Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Happy Ending

• 11-06-2007 9:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭

Hey guys,

Well, a few weeks ago I suggested the creation of a subforum for PI where people could tell their success stories, of how things have worked out for them to maybe inspire others. It didnt get a lot of support so hopefully we can make it work within this forum. I'll get the ball rolling with a story I cant stop telling people lately, and am honoured to share with my fellow boardsies !! :D Be warned, however, Im a bit tired after work so the following tale may not be in order and might resemble a rant structure-wise, but bear with me... This is a long story, but I like to think of it as a fairytale and if theres an old romantic inside of you, I think you might like this fairytale in particular.

A bit about me:
    Male, 19 years old, from Kilkenny

My Problem Was: Long Distance Relationship

Ok well, where to start. Through my early teenage years, (13-17) I was never fond of going out to discos with my friends just to pull a girl so to speak. I did go out, but not with that intention. It never made sense to me, and still doesnt but I dont judge others for doing so. Its just my opinion that it sells yourself a bit cheap but if you like, then by all means enjoy it. It wasnt for me however. Ive always been a bit of a romantic, id listen to soppy music and imagine dates and future incidents with a girl (whom I didnt know, I usually made her up - a bit sad, I know). But thats who I was, I longed for a girlfriend but never had the balls to go out and find one. Bring on 5th year in my school.

I entered a competition, which I won which meant that myself and 9 of my classmates got to travel to Strasbourg to visit the European Parliament buildings and there other schools from around Ireland (4 in total, I think) and 2 from Northern Ireland, along with hundreds from around Europe. Anywho, on one of the nights in the hotel (where all the Irish and Northern Irish schools were staying) our teachers all decided that we should have a table quiz with a different person from a different school on each team. I wasnt too keen on the idea (im usually not great with strangers) so I didnt go looking for someone, I decided to wait and see who was left at the end. There was me and 5 other girls (it was mostly all girls schools apart from 2 of the schools). One of the girls stood out so much. She was beautiful and stunning - a model if Id ever seen one. The type of girl Id been fantasising about all those years but one which I knew I never stood a chance. I was sitting beside her - I expected her to be a bit stuck up and not take much notice of me, being so good looking and all. But man was I wrong. She was incredible friendly, interesting, funny and had a damn sexy accent too (Northern Irish, gets me every time :o ). Ive been told that one of my best characteristics is that Im a very funny guy, and admittedly, I was on form that night lol. I was telling some great jokes, getting some good laughs and she seemed really interested. I was delighted to be on her team. It was great, and after the table we went our seperate ways back to our respective groups again. I couldnt stop talking about her all night to the 2 guys I was sharing a room with (good friends of mine). Im sure I wrecked their heads cos I wouldnt shut up about this gorgeous girl I was talking to. They knew I never talked to women that much so Im sure they suspected I was making the most of a passing conversation or something.

Anyway, the next day, I couldnt keep my eyes off her but with the time that had passed since the table quiz the previous night, I didnt know what to do, how to approach her and continue our chat - I hadnt done anything like this before. Heck, Id never even kissed a girl before. That night, our groups all went bowling and I was over the moon to hear that it was the same teams as in the table quiz. However, once we got there, despite my pleading with our teacher, new groups were formed. (Funny story came from this, I was put in a group with all girls again, and wanting to impress them, I bowled first. I picked up my ball, strode up to the line and guided the ball down the lane with an air of cockiness. Strike. I turned around as cool as you like and strutted back to my chair only to hear a big computerised voice and warning siren behind me 'DISQUALIFIED.....DISQUALIFIED.....DISQUALIFIED'. Queue the hysterics from the girls and a bright red glow from moi!) Anyway, I kept walking past her lane, taking a peek at her, and even timed my break to get a soft drink from the bar at the bowling alley to the same time as her. However her friends were always with her and I couldnt approach them. I wasnt THAT confident. When we got back to the hotel, I asked my good friend Christine from our school to maybe ask her to come to a wee party we were having in our room that night, and she said yes. Almost forgot to mention that the girls name in question is Grace! Anyway, Grace said yes and I was thrilled. Would I get my first kiss if I played my cards right?

All the lads and a crowd of the girls were playing football with a wee miniature rugby ball I bought on the lawn in front of the hotel that night. Having great craic, and I could see Grace watching us. She was with a group of people, a couple of whom were friends from my school. I went over, and Grace offered us all some sweets. I was chuffed lol. Anyway, that night came and she never showed up - turns out there were teachers on patrol stopping people from room hopping (it was a cool hotel by the way, like a two story log cabin and to go between rooms, you had to go outside onto the balcony that went the whole way around).

