Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Latvian lad stabbed in the leg in Swords

• 05-06-2007 11:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭

Is there already a thread on this, wasnt sure were to post this but just wanted to discuss this with some of ye boardsie`s that may have heard what happened.

Apparently, a person was getting beaten up in a nightclub, im not sure if the person being beaten up was a friend of the Latvian but anyway the Latvian lad helped him ang gave 1 of the beater uppers a thump. The attackers then followed and chased the Latvian lad through a housing estate and he ran into a dead-end or somewhere he couldnt get out of He was shouting for help while running through the estate and no one helped him in time anyway. The scummers then cornered him, held him down and cut the main artery on the back of his leg. He bled to death as you may have heard.

Thats what i heard anyway and it seems a little disturbing. Just wondering were the lads that attacked him all latvian, was this a latvian fighting latvian incident or were the Scummers that done the stabbing Irish skangers? According to the rte site a 24 and a 19 yr old are in custody along with another person but it doesnt say if they`re irish or not. Perhaps some of ye have more details on this, I heard about it and am just interested.

Swords seems to be getting a lot of trouble recently, theres a good few incidents I remember hearing about in Swords over the past year or so including other stabbings.

The law in this country is a joke and needs sorting out, the sentences handed down for serious assaults, stabbing incidents are completely pathetic. Anyone caught with a serious knife should be jailed for 5yrs minimum unless they can proove they thought they were in a very vulnerable position such as being threatened or something or other by dodgy individuals.

Edit: ive just seen on the unison site that the attackers were Latvians aswell, not that changes anything but it makes it a little less disturbing in thet he wasnt hunted by Irish skangers in a half random/trivial act. There seems to be a lot of stabbing incidents involving Latvians on each other, do they carry knives in general and then when rows break out amongst themselves, produce the knife and attack. Anyway its a disgrace, thought its worth discussing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0605/swords.html
    Doesn't seem Gardai has released details yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Discussion of anything negative regarding travellers or Latvians is banned (see here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055103286 )

Skangers who live in corpo estates though, we are still allowed to knock them for some reason.

Though according to yourself this originated in a nightclub, their apparent higher rate of knife attacks is because they go clubbing less than Irish people for financial reasons. Lots of drink at house parties well stocked with kitchen knives= trouble. IIRC I read somewhere their murder rate here is something like 10 times bigger than back home, where they can better afford to go out and arent cooped up in parties rowing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 cruzzo

Knives are carried by the majority of eastern/baltic europeans, it is considered the norm in their culture. This was one of the main reasons that the Gardai have now been issued with stab-proof vests as a form of protection. As for the method of death, the majority of East Europeans still serve in the armed forces for a mandatory period of time and would have been trained in such methods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

cruzzo wrote:
    Knives are carried by the majority of eastern/baltic europeans, it is considered the norm in their culture. This was one of the main reasons that the Gardai have now been issued with stab-proof vests as a form of protection. As for the method of death, the majority of East Europeans still serve in the armed forces for a mandatory period of time and would have been trained in such methods.

True, the adverage Irish scumbag would just wave a knife at you, they wouldn't know how to kill someone quickly if they had to. This murder smacks of an expierienced killer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

This is on unison.ie!
    They went to a lot of trouble to get him. Hard to understand the mentality of folk like that.

Latvian stabbed to death 'decent, hard-working family man'
    Wednesday June 06 2007

THE Good Samaritan viciously stabbed to death after trying to rescue a stranger from a gang of thugs was a decent hardworking family man, his colleagues said.

Farm worker Aidan Christie (60) said everyone who worked with 27-year-old Latvian father-of-two Alexander Filusin at Fairyhill Farms in Rush, north Co Dublin, is devastated after he was brutally set upon and ultimately stabbed to death in Swords on Sunday morning.

"He was a terribly nice fellow. He didn't deserve it," Mr Christie said yesterday.

Tragically, Mr Filusin, a native of Riga who has lived in Rush for the past five years, would normally have flown back to the Latvian capital to spend the June bank holiday weekend with his young wife Valerija and their son and daughter Maxim (4) and Alina (6), as he did on most bank holiday weekends. He stayed on in Ireland last weekend as he was due to fly home this Friday to take his annual leave with his family.

Instead of a joyful family reunion, his widow is due to fly to Dublin today to collect his belongings and take his body back home for burial. Mr Christie and his co-workers were still reeling from the tragedy yesterday as gardai questioned three Lithuanian men in connection with the slaying.

