Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mmMAD stocking cheap springers and low end AEGs in cork.

• 22-06-2007 6:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,603 ✭✭✭✭
    Master of the Universe

wideangle wrote:
    Hey Heckler I'm in Cork too.The shop on north main street called Maaaad stocks airsoft equipment including bb's.I'm still using the ones that came with me aeg so cannot comment on what they sell,but they do stock them.

Rabbit Stew mentioned this MAAD place or whatever it's called in post ten. Was wondering what the quality of bbs are like? Are they those cheap crap yellow ones? If so, don't put them anywhere near your AEG.

Actually, on another note, what is this shop stocking? Crappy springers or proper decent quality AEGs? I don't know whether to be worried or what! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

I think thew are selling the CYMA clones. Around 200 a pop!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,603 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

200? That's good. People are usually more responsible with expensive things.

Anyone know if they're selling springers too?

They were in the last toys4bigboys show and they were selling springers for 25.

''200? That's good. People are usually more responsible with expensive things.''

Good point, although you must be mad to pay 200 for a CYMA :eek:

Edit: Heres their website There in the ''Replica Guns'' section. http://www.mmmad.ie/gifts.html

Master of the Universe

liamo333 wrote:
    They were in the last toys4bigboys show and they were selling springers for 25.

''200? That's good. People are usually more responsible with expensive things.''

Good point, although you must be mad to pay 200 for a CYMA :eek:

Edit: Heres their website There in the ''Replica Guns'' section. http://www.mmmad.ie/gifts.html

Just looking at the website now. Probably the worst type of shop you'd want selling such things. These are the types of places that get airsoft banned.

Reading the reviews, are these people thick? :mad:

JT-3 Shorty BB Shotgun

The JT-3 Shorty is a Terminator style shotgun
    Single pellet shot and is very powerful
    This item contains both metal & plastic parts

M-11 Uzi BB Gun

The M-11 Uzi is a plastic BB Gun
    Fun for all ages

They definitely need to be contacted. Especially about that "fun for all ages" bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

thats kinda scary, i know we have been wanting to be able to walk in of the street and buy AEGs but not from a shop like that advertises realistic looking toys as suitable for all ages

not too sure, but should for someone from the assoc to contect them, plus is that the shotgun advertised on RSOV for like £12

o1s1n wrote:
    Just looking at the website now. Probably the worst type of shop you'd want selling such things. These are the types of places that get airsoft banned.

Reading the reviews, are these people thick? :mad:

JT-3 Shorty BB Shotgun

The JT-3 Shorty is a Terminator style shotgun
    Single pellet shot and is very powerful
    This item contains both metal & plastic parts

M-11 Uzi BB Gun

The M-11 Uzi is a plastic BB Gun
    Fun for all ages

They definitely need to be contacted. Especially about that "fun for all ages" bit.

Fun for all ages??? :eek: :mad: :eek: :mad:

Master of the Universe

I just sent them an email about that. More or less asking them to put a strict 18+ age limit on purchases or they will end up getting the sport banned for the lot of us.

good lad all we would need is for some moron to do something stupid with one and its good night vienna

Master of the Universe

tonyj_mc wrote:
    thats kinda scary, i know we have been wanting to be able to walk in of the street and buy AEGs but not from a shop like that advertises realistic looking toys as suitable for all ages

not too sure, but should for someone from the assoc to contect them, plus is that the shotgun advertised on RSOV for like £12

To be honest, its the exact kind of a shop I expected to start stocking springers and low end AEGs. There's a similar one in Bray called Funked Up. The usual glass cases full of bongs, replica guns, swords etc.

If they don't put a strict age limit on it, we're going to end up with another
    "X shop sells illegal replica guns to children" case showing up in the rags.

give it a couple of weeks:mad:

Master of the Universe

Posts moved to relevant thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

On topic... I looked at the site and the BBs are .12g cheapo BBs that'll just cause you heartache.

is there anthing leaglly we can do? i mean anything below 1joule is legal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭petergriffin20

A shop that sells vibrators and guns. WOW... I wonder if these guns can pleasure women too.

Master of the Universe

padmundo wrote:
    On topic... I looked at the site and the BBs are .12g cheapo BBs that'll just cause you heartache.

Actually, I moved all the off topic posts in that newbie thread to a new one. Which you're currently posting off topic in :D
    tonyj_mc wrote:
    is there anthing leaglly we can do? i mean anything below 1joule is legal

All we can do is let them know that it is everyones best interest (including their own) that they put a strict age limit on them.

