Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

24 Hour Comics Day 2007

• 15-07-2007 11:40pm
    Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The date has been set for 24 Hour Comics 2007 - the 20th-21st of October in the Central Hotel, Exchequer St, Dublin. Last year's event was a great laugh (as you can see from this thread) so this year's should be even more fun. Once again, Cliodhna has undertaken the organisational side of things.

A good few forum regulars will be along, and it looks like Bob Byrne will once again be turning up to outclass everyone by aiming to do his 24 hour comic in 12 hours, so if you're interested in trying your hand at a 24-hour-comic or even just want to drop by and have a look at what's going on, call in - spectators are welcome and apparently this year we'll be closer to the bar :D

Related links :

Comicspace page for 24 Hour Comics Ireland
    24 Hour Comics Dot Com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Cheers for the new thread Fysh, hopefully this will make info clearer and easier to find for people.

If anyone posts on other comic related boards or has a website/blog please feel free to post about the event. You can link to either this thread or the comicspace page or both.

Also suggestions for improving the day are welcome, from those who were at it last year and new people, what are you expecting from the day?

Here are some Frequently Asked Questions which should cover most of the basic queries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Saruwatari

I think I'll have a go at this, it sound like right fun. Plus, I need to improve on drawing comics as opposed to single illustrations, so this'd be a good help...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

I'm plotting and scheming and thinking of ways to work faster already! Although since I've done NOTHING of my other year long project we'll see if I get even one page done in 24 hours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Hoovers

Hmmm, I'm thinking about making it along to this one. One question I have is: is there a particular theme or title you have to do your comic on on the day, or can you do it on any subject?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

It can be about whatever you like, although last year we brought along a list of themes from the site's random subject generator so that people who wanted to do something without any preparation could do so.

Hoovers wrote:
    Hmmm, I'm thinking about making it along to this one. One question I have is: is there a particular theme or title you have to do your comic on on the day, or can you do it on any subject?

Nope there are no restrictions on what you do your comic about.

the offical dare reads as follows[taken from 24 hour comics.com]

"To create a complete 24 page comic book in 24 continuous hours.

That means everything: Story, finished art, lettering, colors (if you want 'em), paste-up, everything! Once pen hits paper, the clock starts ticking. 24 hours later, the pen lifts off the paper, never to descend again. Even proofreading has to occur in the 24 hour period. [Computer-generated comics are fine of course, same principles apply]

No sketches, designs, plot summaries or any other kind of direct preparation can precede the 24 hour period. Indirect preparation such as assembling tools, reference materials, food, music etc. is fine.

Your pages can be any size, any material. Carve 'em in stone; print 'em with rubber stamps; draw 'em on your kitchen walls with a magic marker. Anything.

The 24 hours are continuous. You can take a nap if you like but the clock will continue to tick! If you get to 24 hours and you're not done, either end it there ("the Gaiman Variation") or keep going until you're done ("the Eastman Variation"). I consider both of these the Noble Failure Variants and true 24 hour comics in spirit; but you must sincerely intend to do the 24 pages in 24 hours at the outset."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Hoovers

Super! Thanks for the info, I shall look forward to getting involved this year!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Overcooked

definitely count me in for this one. i'll be away for the two weeks before hand until the friday, but if there's anything i can do on the morning itself to help with set-up etc let me know. i will of course be using the jet-lag as an excuse for EVERYTHING that day...:)

Overcooked wrote:
    definitely count me in for this one. i'll be away for the two weeks before hand until the friday, but if there's anything i can do on the morning itself to help with set-up etc let me know. i will of course be using the jet-lag as an excuse for EVERYTHING that day...:)

hey jet lag is my excuse! I'll be coming back from SPX a couple of days before but should have most of the set up done before hand and shouldn't have to much to do on the day cept draw and tell bad dead ginger baby jokes

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

ill prepare the tasteless jokes then

Tree wrote:
    ill prepare the tasteless jokes then

They must be new jokes.....no repeats of last years jokes!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

ztoical wrote:
    no repeats of last years jokes!

Oh like anyone can remember last year's jokes. We were all off our stylised-cartoon tits on marker pen fumes - the only things I really remember vividly are yer man nearly suffocating himself from laughing so hard at the dead baby jokes, and me deciding it was a good idea to climb out on the window ledge to go for a smoke instead of walking downstairs to go outside...

if anyone out there wants to take part in the event but for whatever reason can't do the full 24 hours please don't be put off.......while i would like as many people as possible to take the dare and aim to do a 24 hour comic [mainly so I have some company at 4am :p ] If people would like to set their own goals please feel free to post it here.

