Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thunderbirds over Galway

• 22-06-2007 10:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭

Anybody else see the two thunderbrid jets buzzing the West side of the city?
    (In advance of sunday)

some job, better than what Im doing now anyways....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭matdabomb

Yeah, BTW there was 4 flying over.

They flew for about an hour. Was some awesome looking display. Cant wait for Sunday.

Those F-16 fighter jets are amazing machines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Check out the full team practice at 11 and 3 tomorrow gang!!!

Cool. Is it over salthill they are doing to full team practise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Pretty cool,watched the whole thing from my bedroom;)

The practice days are always better they perform for much longer plus you dont have to put up with the crowds.

Fey; Same again the tomorrow is that for for sure?????????????

As far as I know, yes.

If it isn't, then I think I'll have a LOT of egg on my face!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

Read in the paper that they'll be practicing over Salthill from 3 to 4pm today (Friday).

Didn't hear anything about Saturday

at it again now so i take it Sat is off.....oh well

Oh God!

These things woke me up at 10am! But I get a great view of em flying around from my bedroom window

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

soundbyte wrote:
    Read in the paper that they'll be practicing over Salthill from 3 to 4pm today (Friday).

Didn't hear anything about Saturday

Yeah, they came back, 4 of em this time in formation.

Lookin forward to Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Feckers. Been buzzing over the college all day, and I've been stuck down in the bowels fiddling with blinky lights.

Haven't seen the Typhoon yet, hopping on a bus to Kerry shortly.
    One of ye (Steyr?) record some footage, put it on GoogleVideo (for the quality) and post a link.

Danke.

Neeeeeeooooooowwwwwwnnnnnn bakka-bakka-bakka-bakka!
    Childhood Sound Effects - Promoting Global Death&Destruction since 1938

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭learnerplates

Feel like an Iraqi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I'm already sick of it. Its all screech and no show over my house :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

DaBreno wrote:
    Yeah, they came back, 4 of em this time in formation.

There were six at one stage. At around 4.30 (a few minutes ago), one came back by himself, afterburner and all ... thought they weren't allowed use the afterburners anymore after the (fun) havoc they caused about 10 years ago???

That typhoon was one bad ass piece of machinery:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Thunderbirds are GO!

And a few piccies, some good, some bad...

Enjoy.

http://uk.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/yankeedoodlepigeon/album?.dir=/40a1re2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Can't wait until Sunday, impressive stuff.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭ZorbaTehZ

Mother****ers, I lost 10 minutes to them in my Leaving Cert exam, just could not concentrate with all that noise, bloody acoustics in the room made them about 5 times as loud too ...

I spent from 1 to 7 in Salthill today. Was amazing, The jets practised for ages and then a helicopter's also pracised. Will be there tomorrow all day and Sunday to see em. They so cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Feel like an Iraqi

:rolleyes: Oh for god sake........Grow up, its an Airshow if i want to see a "Warshow" il go to one of them in China, or the Paris Airshow, There is nothing happening tomorrow guys, well except for me flying in a Yak52 over Salthill Around 2pm!:D Maybe a Parachute drop by The Irish Army but no fast Jet Displays and the weather for Sunday looks set to be tops!!:D

There are 6 F16's flying the Thunderbirds display, 4 do formations while 2 do the Solo Flying.

We also have 2 F-15E Strike Eagles and 2 A10 Thunderbolts confirmed for the Show guys.

Steyr wrote:
    We also have 2 F-15E Strike Eagles and 2 A10 Thunderbolts confirmed for the Show guys.

Good stuff .Great line up this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

Steyr wrote:
    and 2 A10 Thunderbolts .

omg I love those babys :D

ummmmmmmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Fracture

Was that an old american mustang flying around today?

I thought those F16's were all doing formations? I seen 6 of em in a formation yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭MenloPete

What kind of mindless morons are you guys?
    These are jet fighters intended for killing people, not toys for amusing a few thousand open-mouthed yobbos.
    Time you grew up and smelt the burning flesh!

(Nothing personal, of course!)

...Ninety Nine red balloons
    Floating in the Summer sky...

Now someone pass me my SAM and switch on the radar jammer....

It's an Air Display ff's, not a bombing mission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭vesp

The knockers should be grateful for the blood, sweat and tears given by our friends in the west - the Americans and British - who have helped ensure our freedom and given hope to millions of our emmigrants in times gone by. These aircraft are but symbols of weapons used in the struggle against forces like Nazism and Communism.

vesp wrote:
    The knockers should be grateful for the blood, sweat and tears given by our friends in the west - the Americans and British - who have helped ensure our freedom and given hope to millions of our emmigrants in times gone by. These aircraft are but symbols of weapons used in the struggle against forces like Nazism and Communism.
    Well said, some people seem to forget that.
    we would either have been under Nazi rule, or Communist rule but for the Allies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

MenloPete wrote:
    These are jet fighters intended for killing people, not toys for amusing a few thousand open-mouthed yobbos.

