Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help me!! I cant get over my ex!!!!

• 20-06-2007 11:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭

Okay, so its been 3 weeks since i ended the most serious relationship of my life and i still cant get over the girl.
    She meant a lot to me, i really loved her, i still do!
    She loves me too.. she says. But she's going out with this other friend of hers whom she "bounced back" on.
    The future might hold something for us... might! But i cant do this anymore... I cant wait for us to get back together. And thats where i keep finding myself over and over again. I try to move on and i keep failing at it.

Its all been really ****. I cant get her out of my head. I need to get out of this before it kills me!

So guys, do you have any tips or suggestions on how to get over my ex. I still love her and really miss her a lot. Getting her out of my life is like cutting away a part of me...

I dunno.. i think i need some help soon before i get worse!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Illegal Alien

How long were you and her together and what age are you both?

It's tough to answer your questions without knowing the above, but you know, relationships leave people in a fragile state of mind. Any relationship that really ment something to you but ends always feels like the end of the world when you're coming out of it. It's the lack of control over a situation you desperatly want to control but can't.

It messes with your mind. Unfortunatly, there is no cure. Except time.

Just like falling "in love" with someone, it generally occurs because you spend a lot of time together and have lots of fun, it becomes a part of your life, part of your routine.

But also, when you break up, this routine is taken away, this part of your life and you miss it. But just like it drifted in, it slowly drifts back out and you find it easier to move on.

Often at first after a bad break up you don't want to move on, and that's ok, just give yourself time and eventually you'll know you will be happy again with someone else and accept it by letting go.

It's probably one of the hardest situations to deal with in life and unfortunatly some of us have to deal with it more than others, but when it comes down to it and when we do finaly find the person we love and spend our life with, it'll make more the worthwhile. :)

Don't be hard on yourself and give it time. Surround yourself with friends and activitys to keep your mind off it...it'll pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Hmm... Thanks for that advice...
    I'm 19... We were in a relationship for 6months... sorta.. and it ended when the relationship was at its peak. We had to split cuz her mom didnt like us together. Before i could get back to her, next day, she had "bounced back" on with this friend of her's who always liked her.
    We were really close and stuff... I had loads of dreams and plans for us.. It all just hurts me a lot now. Especially the whole thought of her with her new bf...

But i guess i'm only making things worse by hanging onto her and trying to stay friends. It cant happen. I've tried it, it only ended up hurting me and bringing me back to square one. I think the best thing to do for me is to lose all contact with her and stay away from her till i completely recover from this relationship. Then once i'm okay, we can be back friends... well, maybe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I don't know if you have looked through previous threads in PI but "getting over exes" is a very common theme here. Take some time to read previous advice as well as what you get in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

19 years old and 6 months?

You need to learn to control your feelings...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Carrigart Exile

Okay, so its been 3 weeks since i ended the most serious relationship of my life and i still cant get over the girl.
    She meant a lot to me, i really loved her, i still do!
    She loves me too.. she says. But she's going out with this other friend of hers whom she "bounced back" on.
    The future might hold something for us... might! But i cant do this anymore... I cant wait for us to get back together. And thats where i keep finding myself over and over again. I try to move on and i keep failing at it.

Its all been really ****. I cant get her out of my head. I need to get out of this before it kills me!

So guys, do you have any tips or suggestions on how to get over my ex. I still love her and really miss her a lot. Getting her out of my life is like cutting away a part of me...

I dunno.. i think i need some help soon before i get worse!!

It can take forever mate although the ache of loss will disappear after some months (took me 6) in the meantime, fling yourself into work, your mates, sports, etc and avoid her like the plague. Don't take the calls, don't go to the pubs she goes to and to be honest get angry that she dumped you, its all part of teh healing process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

You'll get over her. Trust me.

Time takes Time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

As others have said you will get through this. At the moment you're in panic mode. In panic mode you'll make mistakes. You'll beg and plead and embarrass yourself in front of her. This will not be good for you and sure as hell will drive her further away. Fact. Why denigrate yourself for someone who didn't respect you enough to wait for a while before going off with someone else.

