Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guns 'n' Roses Premier cover band (Mr Brownstone) seek new Axl(vocalist)

• 21-06-2007 9:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25

Hi people, our infamous Guns 'n' Roses tribute act(Mr.Brownstone) will be looking for a new Axl Rose(singer) asap. If you think you would be up for this or know of somebody who would please send me an e-mail(anything_goes@hotmail.com).
    We will be auditioning soon for upcoming gigs.
    Our Axl has 'Rusted' completely.
    Step up... who is brave enough!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

Again I cant let this go without a warning to any Axls out there. I was treated very unprofessionally by this guy when they were looking for a new Duff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Irish_Al

To potential applicants. Ignore this guys post above. He just could'nt cut it. He had 3 weeks and then wanted me to furnish him with the songs...I rest my case.

Its not as simple as Al here would like you to believe. I had way longer than 3 weeks in fact, if you want to hear a tale of pure music biz nastiness read on:

The Brownstone Saga - complete with emails (good auld gmail)

I see a post in this forum:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054933382&referrerid=&highlight=brownstone

I had seen the guys play in the student union bar in Maynooth and they seemed impressive and pretty professional so I decided to give it a shot.

Eoin Leonard May 19
    I'd be up for doin the GnR thing for the summer. I've been playin in
    Dahlia http://www.dahlia.ie and done plenty of gigs in around Dublin.
    I'm finishin my final year exams at the end of next week so I'll be
    free for the whole summer. You can see me playin some wanky funk stuff
    here: http://artists.cpu.ie//bands/1309/video.php just hit stream this
    video.
    Give me a mail back if your interested.
    Eoin.

Al Cahone May 20
    Hows it goin Eoin.
    Did'nt get a chance to watch vid (but I will). Text me on: *Als number*
    sometime for a chat to c what the craic is about doin some gigs.

Alan

Some text messages, asked him to send me a playlist so I cud learn a few songs

Al Cahone May 28
    How ya Eric,

This is our usual setlist. Have a go at it and mail or text me bak when u
    are up for a jam.

Alan

MR BROWNSTONE SET LIST

1. Nightrain
    2. Easy
    3. Michelle
    4. Live & Let Die
    5. Out Ta Get Me
    6. Brownstone
    7. Don't Cry
    8. Back off Bitch
    9. Double Talkin'
    10. Used To Love Her
    11. You're Crazy
    12. Patience
    13. Civil War
    14. U Cud B Mine
    15. Heaven's Door
    16. Jungle
    17. Rocket Queen
    18. Sweet Child O'Mine
    19. Paradise City

I get working on the songs. This is where I make my biggest mistake and decide to learn all the songs before even meeting the guy :eek: . To be clear I was never given a time limit to learn the songs.

Eoin Leonard
    to Al Jun 8
    Hi Alan, I'm nearly finished learnin the songs. I'd be up for a jam in
    about a weeks time, by then I should have em all down.
    Eoin.

I finish learning all the songs on the list except for civil war, I even learn duffs guitar parts on patience :D

Al Cahone Jun 16
    How ya Eric,

Dat sounds cool. I am on Hols at the mo. Will contact u when i get back

Alan

All looking good. I keep practicing the songs. Hang on, a few weeks have rolled by, whats going on? I send him a message just to see what the story is and to find out about Civil War.

Eoin Leonard Jul 4
    Hi Alan,
    How are the Hols, I've all the songs well down except Civil War. I
    assume ye dont do the album version and its not on Live Era, do ye
    have a live version I can work off?

Thanks,
    Eoin.

I was just trying to prepare as professionally as I could, I dont like going in for a practice knowing the wrong version of a song. I didnt think it was a big deal to ask for that, but it seems so. Weeks go buy, almost a month. I ring his phone a few times but no answer. I'm convinced I've been ****ed over by now. But wait, out of the blue, theres more:

Al Cahone Aug 1
    How ya Eric,

Sorry for delay.
    How would you be fixed for a jam some nite next week?

Alan

Eoin Leonard Aug 3
    Hi Alan,
    Anytime next week should be fine except Saturday 3-8pm. Give me a buzz
    on *my number* when you sort out a place and time, my email access is a
    bit limited at the mo.
    Thanks,
    Eoin.

Al Cahone Aug 4
    How ya Eoin,

Thats cool. I will buzz u this afternoon.

Alan

A few days later he rang me saying that there would be one practice in the middle of the week and that there would be a gig on the friday. He asks me to learn another song (I cant remember which one) which I wasnt too happy about since I figured I'd learned enough songs already. A bit tight I thought, especially for such a big setlist (gnr songs are pretty long!) so I ask for two practices and I get turned down. Again I ask him about civil war and I dont get an answer. I go along with it anyway, stupid me.

