Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guess Whos back, Back Again...

• 18-07-2007 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭

He's back. Will he have learned the error of his ways? We shall see...
    Geraghty to return to Meath panel
    Wednesday, 18 July 2007 12:31
    Graham Geraghty will return to training with the Meath panel tomorrow night and will be available for selection for Saturday's All-Ireland qualifier against Galway in Portlaoise.

The former All-Star played for his club, Clan na Gael, in the Junior Championship last night.

He later met up with the Meath players and management team of Colm Coyle, Tommy Dowd and Dudley Farrell.

Geraghty had been removed from the county panel after he stuck team-mate Stephen Shepard in a training ground incident and he subsequently missed Meath's victories over Down and Fermanagh.

Those clear the air talks mean Geraghty will be available for selection for Saturday's match, although he is unlikely to be named in the starting XV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

This is the second or third version of this story i heard to day. Cant say I blame the Meath management, he's done his time, he's apologised and if they want him back they must do so on the basis that he'll bring something to the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

He's definitely back.

Surprised myself but nothing we can do now. He won't be starting against Galway at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

TheGooner wrote:
    He's back. Will he have learned the error of his ways? We shall see...

He didn't before don't know why he'd start now.

My views on him are well aired.

One of the fews times in my life I'll be cheering for Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 johnnog

Fantastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

he's done his time

Maybe you know something that no one else knows, but I didn't hear that he was in prison at all. Even without prison, from all he has done down through the years, he's already warranted several lifetime bans from the GAA as it is. Alan Brogan and Mark Vaughan are getting criticised for waving their hands and pointing at a scoreboard last Sunday - hardly criminal offences - yet Geraghty has got away with some vicious stuff this year, even on the training ground against one of his teammates, let alone what he has done in previous years, and hardly a word has been said against him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Ah no Flukey, what have you done?! It's just gonna go downhill from here....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I hope he gets the shìte kicked out of him if he gets on!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Kenny, stern warning.

I don't want this to turn into another of those Geraghty threads.

Please don't advocate violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Flukey wrote:
    "Wrong end of the stick"

I meant that he had been kicked off the panel for punishment and was now back - not that he was in prison.

As for the rest of your post, we have had plenty of discussion on GG on this board - Dublin arent playing Meath again perhaps for the rest of the year, will you give it a rest?

He's definitely back.

Surprised myself but nothing we can do now. He won't be starting against Galway at least.

Actually what do you mean by "nothing we can do now". Do you have a personal input into the picking of the Meath Senior County Football Panel?

Just curious as to the comment. Don't misintrepret this as a personal attack. (I commented on some stuff some other lad made a while back and I think I must have touched a raw nerve because he went and wrote his lifestory). I was actually sorry afterwards though that I hadn't intended to rise him because if I had, it would have been a spectacular success :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

If I was a Meath fan, which clearly I am not, I would be much happier with him in the team. Despite his other antics he is a top drawer footballer, and even though he is getting on, he can be talismanic for his team. I think Colm Coyle would have been mad not to try and get him in again if it does not cause too much disruption with the other players.

Meath are not a great team at the minute, but they are a much better team with GG in it. Dont get me wrong, I dislike him as much as anyone, but the above is fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Apologies Kaimera, probably too strong but ya know what I'm getting at.

I know :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Im not hugely surprised they took him back but i hoope they made it clear that its his last chance. Obviously Meath football doesnt concern me greatly as im not from there but he is certainly not helping his image amongst the Meath fans who i would say are getting fairly p1ssed off with him at this stage. Talent will only get you off the hook so many times, he really needs to settle down and realise he could be left with a very bad legacy with nothing to do with his play if he does anything like this again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

The Meath management are dead right in bringing him back in he's still a top class forward and there isnt too many of them in the country at the moment let alone in meath - put it this way i bet theres a few guys in the Galway full back line not too happy at the prospect of having to mark a GG with a point to prove

I'd say your right. Rumour has it Bernard Dunne is being brought in to mark him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

First BCF and now GG. FF needed the numbers and so do Meath. Its amazing how some people lose their principles when self-interest is at stake. He has footballing talent, that there is no doubt, but will also deflect attention away from Meath's other top players, which should benefit their game. The only positives I can take from it all.