Bob Byrne has already stated his goal this year is to do 12 hours [not sure if he is aiming to do 12 pages in 12 hours or 24 pages in 12 hours]

I am aiming to do 24 pages in 24 hours [I tried last year and failed only getting 16]

So if you've got work on the sat or sun and can only make it for a couple of hours then post here and say your aiming to do an X page comic in X hours.

I was thinking of maybe having one or two smaller dares during the day - maybe a couple of 24 minute comics, but I don't want anything to distracting for the people drawing.....what do people think? suggestions, comments, crits please - comment here or if you'd rather do it in private pm or email me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Robert Curley

Sounds like good fun! I will include the details on my next mail out for the shop. Hopefully get a few more people to come along.

I will include the details on my next mail out for the shop.

cheers rob, any promotion is appreciated.

Havne't started on this years poster yet as I've still got a backlog of illustration jobs to get through [and pissing off to Caption this weekend didn't help] so hopfully mid next week I can start. Then my happy monkies [you know who you are] can help me put them up :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Robert Curley

Grand!

Drop one into the shop when you have them done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Geranium

Hope no one minds me asking a few dumb questions here... I've read a book of 24 hour comic day comics, and it was really interesting, but I'm not sure what the actual day entails. Is it all professional people working away intensely, or kids with crayons and some A4 sheets? Just interested in the idea. Thanks!

It's for anyone that wants to take up the challenge and draw 24 pages in 24 hours (or whatever target you set for yourself). Due to the challenge being overnight there aren't a lot of kids present but they can drop in for a few hours to take part if they wanted to or chat to the artists working away.

There's nothing to say you have to be a professional, most aren't although there are a few pros there. We're trying to encourage people to visit or get involved as much as they like this year so if you're at all interested do get involved. We'd be delighted to see you :D

Shades pretty much said everything I was going to, just want to add that you should check out the website as there is a link to a FAQ page as well as a gallery of last years comics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Geranium

Oh so you can just pop in and nose around? Sounds like a good deal to me.

24poster.jpg

poster time!.........Is the font readable for people? I'm not sure its working, so might use a different one.

Really like the poster and the font looks fine to me. Very funky stuff :D

some pimping going on for the event over at the forbidden planet blog If anyone wants to pimp the event or knows somewhere we should be pimping it please let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Poster looks great. Best of luck to all involved

The poster printed off ok and will be appearing [hopfully] in comic stores [and anywhere else we can think of] over the next week - If anyone wanders past/into Forbidden planet can you let me know if they put the poster up somewhere in the store cus I had a repeat of last years conversation with them were they seemed really confused.

just want to let people know that 24 hour comics day is going ahead as planned. A few people emailed to ask me when they heard about my dad. Thank you for the emails/texts of support. I'm still going to SPX the weekend before and will be back for october 20th.

Forbidden Planet don't have their poster up yet :| Just thinking of the best way to bully them into it. Also thought might try a couple of college socities get them in on promotingthe event to their resident geeks :D

the Shades wrote:
    Forbidden Planet don't have their poster up yet :| Just thinking of the best way to bully them into it. Also thought might try a couple of college socities get them in on promotingthe event to their resident geeks :D

Shades, they do have it up, its on the stairs at the very back leading up to the manga section. Not the best spot but at least they put it up. I wasn't in any forum to ask them to move it last sunday but someone might be able to ask them to move it downstairs to the comics as it would make more sense there. Saying that they are under no -obligation to move it or even put it up so not the end of the world if they leave it were it is.

Ah must have missed it! The 3rd Place have it up right inside the door so guaranteed to see it on the way out and they're going to send out an email about it to their mailing list. I'm thinking of putting together a press release to send to event guides etc.

the Shades wrote:
    I'm thinking of putting together a press release to send to event guides etc.

There is a press release thing i got sent by the 24 hour comics day peeps - i'll forward that to you.

Cool, I was going to add in the details of our one and the waiver idea for under 18s if you want to add anything specific about that :D

I think I've become the self appointed press officer lol

Waiver idea?

Saruwatari wrote:
    Waiver idea?

We were playing around with the idea that if anyone under 18 wanted to stay for the whole 24 hours we [ie the organisers] should ask they have their parents sign a forum saying its ok - however I'm not sure legally if that would even work and so far I've only had one under 18 email to ask about attending over night. Up to now I've said that anyone is welcome to attend but if under 18 they should check with their parents.

I've had a major family issue to deal with for the past two weeks so have been a little AWOL from everything. Shall have to sit down and have a look through everything.

Well, I'm 15 myself and interested. I hope it'll be possible to attend...

Hey ztoical, if you wanna pass any of that stuff over I'd be happy to deal with it.

