Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai getting stricter with bikers?

• 29-05-2007 6:18pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭

I got stopped last nite at a checkpoint and he asked to see my license and tax. Half the time when i get stopped they signal me on (i dress in full bike gear rain hail or shine maybe that has something to do with it) but this time i wasnt.

He checked that the tax disc reg matched the bike and my license was in order. Then he let me continue on.

Anyone else find the gardai gettin stricter lately? Hopefully they are to get of the chancers out there ridin bikes illegally (thus contributing to higher insurance costs)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

I was told they went easy on us most of the time unless they're specifically out there to check on us (which happens from time to time it seems).

Anyway, if you're legal and have nothing to be worried about they can check all they want! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

got stopped by a hotty ban-gardai the other day, just wanted to see the tax disc. Pull up, bike gives me a false neutral (second its ever done) and I gesture to the disk bolted to my exhaust hanger with my clutch hand... *BUMP!*... sickener! "ah yer grand, yer alright" says she, mongo head on me going as red the bike :D

first checkpoint ever gone though on two wheels, so cant really draw any conclusions from it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fr Dougal

faceman wrote:
    I got stopped last nite at a checkpoint and he asked to see my license and tax. Half the time when i get stopped they signal me on (i dress in full bike gear rain hail or shine maybe that has something to do with it) but this time i wasnt.

He checked that the tax disc reg matched the bike and my license was in order. Then he let me continue on.

Anyone else find the gardai gettin stricter lately? Hopefully they are to get of the chancers out there ridin bikes illegally (thus contributing to higher insurance costs)

Must be the Deauville. You should get rid of it.......

I'll take it off your hands fer ya :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

^ its an 03 with 41k on it, i couldnt give it to you unless you'd guarantee you'd do the mileage! ;) shes needs to ridden!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Nah, I got this a couple of times when I was on the bike. Even a young female garda who tried to quiz me on the lack of an insurance disc.

I think it depends on their mood or what they're looking for. Most of the time they won't bother stopping you, sometimes they will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Chunkylover

been stopped 3 times, once was just for a chat, you know how are you doing where are you going etc, the other 2 times was for licence and tax but they only keep me there for 30 seconds, I always find that if I keep my helmet up, they are nicer to me (goes for being in a cage aswell keeping your window down)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

been stopped 3 times, once was just for a chat, you know how are you doing where are you going etc, the other 2 times was for licence and tax but they only keep me there for 30 seconds, I always find that if I keep my helmet up, they are nicer to me (goes for being in a cage aswell keeping your window down)
    Indeed. I remember getting pulled once for going through a *cough* amber light. I switched off my engine, removed my helmet and gloves and got a good talking to. I got the impression from him that if I'd shown even the slightest bit of disrespect I would have been booked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I was stopped late one night, only vehicle on the road, at a checkpoint. I flip up lid, he looks at bike, walks around back -sees UK reg - and says
    'Is it yours?'
    'Yes, just got it'
    'Fine machine, well wear so..........'

and off I go.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Since I started driving many years ago I've never been pulled ?? I really don't know why. I think it could be to do with me driving old bikes , the cops tend to leave me alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

K-Tric is teh old!!! :p

Em, Got stopped at 2 checkpoints in about 15 minutes one evening about 2 years ago, haven't been stopped since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

In less than a year biking I got stopped 5 times.

Four checkpoints (went through 2 of them without a single question being asked and Tax was checked on the other two occasions).

And once I got pulled by 2 guards on foot who heard me accelerate like a lunatic when the light went green (in town)... They asked me what speed I was doing and I said "I don't know... Around 50kmph?". I thought they were going to punch me in the head... One goes to me "Listen, if you don't answer me honestly I'll take the bike off you and do you for dangerous driving". So I told him I was going around 85kmph (was more like 95kmph though). He let me off with a warning seen as my papers were in order and I looked scared.

Have calmed down a lot since this little experience... :o

Kenny 5 wrote:
    K-Tric is teh old!!! :p

Old bikes matey, I'm just a young lad ;)

I've only been stopped three times in seven years. They usually just glanced at the tax disk and let me go,I dont think they even bother to make sure the disc corresponds to the bike, just as long as you have one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I got stopped once (routine check)... "Nice Bike... Is it yours?"
    I mean, what was the point?

I got stopped once (routine check)... "Nice Bike... Is it yours?"
    I mean, what was the point?

"Eh no Garda its stolen

Ah ****, ya caught me !!!"

Damn cunning Gardai and their trick questioning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

faceman wrote:
    (thus contributing to higher insurance costs)
    thats just wat the insurance company say it doesnt make a difference why do you think you pay an extra 2 % on your policy its paid for already but they still say its because of uninsured drivers which is bull

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

babybundy wrote:
    thats just wat the insurance company say it doesnt make a difference why do you think you pay an extra 2 % on your policy its paid for already but they still say its because of uninsured drivers which is bull

e.g. provisional riders cant take pillions. insurance companies have to pay out