Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats for me!!

• 18-07-2007 10:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭

Hey Guys,
    Im looking to start some sort of MA, but i dont have a clue where to start, theres so many differant onesi dont know which one would suit me. Is it just a case of trying out a few and deciding then, a friend of a friend teachs KB out around city west, i was thinking of giving that a try,
    Im living in dundrum, is there any good clubs out around there that i should check out? I suppose what im looking for is to get the body moving and help build fitness.
    Thanks in advance.
    Vinnie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

i think kickboxing is good for fitness and most people enjoy it-give it a go and see if it suits you..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭filament

Hey Guys,
    Im looking to start some sort of MA, but i dont have a clue where to start, theres so many differant onesi dont know which one would suit me. Is it just a case of trying out a few and deciding then, a friend of a friend teachs KB out around city west, i was thinking of giving that a try,
    Im living in dundrum, is there any good clubs out around there that i should check out? I suppose what im looking for is to get the body moving and help build fitness.
    Thanks in advance.
    Vinnie.

by what you've said KB would be fine, tbh if all you wanna do is get in shape then it's not the discipline that counts so much as the gym/dojo itself.

different places work in different ways and what you'll probably want is somewhere you can get a good 2 hours + training session in about 2-3 times a week.

Some places are like nazi's the way they work people and others are more form orientated then in getting you to break a sweat.

thats my advice anyways, try whatever form sounds interesting and go to a club that has a good reputation training wise

Dundrum? Hmmmm. If ur able to get to Rathcoole Id strongly recommend u check out Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu in Straight Blast Gym. Or if u can get to Loughlinstown, check out Next Generation. Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu is, in a nutshell, ground fighting with submissions. Its relaxed training an very good for the fitness, plus the technical aspect is amazing. It depends though on whether ground or stand up is what u want.

If thats not your thing, try KickBoxing, Muay Thai or Boxing. Of those 3 Kickboxing is probably the most relaxed in terms of the atmosphere of the class (from my experience anywaY).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Vinnie K

Thanks for the quick replys guys.

Wouldnt really be into the ground fighting so that would be out!! I go to the gym a couple nights a week so its not just fitness im after its more the phisical challanges and conditioning id like, id be into something with contact aswell, and i dont mean kicking the ****e out of each other, a good use of pads or punching bags would be grand for me, really wanna get started at something in the next week or 2. If i had to travel abit to get a good club it wouldnt really bother me as well. Again, thanks for the help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

Good news is that there is plenty of stuff todo in Dundrum

Firstly
    Kickboxing in the DFRC beside St Attracta's church run by Michelle and Wayne Maher, Michelle very successful representing Ireland
    I think there is Karate here as well.

Boxing,
    there is a boxing club at the old libary at Lambs Cross it gets good reports
    and will get you fit, run by Dave Redmond I can get a contact number if you need it.

MMA (mixed martial arts) thats Thai Boxing, Wrestling and brazilian Jiu Jitsu at Fianna in St Olafs National School Balally, don't discount it till you give a try...

Total Fitness Sandyford have Tae Kwon Do, Kickboxing and boxcercise type classes for the fitness end of things .Also you are close to UCD with all the classes on offer there, you are surrounded !!!!

I would say give each one a whirl and see how you get on, I'm sure Pearse Stokes will let you a have a free trial in St Olafs if you tell him your local friendly Garda sent you.:)

vasch_ro wrote:
    Good news is that there is plenty of stuff todo in Dundrum

Firstly
    Kickboxing in the DFRC beside St Attracta's church run by Michelle and Wayne Maher, Michelle very successful representing Ireland
    I think there is Karate here as well.

Boxing,
    there is a boxing club at the old libary at Lambs Cross it gets good reports
    and will get you fit, run by Dave Redmond I can get a contact number if you need it.

MMA (mixed martial arts) thats Thai Boxing, Wrestling and brazilian Jiu Jitsu at Fianna in St Olafs National School Balally, don't discount it till you give a try...

Total Fitness Sandyford have Tae Kwon Do, Kickboxing and boxcercise type classes for the fitness end of things .Also you are close to UCD with all the classes on offer there, you are surrounded !!!!

I would say give each one a whirl and see how you get on, I'm sure Pearse Stokes will let you a have a free trial in St Olafs if you tell him your local friendly Garda sent you.:)

Thanks for that vasch, i think ill give MMA and the Kickboxing a go and see which one i like, im only living across the rd from the balally luas stop, where abouts is the school from there? The link is'nt working! Looking forward to it now, thanks again.

Just to let ya know that groundfighting and grappling is a large core of the MMA training. I wouldnt knock it until u try it.

If u just wanna box, and ur interested in goin fairly full on then any of the 3 I recommended would be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

stroll up the road to the first left into ballaly estate and keep going till youreach the school, its a quick cycle/ short walk ,
    pm FiannaGym.com for further info
    i can get you a mobile for michelle for the kickboxing too if u need it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

If you'd be willing to go out to Rathcoole I'd definitely recommend Muai Thai with Paddy Clint - he's a great instructor and you'll get into shape very quickly. :)

http://www.chupasart.com/

Baggio... wrote:
    If you'd be willing to go out to Rathcoole I'd definitely recommend Muai Thai with Paddy Clint - he's a great instructor and you'll get into shape very quickly. :)

Ya rathcoole would be no prob for me. MMA is a mixed martial arts, i can understand that but whats the differance between kickboxing and muai thai?? They look kinda similar to me. Did i explain already that i didnt have a clue about MA:D Anyway, hope i didnt open a can of worms with that question!!

Vinnie.

Baggio... wrote:

Ya rathcoole would be no prob for me. MMA is a mixed martial arts, i can understand that but whats the differance between kickboxing and muai thai?? They look kinda similar to me. Did i explain already that i didnt have a clue about MA:D Anyway, hope i didnt open a can of worms with that question!!

Vinnie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭fragile

Capoeira is another option.

I train with Grupo Candeias in the city centre on Aungier street, just off Dame street.

http://www.candeiasdublin.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭bilbo79

Vinnie.
    kickboxing is like sport karate using feet and hands and muay thai is fighting using the hands knee's, elbows, shins and feet-there are similarities but muay thai is more aggressive and more effective in self defense imo-this does not mean you would not enjoy muay thai though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Give Taekwon-Do ago if you are into getting fit with a competitive aspect. Find a club which concentrates on competition as opposed to teaching the deadliest form of self defence...

Thanks for all the help lads.
    I think ill give the Kickboxing and Muai Thia ago and see how i get on! Was thinking about the MMA and Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu again and i know i said i wouldnt be into ground fighting but sure i never tryed so i cant say for defo if i wouldnt like it, so i think ill give it a go at some stage aswell.
    Thanks.
    Vinnie.

vasch_ro wrote:

I think there is Karate here as well

Anybody got contact details for these guys??
    Thanks.