Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Global Warming is upon us (tis freezin!)

• 28-05-2007 11:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭

Its hailing, and has been on and off since Saturday. And its freezing outside. So this is the end I guess?

Whats the public opinion on global warming? I thought that the Greens would have had far more support in the elections, but not so. Do we care, or did 'Green issues' just have fleeting popularity?

I personally would be more than willing to ban motor sport if that'd give us a few more years. But thats just me :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

I dunoo what its like up there..but its lovely here..
    We had a bit of rain yesterday eve but most of the day was lovely. i think but Saturday was a lovey day apart from one shower that i can remember around 2ish..
    Today is lovely and sunny outside too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Its unusually warm/cold/wet/windy....better start another global warming thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

zuutroy wrote:
    Its unusually warm/cold/wet/windy....better start another global warming thread!
    I thought that the Greens would have had far more support in the elections, but not so. Do we care, or did 'Green issues' just have fleeting popularity?

It was a double question narky hole :p

And I am by no means a Green activist, I just wanted to see what the general feeling was.

Oh ok!....Yeah I'd have thought they do well given all the exposure but the ol' bottom line is all most people care about when they're pushed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

A few weeks ago everyone was complaining because we had hot weather now the rain is surefire evidence of global warming.

This is all just normal Irish weather as far as I can see. Irish weather has always been cruel. It lures you out of the house with lovely hot weather, waits until your just far enough away from any cover then pelts down rain so you get soaked.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Outside is white with hailstones, wats goin on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

No no no, Its really weird for it to rain in May and it was warm last month so it MUST be global warming!!! 2007 is the year that the effects can be felt for the first time ever and we must get rid of cars, planes, boats and fossil fuels as soon as possible, hopefully everything will be okay by 2009.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Weather is pretty nice here anyway.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

It's two days before the day after tomorow!

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

jaysus its feckin' freezing and I haven't even stepped outside the door yet. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Global warming will make Ireland colder not hotter.
    The melting Artic icecap will push the North Atlantic Drift South afaik.

So don't expect to break out the suncream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

That would explain why my snowman just melted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Sundy wrote:
    Outside is white with hailstones, wats goin on?
    It was hailstoning.

micmclo wrote:

The truth is that nobody knows for sure whats going to happen anywhere. Thats just one possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Steoob

o man its lovely down here in kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

micmclo wrote:

That's just stupid, global warming makes things warmer, it's in the constitution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

WE DIDNT LISTEN!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Ok, there's clear skies and sun now. :mad: I hate Ireland!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭sternn

Hailstones in the middle of summer, and when its over 10 degrees outside....whats happening?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Yea, I love Irish weather. I'm walking back to work down the street and it's a lovely clear sky when next thing i get a drops on my head, I turn around and it looks like death! I blame Fianna Faìl!

And those STUUUUPID, ANNOYING Power of One adverts are ridiclous!!
    Male moron: "What are the grades on the washing machines? Did they do well in school?"
    Male moron's wiife: "I could've diiiied!"
    Male moron: "Ah but fair play to yer man though......*proceeds to shìt out his mouth*"

If anything those ads make me want to turn everything on and wash my clothes at 1000° just to show them........sure, i'd probably atomise my clothes but.....meh!! Fight the.....eh, power!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

It's sunny down here in cork. Not a sign of a hailstone. Roll on global warming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

micmclo wrote:

Nah, it'll just push Ireland's summer to earlier in the year. We had summer back in April. Now it's sort of like November-December.

Regarding the Greens and the election: nobody gives a sh!te about green policies coz there's no profit to be had in them. The results show that people only care for their own personal gain, and that's why they voted Bertie's lot back in: best and most promises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Slow coach wrote:
    Nah, it'll just push Ireland's summer to earlier in the year. We had summer back in April. Now it's sort of like November-December.

Regarding the Greens and the election: nobody gives a sh!te about green policies coz there's no profit to be had in them. The results show that people only care for their own personal gain, and that's why they voted Bertie's lot back in: best and most promises.

There is crap loads of money in clean energy or will be soon with pushes around the world for governments to go more green to save the world.

brim4brim wrote:
    There is crap loads of money in clean energy or will be soon with pushes around the world for governments to go more green to save the world.