Do nothing. Break all contact. I mean all. It'll help you heal quicker. I guarantee that if you don't now, events will force that in the future and you'll end up back at square one as you've said yourself. Do it now and save yourself weeks/months of emotional turmoil. Be strong about this. She lost all access to your affections and support and emotions the second she jumped ship to another(for the weakest of reasons).

A few other points. She left you for someone else. Game over for me. She didn't love you enough. That was planned in advance. Fact. Just because you didn't get back to her the next day means nothing. If she couldn't wait for just one day before hopping onboard someone else, she doesn't love you enough. Fact. The parents not liking you again is an excuse. While that situation can be difficult, it can be overcome if both want to overcome it. Again she didn't love you enough to try. Fact.

This love you have is all one way. Why wait or pine for someone who didn't return that commitment. As you say forget the friends lark. It's a mugs game. As you realise it'll screw with your head. She doesn't deserve your friendship at the moment. She dumped you. Why be friends with someone who rejected you and then walked into the arms of another within 24 hrs? Makes no sense. If one of your male friends rejected you to the same degree you would scrape them off in double quick time.

6 months while seemingly a lifetime for you when "in Love", is nothing in the great scheme of things. You will look back at this and realise it was a learning experience. Trust me. My first "love" I wouldn't touch with someone elses now. She just wouldn't be my type and indeed wasn't at the time. I just refused to see it, because I was projecting what I wanted onto her. Don't get me wrong, she was a nice woman, but just not for me.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Thanks guys for the help.

I am trying my best here to move on. I've deleted her no from my mobile and removed her from my msn. I'm trying to keep myself occupied with other stuff. I dont know how well its gonna work. I'm trying to start a new life. Start over again. Go back to the person i was before she came into my life. Maybe i'll get better soon and i might also find a better person on the way...

Its just its like a battle in my mind to keep her thoughts locked in. I dont know if i should battle with my own mind. It all seems really tough for me right now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

cheesedude wrote:

this is very important advise, its not going to be easy but you have to learn to train your mind in situations like this, THE SECOND YOU START TO THINK OF HER KEEP TALLING YOUR MIND ''NO'' AND THINK OF SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERANT.....ANYTHING...........it will take some time....and make plans for every minuite, don't sit down festering in front of the t.v. whatever you do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

Take her off your bebo too - the last thing you want is to see her face or feel a desperate need to go clicking on her bebo page to find out what she's doing and what new pictures she has.

Btw, sorry if I'm assuming because you're 19 you have bebo. (but I bet you do :p )

haha drift.. i do have bebo.. and yeah i used to till a few days back, go clicking on her bebo page every often to find out what she's on about... then i realised it was a bad idea!! so i threw her towards the end of my bebo friends so i dont see her face whenever i get on my bebo.
    And i have been keeping myself away from that website lately. Havent been on it much in the past few weeks. Maybe i should delete her from my bebo too. But i instead just stay away from that website... and myspace....!

And i guess i do need to take control of my feelings. This relationship has really changed the person i was. I was the sorta strong, cocky, full of himself person before i got into a relationship with this girl. I now find myself extremely weak (and emo if you'ld like to say!!). I cant seem to take control of my life. I've been using sleep as an escape from the constant thoughts of her that keep bombarding my mind. But i cant keep running away from that all the time.
    I need to get back in control of my life and my emotions. I just wanna get back normal soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

cheesedude wrote:

qft... six months is nothing. try 3 and 1/2 when you're 18!

3 weeks isn't that long anyway, a bit longer and you'll be grand.

Thanks guys for the help.

I am trying my best here to move on. I've deleted her no from my mobile and removed her from my msn. I'm trying to keep myself occupied with other stuff. I dont know how well its gonna work. I'm trying to start a new life. Start over again. Go back to the person i was before she came into my life. Maybe i'll get better soon and i might also find a better person on the way...

Its just its like a battle in my mind to keep her thoughts locked in. I dont know if i should battle with my own mind. It all seems really tough for me right now...