It was inevitable that a shop would start doing this. Just cross your fingers and start praying :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Mark_Sc

And these are the kind of shops little scanger kids love to browse around and then point at old people:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus that has to be one of the worst websites I have ever seen. Nasty bloody colour scheme !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

i wouldnt hold my breath on that one, they dont care whether kids start playing with these things, only about making money, unfortunately there is nothing we can do other than being responsible with our own aeg's

*sigh*

Master of the Universe

gandalf wrote:
    Jaysus that has to be one of the worst websites I have ever seen. Nasty bloody colour scheme !!!

Sorry. Should have put a warning up to shield your eyes with some kind of strong tinted glasses.

I wonder will this just stay an isolated incident or will all such shops start to stock them? Every one of these places seems to have the same stuff. I wonder do they get it all from the same supplier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

o1s1n wrote:
    Sorry. Should have put a warning up to shield your eyes with some kind of strong tinted glasses.

I wonder will this just stay an isolated incident or will all such shops start to stock them? Every one of these places seems to have the same stuff. I wonder do they get it all from the same supplier.

From my recent "research"....

Theres a lot of places in the US and Far East that sell low end AEG's and springers at ridiculous bulk prices. But the quality is absolute crap, and the power is insignificant, usually sub-200 fps. Their realism leaves a lot to be desired too.

Its much, much harder to get a good quality AEG or GBB at anything approaching a reasonable wholesale price shipped to Ireland, and frankly, I dont see any of these crappy gimmick shops going for them. I know the media wouldnt know or care about the difference between cheap springers and a CA, ICS or TM etc AEG, but I wouldnt be *too* worried about this Mmmad place or places like it - they're just selling the same kind of cheap crap thousands of people bring home from Spain every week, and those imports havent done any harm yet.

Having said that, whoever is running that place needs a good slap with a wet haddock for being so bloody irresponsible as to describe a projectile firing toy as "fun for all ages" :mad:

Master of the Universe

We'll I don't know about the springers they're selling because they're not branded, but here's a review of that CYMA mp5 they have.

http://www.airsoftretreat.com/reviews/showproduct.php?product=90&cat=29

300fps stock. Metal gears. Metal construction. Although, as I said in an earlier post, people are less prone to being irresponsible with expensive things. So the danger is still mostly with the springers.

Maybe I'm being a paranoid freak, maybe I'm not. Can't seem to make up my mind. The age thing really put a shiver up my spine though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

I knew to be wide of mad in cork. I was in there a year or so ago. They sell things like bongs, novelty drug paraphinalia(sp), vibrators and stuff for hen and stag nights. Rave tunes pumping out the door all day attracting all the knackers in town. Hardly the type of place you want to be selling realistic imitations.

Don't know the prices. Last time I drove past they had a window display of AK-47's ! For feck sake. Only good thing is I reckon if a langer down here points an AK in my face I'll have a reasonable chance of knowing its a fake. Then he'll probably pull out his knife.....Yerra, i'm a fast runner lol.

Heckler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

o1s1n wrote:
    We'll I don't know about the springers they're selling because they're not branded, but here's a review of that CYMA mp5 they have.

http://www.airsoftretreat.com/reviews/showproduct.php?product=90&cat=29

300fps stock. Metal gears. Metal construction. Although, as I said in an earlier post, people are less prone to being irresponsible with expensive things. So the danger is still mostly with the springers.

Maybe I'm being a paranoid freak, maybe I'm not. Can't seem to make up my mind. The age thing really put a shiver up my spine though.

that's the same mp5 i have, got it for about half the price mad are selling it though!

shoots nowhere near 300fps tbh, maybe 300 with 0.12g, with 0.2g it'd be more like 220-240fps...

Master of the Universe

kdouglas wrote:
    with 0.2g it'd be more like 220-240fps...

Good!

Heckler, they had aks in the window? you serious? Strange we haven't heard about this before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Perhaps we should all email them? Strenght in numbers etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭rabbit Stew

Just spotted this thread. Didn't realise my humble comments were going to cause such a debate. I agree with the comments of most of the forum members that we could do without these sort of shops selling this stuff ad hoc. But must hasten to ad that i only walked in because i saw the display in the window and not because i was in desperate need of a vibrator and bong!;)

Master of the Universe

t i only walked in because i saw the display in the window and not because i was in desperate need of a vibrator and bong!;)

Your denial just incriminates you even more :p