So I learn the album version of Civil War and the new song and I'm ready for a practice....

Eoin Leonard
    to Al Aug 9
    Hi Alan,
    Is the gig still on this Friday?
    Eoin

No answer! he left me with no way to contact him, he had called me on a private number. I learned 20 songs in all! As it turns out they got a new guy on short notice and said nothing to me. So there you have it, I'm left wondering if I'm playing a gig on the weekend. Beware potential Axls, dont be as stupid as me!

I learned a few lessons about auditioning that might be useful to others:

1: Dont learn loads of songs before having a jam with a band, no matter how sure you are of getting it. It could be a waste of time.

2: Trying to be professional may sometimes backfire on you.

3: Dont just use emails, texts, and phone calls. Meet the people. Its the only way of making yourself human, otherwise youre just text on a screen or a voice on a phone and thats something much easier to treat badly.

4: If someone messes with you a good bit then dont continue your business with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭waking dreams

Jaysus man you really have a bee in your bonnet there, get over it, **** happens,but in all fairness that setlist could be easily learned in a week to be honest especially Duff's parts.

Anyways

Back to the Subject at matter,

I may know a few potential 'axl's' , they are Dublin based, Drop me a PM man if you are interested, if not all the best with the search, Id love to see a good GNR tribute band,

Cheers.

The length of time it takes to learn songs has literally nothing to do with this, Als just using it as a way to justify his actions.

To kinda summerise 'The Brownstone Saga' :D and what it amounts to is that Al may:

1: Get you to learn a load of songs, then abandon you for almost a month with no way of contacting him.

2: Consider you asking him for a song youre not sure of as some sort of mistake.

3: Ask you to play a gig with him at very short notice, then get someone else and not tell you and still give you no way of contacting him.

Have a look at the dates involved: from May 19th to Aug 9th! Its a long time to be dragged around for. People shouldnt have to put up with that sort of sh;te.

Al should come with a warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭spaceboy

for the record I have no allegience to mr brownstone, in fact I hate GNR,
    Eoin 5 , get over it dude :rolleyes:
    after reading this thread,its obvious you are bitter,for what i'm not exactly sure,s**t happens,its only a c**p GNR tribute band,your whining makes you sound pathetic,you know where you are ? you're in the jungle :)

So if I sit down an take all the sh;t that people throw at me I'm not pathetic?

I just wanted to warn potential Axls about Al here, then Al tried to discredit me so I just replied with the whole story.

I've been in the music business for over 6 years in total now between being a DJ and a musician and I've taken a hell of an amount of crap (never mind the drunkards if anyone has had to deal with publicans on a regular basis they know exactly what I'm talking about :D). The business doesnt have to be so cutthroat and a simple warning like this can help alot. It doesnt have to be 'The Jungle' :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

eoin5 wrote:
    So if I sit down an take all the sh;t that people throw at me I'm not pathetic?

I just wanted to warn potential Axls about Al here, then Al tried to discredit me so I just replied with the whole story.

I've been in the music business for over 6 years in total now between being a DJ and a musician and I've taken a hell of an amount of crap (never mind the drunkards if anyone has had to deal with publicans on a regular basis they know exactly what I'm talking about :D). The business doesnt have to be so cutthroat and a simple warning like this can help alot. It doesnt have to be 'The Jungle' :P

*But this is a Guns n' Roses tribute band - it can't be professional. Maybe Irish Al is taking on the Axl role of treating fellow members like ****. Wouldn't be a GnR tribute band if everyone got treated well and everything was done professionally.:D It's rock n' roll. Maybe he's the Slash in the band and was drinking too much too reply in time.

Nice Boys - don't play rock n' roll.

*joke. Sorry couldn't resist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Traianus

Dude, if they did indeed screw you over then they did and nothing will change it. You got on the thread and let everyone know. End of story! It doesn't help ur case to keep on about it. People will see what you wrote and make up their own minds. **** happens, move on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭mrmojo

All seems a bit childish......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Irish_Al

Sent : Tuesday, October 24, 2006 3:32 PM
    To : "Al Cahone"
    Subject : Re: MR BROWNSTONE SET LIST

[HTML]Hi Alan,
    I was just being professional when I said I didnt have civil war down,
    I gave the reason that I didnt have any live version to go by. The
    fact is you left me hanging, wondering wether I had a gig to play at
    that weekend or not. You had also left me hanging before when you were
    on holidays. I had learned all the songs very well, 20 of them in
    total by the middle of the week. If you had told me the story it might
    not have been so bad, but you didnt so as far as I'm concerned its a
    fair warning to any singer that may be interested. I have all the
    gmail records so theres no disputing this. I wont remove the post,
    I will not post again nor will I reply to any more emails. Eoin.[/HTML]

I cant believe I am bothering with this guy...but here goes.
    I sent him a private e-mail last october to not post respond negatively to my posts anymore. The above was his response(check out his last line)...oh well a man of his word I see. Nuff said!!