Exemplary

Mr Filusin's employer, farm owner Alan Harford, said Alexander was a loyal and exemplary employee who has worked at the farm ever since he arrived in Ireland on a work visa more than five years ago.

Unlike many of the foreign labourers who may work for a few months and move on elsewhere, Mr Filusin was happy staying put and saved his earnings to support his young family back home, he said.

"He never missed a day of work in his life," he said.

The fact that he gave his life trying to help a stranger wasn't out of character for him, he added. Mr Filusin's co-worker and housemate Jurijs Beiuarovich, who was still visibly shaken by the senseless killing of his friend, was too upset to comment except to say that he and Alexander had been housemates for the past two years and were very close.

It is understood that Mr Filusin had gone with a group of friends to a Russian bar and disco in Swords village on Sunday night and was on his way home after his friends had taken taxis home. It is understood he was standing on the Main Street in Swords when he saw a man across the street being attacked by five men.

Even though Mr Filusin was only of average height and build, he went to the man's aid, which resulted in one of the men being punched in the face. He was later set upon by the same men who pulled up beside him in a car and began attacking him.

He was then chased through a housing estate near the Pavillions shopping centre and wound up on the quiet residential enclave of Oaklands Avenue where he was kicked and beaten. He was then allegedly stabbed in the right leg with a knife, severing a main artery and left for dead on the street.

He was found at approximately 3.10am onSunday morning lying in a pool of blood, and died on Sunday evening.

Meanwhile, a third man has been arrested in connection with the slaying. The 23-year-old Lithuanian is being held for questioning. Two other men, aged 19 and 24, also from Lithuania, were arrested on Sunday night in connection with the killing and are also being held for questioning at Swords and Malahide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭Hmm_Messiah

cruzzo wrote:

Sorry but this is just a load of rubbish IMHO

I live with a "baltic european", work with and am neighbours with and socialise with many eatern/baltic europeans - and non of them carry a knife to my knowledge-nor have they ever said it was a norm in their cultural - this in the context of conversations about crime, gangsters, gangs, tattoos withing gangster orgs etc

overall not sure which is worse - some unfortunate being stabbed for trying to break up a fight or whole cultures and nationalities being painted with the one brush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

cruzzo wrote:
    As said, that is the biggest load of crap, perpetuated by the same people who claim that asylum seekers get free houses and cars.

The fact of the matter is that every group has their scum. We have our own scum, the Polish, the Latvians, the Lithuanians, the Nigerians, and the rest all do too.

Similar to what happened when the Irish and Italians went to America, we're seeing some small groups of criminals within these communities, exactly the same as we see in our own community. You could easily remove all references to Nationality in this story, and it wouldn't make a difference. A group of Irish scum would be just as likely to carry this out as any other.

The fact that the victim and criminals were foreign is just incidental. I would hazard a guess and say that there happened to be a large contingent of Eastern Europeans on the street at the time because a Russian bar had just closed.

I think it's horrific that one young foreign man, more honest than half of the Irish in this country, gets killed for doing the right thing, and all people do is go "Bloody Foreigner scum".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭N8

Originally Posted by cruzzo
    seamus wrote:
    As said, that is the biggest load of crap, perpetuated by the same people who claim that asylum seekers get free houses and cars.

The fact of the matter is that every group has their scum. We have our own scum, the Polish, the Latvians, the Lithuanians, the Nigerians, and the rest all do too.

Similar to what happened when the Irish and Italians went to America, we're seeing some small groups of criminals within these communities, exactly the same as we see in our own community. You could easily remove all references to Nationality in this story, and it wouldn't make a difference. A group of Irish scum would be just as likely to carry this out as any other.

The fact that the victim and criminals were foreign is just incidental. I would hazard a guess and say that there happened to be a large contingent of Eastern Europeans on the street at the time because a Russian bar had just closed.

I think it's horrific that one young foreign man, more honest than half of the Irish in this country, gets killed for doing the right thing, and all people do is go "Bloody Foreigner scum".

Gotta agree seamus – what about those guys in Limerick not army trained but able to shoot one another to death?

However, it’s a pity we can’t screen those coming over and prevent more scum getting in here…

Lot of the Baltic and Eastern Europeans are hard working, honest and honourable people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

N8 wrote:
    Gotta agree seamus – what about those guys in Limerick not army trained but able to shoot one another to death?

However, it’s a pity we can’t screen those coming over and prevent more scum getting in here…

Lot of the Baltic and Eastern Europeans are hard working, honest and honourable people.

