Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stretch Limo's = Skangers

• 15-06-2007 11:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭

Would you get into a stretch limo ? I see them all the time. Most of the time someone is hanging out the window shouting "Me Bollix"...and thats just the women ! Stylish my arse. I would put them up there with shiny tracksuit wearers ( and pyjamas) and the great smell of brut ! I would rather walk....End of Rant !!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

intheknow wrote:
    Would you get into a stretch limo ? I drive a taxi and see them all the time. Most of the time someone is hanging out the window shouting "Me Bollix"...and thats just the women ! Stylish my arse. I would put them up there with shiny tracksuit wearers ( and pyjamas) and the great smell of brut ! I would rather walk....End of Rant !!:mad:
    Taxi drivers are just as bad, driving from a to b arseways to buff up the meter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭intheknow

Binomate wrote:
    Taxi drivers are just as bad, driving from a to b arseways to buff up the meter.
    God gave you a mouth,use it...tell said driver and only pay your normal fare..Easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

intheknow wrote:
    Would you get into a stretch limo ?

If it was full of booze and strippers I might :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

intheknow wrote:
    Would you get into a stretch limo ?
    Def, never been in one so why not?

"Home, Jeeves" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

intheknow wrote:
    Would you get into a stretch limo ? I see them all the time. Most of the time someone is hanging out the window shouting "Me Bollix"...and thats just the women ! Stylish my arse. I would put them up there with shiny tracksuit wearers ( and pyjamas) and the great smell of brut ! I would rather walk....End of Rant !!:mad:

Haha you got called a bollix tonight from somebody hanging out of a limo and u came onto boards to complain about it! Well done mate.

Get a life!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

To Bel Air!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Stretch limos are so early 90's. Stretch hummers are the new fusheezie or some such.

/edit: iirc there's only one stretch hummer in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

I think they are very tacky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

They are Skangery.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

They're usually full of children in my experience, in the 8-12 age bracket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I saw a pink stretch limo on the N2 exit of the M50 yesterday *shudder*.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Dooom wrote:
    Stretch limos are so early 90's.

So late-70's you mean?

Personally I don't like the idea of sharing cramped quarters with a bunch of yobs. However I guess for these people growing up on council estates with 5 to a bedroom as they do, it's just like being at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Well yeah, but Ireland didn't really catch on to it for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

No These are Skanger Limos...................

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVSrPSNBDSo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Dooom wrote:
    Stretch limos are so early 90's. Stretch hummers are the new fusheezie or some such.

heres a website for one anyway(i know the monk brought one in a while ago but not sure if this is his company)

http://www.celtic-limos.com/index.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Have used one a couple of times going to concerts as they worked out cheaper than buses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

Pigman II wrote:
    So late-70's you mean?

Personally I don't like the idea of sharing cramped quarters with a bunch of yobs. However I guess for these people growing up on council estates with 5 to a bedroom as they do, it's just like being at home.

:D:D:D

totally agree, having worked in a nightclub my experience was that it was usually knackers on hen nights using these vehicles. the issue here is that poor people have a crazy idea of how money is spent by rich people take a 50 cent video as an example the rapper is drowntureed in gold, surrounded by leather bound books and driving fast cars. i doubt the man can barely read let alone critique literature. poor peoples perceptiom of wealth is the reason why they waste money on material goods as soon as they get any on stupid things like stretch limos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

timmywex wrote:
    heres a website for one anyway(i know the monk brought one in a while ago but not sure if this is his company)

http://www.celtic-limos.com/index.php

I think the Monks is white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Dooom wrote:
    iirc there's only one stretch hummer in Ireland.

Yes and its in my pants.

I have seen these limos going around. Usually filled with drunk skangers thinking they are great being about to shout stuff out of a moving limo. Little do they know, you can do the same in a car, Limo's don't have any sort of special powers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

As above, scangers like limos for the same reason they all wear €100+ runners. Because they have a warped sense of material value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'd like to see one where the driver has tried to go round a 90 degree bend on a single-track road. Has anyone ever witnessed this phenomenon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

ejmaztec wrote:
    I'd like to see one where the driver has tried to go round a 90 degree bend on a single-track road. Has anyone ever witnessed this phenomenon?
    I'd like to see the one where they try to do it on the side of a cliff, roll off and explode. But that's just my warped sense of Internet humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

sioda wrote:
    Have used one a couple of times going to concerts as they worked out cheaper than buses
    Did by any chance you call the OP a Bollix earlier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

I'd get in/use one and I'm not a skanger.