Thats taken out of context, thats about a different thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055006693&referrerid=&highlight=brownstone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Sn@kebite

If i was a mod, i would lock this thread!!:D

It's not that it annoys me seeing it, but it's just pointless!:rolleyes:

I say back on topic, any luck with Axl yet ?? 2 of my mates are still interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

er, i cant believe all you people telling eoin5 to shut up and stop moaning. How insensitive and bent are you lot? The chap learned off 20 odd songs, no matter how simple a fkin tune is its a song under the belt. Im playing in a band that only does a 12 song set, and the really complecated stuff for me is simple, where are the simple lines that i play are the ones that i trip up on.

eoin5 put the work in so that he could fit the bill. Noone deserves to be screwed over like that, by the sounds of it that band is just a bunch of window lickers who play along to the tapes and show up on the night and try piece together a set. If i was in a band i wouldnt settle for that and i definitly wouldnt gig if thats how it was run.

Eoin5, dont mind these idiots that think you are in the wrong, you got done and very unjustly, and anyone who insinuated that you should sit back and take it like a b1tch obviously is a tard. It just goes to show them for the door mats they are.

red_ice wrote:
    er, i cant believe all you people telling eoin5 to shut up and stop moaning. How insensitive and bent are you lot? The chap learned off 20 odd songs, no matter how simple a fkin tune is its a song under the belt. Im playing in a band that only does a 12 song set, and the really complecated stuff for me is simple, where are the simple lines that i play are the ones that i trip up on.

eoin5 put the work in so that he could fit the bill. Noone deserves to be screwed over like that, by the sounds of it that band is just a bunch of window lickers who play along to the tapes and show up on the night and try piece together a set. If i was in a band i wouldnt settle for that and i definitly wouldnt gig if thats how it was run.

Eoin5, dont mind these idiots that think you are in the wrong, you got done and very unjustly, and anyone who insinuated that you should sit back and take it like a b1tch obviously is a tard. It just goes to show them for the door mats they are.

Hey man, you seem to have been on this board alot considering on the amount of posts you have, would you not agree that Eoin has got his point accross and the majority of people who have read this Thread have thought that he should just get over it and genuinely dont give a s**t ?? I think that Eoin has point is made, and that Irish Al should be left to looking for a singer without all this nonsense again, maybe a MOD could lock this thread and let the lad search for a Singer without getting any more Jip ?? The point has been made by Eoin in 2 of Irish Als Threads already, let it go lads and wise the bap for christs sake !

Join Date: Jul 2000 - i dont have a fraction the ammount of posts that other people have that are here only 2 years. I would agree that eoin got his point accross, but what i dont agree with is the fact that everyone turned on him for giving said advice when he was only looking out for people who were potential axel's. Al shouldnt be left looking for a singer. He screwed people over on the boards, and was going on to do the same to who ever signed up (more than likely). That imo brings down the ethos of these boards, and would put people like eoin, off bothering joining a band from these forums. So no, i dont think he should just get over it right away.

wise the bap?

red_ice wrote:
    Join Date: Jul 2000 - i dont have a fraction the ammount of posts that other people have that are here only 2 years. I would agree that eoin got his point accross, but what i dont agree with is the fact that everyone turned on him for giving said advice when he was only looking out for people who were potential axel's. Al shouldnt be left looking for a singer. He screwed people over on the boards, and was going on to do the same to who ever signed up (more than likely). That imo brings down the ethos of these boards, and would put people like eoin, off bothering joining a band from these forums. So no, i dont think he should just get over it right away.

wise the bap?

"Join Date: Jul 2000 - i dont have a fraction the ammount of posts that other people have that are here only 2 years."

I wasnt taking a dig at you there man , I was merely pointing out that you must have seen some fools pass through these forums in your time,

"but what i dont agree with is the fact that everyone turned on him for giving said advice when he was only looking out for people who were potential axel's"

you cant change peoples minds man, they can think what they want and in this case they thought that Eoin should get over it, Live with it !

