Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charity Workers

• 23-05-2007 10:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭

Inspired by this thread...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=53297812#post53297812

Start RANT

Stop making fcuking excuses and start making changes. Sign up on the spot or set up a direct debit today. You can do it all online now, takes 5 minutes tops and makes a real difference to people who count their blessings if they simply wake up in the mornings.

Whatever floats your boat, be it 3rd world countries, childrens charities, the homeless in Ireland, cancer research, whatever. Your donation means that you'll have one or two less vodkas/pizza deliveries/taxis home a month. It means that someone elses life will be extended and their quality of living increased.

/end rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Id rather have the pizza tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Iago wrote:

Start RANT

Stop making fcuking excuses and start making changes. Sign up on the spot or set up a direct debit today

No.YOU do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Ok. But Chuggers are still scum.

As are buskers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Iago wrote:
    Stop making fcuking excuses and start making changes. Sign up on the spot or set up a direct debit today.
    Will you be taking a wage for the time you spend out, or will you be donating that back?
    Iago wrote:
    You can do it all online now, takes 5 minutes tops and makes a real difference to people who count their blessings if they simply wake up in the mornings.
    I already have one of these. Does that mean if I tell you that on the street that you will back off and leave me the **** alone? Hell no. You won't believe that. You'll still want my details on that clipboard of yours. Your day isn't complete until you've rattled off that spiel you spent all of last Thursday memorising for the 50th time before lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Can we get a breakdown of salaries, marketing costs, carraige, rents, and other expenses from any given charity? How much exactly goes into the pockets of the poor? Because the chuggers have all the hallmarks of a major, profit making industry, nonprofit status notwithstanding.

For myself, I'm waiting for the chugger wars of the early 21st century to commence, when barnardos chuggers realise that the VSA chuggers are getting all the good spots, and hire mercenary knacker dwarves to rob their tote bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Will you be taking a wage for the time you spend out, or will you be donating that back?

sorry for the misunderstanding, I don't work as a charity collector. I have done volunteer work over the years and taken part in fundraising activities, but never for payment.

I already have one of these. Does that mean if I tell you that on the street that you will back off and leave me the **** alone? Hell no. You won't believe that. You'll still want my details on that clipboard of yours. Your day isn't complete until you've rattled off that spiel you spent all of last Thursday memorising for the 50th time before lunch.

Again, I don't do that for a living. If you have a dd set up then fair play to you, you're making a difference. I try to take everyone at face value, and I've never had an experience where I told a charity worker I had a DD set up and they didn't believe/hassled me afterwards, maybe I've just been lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Iago wrote:

Start RANT

Stop making fcuking excuses and start making changes. Sign up on the spot or set up a direct debit today. You can do it all online now, takes 5 minutes tops and makes a real difference to people who count their blessings if they simply wake up in the mornings.

Whatever floats your boat, be it 3rd world countries, childrens charities, the homeless in Ireland, cancer research, whatever. Your donation means that you'll have one or two less vodkas/pizza deliveries/taxis home a month. It means that someone elses life will be extended and their quality of living increased.

/end rant
    Start RANT

No.....

/end rant

I fondly remember the Hanley Centre turf wars of the early 1990's...Crown Alley was bitterly disputed.Mind you the chuggers commision was 50%!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I always enjoy that last Vodka and Red Bull. Always.

Cynicism ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Iago wrote:

Start RANT

/end rant

Absolutely not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Iago wrote:

Stop making fcuking excuses and start making changes.

/end rant

Why don't you??? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,413 ✭✭✭Archeron

Iago wrote:

Well done good sir, you've shown us a wonderfully dark and abusive side to these charity promoters.
    I currently subscribe to 4 charities on a monthly direct debit, as well as giving probably around €60+ a month to various collections in my town. However, the language you use here is EXACTLY like the language used towards me by an Amnesty International chugger in Dublin a few months ago when I told him that I was already subscribing to charities. He actually questioned my ability to tell the truth, and called me a f*cking liar to my face. When I turned on him (because he boiled to my blood to evaporation point and I was going to kill him) he just turned and walked off at high speed.
    If people are not going to be cajoled by niceties into donating to chairty, do you really think using a sentence like "Stop making f*cking excuses and start making changes" is going to get them to change their minds? Do you not think that could just turn people on the cusp of giving back towards the "go screw yourself" attitude?