We were leaving to go back to Ireland the next day. It was a 9 hour bus journey to the airport and the whole time I couldnt stop thinking about her while everyone else on the bus slept. At the airport in France I stood beside Grace in the queue to check in our luggage. We shared a few wee chats, but we were both knackered. I even looked after her bag while she went to the toilet. But I couldnt quite gather the courage to ask for her number. We got on the plane (I was hoping Id be sititng beside her but we had assigned seats). I was sitting beside Christine, so I asked her maybe if she would get Graces number and pass it on to me. She said she would, but it turns out I wouldnt need her to do it. Back in Dublin Airport, while waiting for our bags to come onto the conveyor belt, Grace and I stood beside each other. We had a wee chat and I really enjoyed her company. She was looking beautiful as ever. Suddenly, a few girls from another school came over and started asking everybody for phone numbers and email addresses. I had a phone number, but I didnt have an email address at the time. I was putting in another girls phone number who had given it to me (I hadnt asked lol) when Grace was just about to go. I asked her could I have her phone number, and she was happy to give it to me (had to cancel entering the other girls number lol but she never noticed!). I asked her for her email address, and she asked for mine. I made up one using my own name and could only hope it wasnt taken already. I should have hugged her goodbye, heck, I should have kissed her but no. Stupid old me shook her fooking hand like an eejit :o:o and left it at that.

I thought about her the whole way back to Kilkenny, and as soon as I got home, I sent her a text and an email. a day passed and I heard nothing. I was having suspicions that she was just being nice to me while there in person and now she didnt have to worry about me. But a couple days later I checked my email and I had a message from her. Turns out that she rarely ever used her phone and as a result, never checked it for messages. And the reason she hadnt email me was because she was at a music concert for St. Patricks Day. I should also mention that my email address worked by this stage lol. Anyway, we talked by email, msn, and text message all summer. We got on like a house on fire. I mentioned one time, only in passing conversation, that I was going to a certain music festival that we cant speak about (Mods: I wont mention it by name, but it plays an important part in this story so please leave this part in) and it so happened that she was going too! I was ecstatic!

Well, the festival came around and we met up on the first night. We spent the whole weekend together, saying goodbye for the night each night and meeting up again the next day. It was great, I was really proud of how good I was doing. I fixed her bag when it broke, we got matching temporary tatoos, and I let her lie back against me and rest her head and back against me while in the queue for the pit for the stage. Just standing there and holding her was amazing. We had a great time for all the bands, but one moment in particular stands out, and its the best moment of my life. The Foo Fighters were on stage and played an acoustic version of their song Everlong - a beautiful romantic slow song (I recommend you search for it on YouTube to truly understand how romantic this occasion was). She grabbed my arms and wrapped them even tighter around her while I savoured the moment. I was in heaven without a doubt. I was looking forward to spending a few hours with her after the music had stopped but it turned out her brother was leaving that night and not the next morning, so she had to go. I dont mind saying that I cried myself to sleep in my tent that night and none of my friends could console me.

When I got home, I had a ticket for The Game (of Hate It or Love it fame lol)concert waiting for me. I got whatever change I had left from the weekend and bought another one for her, before i even asked if she wanted to go. I knew that rap wasnt even her type of music, but I had to try. She said she was delighted, so we went to that concert (with some of my friends). Again, I held her all night as she was tired (a bit strange, considering the genre of music that was blaring!) but I enjoyed it. I walked her across the bridge to her brothers apartment (he lives in Dublin afterward) and as we said goodbye, we went quite for a moment. Everything was saying kiss her, I even sensed that she wanted it but I just couldnt pluck up the courage to do it. It is a huge regret I still carry to this day, so I simply said goodbye and looked forward to seeing her again.

The next day we were texting each other, and I asked her if she enjoyed it, had a good time etc. She said 'yes i did, but...' and I asked what she meant by that. Then she said she hoped something would happen but was too shy to say. I asked her if she thought we should have kissed and she said yes. I could have died a happy man. It all came out. I told her how much I loved her, how I dreamed about her every night and thought about her every day. She said some pretty damn complimentary things back. We were officially boyfriend and girlfriend! But then there was the distance...

We lived 5 hours from each other. We arranged to meet in Dublin (where we shared our first kiss in the cinema during Herbie of all movies haha). Saying goodbye was the hardest thing I had ever done. But we met up a few times for the rest of the year, and I even went up to her house for the first time that November (2005) for her formal (debs). (im older than her but she repeated the northern irish equivalent of 5th year, so she got to go to her old classes debs too). It was magical. She was breathtakingly beautiful. I also got on well with her family and friends. It seemed too good to be true.

