Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First AEG - A&K - good or bad?

• 24-05-2007 1:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭

Contemplating picking a beginner's AEG shortly and I don't want to spend hundreds to begin with, so I'm looking at this A&K M933 (A&K M933), which (misguidedly or not - you tell me) I think should be enough for HRTA in & out, to begin with.

I've also got my eye on JG's M733 (same site, seems to get good reviews).

I know it's not TM or Classic Army, and they're well on the cheap side, but I've caught some good reviews from US users. Can I ask for opinions in here, please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

nothing wrong with buying a clone, nobody said you had to buy TM/CA, out of what i have so far, all but one are clones, the only reason i bought a TM was because nobody else makes good p90s.

anyway, both of the ones you picked out there are quite good, rsov is an excellent site to buy from aswell...

between the two, i think i'd have a hard time deciding tbh, so not sure which way to point you. one of the reviews for the JG does say it fires at 370fps (with 0.2g bbs i assume) which is a bit higher than the legal limit (328fps with 0.2g/1 Joule) so id do a bit of research on that first to find out what the actual power of it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Well, might be a good idea to total it all up after postage and see how much it costs. I know a friend of mine got quite a fright after the postage was added on with RSOV.

Then compare it to say this, the Tokyo Marui M733 on ehobbyasia.com

http://cgi.ebay.com/Marui-M733-Commando-US-Delta-Airsoft-Electric-Gun-AEG_W0QQitemZ270112363486QQihZ017QQcategoryZ64635QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItem

One of the users here has one and the build quality is amazing. After that, he bought another 3 rifles but that is still his favourite. It's a Marui, so it's going to be infinitely more reliable than any clone out there. Much better choice for a beginner.

If the total cost of the clone makes a huge dent in the Marui m733 from a Chinese site, like ehobby or uncompany, then I'd save up a few more pennys and just get that.

If not, then go with the clone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

either of them would be a good choice alright, shipping from rsov would be about 35-40 gbp which would add up to little over 100e [might be a tiny bit more if/when your taxed]
    personally id go for the A&K m933 not because A&K are any better then JG[otherway around usually] but just because it looks cool without the carry handle :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Thx very much for the input, guys. Much appreciated :)

Looked at that eBay auction - over $250, youch!

RSOV are based in UK, right ? - so there shouldn't be any import duty

Master of the Universe

RSOV are Chinese ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

o1s1n wrote:
    RSOV are Chinese ;)

Agreed. With the owner being called Keith, I would have thought that was obvious.

i've seen alot of people say rsov are in the uk, but other than the STG prices, i fail to see what makes it look that way...

meh.. anyway...

Master of the Universe

It's 202 dollars on ehobby. (Forget about the shipping because they're both Chinese sites, so it'll be the same)

202 dollars is 101 Pounds. That clone m733 is 40 pounds. Just over twice the price for a top of the line TM. Not bad when you put it that way. If you can pay 40 pounds for a clone I'm sure you can save a little more.. ;)

The TM feels more realistic, will last you a lot longer, has better internal parts, should shoot more consistently and all in all will keep its value if you want to sell it on.

Clones are good value for price. However, many can break down easily and the lemon rate is high. You could put 1000 rounds through it and it could break a gear....it could happen with a TM too, but the chances are extremely slim.

Saying that, I'd buy a clone myself. BUT, Only as I have a TM Famas to fall back on in case it breaks.

Master of the Universe

Agreed. With the owner being called Keith, I would have thought that was obvious.

It is not uncommon for Chinese people to take a Western name. A lot of them do when they come over here.

o1s1n wrote:
    It is not uncommon for Chinese people to take a Western name. A lot of them do when they come over here.

or they're just "given" one by their new employers, personally i find that offensive and try to call them by their given (chinese) name

Master of the Universe

kdouglas wrote:
    or they're just "given" one by their new employers, personally i find that offensive and try to call them by their given (chinese) name

I knew a Chinese guy called "George". He said his real name was just too much for our lazy western tongues to pronounce. :D

lol, funny cos it's true

o1s1n wrote:

One of the guys I met here in work a few years ago was called Thomas Chu when he started. Now he aggressively insists on being called Man Yin Chu. He even changed his company email address and the name plate at his desk.

Took me ages to get used to the new (old?) name.

He says he likes both AEG's BTW (keeping my post on-topic :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Kdouglas is the website in your sig yours?

