Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Ireland ever have an ethnic neighbourhood?

• 09-06-2007 5:22pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭

With the large rates of immigration in recent years, can anyone see a wave of ethnic neighbourhoods simliar to what you see in areas of the States and the UK? E.g. chinatown, koreatown n the more obvious level.

How would this fare in ireland with us being a small nation? would there be opposition to areas becoming ethnic dominated?

No racist comments please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Well, Parnell St is the obvious example here.
    And Rahoon in Galway has a reputation as an area with a very sizable number of blacks.

And then there is Dublin which is overwhelmed with culchies :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Parnell street was little Russia, Inchicore was named Afri-core so already started :D

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Dunlin 8... check it out in ten years time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

There used to be one on the Tallaght bypass in the 80's......

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

You mean to imply that Ireland was not a land of immigration destination? Lets see, Olaf founded Dub and he was what... a Viking or something? Galway was always a destination for French traders, and many of them stayed over the past 1000 years? Of course we had all those invaders? Saxons? Normans? Welsh? Scots? Brits? Danes? The list goes on and on. So a few now trickle in cause our economy is growing? Same tune, what verse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

nipplenuts wrote:

???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 JohnnyFilters

Definitely! There was a Jewish area in Cork, and there's a place up in Dublin near enough to Croke Park that seems to be like a Chinatown

there's a place up in Dublin near enough to Croke Park that seems to be like a Chinatown

Think you may be imagining things, my friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I think Johny Filters in referring to Parnell St and that's pretty close to Croke Park.

On one of David McWilliams programs there had a realy succesful Chineese entrepreneur who wanted to buy up the property in the area and turn it into a Chinatown.

It's well on its way to being that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Terenure used to have a high Jewish population. Theres not many remnants of it left but there is still a cluster near Portobello. Ethnic groups generally shift over time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Ruen

I could definitely see a chinatown type area in Ireland and I think it'd be great, but I dont think there'd be the likes of housing estates with only black people or chinese for instance and I could imagine there would be opposition to that and rightly so beacause people start segragating themselves that way and racism is fuelled by a lack of communication and understanding between different people then because they live on one side and the different coloured people live on the other. I think we're smart enough to plan things properly so that wouldnt happen.

With the amount of immigration coming into the country, I can see us having Irishtowns more than anything else.

"See original Irish here"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

micmclo wrote:
    On one of David McWilliams programs there had a realy succesful Chineese entrepreneur who wanted to buy up the property in the area and turn it into a Chinatown.
    Oh yes, love those really successful Chinese entrepreneurs...

Not to put too fine a point on it, but any foreign national trying to set up a private little fiefdom on Irish soil should be discouraged from doing so. Strongly.

Being a bit melodramartic there, aren't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

nipplenuts wrote:

hehehhehe

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote:
    hehehhehe

kdjac
    I still don't get that.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

Oh yes, love those really successful Chinese entrepreneurs...

Not to put too fine a point on it, but any foreign national trying to set up a private little fiefdom on Irish soil should be discouraged from doing so. Strongly.

Are you accusing him of being a slave trader?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

BendiBus wrote:
    Are you accusing him of being a slave trader?
    Not in the least. I do however have a great deal of experience dealing with the Chinese, both in China and in Ireland, even speak a smattering of fukkien. I won't go on a rant or anything of the sort here, so I'll just relate a little story for you, which may go some way towards explaining my jaded attitude.

I own several businesses around the country, one of which is a media group which was dealing with a Chinese business. Then one fine day, one of the principals in the Chinese end of things showed up at the office and tried to bully one of my graphic designers into magicking up a false insurance plate for his car. He refused to leave until I showed up and threw him out in person.

A few weeks later I read in the news about a group of Chinese arrested for having false insurance details on their car, and one girl actually ate the disc before the guards could seize it.

As for the gentleman in question, in no way am I insinuating that he is involved in any way with any criminal organisations or activities. However my point still stands, encouraging ghettoisation of any kind is only detrimental to society, especially a society still struggling to come to terms with immigration.

Theres a lot more I could say, but I'll just leave you with this...
    Ireland's top immigration Garda, detective chief superintendent Martin Donnellan, said the Garda National Immigration Bureau (GNIB) are currently investigating 15 schools and closed down 10 last year...

..."They are springing up one after the other and in almost all cases where there are problems there is involvement by Chinese nationals somewhere in the running of those colleges," Det Chief Supt Donnellan said.

"We have some colleges and all they had was a computer, a colour printer and they were producing false letters of attendance. They had no teachers and no facilities whatsoever and the students were quite happy to avail of that service," he said.

One college closed down by GNIB officers was being run by a Chinese director who was also listed as a student in his own school in order to obtain a residence permit.

Another so-called school consisted of nothing but senior infant-type desks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Collie D wrote:
    I still don't get that.....

Knackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Ongar in Blanch is (from observation) about 40% black, 40% E European, 10% other and maybe 10% Irish. In the Tyrellstown school only something like 15% of kids are of Irish parents, tbh most new estates in Blanch are majority foreign, yid wonder what will happen to all these houses if or when they leave.

South Circular seems to be mainly Asian too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Ruen

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Ongar in Blanch is (from observation) about 40% black, 40% E European, 10% other and maybe 10% Irish. In the Tyrellstown school only something like 15% of kids are of Irish parents, tbh most new estates in Blanch are majority foreign, yid wonder what will happen to all these houses if or when they leave.

You're just making up figures there Gopher:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Its only a matter of time before the revenue catch up with the chinese community TBH.

stepbar wrote:
    Its only a matter of time before the revenue catch up with the chinese community TBH.

Ignoring the argument that the Chinese community are a bunch of tax-dodgers, as someone who deals with Revenue on an ongoing basis I find it hard to believe they can do anything right.

I used to work in Dublin but now I work in West Warsaw. :D

But closed enclaves are never a good idea, as there could be all kinds of illegal activites going on there and the authorities would have no chance of policing these areas.

It is not just "foreigners" that live in these enclaves, there are religous groups, groups who don't recognise the national government, groups who are shunned by the general population etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Ashfield in Mullingar is a Polish ghetto. I know a Spanish family who moved to Ireland so their kids could learn English, they rented in Ashfield and are looking to move as there are few Irish people living there. I went to Lough Ennell today, it was packed but I didn't hear anybody speaking English, it was like being on holiday in eastern europe.

I went to Chinese restaurant a couple of weeks ago and the staff were all of Asian appearance. Weird, and then last week I was in a Greek restaurant. They all looked a bit too dark skinned to be Irish there too. We're being taken over, I tell yiz!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Tha Gopher wrote:

Think you might be right about TT, not many Irish kids up that way somehow.

It might be related to lack of school issues when the place was first built.

However, the adult Irish population is certainly at least half from my own observations :)
    Something like 1100 peeps from TT voted in general election recently(stat from TT forum).
    So turnout about 60%, maybe about 1800 Irish adult Irish out of 3000+ population on the register so if we assume 750 kids of all nationality(figure from top of my head if compared to national average of 25% population under 18 from CSO), then 1800/2250 = 80% Irish nationality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Doughiska in Galway