Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

True Ubs Tag/ Graffiti

• 09-07-2007 8:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭

Hi I am in Galway about 4/5 times a week and I see a spray painted messsage on walls etc, in loads of places is looks like "true ubs" any ideas on what this means :confused: just curious. p.s Galway is an excellent City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

duno but have you seen the gaffrity out in WESTSIDE ?

well belive it or not but it says WESTSIDE in class style.

now that was random lol

also if ya wana see some good graffity go down to druggy hill(beside blackbox)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭altered121

Hi, thanks for reply, just one of those things that makes you wonder
    what its about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 WhYtEy

its a tag and a crew name il be happy to explain what those mean if ya want ?

WhYtEy wrote:
    its a tag and a crew name il be happy to explain what those mean if ya want ?Hi, yes that would be great, thanks 4 reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 xadacka

Ok, here it is:

True, Like Me, is a tagger, UBS is the crew hes with, a crew is a group of taggers with a few mambers.

ITS SPELT GRAFFITI

The westside graff is s**t kuz its comissioned, comissioned graff is for pussies kuz its agienst the whole concept of going agienst the system!

True is a legent, withoud doubt the best tagger in galway...

And its not about anything!
    Its just one of those things...
    The Thumping chest...
    Sweety palms...
    The fear and adrenilne...

SANE/Xadacka™:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

xadacka wrote:
    Ok, here it is:

True, Like Me, is a tagger, UBS is the crew hes with, a crew is a group of taggers with a few mambers.

ITS SPELT GRAFFITI

The westside graff is s**t kuz its comissioned, comissioned graff is for pussies kuz its agienst the whole concept of going agienst the system!

And its not about anything!
    Its just one of those things...
    The Thumping chest...
    Sweety palms...
    The fear and adrenilne...

SANE/Xadacka™:)

I seriously doubt you're a very good tagger with all those spelling mistakes...

L2p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

xadacka wrote:

Oh it all sounds so gangster and rebellious......you go fight the system

Hi all, thanks for the replies :) I have now taken the spelling lesson graffiti graffiti graffiti...
    Thanks again for answering my question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

awhir wrote:
    go down to druggy hill(beside blackbox)

What hill beside the Black Box?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

Tagger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Someone who tags, i.e sprays/marker pens, his awesome signature on public buildings and underpasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

MEHHHH!!!!
    M£HHHH!!!
    AND M3HHHH!!! AGAIN!!!

Honestly, tagging in galway is ****e!!!
    First up, the tag's themselves have **** all style or design to them, nothing that makes them stand apart from toilet graff. Second, go to europe and see the lenths taggers go to, to leave thier mark in the most ****ed up of place's. You'll see tags in europe that'll make you go how the **** did they do it. On the tallest of buildings, you'll see taggers really go out of their way. In galway, it's all at eye level, pish easy......ohhhh and and and if the guards catch you.......oh yeah, like they'd even bother giving you your day in front of mary fahy, more like a kick up the hole and thats really a puttin your life on the line to give it to the MAN!

I only wish the quality would pick up in gway, cos im pissed off that the day where i call graffiti and tagging an eyesore is one i'd never hoped to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

xadacka wrote:

You go girl! God, it is so kool to be a "tagger"!:rolleyes:

...what idiots.

Ok, all of ye obviously know NOTHING about graffiti or tagging...

Challangemaster: Screw u, so what i cant spell, IM DESELEXIC U DUMB SH1T.
    Padi89: Loser!
    Altered121: if ur serious, no problem
    Bib b: Kinda behind smyths
    Gailgegrinds: Just read above
    You Suck: Yea, a lot of it is sh1t, but some, like ture and sane, is really good...then theres toys like Flush and Fans...tut tut tut...
    Axer: If u cant apreciate are then its your loss

Xadacka™/SANE

xadacka.bebo.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

xadacka wrote:
    Challangemaster: Screw u, so what i cant spell, IM DESELEXIC U DUMB SH1T.
    If you are dyslexic then why the fúck are you telling other people how to spell you dumb sh1t!
    xadacka wrote:
    Axer: If u cant apreciate are then its your loss
    It is called crimminal damage. It costs the tax sh1payer and private citizens money to remove that type of crap from walls. If ye wanna do it then do it on your own property - DUMB SH1T!

xadacka wrote:
    Ok, all of ye obviously know NOTHING about graffiti or tagging...Padi89: Loser!

