Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting up in the morning...

• 21-06-2007 8:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

How do you wake up?

(Beside me ma?)

I'm talking about work/school/college mornings here.

Is it as soon as the alarm goes off you jump up fresh as a daisy, ready to face the world?

Or is it hit the aul snooze button as many times as you can before you realise you have to catch a bus in five minutes and then tear it bleary eyed to the stop only to see the bastard driver doing one of them 'MUHAHAHAHAHA' evil laughs?

Me, I set my alarm for two snooze presses before I have to get up, it gives me time to come out of my slumber and contemplate the day ahead. Have a nice shower, then a leisurely walk to the bus stop. Sometimes.

Most of the time I press snooze five or six times, then rush around getting ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

It depends really... Normally if I have to be in for 9 I set my alarm for 6 and get up at 6.09 as my snooze on my phone is 9 mins for some reason. Out of the shower by 6.25ish, dressed, face cleaned, and hair done by 6.40, then 20 mins to eat breakfast and leave the house at 7 to get the 7.15 bus.

My bf drives me mad when he stays over because he likes setting his alarm for ages before he has to get up whereas I prefer to be sleeping properly right up til the latest time possible rather than being woken up and dozing

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I set my alarm 15mins before I have to get up. It gives me a bit of time to get adjusted to the fact that I need my job more than I need a sleep in. Throw on shirt and tie, brush my teeth and leg it to the dart station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I press the snooze button once... Its 8 mins long. Doesn't leave much time for a snooze I dont know why I bother!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

2 to 3 snooze presses for me on an average day, but very occasionally I'll get out of bed at the first alarm or even before it's gone off. I love the feeling for hitting snooze in my half asleep state and thinking 'I've got 10 more minutes to lie here' but by the time I've dozed off again it only ever feels like about 2 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

set alarm for 7am. snooze every 5mins until 7.20. get up shower and in work for 8am (most of the time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Never use the snooze button. I fnd that if I set my alarm before I go to sleep I always wake up a couple of minutes before it is due to go off. I turn it off and roll over for a bit of a doze before getting up and facing the day.

This obviously is different if I have been out on the lash the night before!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Just noticed the double entendre of the title :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

people setting alarms at 6am to be in work at 9am, HATE that!

i start work at 8am, alarm set for 7.20, usually get up bout 7.30, jump in shower for bout 5 mins.. brush teeth, get dressed out the door by bout 7.50... drive from ashtown to blanch (against traffic) and at my desk at bout 8am

sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Alarm set for 8.15, press snooze til about 8.30 (my phone only has 5 min snooze :mad: )
    Up, shower n shave, dressed, breakfast watchin Sky News, leave house bout 9.15, in work for 9.30 (great starting later and missing all the traffic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I set the alarm for 6:30 and get out of bed straight away. Snooze annoys me as I would just lie there knowing I have to get up in 10-15 mins anyway! I then do a few things round the house, cook lunch, go for a 45 min cycle at 7, shower, have some brekkie, leave the house at 8:40 and sitting at my desk before 9, nice and fresh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I get up when I'm not tired anymore....Woooo for flexible jobs! Though it really can be a battle to get up when you know there are't any real consequences if you dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭GoWithTheFlow

I remember reading somewhere that it takes approx. two hours to properly wake up in the morning so Id say waking up two hours before you go to work is ideal. After saying that I usually leave it until the last minute before I have to get up but usually dont feel awake until my morning tea in work so there could be some truth in that:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

i have my alarm clock time set 30 minutes faster than real time. I then set it for the normal time Ive to wake up.

so then when it go's off il snooze once or twice, then rush to get ready and then go, "oh sound im a half hour early".

this works the first time but then you remember it and so when you wake up your like, "ok I can snooze twice, but counting in the extra half hour i have as its not 8oc but 7.30 i can afford to sleep for a total of 38 minutes."
    and by that time your confused and awake anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I have 10 different alarms on my phone set so go off everyday. A Reminder set for each minute from 8:05 to 8:12 and then 8:20, 8:30 and finally if I'm not up by then I have the main phone alarm set at 8:40 which is a sound of me screaming into the phone at high volume.........that one always wakes me up with a fright as it sounds ghostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I leave my alarm on the far side of the room, when it goes I just lie in bed for maybe 20 seconds to fully wake up while the alarm is going off, then I'm ready in about 30 minutes and out the door at 8 for work at 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Alarm goes off at 6:15 and i jump right up... not bright-eyed by any measure but awake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Alarm set for 7:30 am followed by about 5-6 snooozes up at 8:15 am on the bus at 9 work at 9:15..Eat my breakfast at my desk for about an hour then spend the rest of the day on the boards lol :D