Master of the Universe

One of the guys I met here in work a few years ago was called Thomas Chu when he started. Now he aggressively insists on being called Man Yin Chu. He even changed his company email address and the name plate at his desk.

He says he likes both AEG's BTW (keeping my post on-topic :p )

I believe this is what you originally wrote before you hit the edit button...

Quote:
    Originally Posted by o1s1n

Sadly, he won't be able to make it to HRTA this week (keeping my post on-topic )

Haw, haw :D

liamo333 wrote:
    Kdouglas is the website in your sig yours?

Given the political nature of the day;

no comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

kdouglas wrote:
    Given the political nature of the day;

no comment

If it is your site then fair play and im looking forward to the overhaul of the cyma glock 18c.. I have one on its way from HK..

However could ya do my retinas a favour and change the color scheme.. White text on a black screen makes baby Jesus cry!! Its not good for people reading the site..

If it isnt your site then feck off! :D

Word on the grapevine is the colour scheme is just temporary and will be changed soon. ;)

o1s1n wrote:
    I believe this is what you originally wrote before you hit the edit button...

Quote:
    Originally Posted by o1s1n

Sadly, he won't be able to make it to HRTA this week (keeping my post on-topic )

Haw, haw :D

Prove it!!! :p

OK, so they're all CN or HK or, well, Asian.

Still, I'm doing my homework in the meantime and now slowly going off (ain't I fickle :D) the A&K and JG, and now looking at Boyi/DBoys M4 S-System or CASV.

(would be easier if I'd managed to flog my slimline PS2, TokMarui Centimeter and other odds and ends - then I'd have enough "leisure cash" for a TM... ;) @ O1s1n)

Master of the Universe

ambro25 wrote:
    OK, so they're all CN or HK or, well, Asian.

Still, I'm doing my homework in the meantime and now slowly going off (ain't I fickle :D) the A&K and JG, and now looking at Boyi/DBoys M4 S-System or CASV.

(would be easier if I'd managed to flog my slimline PS2, TokMarui Centimeter and other odds and ends - then I'd have enough "leisure cash" for a TM... ;) @ O1s1n)

The only reason I keep going on about definitely saving up for a TM in this case is because their m733 is absolutely amazing for the price. You'll wet yourself when you see it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

o1s1n wrote:
    You'll wet yourself when you see it :D

O1s1n can tell you this from expeirence:D

Get a (kill) room you two :p

Made up my mind in the end ;)

Should be on its way soon, with additional mags and CQB rear sight.

good choice, probably gonna get one of those soon enough myself

Master of the Universe

Just something I read. Might want to get a better magazine for it

Magazine
    The magazine is another issue with this gun. It mis-feeds a lot, and takes ALOT of winding to make it work right. It is metal, and is quite durable, but causes a lot of the feeding issues as already stated. It is somewhat tricky to get in quickly too. But that might be because I was used to putting my Mp5 mags. Sometimes the mag catch won't lock into the slot in the magazine, so sometimes you need to smack the bottom of it. After you wind it about 25 times initially (right after you load the mag), it will shoot approximately 30-40 rounds, before needing to wind it an additional 5 times. I would have to suggest getting new magazines. If I may make 2 suggestions, I would go with STAR 30 round real caps, or MAG midcaps. I'm going with the STAR mags, but it is your call. The magazine is good on the outside, but don't be fooled by how it looks.

ambro25 wrote:

"Power: 350fps with 0.2g BB " = over 1 joule.

Make sure you get your firearms licence for it first ;)

Master of the Universe

ambro25 wrote:

350fps with a .2g bb AEG = Technically an Illegal fully automatic firearm. Automatic firearms are illegal in Ireland. You can't even license one.

"Power: 350fps with 0.2g BB " = over 1 joule.

Make sure you get your firearms licence for it first ;)

odd's are the fps has been overstated tbh....

interestingly enough, when talking about licensing and such yesterday, it was pointed out that if you want to get a licensed rifle, it's power must be > 1.75 Joules, so,

< 1J == No licence required,
    > 1J & < 1.75J == Confiscated and destroyed - (No Man's Land!?!!)
    > 1.75J == Licence Required

Master of the Universe

kdouglas wrote:

< 1J == No licence required,
    > 1J & < 1.75J == Confiscated and destroyed - (No Man's Land!?!!)
    > 1.75J == Licence Required

Where'd you hear that? Are they official numbers? That's weird stuff.

yup, heard from paul and alan

indeed, was interesting stuff

so you'd be looking at 430fps+ with 0.20g for 1.75J to get a licence

I just went to check arnies fps calculator to check it :rolleyes: .
    ya 435fps + would be 1.75

Master of the Universe

I take it that's bolties only though.