Fu€king muppet!:mad:

Over half of the murders in Ireland in 2006 were in Dublin. (I think 32-35 out of 60!)

Dublin. 1/10 of the population (in the Dublin Garda district), 1/2 of the countries murders!:rolleyes:

You do the maths, that is if you can with your head stuck so deep in the sand!

P.S: I believe there were two murders during the same peroid in Limerick, before you ask.
    The Gardai are yet to release comprehensive figures as they did last year (BTW there was three times more violent crime in Dublin per capita than in Limerick last year, and every year on record is similar.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Dublin. 1/10 of the population (in the Dublin Garda district), 1/2 of the countries murders!:rolleyes:
    Where are you getting that from? Nearly 1/4 of the population live in the Greater Dublin area - the area covered by the Dublin Metropolitan Gardai.

As with any large city, crime is disproportionate to the population, for the various reason that we can all make a stab at (no pun intended).

Limerick just has a reputation because of the various gang fueds that have gone around. You would expect Gardai walking in certain areas of Dublin carrying automatic weapons, but not in a town like Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭N8

Fu€king muppet!:mad:

sorry should have said Moyross - must have annoyed you - bite me, muppet :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Christ if I see one more Limerick poster trying to pretend their city doesnt have a disproportionate amount of gangland crime Ill shoot them myself.....

Most foreigners Ive talked to seem to think Ireland is much more dangerous than their home countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 _Golden

That was a terrible thing to happen to an innocent man. Although the papers described the event all wrong. I know first hand that he ran into a garden and was left for dead at the back door of a house. I know this because I was there. The scene was nothing like I had ever seen before, it was like a horror movie. I feel so sorry for his wife and children and have heard recently that they cannot afford to have his body sent home to Latvia. I would urge anyone reading this to try to make a donation to this family. I would also like his family to know if they happen to be reading this that he was not alone he had caring people talking to him and telling him that he was going to be ok and keeping him alive until the emergency services arrived. It was unfortunate that he died later in hospital but just minutes after the attack happened he was receiving kindness and help right up until he slipped away. This incident will never leave my mind and the family will be forever in my thoughts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

cruzzo wrote:
    As for the method of death, the majority of East Europeans still serve in the armed forces for a mandatory period of time and would have been trained in such methods.

The victim was actually stabbed in the leg.

If the killers were trained to kill opposing solders by stabbing them in the leg, I wouldn't put too much faith in their army.
    seamus wrote:

++

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

_Golden wrote:
    That was a terrible thing to happen to an innocent man. Although the papers described the event all wrong. I know first hand that he ran into a garden and was left for dead at the back door of a house. I know this because I was there. The scene was nothing like I had ever seen before, it was like a horror movie. I feel so sorry for his wife and children and have heard recently that they cannot afford to have his body sent home to Latvia. I would urge anyone reading this to try to make a donation to this family. I would also like his family to know if they happen to be reading this that he was not alone he had caring people talking to him and telling him that he was going to be ok and keeping him alive until the emergency services arrived. It was unfortunate that he died later in hospital but just minutes after the attack happened he was receiving kindness and help right up until he slipped away. This incident will never leave my mind and the family will be forever in my thoughts.

Were you 1 of the dwellers nearby or how did you come to be there? What was it all about, people talkin about this incident on the radio said it started in a nightclub and the paper i read about it said it started on a street as he went to help another Latvian lad that was being beaten up.

Are the people that done it a gang of scumbag Latvians that attack other Latvians or what does be going on. They seem to fight alot amongst themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭pcardin

Were you 1 of the dwellers nearby or how did you come to be there? What was it all about, people talkin about this incident on the radio said it started in a nightclub and the paper i read about it said it started on a street as he went to help another Latvian lad that was being beaten up.

Are the people that done it a gang of scumbag Latvians that attack other Latvians or what does be going on. They seem to fight alot amongst themselves?

I knew him. I met him few times when I was living in Rush. Nice fellow. But there seems to be some wrong information. He came from Latvia but he wasn't latvian. He was a russian born in Riga. And the killers weren't latvians either. They are lithuanians. It is something different. Latvians are very quite nation (of course not all 100%). Latvians have no gangs, latvians don't like weapons, usually don't fight in foreing place. I know it is hard to explain but Irish people don't see any differece between polish, latvian and lithuanians. But to say that Lithuanians and latvians are the same is to say that irish and english people are also the same.