is UK based!! surely if there was collusion involved the ticket must be null an void!!

(EDIT) don't get me wrong I'm not suggesting there was collusion involved just saying what I'm hearing back

Sad carry on by the 3rd place individual. Very sad indeed.

i wouldn say thart noel the 3rd place player is a verey well respected player on d scene a very long time

wrong the third player wanted to do a deal and i aid no .when we got heads up then we had a deal .no problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭DingDong

Here's the story as it happened. What would you consider this situation?

Player A, B, C at a live final table. First and only prize is into the Ladbrokes millions. It’s announced the ticket is non transferable by the tournament director. Players B and C then said they didn't want to play on TV. Player A then offers the other two players a deal. He will go ahead and play the event and give then each a third each of whatever he wins, or sell their share for full value. They turned down this deal. No other deals where offered while all three players where present together.

Player B and C disappear for a bit and come back its then announced the entry is now transferable by players B and C. Player B and C do a deal that when they knock out player A(unknown to player A) that they will sell the ticket no matter of their final chip count 50/50. So play continued player A starts to notice some usual plays were B and C are avoiding playing one another. All the raises are coming his way. He announces to the table on a few occasions something strange is going on (while he was chip leader).

Player A is knocked out, play then immediately stops. Player B had a 5 to 1 chip lead over player C at this stage. The two players announce that a deal is already done. After the tournament is over player B is approached by a well known Irish player he asked how can you chop it when you have a 5 to 1lead. Played B said a deal had already been done unknown to player A

It has been brought to the clubs attention what has happened. Player A requested that player B be interviewed by the club, as there was three witnesses to his comment. The club is doing nothing about it.

This would not have happened under Luke Ivory’s watch!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

:eek: ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

wow.

so the ticket is null and void now? who gets the $$$?

This thread needs to be quite careful, and possibly should be locked immediately, but i'll leave it for now.

we both got the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Eamonn, I would suggest that your responses in this thread so far are a little vague. That is quite a serious accusation made by Ding Dong and it may be in your interests to write up your side of the story in detail.

Lloyd.

wtf, thats collusion of the highest order and I wouldn't be surprised if you got banned from every card club in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Eamonn, I would say nothing more and think this tread should be closed as this could end up going legal.

I would be very disappoint if this is true and would be supprised at the people involved....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 -=B.A.D=-tony

would be interesting to know who the player was who was buying the ticket off the two guys?

DingDong wrote:
    It has been brought to the clubs attention what has happened. Player A requested that player B be interviewed by the club, as there was three witnesses to his comment. The club is doing nothing about it.
    Every player was under the assumption that no deal would be done and that someone would be playing the poker million. I pretty sure the Fitz would get the finger out if every entry started looking for there money back. That wouldn't be over the top either cause nobody expects this kind of scumbagedness to happen.

imo it should have been played out so that there was only one winner and then if the player couldn't go and there was an offer, then fair enough, as it happened, i think it was wrong, but what can the TD do on the day? disqualify both player B and C and award player A the ticket?

On the day there was alot of talk, for example i heard " if you win i'll pay x amount for the ticket", tbh i don't think this is wrong. but i do think that the tournament should be played out so that there is 1 winner.

I am led to believe that the Player A is one of the best in Ireland and the UK, and therefore he is not going to make these accusations if he did not believe that the was something wrong. I have the feeling that this sort of episode will do no favours for the fitz in having satellites in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭mrflash

if this happened as explained, the names of those involved should become available to everyone, so that they could avoid playing with these two players ever again. if its true its disgraceful. and the two players involved should never be let enter a tounament again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭mrflash

it might be a good idea to close this thread, as it has deeply affected me for one, so much so, that i will never darken the door of this venue again. if they dont want to investigate it, they are not doing what most customers would like to see. so i for one will never play there again.

OK, unless any of the people involved in this (and I know all parties involved) want to comment on this any further, this thread is staying locked. Also, I am not sure who DingDong is, but that is a version of events. I am not saying this is a correct or incorrect version, but simply that it is a version and people who were not invloved should not make some of the comments in this thread lightly.

I don't really like closing threads, but this seems to have served it's initial purpose, and only be a home of speculation and voyeuredness (made up word) now, so it is closed. If any relevant parties want to comment further let me know.

Ok, I received a PM from one of the parties involved in this and they wish to post their piece on this so I am reopening the thread. I hope people behave in a sensible manner and think before they post any further replies to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

I would welcome an open discussion on this aswell, it would certainly be better for all people involved to clear the air so to speak. There has been quite a lot of stories flying around about this already, and as we know ourselves stories and here says tend to become excagerated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Don Fagan

I wish to post to this thread to clear up any confusion over the incident. I don't think the guy's involved intended to collude. But if you make that sort of deal, then you will naturally subconsiously not wish to get involved with the other player. I did query both player's why they were playing soft on one anothers blinds on numorous occasions. Also why the raises were coming into my spot only all of the time. I felt I was playing two cards against four.

I blame the club for causing the incident by changing the terms of the tournament when it reached the final 3. Its was clearly announced the ticket was non transferable(same as last year). I find this unfair to all the players who competed. I'm sure all players would have played the tournament differently, if they knew a cash deal could have been done at the final table. I would also like to know, who overruled the tournament director and allowed the ticket to be transferable at a later stage.

The club has not even returned my phone calls. The ticket was never transferable(Ladbrokes rules) and yet players were told they could sell it . The bottom line is the fitz was at fault for causing the confusion and the players should not have been put in this position.

A very fair post and fair play to you for coming on here to make it. I suppose the floor is open to others involved now.

thank you don i did not do anything wrong and was upset at some of the thinghs said iwould not play if that was the case i am sorry that you felt that you were being got at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Fair play for taking the time to post that Don. I think the Fitz should be held accountable for this in some way as management in another casino would never let anything like this happen (I would hope).

I didn't think Eamon (5Pin5) would ever carry on like that so glad to hear it......And congrats again Eamon on the nice touch.

Stephen Mc Lean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Idle speculation here but is it possible the powers that be decided to give cash so they could guarantee themselves a big tip? If the two lads split 15kin cash they will leave anice tip surely,however if one wins aticket and has no cash no tip.If a ticket was annouced as aprize it should have stayed that way all parties know what they entered for and a ticket should have been handed out.

In all fairness, i did play in this tournament, and i did feel that there was a fair chance of a deal been done when it got down to the final 2/3. Indeed, i have only ever played in 1 tournament that a "ticket" advertised was given to 1 person without a deal been done. Most tournaments that i have played no matter about tickets been non transferable - there was always a deal done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭HeeHawsCantona

Was it a 50:50 deal at heads up when one player had a 5:1 chip lead?

yes i think so

important point here is when the deal was done, 5pin5 has not denied that the deal was done between 2 players when 3 were left, Don is well know for doing a deal and if a deal were out in the open "trader Don " as liam flood calls him would certainly have been involved.

what appears to have went on, you might expect in some small pub GAA tourney...........if a deal were out in the open i cant imagine don not being involved

that 50:50 deal with 5 to1 chip equity says a lot about timing of the deal!