And saruwatari (wow that's tough to remember) come along by all means, just make sure your parents know where you are and if you disappear during the night well... I'm sure you understand why we don't want to take responsibility for that ;)

(to any legal guys out there ignore that if it comes back to bite me in the ass)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭thumbninja

there are peeps... like Sar above who are interested.. then there are parents who see 'babysitting service' - is a problem with every event really. we should get in GIANT crayons in case of emergency.. okay okay.. I just want GIANT CRAYONS!! (lets see how little I can get onto a page this year :p )

I've been trying to encourage 'em on ci. Lots more people know about it this year. ztocs gonna have a handfull!

can anyone rec any radio shows or papers that would be good to send info for the event to?

Last year whatever show was on mondays at 6pm on 2fm rang after 24 hour comics day to give out and say they would have liked to know about the event before it took place. I don't remember the name of the dj or if its still the same guy the show - since discovering podcasts I've stopped listening to the radio - so if theres a radio show you listen that you take might give 24 hour comics day a shout please let me know.

I'm not sure what the best way to contact them would be, but the Irish Times will probably add it to their listings in The Ticket.

I'm heading off to the states this evening for SPX - shall be gone for a week but back in time for 24 hour comics day. The hotel called to double check all the details and said they remember us well from last year and still think we're all mad. So everything is more or less sorted but if people do have questions email me and I'll try and get back to you ASAP. or if you need a really quick answer post here and you should be able to get an answer from Shades or Fysh.

Oh, joy.

Having left all my planning to the last minute on account of having fecked off to London for good, it now looks like I'll be along to 24 hour comics day but only for about 1/2 the day. (I would fly over sooner but it turns out the London Expo is on the same weekend so myself and the missus figured we'd pop into that for a while as well :D).

So advance warning : If a gibbering idiot turns up on the night ranting about airports, that'll be me. And if for some reason I sound like a Generic Southern English Ponce, then I can only hang my head in shame that after 5 years of cultivation work my blossoming Cork accent has abandoned me.

*sigh*

Yip me answer any questions asked soon good like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭thumbninja

ztoical wrote: »
    can anyone rec any radio shows or papers that would be good to send info for the event to?

Last year whatever show was on mondays at 6pm on 2fm rang after 24 hour comics day to give out and say they would have liked to know about the event before it took place. I don't remember the name of the dj or if its still the same guy the show - since discovering podcasts I've stopped listening to the radio - so if theres a radio show you listen that you take might give 24 hour comics day a shout please let me know.

That was probably Rick oShea.. he's quite the sci-fi. I'll maiil him today

thumbninja wrote: »
    That was probably Rick oShea.. he's quite the sci-fi. I'll maiil him today

coola boola miss ninja - you can give my mobil number if they want to speak to someone - or your own or Shades - pretty much anyone who was there last year actually

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Thundercracker

ill have to drop by and say hello on the day for this one

ztoical wrote: »
    coola boola miss ninja - you can give my mobil number if they want to speak to someone - or your own or Shades - pretty much anyone who was there last year actually

I sent my own little version of a press release to 2fm/RTE and any newspaper or art magazine I could think of that might be interested and gave them contact details. No replies so far but maybe there'll be something closer to the day itself. (That's if it got to the right people)

No harm in trying again or different methods though :D

the Shades wrote: »
    I sent my own little version of a press release to 2fm/RTE and any newspaper or art magazine I could think of that might be interested and gave them contact details. No replies so far but maybe there'll be something closer to the day itself. (That's if it got to the right people)

No harm in trying again or different methods though :D

O my god wispas are back - sorry that shouldn't make me so happy.

I've annoyed a couple of people with emails, mainly some art colleges but sure if theres only a few of us doing it it will be grand, sure we are near the bar this year lol

I won't be up in dublin till just before start time so rather then try for breakie saturday morning might just do what we did last year and have big brunch after with those who last the whole 24 hours.

So what's the status of the whole under 18's thing then, can I just pop in as long as I have permission and stuff eh? :confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

Suggestion:

24 min comic table w/ prefolded pages for teh ppls who randomly drop in. its' only 24 mins and only adorable.

Saruwatari wrote: »
    So what's the status of the whole under 18's thing then, can I just pop in as long as I have permission and stuff eh? :confused:

Yeah mate you can come along no worries, just make sure your parents know where you are.

Can we get a rough head count on here or who's planning to be there for the 24 hours?

And nice idea Tree, are you going to fold all the paper though? lol

i'll have you know that im excellent at origami. so sure. why not. can someone bring the folding instructions pls. ive a graduation ball tomoz night and will be in fti state to remember things to bring on the bus.

and i'll be there for the full night :D