Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cocaine

• 03-07-2007 1:24pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭

If any of you are heading down cork way, especially around mizen head, keep an eye out for two English wide boys;)

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0703/drugs.html

BTW the dolphins and whales must be out of they're heads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Fcukin' junkies. *snorts a line*

I read it was 45 million though earlier, unlucky people, they could've been rich!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I wonder did they really find all the bails, one of them must be worth at least €20,000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

the fact that they found out about the boat by complete accident is ridiculus!
    Customs have been scaled down way too much in that area, the government are totally to blame for this.
    A fisherman gets penailised if he brings more fish than is on his quota back to shore, customs are always breathing down their backs, but at night time, customs boats are anchored up for the night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

ScumLord wrote:
    I wonder did they really find all the bails, one of them must be worth at least €20,000.

thinkin about doing some "sea -fishin" r ya;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

€105M is about €10M to these boys. The €105M is a guess as to how much money it would make on the street, not the actual cost of said nose candy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

i predict some more feuds and executions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Well, there's go my weekend! *sniff*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

layke wrote:
    €105M is about €10M to these boys. The €105M is a guess as to how much money it would make on the street, not the actual cost of said nose candy.

Somebody is a bit of a dealer? :cool:

Get 'em boys! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

layke wrote:

Ya and i would say that the "estimated street value" is exaggerated out of all proportion by the guards...

Apparently cocaine is big in Ireland now.. has anyone experienced this?

To true, they at least quadrubile the price.
    philstar wrote:
    thinkin about doing some "sea -fishin" r ya;)
    Oh ya, there's probably a lot of "fishermen" down there already using a rolled up 50 for bait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

think a trip to cork is in order. wonder if this guy will keep me any.

is that a cfl bulb he is using there!?!

Orange69 wrote:
    If it works who cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Orange69 wrote:
    Looks like it.

All the work these guys did making it is gone to waste.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

ScumLord wrote:
    To true, they at least quadrubile the price.

And the rest,they work out what it'd be worth at street level when bagged up into one gram deals @60 a pop.Its much,much cheaper to buy in quantity.Lets say between 20,000-40,000 a kilo.Mix that up with filler and you get two kilos for that price,hit it again and you've got four kilos.By the time its at one-ounce levels its probably no more than 20% pure and an ounce costs about a grand and each ounce contains about 30 grams.At 60 euro a gram you can make double your money if you sell it as it is but you can make three or four times that if you step on the product again to increase its weight.When cops talk of 60 million worth of stuff it might well be worth no more than two million at wholesale prices.Also anybody who says they've had good cociane in ireland is deluding themselves,its usually about 10% or less actaul coke,and in order to get good stuff you need to buy it by the kilo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Blackpitts

The UN World Drug Report yesterday placed Ireland on a global drugs map among the world’s top five with “large increases” in cocaine use.

http://www.examiner.ie/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=ireland-qqqm=ireland-qqqa=ireland-qqqid=35940-qqqx=1.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Blackpitts wrote:
    The UN World Drug Report yesterday placed Ireland on a global drugs map among the world’s top five with “large increases” in cocaine use.

http://www.examiner.ie/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=ireland-qqqm=ireland-qqqa=ireland-qqqid=35940-qqqx=1.asp
    Shouldn't that now be lowered since all that cocaine isn't going to be used? :D

humanji wrote:
    Shouldn't that now be lowered since all that cocaine isn't going to be used? :D

isn't it????? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

think a trip to cork is in order.

It might be worth having a nose around.

wonder if this guy will keep me any.
    :D:D

Great pic. He looks determined to sniff the lot up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

What I find ironic is that the two guys that survived their boat sinking will probably be murdered for ****ing up and losing somebody a hell of a lot of money.

I'm surprised anyone went for help, I doubt all these guys where the best of friends considering the buisness their in and then there's the law finding all that coke and then there's the crims that you lost all the coke on. I guess drug dealers aren't as bad people as the media lets on. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Have to say when I heard this on the news I "Snorted" with laughter ! :D

Alright ! Alright I'm gettin me coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

That was baaaaaaaad. You must feel like a proper charlie now.

That's my coat on the left there, the brown one. Thanks. Bye...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

The drugs were found after a dinghy capsized.
    a dinghy:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

agamemnon wrote:
    That was baaaaaaaad. You must feel like a proper charlie now.

Hardly a great line !:D

Getting my other coat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

It just shows the cowboy eejits that are taking this stuff in, when they'll try and load a ton on to an inflatable in rough seas and then call the f*cking coastguard when they end up in the water. Whoever rang them would be better off drowned, if his boss ever get's a grip of him..
    Imagine the amount of these that don't get caught...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

agamemnon and Slow Motion, some fantastic punnery there. Can I join in? *starts a long think to come up with some killer material*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

You're more than welcome, Dudess. Just don't blow it.

I'll get Dudess's coat, just to save the lady the embarrassment later. Gentleman I am.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Well that's the Deep Purple reunion ruined. There'll be no Coke on the Water...

Ithankyou.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Thankfully, it's the summer holidays. The Famous Five can be sent down to camp on that stretch of coast.

The secret seven are already there, drinking lemonade, eating cakes and getting high on whatever they can get their hands on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

thrill wrote:
    The secret seven are already there, drinking lemonade, eating cakes and getting high on whatever they can get their hands on.

sssh! What is it Timmy? Cocaine smugglers in an common, overloaded dinghy? Come on everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Orange69 wrote:
    Ya and i would say that the "estimated street value" is exaggerated out of all proportion by the guards...