Now someone pass me my SAM and switch on the radar jammer....

ah grow up would you...

it is a display of modern machinery....

walked through salthill today.. saw the whole galway against war group... hading out leaflets saying "iraqi airshow" (now that would be one air show i'd like to see... all aircraft fully loaded :D:D Bring it on :eek: :eek:

(p.s. these are only my opinions, if they offended, they did the trick :D )

MenloPete; you're entitled to your opinions, and we're entitled to ours. However, addressing us as "Morons" will have you grouped with crazy-object-to-everything-woman in town.

These planes are machines. Branding them the way you do is the same as branding the guys in town driving Hummers as warmongers, as Hummers were deverloped for the military.

The pilots who fly these machines do a job, similar to that done by our own troops who have served in the Lebanon, Liberia and other similar hotspots. that they have been sent to the likes of Iraq is not their fault; it is the fault of those above them. Personally, I have no problem with the airshow, despite thinking that GW Bush is a moron who should be locked in a padded room.

The Galway anti-war movement trots out the same campaign year in year out. To me, they are now the same as the guys who stop you on Shop Street trying to sell you lines for this, that and the other; a complete pain in the posterior.

Maybe if ye weren't so "in peoples faces" and operating on a "we-know-best, and everyone-else-is-wrong" basis, more people might be listen to ye.

Unfortunately, as your post suggests to me, you are not to be reasoned with, just like the other despots around the world, Bush included.

I think the anti air display protesters are the morons, almost everybody there tomorrow will be anti war, me included, but i am going with my kids for a display of machinery and like every other year, we will enjoy it.

MenloPete wrote:

Ha ha your priceless, did you protest at the Argentinian Sail Training Naval Vessel ARA Libertad? Or even the 2 French Naval ships or even the Irish Naval ship L.E. Roisin No you didnt but as always you blow everything out of proportion, if i want to see a "war show" i will go to the actual ones they hold annually in China or even the Paris Air Show of course im sure you would be welcome there and im sure you would be equally welcome in Iraq. Grow up, and if last year was anything to go by your balloons will be popped again.

biggest fecking joke is, the people you defend actually banned kite flying.
    bring on the air show, keep on rocking in the free world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Steyr wrote:
    Ha ha your priceless, did you protest at the Argentinian Sail Training Naval Vessel ARA Libertad? Or even the 2 French Naval ships or even the Irish Naval ship L.E. Roisin

Ah, I don't recall these being used to kill thousands of innocents, whether intentional or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

I Hate Jets Because They Started A War Of Terror :(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Damn rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

It was still kool. Thought the RAF show was better than the Thunderbirds but it was all great.

Ahh the joys of living in Lr Salthill :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

All I can say is, oww my ears!

Anyone see the helicoptor drop it's door or something at the end. I was expecting to hear a car alarm go off but apperently it landed on the beach. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

cornbb wrote:
    It was still kool. Thought the RAF show was better than the Thunderbirds but it was all great.

agreed! Good day out though, rain or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

Kazooie wrote:
    Anyone see the helicoptor drop it's door or something at the end. I was expecting to hear a car alarm go off but apperently it landed on the beach. :eek:

Hit a person/people too, no idea how hurt they were (if at all) but we were all kicked off the beach and there were ambulances and whatnot. Should be on the news later!

most enjoyable day, rain was bad a times, but thankfully it got better in time for the highlights.

Fobia; are you absolutely sure that the door hit someone?

Got a couple of pictures today (just over 1,000; I was bored) from the roof of Jurys carpark. Will post them up when I sort the wheat from the chaff (there's a LOT of chaff due to the inclement weather)

Fobia wrote:
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kazooie
    Anyone see the helicoptor drop it's door or something at the end. I was expecting to hear a car alarm go off but apperently it landed on the beach.

Hit a person/people too, no idea how hurt they were (if at all) but we were all kicked off the beach and there were ambulances and whatnot. Should be on the news later!Hit a person/people too, no idea how hurt they were (if at all) but we were all kicked off the beach and there were ambulances and whatnot. Should be on the news later!
    heard on the news, 3 people injured...
    rushed to hospital too

i saw it fall off too....:eek: :eek:

DRakE wrote:
    I Hate Jets Because They Started A War Of Terror :(:(:(

your getting confused with G.W. Bush

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Anyway , was the Merlin in Galway an SAR machine ...or was it a transport machine.

If an SAR we must be mindful and thankful of the number of rescues carried out by the RAF in Ireland over the years.

yeah.. merlin was a SAR.. sometimes used as transport.. but mostly used for SAR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

Fey! wrote:
    Fobia; are you absolutely sure that the door hit someone?

I am, I was about 50 metres away..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

RTE News confirms here.

Very sad to see a great day out marred by injury. I hope they recover quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Oman

Wasn't very serious. i was there and they were up and walking straight away. but they were crowded by people. the ambulance guys couldn't get to them. in fact my brother was there and he recorded the door falling off and it looked as though the power of the helicopter as it turned made the door slide off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Couple of raf pilots on the dole tomorrow.....

Seven Worlds will Collide