Some people give to charity, some dont. Deal with it, and if one more person approaches me in the street like the sh*tstick I mentioned above, I will instantly cut off my support for that charity and feel no remorse for it.
    I dont ever look for praise or thanks for my charitable support, but nor do I ask for abuse from strangers who have no idea who I am or what I already do for good causes.
    End rant/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭cailinoBAC

I hate chuggers not because I feel guilty. I have a direct debit with a charity, though I deliberately chose one that don't use these people. But I don't have a sign on my head saying 'leave me at peace, I'm already giving'. They'll still try to make you feel guilty. And they act like they're doing it out of such a sincere interest in their charity, when really it's just about the money. But what I hate most, is their invasion of my privacy. I could be having the worst day in the world, I could be about to do exams, I could be thinking about personal problems, work problems, whatever and these clowns are jumping in front of me and acting all put out when i don't answer back to their witty and heartfelt comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

The OP has no right to tell people what they should and shouldn't do. People have the right to make up their own minds. I have the right to give and the right not to give.

I think most charaties are essenstally self serving. It's more about the people running the charaties, as opossed to the people (or causes) it's supposed to be helping. I think the special olympics is a good example of this. Down syndrome kids used to promote pirvate industury.

I don't think giving to charity because you feel you should or because somebody told you to do so, is a good idea. All you're doing is repressing guilty feelings that are bound to return again nomatter how much you give.

Giving to charity because you get a good feeling when you sign up to a DD or hand over a few euros is grand. So long as you know it not entirely a selfless act. You still get something in return. A good feeling.

People and charaties can be damaging when they believe they are helping others, when all they are really doing is serving their own selfish interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Reading this thread I think I've found a new responce to chuggers.
    "I already have a direct debit set up with you lot"
    Not only will it make me feel good when they thank me but anyone that over hears me will think I'm awesome.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Caliden wrote:
    Reading this thread I think I've found a new responce to chuggers.
    "I already have a direct debit set up with you lot"
    Not only will it make me feel good when they thank me but anyone that over hears me will think I'm awesome.

Trust me the bstards will still try and stop you. I actually got one who asked me how much I gave. And when I told her she tried to get me to increase it. Dirty b!tch:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

The ****in cheek of some people nowadays. If I came across a single chugger who acted like Iago, I'd take his teeth out without a second thought. I don't have time for chuggers and never will, regardless of what charity they are collecting for. Its quite simple: Get up in my face hassling me for money, and I'll ****ing lay you out....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Linford

I make a point of only donating to charities that don't use chuggers. I work in the city centre and I am confronted every single day (it was worse last year). It got so bad last year that before they even opened their mouth I would tell them to fck off and get the fck out of my way.

The charities that use chuggers also pay another company that make sure that no two charities are in the same place at the same time and also make sure that every charity gets a fair go at every spot, this company also informs the superindent in the local garda station (the only requirement for charities before they collect).

There is no point in me signing up to a charity on the street because I am going to get hassled every day anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

DarkJager wrote:
    The ****in cheek of some people nowadays. If I came across a single chugger who acted like Iago, I'd take his teeth out without a second thought. I don't have time for chuggers and never will, regardless of what charity they are collecting for. Its quite simple: Get up in my face hassling me for money, and I'll ****ing lay you out....

lol, and he'd just stand there and let you I guess :D

regardless of anyone's personal view on charity collectors, you should feel a need to help out people who are in a worse position than you through no fault of their own. Human nature and basic decency have been supplanted by greed and me feinism. I'm alright Jack and that's what matters.

I seriously doubt that any of the dissenters in this thread would have any more time for charity workers on the street even if they were volunteers. Besides, that's not the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I just walk through them as if they weren't there. So what if they think I am an uncaring bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Iago wrote:
    lol, and he'd just stand there and let you I guess

It works the same for them. Should I just stand there and listen to some caffeine fueled streak of ****in piss berate me about the 3rd world and all the sufferring blah blah blah?

Its not greed, its the methods used by these chuggers and the fact that not every single person in this world has a heart of gold. Get used to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Iago wrote:

Start RANT

OK, chuggers on the street are bad enough, but I'm not going to let you start your "chugging" bullshit on After Hours. Go away.