Hmmm very imaginative coming from someone thats so street cred.Why dont you show us some of your pieces then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭MattKid

to the above, check his bebo page, he has indeed put some quality graffitti on his own bedroom walls:D

MattKid wrote:
    to the above, check his bebo page, he has indeed put some quality graffitti on his own bedroom walls:D

Meh, he's only a child "Limp Bizkit best band ever" LOL, better off sticking with the crayolas for another while xadacka ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

xadacka.bebo.com

huffer.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

The strange thing is Xadacka that you've quite a talent on the old Bebo whiteboard.....

How come that doesn't come out on the street. I'm so sick at looking at people's tag names, I can appreciate a tag in a very hard to reach place but taggers in Galway are just into getting their name everywhere, ego trip.

Again, Screw Ye All!

grasshopa wrote:
    The strange thing is Xadacka that you've quite a talent on the old Bebo whiteboard.....

How come that doesn't come out on the street. I'm so sick at looking at people's tag names, I can appreciate a tag in a very hard to reach place but taggers in Galway are just into getting their name everywhere, ego trip.

See, at least your resiaoniable about the whole thing....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

With regard to knowing nothing...maybe that's why I asked...And my name in Gaeilgegrinds, not what you wrote!

Sorii, my bad, and i ment that in a nice way...

Hi all, I was just asking a question about a tag i had seen and wondered if it had some other meaning apart from tagger name and crew name ( see I did learn this much :) ) I did not mean to stir up anything else.
    I have three other questions .. as I said I saw ubs in lots of areas I went into,
    apart from TRUE who is the other most prolific tagger? and lastly are all tags from "crews" and what makes a crew?

altered121 wrote:
    I have three other questions .. as I said I saw ubs in lots of areas I went into,
    apart from TRUE who is the other most prolific tagger? and lastly are all tags from "crews" and what makes a crew?

Well DARE is getting big atm, FANS is big, but hes just a toy. WORD was huge, and hes been off the scene for ages, and 2weeks ago (approx.) he came bk doin throw ups around the city

No, loads of taggers just go solo, or with another guy, im with a crew, DARE is with GFC, FANS is solo i think...

A crew is made out of 2 or more taggres, each doth wrighting threr tag AND the crew tag, Like ture is the tagger, and he wrights ubs, his crew...

Anything else just let me know...

Xadacka™/SANE

In all honesty the stuff that passes as graffiti in Galway is pathetic. It's little more than self indulgent ego massaging, "oh look theres my tag on a wall, I had to stand on my tip toes to get all the way up there".

Thanks xadacka, haven't had a good laugh all day but thanks to your pictures of your "tagging" that's been fixed. You know the old saying, don't give up the day job, I'd advise you to adhere to it.

ACTUALLy b1tch, all those pics were of when i was a toy, all those pics are of my old tags, i have no pics up of my pics, so Screw u!

xadacka wrote:
    ACTUALLy b1tch, all those pics were of when i was a toy, all those pics are of my old tags, i have no pics up of my pics, so Screw u!

The intelligent, well thought out reply expected. Like so many of your contemporaries, you lack the most fundamental skill of tagging, that being talent.

Any chance that youmight use a spell checker next time or possibly learn to spell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

wait, is graffiti cool now like bebo or thundercats?

Doodee wrote:
    wait, is graffiti cool now like bebo or thundercats?

Some of it is. Venice Beach is covered in some truely amazing graffiti. Unlike over here where its just names and insults sprayed at eyelevel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭dloob

What ever happened to "word".
    Surely he was a master of Irish style tagging.
    Here is an ascii art versions of words tag now it doesn't really do it justice but get ready "WORD".
    Amazing isn't it? and of course for a while it was plastered on any easily accessible wall all over the flippin city.
    Hopefully he died roaring like dorans ass.

