Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seanad Elections

• 11-06-2007 8:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭

Just received a Bebo message from Stephen Douglas asking for my vote. Seems a novel way to canvass! Any one else been asked for their vote yet? And who's running? Sorry if this has already been posted - just curious as I'm out of the loop at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Novel? I call it spam :D.

The three main runners are Sen Shane Ross, Sen David Norris and Prof Bacik. Dunno about the rest of the soon-to-be also-rans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Novel? I call it a little bit too novel for a fine institution such as ours.

Keep your bebo internets and your modern telecommunication devices where they belong - in the gutter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭little miss

Novel? I call it a little bit too novel for a fine institution such as ours.

Keep your bebo internets and your modern telecommunication devices where they belong - in the gutter

Indeed! That's why it shocked me to see such methods being used by a candidate! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

Really, at 20 I'd consider myself nearly too old for Bebo, let alone someone running for a governmental position. I'd be far less likely to vote for a candidate who tried to canvass me through it. If that makes grammatical sense, which I'm pretty sure it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

shay_562 wrote:
    I'd be far less likely to vote for a candidate who tried to canvass me through it.
    The problem seems to be that candidates don't understand the etiquette of using social networking sites like Bebo or Myspace. To them, it's an easy way to reach a target audience in one quick swoop; they don't realise that there's something very gauche, gawky and uh, weird about seeing candidates trying to be your friend on Bebo. It's the same way that some candidates during the general elections started blogs during the campaign, which they hardly ever updated and looked crap; there's no point in trying out these new things if it's just tokenistic.

I don't think that this will change in Ireland until we get a candidate that people actually want to be connected to - for example, Barack Obama has over 100,000 friends on his Myspace page.

Anyway, rant aside, I can't find a full list of candidates for TCD anywhere. Will keep looking.

The list is here.

A Leixlip man is running!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

Laika wrote:
    The problem seems to be that candidates don't understand the etiquette of using social networking sites like Bebo or Myspace. To them, it's an easy way to reach a target audience in one quick swoop; they don't realise that there's something very gauche, gawky and uh, weird about seeing candidates trying to be your friend on Bebo. It's the same way that some candidates during the general elections started blogs during the campaign, which they hardly ever updated and looked crap; there's no point in trying out these new things if it's just tokenistic.
    Yeah. Getting young and cool supporters to promote you over social networking sites is a much better idea than trying to do it yourself.;)

Ibid wrote:
    The list is here.

A Leixlip man is running!

Thank you! That's what I was looking for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

For those who have trouble opening PDFs the list is:

1.Ivana Bacik - Lecturer
    2.Shay Conway - Research Analyst / Commercial Mediator
    3.Stephen Douglas - Parliamentary Adviser
    4.Ike Efobi - System Analyst / IT Auditor
    5.Maurice Guéret - Medical Doctor
    6.David Hutchinson Edgar - Lecturer
    7.Rosaleen McDonagh - Community Development Co-ordinator
    8.David Martin - Secondary Teacher
    9.David Norris - Sitting Senator
    10.Seán O'Connor - Sports Promoter / Business Man
    11.Shane Ross - Sitting Senator & Journalist

Ross and Norris had literature out in the post from ages ago onwards ahead of the election. Bacik also had info out a long time ago. For over a year and continually (even got one again yesterday) Sean O'Connor has been sending lots of stuff out. Got a letter and manifesto from Shay Conway in the post last week.

Don't know that much about the others. I believe Stephen Douglas is parliamentary assistant to one of the Labour TDs (Mary Upton perhaps? could be wrong). David Hutchinson Edgar is a member of the Green Party, he's married to my dad's cousin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

interesting, I appear to have been left alone. Is there anywhere I can check the register online to see if the Ed appears there?

Dead Ed wrote:
    interesting, I appear to have been left alone. Is there anywhere I can check the register online to see if the Ed appears there?

There was some sort of hiccup at the start of the year where 700 odd people were wiped off the register or something. At the time Shane Ross was saying if you emailed him he'd make sure you were on the register. I emailed him to check at the time and he got back to me within a few hours. His address is Shane.Ross [a t] oireachtas.ie. No idea if he's still doing it but I'm guessing he'd always be eager to be in touch with potential voters a fortnight before an election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Dubliniensis

Dead Ed wrote:

You can check the current register in House 5, College.
    http://www.tcd.ie/Senior_Lecturer/apse/apseser.php

When did you graduate? I got my bit of paper in November 2001 but none of the 2001 graduates were eligible to vote in the 2002 Seanad election! If I remember correctly, one of the 2002 candidates was standing to highlight the "disenfranchisement" of the graduates of 2001!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

Andrew 83 wrote:
    Don't know that much about the others. I believe Stephen Douglas is parliamentary assistant to one of the Labour TDs (Mary Upton perhaps? could be wrong).
    It is indeed Mary Upton. He was also parliamentary assistant to Ciarán Cuffe of the Greens at one point.

