Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Part time - Wedding Car hire

• 05-07-2007 1:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭

Just out of curiosity. How many of you guys do weddings in your spare time?
    And how much do ye charge?
    I'm looking for maybe a Ford Mustang or a Merc W114/115 Coupe.
    Now the only thing is the wedding is in Tralee.
    Anyone down that neck of the woods?

PM me if ye want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Pretty improbable for a number of reasons - classic car policies exclude use for weddings and you would need a PSA (?) licence to get cover, which non-pros don't have. As a favour to a freind I've thrown ribbon on the car and given bridesmaids a lift but I wouldn't hire out to strangers - if the car breaks down and you are paying me to be there then you would have a legal right to sue me so it's not worth the few hundred I could make for it.

Are you thinking about for the main wedding car BTW? Neither of those will be particularly easy for the bride to get in and out of, so you might want to re-think there (unless you want to spend your wedding night in the doghouse!)

If I were you I'd stick to the regular hire firms, sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭folkface

Oh. I didn't know all that regarding the insurance issues.
    Thanks for the heads up.
    With regards to the wedding car, yes it's for the main wedding party i.e The Bride and groom. It doesn't matter about the comfort. Its all style.

We just taught we'd go with something different rather than your usual predicable Limo or classic Roller.
    To be honest i'd rather turn up in a 2007 family saloon rather than do the limo thing.

Anyone else any suggestions, help or advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

Amadeus makes a very valid point re getting in and out of the car, especially if herself is wearing a big guna, dont want anything getting caught on a door latch or the likes..

I went down a similar route for our wedding 4 years ago.Didnt fancy the standard Rolls/Bentley thing.(prior to me having my own classic). Got in touch with a fairly local car club, who were very helpful and friendly, and provided us with a very cool motor from the church to the hotel, which was only about 4 or 5 miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I wasn't thinking about comfort once you are in, more the actual ease and grace that she'll be able to scramble over a folded down seat into the back of a coupe!

If I were getting married again (and thank god I'm not!) I'd get the last gen S class limo, understated but very stylish, easy entry & exit and resonably priced to hire.

On a classic, a Jag MK II is a very cool car (lots of 60s cops and robbers chic) but 4 doors so practical. If you could get one then an old caddy, there is one that has suicide doors that would blow your socks off. If you are happy with 2 doors then a Facel Vega, but again hard to find.

Realistically though you're stuck with whatever teh wedding hire crowd have on offer, unless anyone else has bright ideas?

(beaten to it by TC! Good point, if it's only a short trip from church to reception then someone might do it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

Amadeus - we got a 72 Caddy El Dorado convertible. Huge doors (2) so getting in & out of the rear wasnt a hassle. 8.2litre :eek: I asked the driver/owner what kinda mileage he got out of it, and he said between 8 and 10 :D
    We were stopped at a junction for a few minutes waiting to get out, and would could see the colour draining from his face as quickly as the gas from the tank. Class car tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

I have friends near Adare doing classic wedding car hire and now also hire out classic sports cars inc an E Type Jag.

http://www.heritageweddingcars.com/
    http://www.heritagesportscars.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ds20prefecture

i've done some in the DS, but it doesn't really pay me unless its a weekend. I can put you in touch with other owners if your interested.
    P1010045.JPG

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

101sean wrote:
    I have friends near Adare doing classic wedding car hire and now also hire out classic sports cars inc an E Type Jag.
    http://www.heritagesportscars.com/
    I rented an Alpha Duetto in Cape Town for about €90, but for Ireland those "special introductory rates" aren't too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

i've done some in the DS, but it doesn't really pay me unless its a weekend. I can put you in touch with other owners if your interested.
    P1010045.JPG

Ahh..........Malahide Church !!
    I rented an Alpha Duetto in Cape Town for about €90, but for Ireland those "special introductory rates" aren't too bad.

...........that would be an Alfa :p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

MercMad wrote:
    .....that would be an Alfa :p
    I blame my Firefox spellchecker!

*slinks away in shame*

I blame my Firefox spellchecker!

*slinks away in shame*

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 niall136

Can somebody please help me out getting a decent classic car for our wedding. everything for hire so far on websites is the usual boring rolls etc. need something a bit different, two door maybe with roof down. Or something big brash and american will do also.

any help please! decent money will be paid!

Maybe if you stated where you are based, where an when the big day is ou may get more suggestions !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭cormee

folkface wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity. How many of you guys do weddings in your spare time?
    And how much do ye charge?
    I'm looking for maybe a Ford Mustang or a Merc W114/115 Coupe.
    Now the only thing is the wedding is in Tralee.
    Anyone down that neck of the woods?

PM me if ye want?

I just got married (a few months back) in my 250CE, my brother in law drove the bride and father of the bride to the wedding but her dress was not really suitable for the limited room in the back of the car.

Myself and herself drove ourselves from the church to the reception which was great, open sunroof, lovely day cruising across the Curragh.:D

034_34.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 niall136

sorry, ya getting married in Kinsale in June next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Mirsybob

Just wondering if anybody can help me... I am also looking for an alternative to the usual wedding cars Limos and Rolls etc and have been trawling the web but no joy!

I am getting married on Easter Bank Holiday Monday - April 5th, next year, in Thurles and the reception is outside Tipp town. (this is the day after the Tipp Vintage Rally)

I would love to surprise himself with a eye-catching and funky car to bring us back to the hotel. Any info on where to hire such a car would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Zombie thread but these might be what you're looking for:
    www.heritagesportscars.com

Or these:
    www.cadillacweddings.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Mirsybob

Thanks for that, will look into them.