Some of it is. Venice Beach is covered in some truely amazing graffiti. Unlike over here where its just names and insults sprayed at eyelevel.

been to venice beach, seen it, seen some brilliant stuff in Seattle, London, Nairobi etc. in fairness, unless your a tagger yourself and are able to do decent stencils and stuff then calling other people **** is rather easy, however, i do agree, most of the stuff i've seen in ireland is fairly "Tame".

original point is how unimaginative people look at the retro to try be different :/

Doodee wrote:
    been to venice beach, seen it, seen some brilliant stuff in Seattle, London, Nairobi etc. in fairness, unless your a tagger yourself and are able to do decent stencils and stuff then calling other people **** is rather easy, however, i do agree, most of the stuff i've seen in ireland is fairly "Tame".

original point is how unimaginative people look at the retro to try be different :/

I know it's quiet easy to criticise others work, but the vast majority of Irish taggers lack any style or talent. Some of the tagging I have seen around the world is breath taking. It's unique and skillfully done, where as over here a lot of wannabe taggers lack any talent. Just take a look around any city or town in Ireland to see how devoid of talent most of these people are.

but you find the same the world over, its folks for strokes. have to accept the bad with the good unless your actively going to make a change (i.e. start using your own imagination).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Ah sure most taggers in galway are just people from the westside writing "will ya ride me sister for 10 major" using only a sharpy and their arse.

Wait till the MBP crew start kicking,
    Galway will never have seen so much Gwoan!

Try looking at what they call tagging in Ballina. I've yet to find a single piece in which all the words are spelt correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭ZorbaTehZ

xadacka wrote:
    (Snip) Well DARE is getting big atm, FANS is big, but hes just a toy ...

Wth is a toy then?

And @ your earlier comment about how the commissioned graffiti is shit, imo thats the only thing that I would categorize as graffiti - scrawling your name or some pathetic handle up on a wall is some uniform drab color is just simply vandalism.

ZorbaTehZ wrote:
    Wth is a toy then?

And @ your earlier comment about how the commissioned graffiti is shit, imo thats the only thing that I would categorize as graffiti - scrawling your name or some pathetic handle up on a wall is some uniform drab color is just simply vandalism.

A toy is some one whos only objsctive is to get there name up every where...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

xadacka wrote:
    See, at least your resiaoniable about the whole thing....

...You didn't listen to anything I said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

ffs, this has boiled down to some n00b trying to say that he's an artist. go to camden, i thought i'd seen graffiti until i'd been there...
    when done skillfully graffiti can be excellent but some 15 year old with a can of purple spraypaint intended for marking sheep is NOT grafitti
    in sligo all you can see is ***** ******* is a co ck sucker (i'm leaving the name out here) it's pure 5hite. now i havent't been out any night with a backpack full of cans, but you can tell which stuff is by a tweenager and an artist and galway is leaning on the crap side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Who is the desired audience for this Grafitti?, I know everyone that walks by can see it but I'd imagine most people like me are used to seeing some random crap sprayed onto a wall and just pay no notice, is it a thing that other 'crews' are supposed to see it and if so whats the point?...why don't yee just get into a boxing ring or play a nice healthy game of checkers?, If you have the desire to release your artistic creativity why don't you paint a picture and submit it to a gallery or post it on the internet?..... 'Wompa1 woz ere'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Try looking at what they call tagging in Ballina. I've yet to find a single piece in which all the words are spelt correctly.

Cows keep moving while the lads are writing on their backs.

kdjac

Im done with all ye pr1cks,

Ye're all just haters on the subject, you know nothing, you just anti-graffiti, you cant see the art in it.

If u want a 1-1 RESIONABLE tlk add xadacka@gmail.com to ur msn, if all u wanna do is complain, dnt waste yout time...

Xadacka™/SANE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

there is art to graffiti, just not the single coloured tags you see around galway. if i was in galway now i'd be able to picture some good stuff and also show what i think is pure crap.
    i love how you didnt put up any of your own work to show your 1337 skillz...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

xadacka wrote:
    you know nothing

I'd place money on anyone here knowing a lot more than you. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

xadacka wrote:
    Im done with all ye pr1cks,

Ye're all just haters on the subject, you know nothing, you just anti-graffiti, you cant see the art in it.

If u want a 1-1 RESIONABLE tlk add xadacka@gmail.com to ur msn, if all u wanna do is complain, dnt waste yout time...

Xadacka™/SANE

Sod off so you little git.

banned.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭sgthighway

At the end of the day I think anybody who goes around spraying paint on public/private property is scum....... sorry I was supposed to say; SCUM. Just my opinion but I think the sooner the likes of James gets a new hobby the sooner he will get a life.

And for all does who don't mind it just think of your Tax paying for someone to remove it all. Name and shame them all I say.

P.S. - How do I SPAM a gma!l account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

xadacka wrote:

The westside graff is s**t kuz its comissioned

Take it you don't know who was commissioned to do that "****" graffiti in Westside, right?