I always treated her like a queen because she deserved it. We even got to go to another Foo Fighters concert and share the Everlong moment again which was amazing. Over the year I had saved any mementos from our dates, such as ticket stubs, receipts, pictures of places we went, song lyrics that were personal to us and made a scrapbook for her. She really liked it, but not as much as I liked the gift she gave me - a big Tony Montana from Scarface model (if you knew me, a Scarface gift is the best gift you could give me lol :p ). Things were amazing.

The next year was much of the same, meeting up in Dublin every now and then, staying at each others house - she even came to my debs in August. We went ot that music festival again, sharing our own tent this time. I went to her second formal in November (the formal for her new class) and got on with all her new friends. It was amazing. She even came down to my house for New Years Eve and we went to a wedding together on Stephens Day. We were a proper couple in every aspect, except for the distance.

I had planned to go to Trinity College to be closer to her (she was still in school the first year id be in college). But I got kind of cheated. I got 470 points, I needed 475. By the time the results of my recheck had come in and I had gotten the required 475, the year had already begun and I was even further away in Waterford and very unhappy. The distance issue was getting to me more and more and with me in college, and Grace in her final and most important year of school, we didnt get to see each other as much as the previous 2 years. I was miserable in Waterford, I wont put it any other way. It was a truly torrid time of my life. I had to do something about it. So I did. I made the hardest decision Ive ever had to make in my life.

I applied to transfer to Queen's University - the same college that Grace has applied to. I would be leaving all the friends I had made in Waterford and would be starting all over again. There are also serious financial consequences - I cant reclaim a grant for a repeat year. There are tuition fees plus being so far away from home would cost more. But word came in a few weeks ago that my application was succesful. I was going to Queens. Grace also got word that she was accepted to Queens should her results satisfy the entry requirements (she passed the Interview and Medical stage required for her course). Now, we are simply waiting for September to roll round so we can move in together. We wont be sharing an apartment (it would be a bit much to move to a situation of seeing each other every hour of every day after having so much distance and time apart for the previous 2 years). But we will be in the same apartment complex so we can call round whenever we wish.

We really do believe that we are soulmates and were meant to be together for the following reasons:
    • We were born exactly 9 months to the day apart (sept 25th and june 25th) apart. We like to think that God wanted us to be together, so he made me and as soon as he was finished he started making Grace.
    • Both our schools did the European studies subject required for the competition to Strasbourg
    • We both did the European Studies subject in our respective schools
    • Both our schools decided to enter the competition (it was not compulsory)
    • We were both selected in the group of 10 to enter
    • Both our schools won
    • We shared the same flights and hotel
    • We were put in the same team at the table quiz, despite the teachers first tellling us that it should be school versus school but then changing their mind to a participant from each school per team.
    • We got on so well together, and their was an immediate connection.
    • We both had tickets to the same music festival before we even met.

Basically, we have so much in common its scary/awesome.

We're a very open couple, we discuss the future feely and call it the folly of youth if you wish, but we are madly in love and want to get married and have a family when we're in our mid-late twenties (we've planned quite a bit! :p ). Ok, maybe calling this My Happy Ending is a bit premature, but there has been nothing so far to suggest that we wont be together forever and I look forward to posting a My Happy Ending updated version of this story in years to come. :)

Right, well if you made it this far, I hope you liked my story. What Im trying to tell people is, long distance relationships are hard. You cant always wait for things to work themselves out - you have to take it into your own hands and sometimes that invovles a life changing decision, in my case moving 5 hours away from home, repeating a year of college and investing a lot of money into this year. It can work, It does work and if you are in a similar situation, I hope it will work out for you. Like I said, if youve made this far, I thank you for reading. All the best,

Arc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Damn, thats the longest post ever. :D

I saw your suggestion for the sub forum a while back.

Anyway, I hope it all works out for yous. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Post in a few years, when you're a bitter, broken, twisted, hurt man.

Happy beginning, more like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

^Not enjoying the single life, eh? Dont worry man, join a club, travel abroad, start a new hobby etc.

Tcht tcht, bitter mods - their power cant buy them happiness... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Actually I'm in a long term relationship and am jetting off with my other half to the live on the other side of the world in a few weeks!

Seriously though, planning marriage with a girl you've spent a few weekends with? You're young, and your first grown-up relationship is always something special. We've all been there, done that and bought the t-shirt. Still, 99 times out of a hundred, they end in tears. A year apart can be easier to deal with than living on top of each other for a year, as you may find out!