I'm talking about the average Irish voter, not wealthy entrepreneurs. There'll be a crap load of money for a few people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭BigTommyBomb

and that's why they voted Bertie's lot back in
    They haven't.

I was about to put up a thread about this a few days ago. Where are the people going 'Its hot in April it has to be global warming' now that its cold in May. But then they still use the coldness to point to global warming. How is that logical?

They haven't.

They have. The final figures show that 41.5% voted FF in 2002, and 41.6% voted FF in 2007.

First preferences:

2002: 770846

2007: 859300

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭BigTommyBomb

Stop arguing. You are wrong. FF are not yet in govt. They have lost 2 seats in the election and the previous govt. have lost 10. Off topic but you brought it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

BigTommy - you're a little bit wrong. Government overall lost 8 seats, not 10.

Slowcoach - you're right on your figures, but you're also a little bit wrong. It hasn't been decided yet (though it is 99.9999% certain!). However, one interesting figure is that - together - FG+Lab+Greens did get about 10,000 more votes than FF. However, once one factors in the PD's (as in PD+FF) the figure shifts very decisively towards FF.

Anyway, topic at hand: Irish weather has always been variable. However, we are shifting towards further extremes than ever before. We continue to break records month on month (Warmest April, Driest April, 9 of the 10 Summer's have been the warmest on record, this may possibly the wettest May if things keep up...), so there is some evidence that our weather is becoming more extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Sorry, the weather changed for the worst when I burned the Green Party election leaflets and punched another hole in the Ozone Layer.

NoelRock wrote:
    Slowcoach - you're right on your figures, but you're also a little bit wrong.

No, I'm not. I'm never wrong. :p More people, both in total first preferences and in percentage first preferences, voted for Bertie's shower. That's what I said. I never mentioned the government.

Now, at the risk of getting a ban, I better get back on topic: I was out on my bike tonight, and me bleedin' head is froze off me. I was glad I was wearing shades, coz it kept that balmy late May evening air out of my eyes. Summer is right. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

micmclo wrote:

I thought that the Global warming effect would push the "North Atlantic Drift" even further north, thus melting the ice cap up there. And thus making Ireland as cold as Russia.

Anyways I dont give a f*ck about Green issues. I wont be able to make any difference about climate change, and even if I stopped doing everything pollution related (i.e. driving a car) there would still be millions of people who would give a damn, so why should I have to put myself through hardship while others wouldn't do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Yeah mad weather today. Large black clould loomed. then suddenly the skys sopen with hail the size of peas. then a thunder storm. then it got very cold.
    I looked out and my decking was white like it just snowed. SCARY! its 3 days to June:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

micmclo wrote:

Fcuk, fcuk, fcuk - I thought that our senseless destruction of our Planets natural balance and Mankinds ignorant plunder, rape and desecration of our enviornment was going to pay off big time with decent Irish summers in a few years time.......

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Global warming will warm and dry out Ireland a bit? A little less rain? And some complain? Hey! Let's all rush out and buy petrol-guzzling SUVs and do our part!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

No hail in Galway. Just rain and sunny spells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

WE DIDNT LISTEN!
    lol, ye beat me to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭uglyjohn

Quick!!! everyone eat a kiwi! apparently they brig the temp up by about 4 degrees each! we'll have a northern european tropical paradise in no time:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

WE DIDNT LISTEN!
    i broke the dam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

No hail here, lots of thunder and lightning though!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

We had lovely sunshine, and I live in rainy galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

A shower of limpets in Kerry.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Sunrise? What? It's dark here. Oh... perhaps cause it's a mere 8 time zones west of ye? But it's warm here, even at night. If you can believe the Beach Boys when they sung their songs long ago... "It never rains in sunny California..." (unlike Ireland!), so it was warm back then, too. What? The 1960s-70s?

Been here about 1 1/2 years and I've noticed that people in OC are very concerned about the environment and Global Warming. At the pumps the other day I overheard one SUV owner talking to another SUV owner as they filled up their huge petrol tanks about this very issue...