Superb mate, deleting the easy access for her was the correct thing to do. The weekends will be tough at first, maybe worth asking your mates if they fancy having a beer in an another part of town (you can tell them its to check out fresh talent).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

She's seeing someone else. She has zero time in her life for you, and her affections are being spent in another direction. You will NEVER get back with her. And why the **** would you want to? You'd be as well off skipping women between the ages of 18-21 - they haven't a fcuking clue at that age :D

OKay another thing...
    Its her birthday this monday... I dont really know if i should do nothing or just send a lil happy b'day message....
    I had a few plans n stuff for that day... I'm scared its gonna be quite a depressing day for me.....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Do nothing. Your birthday wishes and everything to do with her is now in the past. She doesn't get to receive best wishes from you. Not at the moment anyway. That's the new guys job not yours. Every time you feel bad about her just remember she walked away and immediately was jumping someone elses bones. How is someone like that worth your wishes or even your time.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote:
    Do nothing. Your birthday wishes and everything to do with her is now in the past. She doesn't get to receive best wishes from you. Not at the moment anyway. That's the new guys job not yours. Every time you feel bad about her just remember she walked away and immediately was jumping someone elses bones. How is someone like that worth your wishes or even your time.

Completely agree, you need to be angry with her not moping around wondering what she is doing. You will eventually find the right woman that deserves you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I know exactly how you feel - I've just been through it myself. The best thing is to cut all contact. It DOES get easier. Then I found out my ex was dating someone else last night (she felt she ought to tell me so called over). At first I felt numb, then damn upset that she could be with someone so soon after me. But you know what? I feel f***ing empowered today. I'm kind, clever and as I've been told numerous times quite a looker. I've got good friends and for the time being that's all I need. But hey, both you and me will find women better suited to us. And you know what? We'll probably go through this all again numerous times so we're learning from this! It's a good thing my heart was ripped out! Say it with me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭bandit*baby

cheesedude wrote:

if your in pain it doesnt matter how old you are

i recently broke up with my bf of 2 and1/2 years we were living together and everything.
    its killer even when you do the breaking up just because you love someone doesn't mean that they are right for you

i know that its such a cliche but.....
    time is a great healer and 3 weeks is not enough time to be over

Okay i did it! I just spoke to my ex for the last time and told her i'ld be leaving her and going away. And told her to take care of herself, stay a nice girl and stuff. Also wished her for her b'day. But i wont be contacting her again for a good while. Till i find myself completely over her.

I just felt the need of doing it. Told her i'ld be gone till i heal myself and once i'm better i'll be back and we can be friends again.

I really had to speak to her for one last time before i said goodbye. She was a special girl to me, she was a different girl. I loved her for who she was. I just wanted to make sure, make her promise she'ld remain the nice person she was while i'm away from her. While i'm not there anymore to look after her. She needed to be looked after all along. Now she needs to look after herself.

I wont go back to her until i find myself completely over her. I've deleted her no, i've removed her from my msn, i've put away the memories. I'm gonna start a fresh new chapter of my life now.

So yeah, this is the point where i've leave my past behind and move on to find a new life.
    I wont come back here and whine about my ex again. I wont. All along it had all been a learning curve for me. Now i've learned what i had to. It was just another learning experience.

I just hope i completely get over my ex soon and i then can go back to being friends with her again without feeling the need of wanting something more than friendship back from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Good for you! Best of luck mate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭Sony

Good man Al, Its really not easy but it makes you a lot stronger and you'll see this in the future. What I CAN gaurantee you is that if you get on with your life best you can, work/study , go out with friends etc you'll meet someone whom you find just as special - if not more..pm me if you ever wanna chat bud;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭claire-g

I know exactly how you feel - I've just been through it myself. The best thing is to cut all contact. It DOES get easier. Then I found out my ex was dating someone else last night (she felt she ought to tell me so called over). At first I felt numb, then damn upset that she could be with someone so soon after me. But you know what? I feel f***ing empowered today. I'm kind, clever and as I've been told numerous times quite a looker. I've got good friends and for the time being that's all I need. But hey, both you and me will find women better suited to us. And you know what? We'll probably go through this all again numerous times so we're learning from this! It's a good thing my heart was ripped out! Say it with me!

