Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Day at the zoo

• 08-06-2007 9:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭

Ok folks,

Anyone interested in a day at the zoo? I've been in touch with Dublin zoo, and they have said that they would love to accomodate us, and give us a discount rate (€11.50 per person as opposed to the usual €14). The only condition is that the photos taken are for personal use and not for commercial use.

Any interest? I'll certainly organise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

I'll +2 that.

(I've started to refer to myself as two people lately you see...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

My girlfriend just got a 400D, so I may also have to start referring to myself as +1. :)

I'll get back in touch with Dublin zoo for more details. I'm being cheeky and asking if there's any way to organise "special access" so that we can get some photos without the thick glass and fences in the way.

Next, we just need to pick a date. How about Saturday, June 30th??

A group of 10-15 would be best, but we can see how many are interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

Yes for me but I won't be availing of the discount as I have a years membership.

jaysus rub it in... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

Since it's just down the road, I'd love to go.
    The 30th is ok with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

me too please on my lonesome and sat 30th is fine by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

Oooo that's a good idea! Provisionally I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

I think I might like to join you. Even though, in principle, I'm not fond of zoo's. If there is some kind of slightly special access that would really make it interesting. Plus maybe its about time I actually met some of you guys.

actually, can I be awkward and suggest Sunday 24th as a better date? Going to be up in Dublin for the Guy Gowan thing the day beforehand and realistically I dont see myself driving all the way up to Dublin and back two weekends in a row.

I'll be in Crete, so I can't make it on the weekend of the 24th.
    Besides, Sundays aren't ideal for me.

Finding a suitable date will always be an issue. Unfortunately, I'm not available on the 24th either (family things). I can sympathise with people travelling etc and know how hard it is to find a date suitable to a group like this.

The zoo have said that while they cannot promise any behind the scenes or special access, they will see what they can do on the day.

Also, the new baby elephant and their new habitat won't be open until the end of the month.

So, I think it best to stick with the 30th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭feileacan

Ill try and come along.

Any idea of times ?

The Howth Pennisula Festival is on that weekend as well(30/06 - 01/07)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Ye could always do the zoo and Jameson tour on the same day - It's only a luas apart!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭feileacan

Personally, Jamesons is a bit mickey-mouse.

The last time i was there they tried to say that the Irish invented whisk(e)y.

We had a good old laugh that day.

uisce beatha

feileacan wrote:
    The last time i was there they tried to say that the Irish invented whisk(e)y.

You mean we didn't????? :rolleyes:

LOL.

I think we could spend many hours roaming the zoo getting photos though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭viking

I've been lurking around this forum for long enough so perhaps its time to say hello to everyone and go to one of the meet-ups...

G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Maybe we should organise a Cork outing to Fota too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Won't know until closer to the date if I will be able to make it.

Do synchronised events, in Dublin & Cork.
    Obviously, the people in Cork would have an advantage, given that Fota is a superior venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Fionn

as much as i dislike the road to Dublin, I would be up for something like this - the 30 would be better for me too as i'm almost certain i'm going to the air show in Galway on the 24th

oh! and a trip to Fota would be welcome too

I'd certainly be interested in a trip to Fota too. Maybe the person I'm dealing with for the zoo can assist there too? Worth a try.

Ok, I'll book the Dublin zoo for the 30th.

Looking forward to it.

Ok, I've booked the zoo for Sat 30th June.

How about 10:30am? We can meet about 10:15am and then head in.

ive been threatening to get to Fota for some time now.. maybe this would be a good incentive to finally get down there :D

If you organise a Fota event, I'm sure many would attend. I know I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

Paulw wrote:
    Ok, I've booked the zoo for Sat 30th June.

How about 10:30am? We can meet about 10:15am and then head in.

Perfecto

10.15 meet suits me perfectly.
    Was at the zoo last year and they've done a lot to remove cages, to make it more open. Noticed quite a few empty enclosures, that said the animals had been moved to Fota.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Nick Carroll

I'll do my best to be there. I've wanted to do something like this for ages.

Thanks for organising it!

haven't been there in years! whats the parking like there?

oh! 1015 - thats early, i may be somewhat later than that, it's about 170 Km i'll have to see what time i get up at!

Loads of parking on main Phoenix Park road and also on the road and verge at rear of zoo that leads up to polo pavillion.