Would be interesting to see them licensing automatic "firearms"

yea, i wouldnt fancy someone running around hrta with a full auto > 1.75J

it would have to be single-shot only and minimum distance of 30m

hmm i wonder about semi only Aeg's?

Master of the Universe

hmm i wonder about semi only Aeg's?

Too easy to convert back to full auto. I can't see that being allowed. Anyway, there's no reason to own such a device! ;)

there's no reason to own such a device!
    theirs always a reason ;) ,ahh doesnt matter anyway

o1s1n wrote:
    Too easy to convert back to full auto. I can't see that being allowed. Anyway, there's no reason to own such a device! ;)

TM psg-1 is a semi only aeg in stock form, so no need to remove the full auto since it doesnt exist....

(although it may be possible to convert it to full auto, im not sure)

it probably is, would be nice to be able to have semi auto sniper rifles or DMR's
    *looks at Aug* we can dream

Well, I'm banking on the 350 being optimistic (as FPS for clones tend to be) - alternative is I'll hop it down to acceptable level. If hop up fully down is still >328, then I'll have to tinker further - but a full metal at $90 has gotta be worth it for the non-airsoft parts alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

o1s1n wrote:
    350fps with a .2g bb AEG = Technically an Illegal fully automatic firearm. Automatic firearms are illegal in Ireland. You can't even license one.

From what I heard they aren't illegal or at least weren't (I'm not fully up on the law as it stands now) but you'd never convince a garda in the land to grant a licence for one so by that fact they kind of "are" illegal :)

I know a guy with a real legally held Franchi Spas 12... it's rediculous!

Just FYI, queried keith (rsov) about it, and he said it's 300-320 FPS out of the box.

Quandary tho' - I'd got straight back to him and put a hold on the order (in case I couldn't drop the FPS - no bloody use to me if I can't use it at HRTA). Now, I've seen it from a French online shop (airsoft paradise) - twice as much, but shipping is only €15.

If I get it from RSOV (€74 + €51 P&P), and I get custom'd (@24%), that's gonna be €156 all in, or thereabouts.

But if I get it from Airsoft paradise (€159 + €15 P&P), (i) I'll not be custom'd @ 24% and (ii) it's less likely to be poked and proded by whoever checks things coming from abroad. Plus it's shipped from Europe, so I'd expect to turn up quicker.

What to do, what to do... indecision :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

from my experience, i'd go with keith at RSOV, it may appear quicker or cheaper to order from somewhere. you could just as easy be waiting even longer.

ambro25 wrote:
    Plus it's shipped from Europe, so I'd expect to turn up quicker.

you'd think that, wouldn't you? from experience, hong kong is one of the quickest places to ship from despite being also the furthest away. plus rsov have excellent service and airsoft paradise is unknown

Alright, alright already! I know ye guys love keith to high heaven, so I've emailed him to confirm the order.

Now I've just got to wait 'til he tells me how to put in his "deal" (don't go imagining many percents here lads - couple of quids is all) into the cart/checkout system, and we're off.

Bah - gonna receive my ACU Digital gear before my AEG! :o

Purchase scheduled next month: a non-clone MP5K. Aside from the TM plastic one, does anyone know if any of the usual metal merchants (ICS/others) make one at all?

@ Padmundo - I may have become an airsoft n00b again over the years of airsoft inaction, but I do have 'real' firearms also (Note: these are not stored in Ireland) and quite extensive experience of 'those' (the non-BB firing ones :D). I agree that getting a license from the Super for a Spa12 defies imagination - I'd bet he thought he was signing off on a standard 12B-pump :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

That's pretty much it... you can get a certificate for anything as long as the super signs off on it. He does get hassled with spot checks from the cops alot to see he's storing it safely and stuff.

Done deal and paid for.

1x DBoys M4A1 (full metal)
    1x DBoys M4 hicap mags (x2)
    1x 8,4 1500 mah mini battery

Crucified with shipping of course.

Now let's wait if he's as good as ye guys made him out to be ;)