This is f***ing brilliant, im a chick in the same situation and i felt better just reading this :D

OP, time definately helps to heal, it doesnt matter how long you're with someone or what age you are whatever you feel is valid. That said, 3 weeks is a short time and if you cared for your ex (and i believe you did/do) then give it more time. Some people appear to get over ex's a lot faster but they probably never cared about the other person in the relatioship at all. Call up your mates, do some fun stuff and find yourself again.

Take care
    C

I'm thinking of taking some counselling to get myself over this. Do you think i should go for it or just wait and let time heal my wounds??

My coll gives counselling and pays for first 10 visits.

And do u think counselling would really help me?? How would one go about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭claire-g

I'd say go for it, you can try it out and see how it goes, just because they pay for 10 doesnt mean you have to do 10.

There is probably a counselling service in your college that right?? Just go to them directly and make an appointment, as far as i know thats all you have to do. Im sure your college has a website, look for student services/facilities section and the number for counselling service should be there.

The counselling service in not in the college but its this some phychology practice that does the service for the coll.

I might contact them sometime and take an appointment. I really really wanna get better. This is just killing me everyday. The loss, the memories, the shattered dreams, the failed plans, the loss of the closest person to me, the person i could tell everything to, the person i thought i'ld spend the rest of my life with, the true love of my life, the most awesome friend i ever had. I've really lost a lot by losing her.

You'll lose a lot more by losing yourself. Maybe the whole counselling dealio is the thing. Just remember that you will look back at this and wonder why you thought so much about it and invested so much emotion over so little. I know that sounds strange but it's true.

I hate to raise this again and you probably don't want to hear it. In fact you're most likely blocking it a little, but the fact is this person, the one that you were basing so many hopes and a future on, took less than 24 hrs to jump on someone else. That's a fact. No way to paint it different. The fact is she didn't invest the same feelings in this relationship as you did/do. She didn't love you. Hate to say it but it's true. If she had she wouldn't have jumped someone else so soon after. You're projecting how you feel onto her. Big mistake. She obviously didn't feel the same way. If she had she would have tried to make it work. She would have tried to overcome her parents objection, She wouldn't be now with someone else. She didn't do any of those things.

No matter whether it's 6 months or 6 years those principles hold true. Now why are you the broken one here? I mean she's off with this other guy, probably happy and having fun, yet here you are fretting and moping over the loss. She isn't(other than feeling guilty about you). Of course she isn't. If she was she wouldn't be making future plans with the new man in her life. Why take second best? Sod that. You should the guy that women look at their BFs and go why am I with him.

At the moment it's all raw and new to you. You've invested in someone that as it turns out was an unwise investment. Learn from this and move on. It'll be hard, but first thing you must do is completely drop all contact from her and to her. The B'day thing was a mistake in my opinion. Hey it happened. We all fúck up at times like this. You're panicking at the moment and in panic we all of us do silly things. Let her go.

Look if you truly loved her, her happiness would be what you would be thinking about. At the moment you're thinking about your loss. You're not really thinking about her(though you are pretty sure you are). You're not really thinking about your longterm emotional health either. You are the most importnat thing now. Her new life is taking care of itself.

The real fact is you can do better. You can find someone who will love you for who you are. You can only do that if you leave this fantasy of this woman behind you.

How do you do this? Simple. Really truely want for her happiness. With or without you. Really truly think about your happiness and what you want for you in your life. Realise you don't need someone, especially someone who hurts you like this. Realise that making you the best man you can be is the best way forward and the best way to ensure that when the special woman crosses your path you will appreciate her, because you appreciate yourself.

I got a mate and she's going through what you're going through at the minute sooooo. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭niavie

I've been through the exact same situation recently too so if ya need a chat or an ear to listen pm me!