Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

300 on Blu Ray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

How would anyone know until it's released for them to test it :rolleyes: :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Kevin2006

yes its region free! all warner blurays are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 P992

Ye but you have to pay the duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭massivemagumbos

i'll pay all the duty they want, this is gunna be a massive title for blu ray!!

cant wait!!! woooo!

Unfortunately its also out on hd dvd.

why is that unfortunate? BluRay outnumbers HD DVD by 5-1 in the states and the cheapest BluRay player (PS3 at 550euro) is a hella lot better than the cheapest HD DVD player (xbox wit the HD DVD add on, which comes close to 550euro also). HD DVD needs to just go away. Next gen BluRays are already testing at 50gb single layer!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Why is it unfortunate? Are you a Blu-ray fanboy or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭savemejebus

the cheapest BluRay player (PS3 at 550euro) is a hella lot better than the cheapest HD DVD player (xbox wit the HD DVD add on, which comes close to 550euro also).

Fraid not buddy http://www.pixmania.com/ie/uk/440522/art/toshiba/hd-e1-hd-dvd-player.html €319 for a Toshiba HD-DVD player.

In any case you should't get hit with customs for the 300 blu ray from amazon. I got the planet earth boxset on blu ray with no hassles from them

Your a sad person

Fraid not buddy http://www.pixmania.com/ie/uk/440522/art/toshiba/hd-e1-hd-dvd-player.html €319 for a Toshiba HD-DVD player.

In any case you should't get hit with customs for the 300 blu ray from amazon. I got the planet earth boxset on blu ray with no hassles from them

cool thanks, i still think BluRay is the one to back, purely cuz of the ps3. Its just such a big factor. Xtra vision dont stock HD DVD, loadsa shops have twice as many BluRays as HD DVD. I think the battle is already over. The only issue now is for the likes of universal to start making BluRays as well as HD DVD, so that'll take time.

by the way, that Toshiba is 720p. So it doesn't even register on the Full HD radar.

Thats not really such a big deal as the majority of HD TVs that are out there only do 720p.

In any case 1080i output on a 1080p tv will look almost identical.

Just saw you can get that unit with 5 hd-dvds for one euro extra. Not bad at all http://www.pixmania.com/ie/uk/571171/art/toshiba/hd-e1-hd-dvd-player-pack.html

Thats not really such a big deal as the majority of HD TVs that are out there only do 720p.

In any case 1080i output on a 1080p tv will look almost identical.

Yeah sure u wont notice is on a 720p television. That wasn't my point. 720p isn't as good as 1080p. (1250p is on the way on high end projection units and invariably high end plasma/lcd - so ur 720p will be seriously out of date) Obviously. So while PS3 outputs at 1080p, that Toshiba HDdvd player only manages 1080i. Interlacing has half the resolution as progressive scan.

So double the price of that Toshiba then compare it to the cheapest BluRay. Otherwise, find me the cheapest 1080p HD DVD...

The Toshiba HD-EP 10 available here (click on the Irish flag), here and here for between €520 and €550 perhaps?

If you want to look in the states it is even cheaper than here in rip off europe.

The Toshiba HD-EP

here and here for between €520 and €550 perhaps?

If you want to look in the states it is even cheaper than here in rip off europe.

Well if your looking in the states u can get a ps3 for, what is it? 499 or 599 dollars?

Virgin are selling the PS3, with Any Game, and Any BluRay, for 630euro. That makes the console effectively 530euro. Not to mention ur basically getting the best games console in the world, for free with your "Sony Playstation BluRay Player"

Lets all just get along and back the only horse in the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Not to mention ur basically getting the best games console in the world, for free with your "Sony Playstation BluRay Player"

They might want to start releasing some good games for the "best games console in the world" then. Right now, all the PS3 is is a BluRay player, nothing more.
    BluRay is more than likely going to come out on top though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Not to mention ur basically getting the best games console in the world, for free with your "Sony Playstation BluRay Player"

Lets all just get along and back the only horse in the race.

There simply aren't enough roll-eyes smileys in the world in response to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,493 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

For any dual format owners who are planning on buying 300..
    don't forget that the HD-DVD version comes with a couple extra features. Namely an interactive "game" and a full-length PIP running through the film showcasing the blue-screen nature of the film-making..
    Both versions will, with 99.9% certainty going on Warner's attitude to HD media, sport an identical low-bitrate VC-1 encoding as well as a TrueHD soundtrack..

Basically, all you'll be missing buying the BD version for your PS3's will be a couple of watch-once (if even that!) bobbles..

Personally, the extras (in this case) are unimportant (but handy to have). I'll always buy the best version PQ/SQ-wise.............the problem with the HD-DVD version in this case is the fact its a Combo release..
    After the last couple of "incidents" with these, I'm extremely reluctant to buy the HD-DVD version just in case..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Blinkered fanboy methinks.

Noopti wrote:
    They might want to start releasing some good games for the "best games console in the world" then. Right now, all the PS3 is is a BluRay player, nothing more.

hey now, I never said the games were brilliant. Give it a few months. Go look at the youtube for Killzone on the PS3. GranTurismo HD etc etc. You can't doubt the Playstation is a superior piece of techology to the 360. You just can't. If you argue that. I've no time for you. Whatever about game developers using the potential to its full, u can't fault the system itself. Sure look at the Wii. Its currently running at roughly 30-40% capacity, graphically and game-wise, but the system has done good.