Apparently cocaine is big in Ireland now.. has anyone experienced this?

Massive, although despite the news articles where the journo seemingly gets a massive horn about talking about 17 year old girls in coked up orgies in Foxrock, from my experience its far bigger in working class areas. Most well heeled UCD types I know (girls at least) either wouldnt touch the stuff or have never tried it more than once out of curiousity. In my view from parties Ive been at over the last while its declining in popularity in Dublin (presumably everyone realised its sh1te), and E`s are making somewhat of a comeback in both popularity and availabillity, but down the country, where even as late as last year it was something with a very intermittent supply, coke is all over the place. Wouldnt be surprised if more of your average northside large scale distributors profits come from the north facing counties like Louth and Cavan rather than local dealers.

As said the street value thing isnt how much the lads would have made. 1.5 tonnes equals 1500 kilos (cheers Google, I bet you even know the secret of life and where the Holy Grail is hidden :) ). 1 kilo, broke into 1000 60 euro 1 gram deals, is therefore regarded as a kilo being worth 60,000 euro. And that doesnt take into account cutting it, and most in Ireland is cut to pieces. A kilo can be bought for 2000 in Colombia, so its possible there is no more than a 3 million investment here. Alot to lose, but if the same guys have managed to pull this off before its not a huge loss.

Tha Gopher wrote:

Alot to lose, but if the same guys have managed to pull this off before its not a huge loss.

True. this may have been just a routine delivery gone wrong. Who knows how many successful shipments have been made using that route before coming a cropper now.

That said, it may be awhile before another route can replace that one and that loss could end up being a lot more expensive for the drug dealers in the long run than the loss of the cocaine on this shipment.

http://www.unodc.org/pdf/research/wdr07/WDR_2007_3.5.1_annual_prevalence.pdf

Why are these surveys always so far off the mark? Every drug bar Cannabis in Ireland is 2.5% of below. More than 2.5% are off their tits on a Tuesday sitting at home, never mind the weekend. And the East European figures, nearly all zero point something for speed and ecstasy? ffs Poland has the lowest on the list for e use :confused: Presumably its because the government deported the thousands of the raver minority to Ireland :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Why are these surveys always so far off the mark?

They should use your accurate survey results.

Mossy Monk wrote:
    They should use your accurate survey results.

Common sense would say its more accurate.

You think only one in 20 people in the mentioned age group has smoked hash in Ireland in the past year? From skangers to students I would be hard pressed to think of more than a handful of people under their mid 30s who wouldnt have the odd toke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Haha, reminds me of this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UBccqoJ2LDs
    Except instead of Cork it's Scotland and Coke its heroin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭StephenC_IRL

those guys who almost drowned will wish they did or want to be sent to prison, whoevers drugs they were, those lads are going to be shot no matter what they do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

Makes you think about that little smoking ban we have. We were better off with dangerous legal stuff that we knew was bad for us. So as you sew, so shall you reap.

Ireland and its smoking ban can go take a running jump!!!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Having a look at the headlines, the value was €50m in the Metro, €100m in the Irish Times, revving up to about €170m or so in the Irish Independent and into the upper atmosphere with €315m in the Sun. What a wide range of calculating street value..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭sonners

ixoy wrote:
    Having a look at the headlines, the value was €50m in the Metro, €100m in the Irish Times, revving up to about €170m or so in the Irish Independent and into the upper atmosphere with €315m in the Sun. What a wide range of calculating street value..

glad I'm not buying coke off the Sun :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

woman i work with lives down the road from where this happened. apparently the place was completely crawling with helicopters this morning. cue many hints about how no-one minds if she's late to work as long as she goes fishing first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

If the bags had ripped and some unsuspecting fish had swallowed some coke and then got caught by an unsuspecitng fisherman and then consumed by an unsuspecting member of the general public, would there be any ill effects???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭sonners

Schlemm wrote:
    If the bags had ripped and some unsuspecting fish had swallowed some coke and then got caught by an unsuspecitng fisherman and then consumed by an unsuspecting member of the general public, would there be any ill effects???

Or better yet, if you were to be caught with cocaine in your system, could you just say you had fish fingers for dinner??

dermo88 wrote:
    Makes you think about that little smoking ban we have. We were better off with dangerous legal stuff that we knew was bad for us. So as you sew, so shall you reap.

Cigarettes are still legal man..:rolleyes: You just cant smoke in public establishments..

Its not like the minute the smoking ban took effect everyone ran out looking for cocaine and heroin..

Imo the prohibition of any drugs is doomed to failure..people love the stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

those guys who almost drowned will wish they did or want to be sent to prison, whoevers drugs they were, those lads are going to be shot no matter what they do

Your not the first person to have said this but I don't believe people are killed for this kind of thing. They messed up and they will go to prison. If they don't talk why would the leaders kill them.

People only get killed from internal feuds, turf wars and if they disrespect the gang or damage the business intentionally unless the gang is being run by complete wackos. A good gang will be business orientated so decisions should be taken from a business POV. Killing these guys would be illogical...imagine the media coverage!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

dermo88 wrote:

LMFAO, man you need to lay of the cocaine!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Massive, although despite the news articles where the journo seemingly gets a massive horn about talking about 17 year old girls in coked up orgies in Foxrock,

LMAO

but yes i agree with you, I blame J1's to the US, i think they get spoilt over there come back with the addiction and get sh1te shoved up their snot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

So will there be another big replacement shipment due in for *that festival* this weekend or what? Babyshambles are playing ya know...