Andrew 83 wrote:
    There was some sort of hiccup at the start of the year where 700 odd people were wiped off the register or something. At the time Shane Ross was saying if you emailed him he'd make sure you were on the register. I emailed him to check at the time and he got back to me within a few hours. His address is Shane.Ross [a t] oireachtas.ie. No idea if he's still doing it but I'm guessing he'd always be eager to be in touch with potential voters a fortnight before an election.
    Cheers, I'll send a carrier pigeon his way.

You can check the current register in House 5, College.
    http://www.tcd.ie/Senior_Lecturer/apse/apseser.php

When did you graduate? I got my bit of paper in November 2001 but none of the 2001 graduates were eligible to vote in the 2002 Seanad election! If I remember correctly, one of the 2002 candidates was standing to highlight the "disenfranchisement" of the graduates of 2001!
    ah, I graduated last October (or November. Forgotten already), I'll have a gander at the register and he'll see what the story is (the gander).

Andrew 83 wrote:
    Ross and Norris had literature out in the post from ages ago onwards ahead of the election. Bacik also had info out a long time ago. For over a year and continually (even got one again yesterday) Sean O'Connor has been sending lots of stuff out. Got a letter and manifesto from Shay Conway in the post last week.
    I haven't had anything from Ross, Bacik or O'Connor yet - maybe they didn't send it out to people who've graduated in the past year? I got the stuff from Norris and Shay Conway yesterday, but that's it so far.

Oh and Maurice Gueret is the editor of the Irish Medical Directory and I think he writes a column in the Sindo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

Vote Maurice Gueret!

He's sound as a pound, good person to chat to and also active in politics as an independent.

He's a prolific medical and non-medical writer and an outspoken and constructive critic of the irish health care system.

DrIndy wrote:
    Vote Maurice Gueret!

He's sound as a pound, good person to chat to and also active in politics as an independent.

He's a prolific medical and non-medical writer and an outspoken and constructive critic of the irish health care system.

Surely we have enough health-care critics? Why didn't he run in the general election if that is his thing? What does he want to do for TCD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Is there any way of checking if you're on the register without going into TCD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

Exactly. It's somewhere between condescending ("The only way you'll understand politics is if I add a skin and a flashbox to it") and just plain sad (take any example of your parents or their contemporaries attempting to use "young people" slang), and really doesn't create a good impression.

former member of this board had a picture of himself with Enda Kenny as his bebo profile picture (when he was doing something with Fine Gael)- now that's getting down with the cool kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭gilroyb

Well in fairness, it's probably a young assistant who is doing it, so it's not quite as bad as the senator themselves getting down with the youth.

That said there are few bebo students who are also able to vote in these elections, the youngest of whom are scholars, who are most likely to be well informed anyway.

I wouldn't say it will have much effect, but it if gets any potential voters to the candidates website, then it could be marginally useful.

Judging by the candidates, is it anything but inevitable that it will be Bacik, Norris, and Ross, though probably not in that order?

former member of this board had a picture of himself with Enda Kenny as his bebo profile picture (when he was doing something with Fine Gael)- now that's getting down with the cool kids!
    We love Agent_Smith.

Really?! God, that is sad! I would have thought FGs would like to keep their affiliation to the party quiet! Especially given the election results.. Bet the picture is down by now! ;)

True, but he's planning on selling his soul in five years time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Suzybie

Rosaleen McDonagh has no bebo or myspace page you'll be glad to know, she has a website and is blogging the campaign also.

Rosaleen ran in 2001 and obtained 733 first preferences which was good for a first time candidate in an election where incumbents are very advantaged. She might be known to some people for her work as Traveller and disability activist. Anyway I know I'm biased as a friend but thought I'd ask voters to give her a look and a high preference if so disposed.

Shay Conway just called to the door and canvassed me about 15 mins ago, only one to do so so far.

Suzybie wrote:
    Rosaleen McDonagh has no bebo or myspace page you'll be glad to know, she has a website and is blogging the campaign also.

She's also advertising on boards.ie I see :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Suzybie

Myth wrote:
    She's also advertising on boards.ie I see :p

:D So she is! A woman with great taste!

Does anyone know why the BESS stalwarts decided not to run this time? It's not like them to let the fact they wont win stop them.