Hmm.. did I just ruin the thread?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Cake Fiend wrote:
    As above, scangers like limos for the same reason they all wear €100+ runners. Because they have a warped sense of material value.

oi now leave footwear outta it, nothing wrong with spending money on footwear. as long as it hasn't 3 stripes, a tick or fred perry on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

a tick on it

I don't judge them by the tick on them....I judge them by the bleedin tick in them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Nehpets wrote:

Hmm.. did I just ruin the thread?
    Seconded.

When I see someone hanging out of one I just laugh at the skanger that thinks they are important/that people care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I saw a pink stretch limo on the N2 exit of the M50 yesterday *shudder*.

I saw the exact same one (probably) in Raheny a couple o nights ago. I entertained the idea of hiring one for all my straight male friends for a laugh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

cooperguy wrote:

When I see someone hanging out of one I just laugh at the skanger that thinks they are important/that people care.

I like to humour them and shout and wave back. Make a skanger feel important. Even if it's for just one day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 monkey junkie

As others have said, they are for scumbags, foolishly thinking they can buy "class". Trying to buy class by renting a pink limo with Playboy logos on it is totally retarded.

The remind me of some deluded skanger I once heard saying, "I've got class, I drive a Hyundai Coupe."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Ay Cee

Had a similar conversation the other day. I remember being younger when you might see a limo a year and think "wow, I wonder whos' in that" now it's like "who does that feckin' eegit think he is".

As for ""I've got class, I drive a Hyundai Coupe." - :D

Ay Cee wrote:

As for ""I've got class, I drive a Hyundai Coupe." - :D

Oi!....The Mark I coupe is the best lookin car to ever come out of Korea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Did by any chance you call the OP a Bollix earlier?

:p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

zuutroy wrote:
    Oi!....The Mark I coupe is the best lookin car to ever come out of Korea!
    Not exactly a boast now is it? Let's recap on the list of design classics from Korea.... Hmmmm..... De militarised zone?.........ehhhhhh......hmmmmm. Nope.

Stretch limos. Oh God. Fat laydeeees with belly tops, orange makeup an cellulite of the face. Looking like that, one would suppose that traveling in a pink limo would not be the best way to keep a lower profile.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Peter Collins

PCros wrote:
    Haha you got called a bollix tonight from somebody hanging out of a limo and u came onto boards to complain about it! Well done mate.

Get a life!;)

Zzzzzzzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭saviourgirl

Zzzzzzzzzz

Great reply....you must be real interesting to hang out with...oh no wait. Thank feck I dont know you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Peter Collins

Great reply....you must be real interesting to hang out with...oh no wait. Thank feck I dont know you!

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭saviourgirl

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Didnt ask for a summary of you in bed. Good nite! Ouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

What's the big deal about mostly Kids having fun in limos, there's no problem in people having mainly harmless fun. Live and let live.

As for all the class discrimination crap, well it reflects poorly on the posters and without even drilling down into the specifics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Dooom wrote:
    You don't remember correctly so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Nermal

Nehpets wrote:

Yes you are. I can picture you now, posting from an enormous plasma television. Return to your batch bread and chinese food please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

intheknow wrote: »

Who gives a ****? If the opportunity to get in one ever arises then walk. While your friends have fun you can be safe in the knowledge that your not a skanger, just abit of a knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Putting a plural in an apostrophe in a thread title? SKANNGGGEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Oooooooooooooooold thread.

And just to provide something odd, 89 million babies have been born since the last post on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Judging by the responses here, now is probably not the best time to try and market my Stretch Lada Samara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

What the hell this thread was on the front page...fecking weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

The skanger has evolved a lot lately, they dress like gays, have sonic the hedgehog hairstyles and tuck their trousers into their socks? And some even use straighteners, these are known as 'the pretty boys', they wear a lot of designer clothes too? Whats with that? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I don't think much of stretch limos in Ireland, however when I was in NY there was literally hundreds to be seen per day and I often wondered who was in them (given that it's manhattan). Even got a stretch back to JFK since it worked out pretty cheap.

Plus I posted here 10 mins after the guy who dug it up and my post disappeared

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    The skanger has evolved a lot lately, they dress like gays, have sonic the hedgehog hairstyles and tuck their trousers into their socks? And some even use straighteners, these are known as 'the pretty boys', they wear a lot of designer clothes too? Whats with that? :confused:
    They work in trades so up until now have had a bit of cash to be splashing on themselves given they all still live with the ma and don't have any expenses