Anyway, who the hell started mentioned HD DVD on my thread. HA. all i wanted to know was if i ordered 300 from amazon US wud it play on my irish ps3. looks like it will. thanks

Noopti wrote:

hey now, I never said the games were brilliant. Give it a few months. Go look at the youtube for Killzone on the PS3. GranTurismo HD etc etc. You can't doubt the Playstation is a superior piece of techology to the 360. You just can't. If you argue that. I've no time for you. Whatever about game developers using the potential to its full, u can't fault the system itself. Sure look at the Wii. Its currently running at roughly 30-40% capacity, graphically and game-wise, but the system has done good.

Anyway, who the hell started mentioned HD DVD on my thread. HA. all i wanted to know was if i ordered 300 from amazon US wud it play on my irish ps3. looks like it will. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

You can't doubt the Playstation is a superior piece of techology to the 360. You just can't. If you argue that. I've no time for you. Whatever about game developers using the potential to its full, u can't fault the system itself.

You should be a game developer then, since you clearly know more than the current lot do about getting performance from the 2 consoles, since they can only get reduced detail (you know, due to the memory issues on the PS3) versions of multi-format games to play at "acceptable" frame rates on the PS3:
    http://www.eurogamer.net/article.php?article_id=78963

They may be professionals with multi-million dollar compilers, years of experience and Sony support, but that hardly compares to blind faith now does it!?

Matt Simis wrote:
    They may be professionals with multi-million dollar compilers, years of experience and Sony support, but that hardly compares to blind faith now does it!?

so you're saying every console thats ever been made, should at least have the potential for its BEST game (both graphically and technically) to be released silmultaneously with the launch of the console?? come on like, thats not realistic. you know too well it takes a few months, probably the average is around 9-12months, for game developers to get their heads around the potential of a machine like the ps3 or the xbox, or even the wii.

Developers release premature titles to get the buzz of the launch, for people to get a feel for the machine. Then they release games that will remembered for their graphics/gameplay etc months later. Has a grand theft auto ever launched with the PS1 or PS2 on console launch date? or any outstanding game? a whole loadda effort was put into Zelda for the Wii - but watch the flood come in a autumn with much better titles. Why wasn't rainbow six vegas launched on the PS3 alongside its PC brethren?? These guys arent magicians, they're game developers, and at the end of the day, they are at the mercy of the developer's marketing and sales divisions, who don't wanna see the best of a console on its launch date, just a taster to let the public use their imagination as to what might come next.

I've owned a Wii since launch, and a PS3 since launch, the Wii is original, the PS3 is the complete entertainment machine, i dont know what the xbox is?? in my eyes its a massive investment by the biggest computing company in the world to capture some market share in a lucrative market. I know at the end of the day these things are just products to make money but when i play it, i'm always feeling as if i'm playing the second best, its soul-less and thats not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,954 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

One of my favourite films of this year, 300, is coming out on BluRay in America WAY before it comes out on BluRay over there.
    ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

I've owned a Wii since launch, and a PS3 since launch, the Wii is original, the PS3 is the complete entertainment machine, i dont know what the xbox is?? in my eyes its a massive investment by the biggest computing company in the world to capture some market share in a lucrative market. I know at the end of the day these things are just products to make money but when i play it, i'm always feeling as if i'm playing the second best, its soul-less and thats not good enough.
    Thats exactly what the PS3 is aswell. Its hardly something you can hold against the Xbox and how can an inanimate object not be soul less?

Dude, if you haven't enjoyed using a 360 then maybe you're just playing the wrong games on it. I have a ps3 and a 360 and have no problem saying that the 360 kicks the ps3s ass in certain areas.

Much as I dislike the idea of Microsoft taking over gaming (or trying to) I have to give them credit for a great system/platform (build issues -which i've thankfully only experienced once - excluded).

???

it'll be a month or two earlier than a EU release. for the same damn product.

Go to movietyme, get it there. It will be cheaper then Irish shops anyway.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Mossy Monk wrote:
    Why is it unfortunate? Are you a Blu-ray fanboy or something?
    Kevin2006 wrote:
    Your a sad person

The next one of you to name call - including calling people fanboys - will be banned.

EVERYBODY: Read the rules in the charter!

DO NOT REPLY TO THIS POST or you may also be banned - this is rule to get the topic back on topic.

monument wrote:
    The next one of you to name call - including calling people fanboys - will be banned.

EVERYBODY: Read the rules in the charter!

DO NOT REPLY TO THIS POST or you may also be banned - this is rule to get the topic back on topic.
    Why dont you do you job properly and stop threatening to ban people for such comments that are hardly that offensive. Why dont you go read the thread 'moaning people on here' and read the very abusive post I was subjected to. Are the rules for everyone, or just posters you maby dont agree with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Who made you God?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Kevin2006 wrote:
    Why dont you do you job properly and stop threatening to ban people for such comments that are hardly that offensive. Why dont you go read the thread 'moaning people on here' and read the very abusive post I was subjected to. Are the rules for everyone, or just posters you maby dont agree with?

Banned for a week for clearly breaking the do not reply to this post warning.

Thread closed.