Also, does anyone else think it's strange that none of the university senators (NUI or TCD) are an academic (rather than medical) doctor?

gilroyb wrote:
    Also, does anyone else think it's strange that none of the university senators (NUI or TCD) are an academic (rather than medical) doctor?

Ivana might correct that.

Andrew 83 wrote:
    Ivana will correct that.

fixed that for you

Andrew 83 wrote:
    Ivana might correct that.

IIRC Ivana doesn't have a doctoral degree...

Yeah but neither does William Binchy. Doctorates aren't the done thing in Law, really.

She has a professorship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Ibid wrote:
    Yeah but neither does William Binchy. Doctorates aren't the done thing in Law, really.

She has a professorship.

Technically, professorships are more like an administrative grade in the civil service, something you get by promotion (like Assistant Principal Officer being promoted to Principal Officer) than an actual academic degree attained through research and learning. There are many professors around the world who got where they are by just sticking it out in their departments and waiting for seniority without trying for or attaining a PhD (that's not to say that they aren't good researchers/publishers, which is the modern yardstick for promotion, irrespective of teaching ability). Crudely put, a professorship is a position, albeit a position attained by a demonstrable capacity for the job; a PhD is an academic qualification.

And as for them not being popular in law, I don't know about that. The chief solicitor for Eircom proudly (and insistently) refers to himself as "Doctor". Perhaps it's like the medical consultants opting and preferring to call themselves "Mister". Just because someone doesn't call themselves "Doctor" in public, doesn't mean that they don't have a PhD.

I'm suprised Binchy allegedly doesn't have a PhD. Are you sure that you're not assuming that "Dr" and "Prof" are mutually exclusive?

Perhaps it's like the medical consultants opting and preferring to call themselves "Mister".

That's a bit different... Surgeons upon attaining membership or fellowship of any of the Royal Colleges of Surgeons usually refer to themselves as "Mister" (or Miss/Ms). This is a throwback to medieval times when surgery was not generally conducted by physicians (ie- doctors), but by barbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Are you sure that you're not assuming that "Dr" and "Prof" are mutually exclusive?
    That couldn't be the case: Ibid is one of the foremost experts on all things Trinity-related. In fact, I doubt anyone would think that.

Ibid wrote:

Just had a look at the Calendar and of the 12 full-time permanent academic staff in the School of Law, 6 hold doctoral degrees, either a PhD or an LLD.

Compare this to any of the science departments...where pretty much everyone holds a PhD.

Ibid wrote:
    She [Ivana] has a professorship.

The Reid Professorship of Criminal Law, Criminology and Penology which Ivana holds isn't a professorship in the true sense of the word... Appointments are made on the lecturer scale and IIRC from the election bumph I got from her she's senior lecturer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

europerson wrote:
    That couldn't be the case: Ibid is one of the foremost experts on all things Trinity-related.

I guess I'll take your word on that. Unless that's sarcasm?

europerson wrote:
    In fact, I doubt anyone would think that.

You'd be surprised at the amount of popular confusion. I often get something like this: "So what are you going to do next? Do a professorship?"...

I blame Doctor Who, whose arch-nemesis is "the Master".:)

I guess I'll take your word on that. Unless that's sarcasm?
    It was half-in-jest ;).
    You'd be surprised at the amount of popular confusion. I often get something like this: "So what are you going to do next? Do a professorship?"...
    I am certainly not popular. As Dubliniensis pointed out, relatively few Law Vice-Deanery of the sub-school of the sub-faculty of the sub-academy staff went beyond masters' level.
    The Reid Professorship of Criminal Law, Criminology and Penology which Ivana holds isn't a professorship in the true sense of the word... she's senior lecturer.
    Right you are! My mistake. Should I assume that legal eagles are inarticulate from now on? :D.

Have people received their voting papers yet? No sign of mine so far.

Andrew 83 wrote:
    Have people received their voting papers yet? No sign of mine so far.

Me neither!

Nor me. It's weird - weren't they sent out on the 18th?

My papers just arrived a minute ago

Does anyone know what the requirements are for a witness? I presume it can be anyone seeing as these ballots could be filled out anywhere in the world?

hmmm, picked up me begging letters today. Mostly tacky postcards (a load of them were burned by t'auld lad, fair play). I had a nice personally written and hand signed letter from David Norris on some real nice watermarked paper. I'll bear that in mind! A similar deal from you-know-who but his policy sheet was printed from his website and is cack. Don't think I got anything from ivana but that's not going to make any difference (I'm not a self hating male so won't be shamed into voting for her!). Hmmm, choices choices.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

searched for this thread when I saw that the first few posts are quoted in the Sunday Tribune today.

Quentin Fottrell called Little Miss on her quick about turn of opinion!