Drogba only really did the business at Chelsea, when Shevchenko arrived to distract the oppositions attention. GG will be the same - He must be the Paulo Di Canio of GAA. Has he pushed over a ref yet ? The rough diamond in the Meath team.

Now if they could work on getting Joe Sheridan motivated and back into the fold - He who has no baggage. The good guys it seems, always come last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

He should be banned (for life) for striking two or three Dublin players never mind a young Meath back. His antics are not wanted in the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Neither are Ciaran Whelan's antics wanted either. Do you propose banning him as well?

stepbar wrote:
    Neither are Ciaran Whelan's antics wanted either. Do you propose banning him as well?

Who did he batter in training?

He should be banned (for life) for striking two or three Dublin players never mind a young Meath back. His antics are not wanted in the game.

So how many months should we give Whelo for the odd stray punch here and there?

I have not seen him use his fists for a while. The last one I remember was punching a Meathman at a throw ball and he got the fastest yellow card in history! He deserved to be banned for that, Ill give you that but fighting among your teammates when you are a senior player is wrong. I dont remember Wheelo winking at a camera all those years ago anyway.

Ah, but surely if we are going to call a spade a spade, then Whelan should be banned for life too? Yeah?

Its time to come down off the high horse, we are talking about grown men here. Scraps and fights happen from time to time behind closed door. Players punch other players on the field and get away with it. And you know what? it wont be the last time it will happen either. Geraghty is a gurrier but there are plenty more gurriers like him out there. So lets not get all self righteous about it. Its up to the GAA to sort it out.

stepbar wrote:
    Ah, but surely if we are going to call a spade a spade, then Whelan should be banned for life too? Yeah?

I

He is not a consistent cheater like Geraghty so he should not be banned. I would agree with you that the GAA have to sort out there stuff, discipline, or lack of it, is rife in the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

A match I was at recently, there was nearly major fisticuffs over an umbrella. Had to tell the two boys to cool it. Some terrible red-necks still about.

Also is it just me or is the smell of fast food at matches a real turn off ?. Someone smoking is bad enough but this stuff is minging. I can't enjoy my wine gums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

He is not a consistent cheater like Geraghty so he should not be banned. I would agree with you that the GAA have to sort out there stuff, discipline, or lack of it, is rife in the game.

Whelan has consistently thrown under hand digs, just like Geragthy. One is no worse than the other. And plenty of players are fond of throwing digs to be honest, even great ones - Peter Canavan comes to mind.

Like him or hate him, Gero is a modern day legend of the game and its good to see him back.

I'd say he'll feature as an impact sub.

He is not a consistent cheater like Geraghty so he should not be banned.

Aye, thats a good one :rolleyes: You have a short memory I give you that.

Since when did this become about Whelan (in particular)? You can't defend Geraghty by pointing out that Whelan once punched someone.

....and McGarrity last year?

Pride Fighter is making Geraghty out to be a gurrier when he's no better than others out there, namely Ciaran Whelan. That's the point. Pot calling the kettle black TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

TomMc wrote:
    A match I was at recently, there was nearly major fisticuffs over an umbrella. Had to tell the two boys to cool it. Some terrible red-necks still about.

Also is it just me or is the smell of fast food at matches a real turn off ?. Someone smoking is bad enough but this stuff is minging. I can't enjoy my wine gums.

Nothing I hate more than people enjoying wine gums at a GAA game.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I love these threads. They always seem to degenerate into a Meath vs Dublin thing.
    Being "totally objective" I would ascertain that down the years both Meath and Dublin have history of players that cross the border between tough hard play and outright thuggery. Maybe they create it in each other ?
    Sadly we have been at the recieving end of it from both teams.
    It is funny though when these so called hard men players are put up against real hard men, the Aussies, they look totally out of their depth and end up whinging.
    I say forget basketballers we need a few Aussies ?

On the food issue why isn't there a big Supermacs in Croke Park ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

All I can say is here we go again.This thread is about Geraghty not Whelan so lets scrutinise Geraghty.If you want to talk about Whelan then create a thread about Whelan.This is the third time this summer a thread has degenerated into this argument.

Stepbar,your Roscommon/Sligo players are no saints either.I'm not exactly sure where you are from but we could bring up the likes of O Hara in this thread promoting violence.That is a more recent issue than Whelan.