Eat my breakfast at my desk for about an hour then spend the rest of the day on the boards lol :D

I'm the same. Gotta love work :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Gizzle

Adjustable Snooze is the greatest phone invention ever. Out last night, and need that extra doze? 12 minutes is yer man! Can't afford 12 mins? Then slide it on down to 6 mins! Not so long that you fall back asleep, but long enough that you appreciate the great warmth of the Morning Bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Alarm....snooze.....alarm.....snooze......ME DA ROARIN AT ME.....fall out of bed.....shower.....into car......onto train......back asleep!!!!!

There's my mornings in a nut shell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,362 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Alarm goes at 8.30, hit snooze, bail out of bed about twenty to 9, shower, shave, pull on clothes, in work for 9(ish).

I don't know how anyone could face getting up at 6 for a 9am start. For the love of yourself, move closer to work!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I get up at 7am or before every day, if I am too tired, I turn on the hair dryer in my face to wake myself up. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

alarm is set for quarter to seven....switch it off....switch off next alarm at 7....switch off next alarm at 7.15 and promptly fall back asleep. Wake up to phone call from dad telling me to get up....fall back asleep....wake up, throw on some clothes and run out the door....arrive to work late.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

my alarm is set for 6am and i get up at 7am, an hour of snooze and fall out of bed. mind i was hitting snooze until 9am this morning :D

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Put the alarm in a saucepan and leave the saucepan over the other side of the room. Works a treat. Although, the last few days, I've been turning it off, then sitting on my bed to put my socks on and falling back to sleep again. Bah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭~Leanne~

Alarm set for 7.45..snooze until 8.00am. Shower, dress, brekkie and out of house at 8.30. In work for 9 :)

For you people who get up and have runs and cycles fair play.....id prob end up falling infront of a bus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

God, I hate waking up before my time. I can never recover properly from waking to an alarm, I have a radio instead.

I set about 4 alarms than go off simultaneously around 7
    they go off approx every 5 mins until I wake between 7.45 + 8.00 out the door around 8.15 to be in for half 8
    I’m just awfull at waking up! Thank god I never need more than 10 mins to get ready!
    God I love not having to tackle the m50 every morning anymore!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭bolliwoodi

seansouth wrote:
    the bastard driver doing one of them 'MUHAHAHAHAHA' evil laughs?

rofl :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I normally try and fall out of the bed and into the shower before I realise what time it is/how tired I still am. After that I'm usually wide awake. Showers ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

I'm terrible getting up in the morning for college i have to set each of the 5 alarms on my phone to get me up and sometimes even that doesn't work.

Cremo wrote:
    I'm terrible getting up in the morning for college i have to set each of the 5 alarms on my phone to get me up and sometimes even that doesn't work.

I never got up for college unless it was an exam. It was always one of those "I'll get up in a minute" type of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Set the alarms for 6.30, 6.45, and 7am... If all goes according to plan, then one of them will wake me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

nowadays i wake up when i feel like it.. the benefits of being self employed :)

but i used to set various alarms around the room to go off at the same time so that it'd force me to get up. that worked well.

getting up is the hardest thing i have to do. i've always hated it. i hate having to set alarms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭ladylorenzo

Alarm goes off at 8.40am..snooze till 8.50am, out the door at 9.05am to be at work for 9am. All you posters are so disciplined!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 craicwhore

one alarm hidden in book case, one in wardrobe, one outside door of room, still late every single day. i HATE getting up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭little miss

I hate mornings! My time is pretty flexible, so tend to stay up late and wake whenever I want to. I can't imagine doing a regular nine to five job. I just can't do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

I have the worst sleep patterns so getting up is not easy, unless it's one of those nasty days when I wake up at 5 or 6 for no apparent reason. I usually set two alarms, plus I set my stereo clock so that today fm comes on automatically while I'm still in bed. One of my alarms is set for too early a time to get up, so that I get up, turn it off and get back into bed! I don't have to be in work til 10 anyday so I can choose how early or late to get up. I'm usually out the door 30/40 minutes after I get up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

jester77 wrote:
    I set the alarm for 6:30 and get out of bed straight away. Snooze annoys me as I would just lie there knowing I have to get up in 10-15 mins anyway! I then do a few things round the house, cook lunch, go for a 45 min cycle at 7, shower, have some brekkie, leave the house at 8:40 and sitting at my desk before 9, nice and fresh!
    You mustn't have too much of a problem getting up. :) Once I hit the bed at night I never wake up during the night. There's no way I could just jump out of bed as soon as I hear the alarm.