But hey, if it works out, good for you. I wouldn't book the church just yet though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Youre welcome to your opinion by all means. I look forward to proving you wrong though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭spidermonkey

good luck with it, you sound pretty happy anyway.
    but dont build yourself up any more,
    everything comes to an end, and you'll be crushed when it does, good luck with it all the same, hope queens goes alright for you.
    a mate of mine is from waterford, he thinks the place is horrible too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Well I'm the bitter and twisted type, beaten down by harsh experience to a point where nothing would surprise....Cue violins:D And I say damn the naysayers to hell, You enjoy your life and keep hoping, loving and living.

Northern Irish eh? that's one part of the country I haven't ruined my chances in yet... worth a punt I reckon.:D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Best of luck for the future whatever happens, as you know this is coming from someone who got married from a long distance relationship alot of hard work into it (3 years married a few weeks ago, hard to believe) and couldn't be happier now. That doesn't happen too often unfortunately. Enjoy yourself anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Blondie86Star

Ok...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭microgirl

Awww pet, that's a gorgeous story. You're makin' me cry :)

Well done on generally being (well, seeming ;)) such a mature young man and very well done on making and taking such a hard decision. I hope you get everything you deserve. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Reading that is a savage start to the day - i'm going to see my missus for the first time in 2 months tomorrow (My own LDR hell ;) ). Excellent. Hope it all works out well for you. It really is such a great reward when you sacrifice so much for someone you love

d ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Giant who cares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

SetantaL wrote:
    Giant who cares.
    Yeah pointless. What do you want a clap on the back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Damn, I thought this was going to be about a visit to a massage parlour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

setantaL et. al.: if you have a problem with a thread or post, please use the report post function

regards

mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Archimedes wrote:
    We really do believe that we are soulmates and were meant to be together for the following reasons:
    • We were born exactly 9 months to the day apart (sept 25th and june 25th) apart. We like to think that God wanted us to be together, so he made me and as soon as he was finished he started making Grace.
    • Both our schools did the European studies subject required for the competition to Strasbourg
    • We both did the European Studies subject in our respective schools
    • Both our schools decided to enter the competition (it was not compulsory)
    • We were both selected in the group of 10 to enter
    • Both our schools won
    • We shared the same flights and hotel
    • We were put in the same team at the table quiz, despite the teachers first tellling us that it should be school versus school but then changing their mind to a participant from each school per team.
    • We got on so well together, and their was an immediate connection.
    • We both had tickets to the same music festival before we even met.
    • We both have 2 eyes each
    • We both eat Cornflakes
    • We both have watched Television, sometimes even the same programme
    • We both know the lyrics to Jingle Bells
    • We both bot the same CD

Yep, that's some serious soul mate shizzle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

*sigh*

Oh the glorious folly of youth. "We'll be 2gether 4ever!!"

You wont be. You will do some serious changing in the next few years to come.

Everybody's first "true love" feels like that.

Whatever, enjoy your honeymoon period while it lasts, but try to remember this post in 10 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Listen guys /girls,

It's nice to hear a happy story for once !

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Good luck, you'll eh nee...
    I mean, good luck! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

**** the begrudgers archimedes, thats a great story, I hope ye are very happy. Enjoy this, cause mate it doesn't come along that often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭GretchenWieners

Great ending! Hope it works out. Don't mind the bitter people. One of my teachers married his first girlfriend. Have kids and are married now. You're one of the lucky ones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I just have to lol

Make a reminder to post in about 4/5 years time and then let us know the true extent of your happy ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Don't mind the knockers, Archimedes.

So maybe it will last for ever, and maybe it won't. That really isn't the point.

Live now to the full, and whatever happens you will have wonderful memories.

And fair play for having the guts to go after the dream ... in my experience you never regret what you did half as much as what you didn't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

BaZmO* wrote:
    • We both bot

HACKERZ!!!!!!!11 :D

*claps* beautiful story, really hope it works out for both of you.

/edit
    Archimedes wrote:
    Through my early teenage years, I was never fond of going out to discos with my friends just to pull a girl so to speak. I did go out, but not with that intention. It never made sense to me, and still doesnt but I dont judge others for doing so. Its just my opinion that it sells yourself a bit cheap but if you like, then by all means enjoy it. It wasnt for me however. Ive always been a bit of a romantic, id listen to soppy music and imagine dates and future incidents with a girl (whom I didnt know, I usually made her up - a bit sad, I know). But thats who I was, I longed for a girlfriend but never had the balls to go out and find one. Bring on 5th year in my school.
    ... I never talked to women that much....
    ...Id never even kissed a girl before ...

Hi, you just described me. give or take a few very fine details..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Puke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭bilbo79

Hope it works for you dude-but its a funny story-:D like it was written by a lovesick girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

That was nice :]