On a side note,I think it might be a sign of desperation by Meath more than anything else.They might realise they have had it and GG is back to try and save the day.

stepbar wrote:
    ....and McGarrity last year?

Pride Fighter is making Geraghty out to be a gurrier when he's no better than others out there, namely Ciaran Whelan. That's the point. Pot calling the kettle black TBH.
    stepbar wrote:

Its time to come down off the high horse, we are talking about grown men here. Scraps and fights happen from time to time behind closed door. Players punch other players on the field and get away with it. And you know what? it wont be the last time it will happen either. Geraghty is a gurrier but there are plenty more gurriers like him out there. So lets not get all self righteous about it. Its up to the GAA to sort it out.

I'll quote my own msgs, just for you blackbelt.

stepbar wrote:
    I'll quote my own msgs, just for you blackbelt.

Well I wasn't intending on quoting you but then I thought I'd quote your "msg" just for you Stepbar.

You brought up Whelan but the record needs to be changed.O Hara is a more current issue don't you think?All we seem to have on boards this year is double standards.Dublin react in a non-violent way then all you rednecks start complaining anyway.O Hara promotes violence and no thread,no talk,no nothing.So I'll do the honours later.

I just hope GG has seen the error of his ways and concentrates on playing FOOTBALL instead of punching and pushing people.

Now blackbelt, where is Pride Fighter from? Dublin. I'm merely pointing out to Pride Fighter that Ciaran Whelan is as dirty as Greame Geraghty. For a Dub (any dub for that matter) to be giving about him is double standards don't you think? And I wouldn't mind but he suggested that GG should have been banned for life :D
    I'll tell you what, lets round all the offending players and ban them for life, Ciaran Whelan included :rolleyes:

blackbelt wrote:
    Well I wasn't intending on quoting you but then I thought I'd quote your "msg" just for you Stepbar.

You brought up Whelan but the record needs to be changed.O Hara is a more current issue don't you think?All we seem to have on boards this year is double standards.Dublin react in a non-violent way then all you rednecks start complaining anyway.O Hara promotes violence and no thread,no talk,no nothing.So I'll do the honours later.

I just hope GG has seen the error of his ways and concentrates on playing FOOTBALL instead of punching and pushing people.

Where did O'Hara promote violence? He said he admired the Laois player's restraint. He didn't say "hey guys, you should all go around punching each other". If I say to someone "I admire you for not eating that pizza", am I promoting anorexia!!!!????

And why use the word rednecks?

The only doube standards are you using one rule for Geragthy and another for the Dublin players. As discussed before, Whelan is every bit as fond of using his fists as Geragthy. And Cavan have a few players fond of using their fists too. Every county does.

So do us all a favour get over it for god's sake. A few Dublin players got some light slaps. Its not the end of the world. It happens every day in GAA matches up and down the country. None of them ended up with a broken nose or concussion, like Whelan's victims.

I dont think he knows what he's talking about TBH. The recently opened Eamon O'Hara thread is a prime example. A full week after the match we hear about his discust for him :rolleyes:

Blackbelt and The Rooster I think it was also previously claimed that Meath fans didn't like Geragthy.

Are ye watching the match now? The roars he got when he came on and the cheers he is getting with every touch would most definitely show otherwise.

Seriously, why the use of rednecks?

What were you looking to achieve by using it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

blackbelt wrote:

Unbelievable comment, dosnt surprise me comming from you - what does it take to get a ban round here. Keep it coming blackbelt....

Actually bb, you were banned not so long ago I recall.

I'd be very careful if I were you from now on.

Unbelievable comment, dosnt surprise me comming from you - what does it take to get a ban round here. Keep it coming blackbelt....

And you know me yeah?As far as I know,you had one post edited and got cautioned.You also came out with a ridiculous comment that you would have taken Vaughans head off.Is that surprising?Please don't throw stones.I'm not going to "keep it coming" either.I'll simply take the caution and move on without getting into heated arguments anymore.

This summer,the anti-Dublin brigade seems to have increased significantly and to the point where its gone past a laugh in regards to some topics been discussed.I don't blame Kaimera for being p1ssed off.Some of the things that have been said about the Dublin team and their fans is nothing short of disgraceful and has led me to posting things out of character.Sometimes I look back over my posts and are surprised by things I've said but when I read some comments,its hard not to get frustrated.

I've said my piece,I'm moving on.