I set it for 6.50. Press the 10 minute snooze and straight back asleep again. At 7 I press snooze and throw the phone on the cushions in the corner of the room. I try to wake myself up in that time but usually doze off. Straight out of bed at 7.10 and out of the house at 7.30.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Msfc

Alarm goes off at 8.40am..snooze till 8.50am, out the door at 9.05am to be at work for 9am.

Same as me. I HATE getting up in the morning!! Im always like 'ok ill get up now at ten to'' then it comes to ten to, 'just five more minutes, then ill defo get up'!!
    Also i hate the sound of my alarm when i hear it during the day. Gives me the shivers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

set for 7 get up at 7:30 leave for work 7:31 walk to work 7:40, have tea start at 8.

Thats the plan has yet to work yet, i have yet to be in on time this year but i havent missed a day (personal record that).

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭JustCoz

I wake up as soon as my alarm goes off because I can't stand annoying noises in the morning, I turn it off and usually fall back asleep which means I'm usually late. However now that I'm finished college I actually have to get up on time which is a bit of a shock to the system. Me no like mornings :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

Balls to all of you with your 7am lie ins!

Alarm set for 5.15am, I get up at 5.16am, its best not to avail of the snooze option this early in the morning as it gives you too much time to think about the day ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

alarm goes off at 8, hit snooze button 3 times, get up at 8.30, leave the house at 9.10, get into work at 9.30.
    or on days where I can't have the car, da wakes me up at 7.45, finally struggle out of bed at 8, leave the house at 8.15, get into my da's workshop at 8.30, play tetris till 9.25 then walk up to work.

occasionally i have a driving lesson before work but i have no idea what happens on those days other than that there is a 7 in the time and some guy is saying something about keeping away from parked cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

alarm goes off at 6:25, snooze till 6:45 get up , put on clothes , hop on me bike at 7:10, in work fr 7:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

eirebhoy wrote:
    You mustn't have too much of a problem getting up. :) Once I hit the bed at night I never wake up during the night. There's no way I could just jump out of bed as soon as I hear the alarm.

Becomes routine after a while, I often wake up about a minute before the alarm would go off.

I wasn't always like this though, back in my wild 20's I would set my alarm for 9:30 to be in at work for 9, snooze for about 20 mins, have a hungover shower, grab a breakfast roll & flag down a taxi before stumbling into the office at 10:15!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Tuesday, Thursday and Friday: Alarm goes off at 8, snooze for 10 minutes, get up, shower, breakfast, leave house at 8:40, get train at 8:53, get into work at 9:40.

Monday and Wednesday: All of the above but with the train being at 12:37. Get into work at 1:20 and start at 1:45.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

9:12 Alarm 1 (clock radio) goes off and I semi digest some stuff from the Ray D'Arcy show in my sleep.
    9:18 Alarm 2 goes off, I hit snooze
    9:22 As above
    9:26 As above
    9:30 As above
    9:32 Alarm 3 (phone) goes off. I turn off.
    9:34 Alarm 2 goes off again. I usually get up then, have quick shower, out the door at 9.45 and get in for my 10am start at 10:06
    Sometimes my backup 4th alarm at 9:37 (other phone, no sim) is needed. Then the shower is forsaken and clod water applied to face and head in lieu, wrong socks put on, and work ID forgotten, and get into work at 10:08 in a fluster.

Weekends are better though. I only set 2 alarms, usually for 1.30 and 2.00pm, sometimes I don't set one on Saturday and let nature take it's course, which may be up to 4pm at times.

Ah the life of a poker player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭mkennedy

Alarm goes off at 8.40am..snooze till 8.50am, out the door at 9.05am to be at work for 9am. All you posters are so disciplined!

sounds familiar :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

If I'm up at 8, I'm better off going to sleep around 4. Otherwise I won't be able to get up. 4 hours sleep or 12 hours.