"Al shouldnt be left looking for a singer. He screwed people over on the boards, and was going on to do the same to who ever signed up (more than likely)" thats your opinion bro, and I respect it, but please respect other ppls opinions that he should be still looking for a Singer for his band on these boards,

"would put people like eoin, off bothering joining a band from these forums." I feel that a P.M is a P.M and and Email are both private, anybody who blabbered my Private emails and P.M's all over a public board in my eyes is a Fool ! and Im sure that the other people that read Eoin's response have thought the same, and the fact that he pulblicised these emails and P.M's I for certain would not like to be in a band with Eoin either.

"wise the bap?" this just means wise up and grow up..

I wasnt taking a dig at you there man , I was merely pointing out that you must have seen some fools pass through these forums in your time,

I know you wernt, and i wasnt being smart, i was just pointing out that you shouldnt judge a user by his post count.

you cant change peoples minds man, they can think what they want and in this case they thought that Eoin should get over it, Live with it !

I wasnt trying to change anyones mind. I was mearly pointing out that certain individuals on these forums are ignorant muppets. You seem to be on that side of the fence, so im not going to put more effort into letting you all know what i think of you.
    thats your opinion bro, and I respect it, but please respect other ppls opinions that he should be still looking for a Singer for his band on these boards,

Again, im not trying to convince people of anything, if i did so, i will retract those comments. I voiced my opinion for a guy who, lets call a spade a spade, was hard done by and people were basicly rubbing it in his face as he tried to give some friendly advice. I feel that the members of said band have no right to be on these forums if they are only here to mess people about and do so in succession. I dont know about you, but i take my music very seriously. Playing an instrument is by far the best thing i've done in my life (and i've done alot of things in my life). Playing makes me complete, and puts me in a mood that i can only achieve when im playing, and if i want to share that with people, i expect them to understand that and respect it. I think eoin is somewhat similar considering he learned 20 songs before he even got the chance to meet them.
    "would put people like eoin, off bothering joining a band from these forums." I feel that a P.M is a P.M and and Email are both private, anybody who blabbered my Private emails and P.M's all over a public board in my eyes is a Fool ! and Im sure that the other people that read Eoin's response have thought the same, and the fact that he pulblicised these emails and P.M's I for certain would not like to be in a band with Eoin either.

Yea a pm is a pm, and i rekon he has just reason to show those messages as the OP was trying to put up an arguement which was a false one. Eoin did the right thing in my eyes.
    "wise the bap?" this just means wise up and grow up..

right back at you

I too get the same from playing music, its something that Ive done and loved for a long time, and in that time ppl do get 'screwed over' , I agree that Eoin has put in the work in learning the songs and that it is a pisser after learning all them that he didnt get a chance to prove himself, I however dont agree on posting Private msgs its Private for a reason, and the "wise the bap" wasnt directed at you, it was directed and the ppl's response to the thread,Im on my own fence and think for myself, so there is no siding involved,

the way it is, Eoin has expressed his anger, everyone who read the thread is aware of what happend to him, SO I feel we should just Leave Irish Al to his search ?? If anything he is getting more publicity from this long assed thread anyway ?? I dunno why I even care, but maybe would like to see a good GNR trib I suppose.

Well, i didnt really know how to take the comments being made, and thats a fair comment then, sorry - i thought you aimed that comment at me. I am on eoins side simply because of the story he told. and i do think that the op's comments merrited him pasting the pms because the op was trying to tell lies and he got cought out.

never the less, its in the past! and yea, it definitly would be good to see a gnr tribute band as gnr were my first real fav band but i cant bring myself to see teh current line up due to the fact axels a tosspot!

red_ice wrote:
    Well, i didnt really know how to take the comments being made, and thats a fair comment then, sorry - i thought you aimed that comment at me. I am on eoins side simply because of the story he told. and i do think that the op's comments merrited him pasting the pms because the op was trying to tell lies and he got cought out.

never the less, its in the past! and yea, it definitly would be good to see a gnr tribute band as gnr were my first real fav band but i cant bring myself to see teh current line up due to the fact axels a tosspot!

Yeah man !! I dunno whether or not Id like to see a reunion or not ?? Its a toughy, GNR were my first fave band too, infact i still have the Sweet Child single on record at home , and also the 'youre Crazy' aswell, savage stuff !!

I may be wrong but I think I saw Mr.Brownstone play the ******* years ago. If it's the same band... They're not bad at all!
    Re:Eoin Thing. I agree with both of you - Kinda. I think it should be put to bed now!

Didn't realise they don't allow venue names - 0Iimpia!