Fantastic to see the pictures of Geragthy being heralded by the Meath fans who apparently don't like him at the weekend. The papers are full of them.

Blackbelt, you need to take a reality check. It's got to the point where no-one can criticise Dublin without you thinking that they're anti-Dublin.

And calling us all rednecks isn't going to do you any favours either.

The fact is that you're mistaken about a lot of the items you talk about on here. Only a number of weeks ago you were saying the Meath fans disliked Gero. It didn't look that way to me or anyone else on Saturday. They were overjoyed to see him back.

Being happy to see him play football and liking the bloke are 2 very different things. Noone can deny his quality on the pitch when he plays and stops messing but off it he is not exactly full to the brim with character.

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Being happy to see him play football and liking the bloke are 2 very different things. Noone can deny his quality on the pitch when he plays and stops messing but off it he is not exactly full to the brim with character.

Here's a link for you to have a look at

http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/letters/2007/0710/index.html#1183751750414

If you don't have an ireland.com subscription (I don't know if you need it) then I can copy and paste the material for you.

Do you know the man personally? Or are you just judging him from media reports/hype/rumour?

Are there any other intercounty players from whom you require such a seemingly high standard of interpersonal skills? Do you personally know a lot of other intercounty players that you can compare him to? I personally don't know any intercounty player well enough to be able to judge his charachter off the pitch. I can see what they do on the pitch, but that has no real bearing on their actions off the pitch.

johnnog wrote:

Do you know the man personally? Or are you just judging him from media reports/hype/rumour?
    I actually have family in Meath who are not his biggest fans. Im sure theyre happy to see him playing with such important games coming up tho.
    johnnog wrote:
    Are there any other intercounty players from whom you require such a seemingly high standard of interpersonal skills?
    Well, thats kinda my point. If you like him as an intercounty player, his interpersonal skills dont matter, but as a person they do.
    johnnog wrote:
    Do you personally know a lot of other intercounty players that you can compare him to? I personally don't know any intercounty player well enough to be able to judge his charachter off the pitch. I can see what they do on the pitch, but that has no real bearing on their actions off the pitch.
    I know a few, but i know alot more people in general i can compare him to. Just because he is a footballer, doesnt mean i can only compare him to other footballers.

Nalced_irl wrote:
    I know a few, but i know alot more people in general i can compare him to. Just because he is a footballer, doesnt mean i can only compare him to other footballers.

Ok. A valid point. But if he wasn't a footballer then you wouldn't know him. There are loads of ars**oles and gobsh*tes in the general public. I don't know the man either and have never met him but he seems a particularly villified figure among certain sections of football fans. To me it just seems that he gets a raw deal and much more abuse than could ever be justified by people who don't know him.

I'm not attacking you personsally now. I probably should have worded my last post better. It was a bit confrontational.

Well, i know people worse than him, but at the same time (from what i know of him) he isnt exactly the nicest person. He has shown it on the field a few times, as have others, but all im basically saying is that being happy to see him back in the squad doesnt really mean you have to like the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Well maybe the abusive PM you just sent me might be judged good enough for a ban. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

blackbelt wrote:
    And you know me yeah?

no thank god i dont, dont associate myself with people like you, some of the comments you have made on here over the last few weeks has revealed all we need to know about your character - calling all non-dubs redknecks really shed you in a great light.....

blackbelt wrote:
    You also came out with a ridiculous comment that you would have taken Vaughans head off.

you have lost all sense of reality - nearly everyone in the country who has spoken about the incidents have said that they would have taken the head of vaughan and co for their actions

blackbelt wrote:
    This summer,the anti-Dublin brigade seems to have increased significantly and to the point where its gone past a laugh in regards to some topics been discussed.

This coming from the very person who started a whole thread to talk about himself - who do you think you are?

All this rubbish about the anti-dublin brigade - every bit of abuse the dubs get is brought on by themselves - a lot of people including you seem to think we are jealous of the dubs - what exactly is their to be jealous of? - dublin are the most overhyped team in the history of the gaa, they havnt won an all ireland in the past 12 years and yet youse think we are jealous of your success! - provintial titles are meaningless these days......

blackbelt wrote:
    Some of the things that have been said about the Dublin team and their fans is nothing short of disgraceful.

you really are a hypocrit - this quote coming from the very person who tarnished the majority of the country as rednecks.....