I thought morning would be best (less screaming kids around).

When we visit, the new Kazaringa Forest Trail will be open, hosting the new baby elephant and it's herd. The new baby giraffe (just 1 week old currently) will be out roaming too.

They have a new Freisan cow "Bluebell" and two friesan calves "Brocan and "Dooley" in the City Farm area too.

So, it should be a good day out. I'm still pushing/asking about any possible "special access" and while they are not saying "no", it's a case of seeing on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

City-Exile wrote:
    ...said the animals had been moved to Fota.

Don't want to shatter any illusions, but I think that's 'zoo' talk for 'we ate them'...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

Put me down for a maybe ... I'll confirm closer to the date ... but soemthing in the back of my head says the 30th has some special significant ... if only I could remember why ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Woot. Fota it is for us Corkonians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

Fota - but it's all of two miles from me (as the crow flies)!
    I'll be there if I can get away from college.

well lets see how the Dublin Zoo meet goes first eh? :)

than we'll see if the cork lads can organise something down in Fota ;)

btw how many are attending this?

i could actually be working that week-end but i'll see if i can sneak off for the saturday!!!

From the postings, I think including the maybes there would be 12 or so.

Hopefully the Cork crew can organise Fota for another weekend, so many of us can travel down and attend too.

I was at the zoo yesterday and got great weather.

The baby giraffe is out and about but I was too far away to get a decent shot. The orangutan infant is great fun and a real poser for the crowds. I can't get over how good the new tiger enclosure is, and the animals seem to love it too.

The new elephant section (part of the Kaziranga Forest Trail) opens on June 28th, and from what I've heard it's going to be exceptional. The shop has already dedicated a wall to elephant merchandise, which is a smart move. Hopefully they can quickly make back what the new enclosures have cost.

I also heard a strong rumour that the next major development will be for the growing family of lowland gorillas in Dublin. The current enclosure looks like a big aquarium and I can't imagine that the animals find it too pleasant. Harry, the big Silverback, always looks grumpy - but maybe that's just Harry! I can't remember ever seeing a really good gorilla enclosure in any of the zoos I've visited, so I can't wait to see how this pans out.

Also, the orangutan area has had a facelift, with a complex arrangement of interwoven tree branches and trunks now dominating both the outside and inside enclosures. Just the thing for an arboreal species!

Hopefully the above will inspire a few more snappers to come along on the 30th. It's a beautiful zoo and has very knowledgeable keepers who are always willing to spend a few minutes chatting about the animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

I can't remember ever seeing a really good gorilla enclosure in any of the zoos I've visited

Then you need to visit this fantastic place which is also on TV (Sky) to see their amazing exploits.

I don't think there are any gorillas in Monkey World at all - but I agree with you that it's an amazing place. I've been eager to visit ever since learning about it from the TV show. It's also deeply sad that the founder, Jim Cronin, died earlier this year aged only 55.

I see from the Belfast Zoo map that they have a fairly large gorilla enclosure, so I must pop up in the next week or so and see what it's like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

I don't think there are any gorillas in Monkey World at all - but I agree with you that it's an amazing place.

Fair dinkum, was too eager to mention the place that I forgot about the lack of the main ingredient - gorilla!!

Well folks, today I received the group booking confirmation by post for Sat 30th June.

So, it's all set now.

I must say, I'm really looking forward to it. Hopefully the weather will be nice.

It's booked for 10-15 people, so I think we're ok there.

10:15am, Sat 30th June. See you there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 cindylachieuse

Spam removed.

Bump. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

I double-booked myself for this one I'm afraid, so not gonna be able to make it:( Please please please tell me you didn't get special access. And if you do, I just don't want to know!

No worries.

No special access has been directly arranged, but they have said that they will see what they can do on the day.

Hopefully we'll get some great photos, no matter what access we have.

Bump - just a reminder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Dara Robinson

Count me in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

I'm in as well

Lads, I'm after making a mess of my groin/hip.
    Every muscle is wrenched some inappropriate way.
    Taking anti-inflammatories and pain killers.
    The pain is driving me demented!
    Anyone have any advice that can help me be fit for Saturday?

unfortunately i have to cry off - goddamn work :mad:

maybe if Fota comes up i'd certainly be up for it :)