Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

an idea struck me!

• 17-05-2007 1:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭

I have the idea of....... ok take a picture because i don't get good ideas since my dad is mad into RC things and not airsoft, and I'm into airsoft and not RC why not combine the both and get one of the helicopters that can shoot bb's i saw them on www.airsoft-warrior.com but there gone so does anyone now where i can get one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

sweet idea, you could stick a wireless camera on it and have close air suport and recon in one. i have a tank along the same lines fires 6mm bbs ist greart fun for scaring my cat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

well let's just say i ordered one of those cheap rc helicopters from rsov last week for a reason... watch this space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

I have the idea of....... ok take a picture because i don't get good ideas since my dad is mad into RC things and not airsoft, and I'm into airsoft and not RC why not combine the both and get one of the helicopters that can shoot bb's i saw them on www.airsoft-warrior.com but there gone so does anyone now where i can get one?

I'd say it'd be a pretty cheap one, more for novelty value rather then anything else. What you want is to convince your dad to invest in a nice big heli and rig the guts of an AEG to it. All the inards of a cheap clone or something would be pretty light - heck, I'd say you could mount a couple to it ^^ Though, the weight of the batteries could add up...

Reckon it'd be a cool DIY project anyway, rigging a camera would be ace too ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Irish Trinity

nice, where did ya get it , kapowe i just got another idea if i could strap a camera onto the bottom i could see what's going on down below OMG thats two good ideas in 12 years i'm on a roll

EDIT: i didn't think anyone would reply so fast ^^

i have a fairly decent biggish one its not great but might be interesting with an aep on it

jesus yeah, replies coming thick and fast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Mark_Sc

At least you diddnt get struck by lightning....

Mark_Sc wrote:
    At least you diddnt get struck by lightning....

what you talkin bout willis?:confused:

rofl, just had a great idea....

how about getting one of those remote control tanks that fire bb's and strapping 4 of those bb firing claymores to em? lol :D one front facing, 1 rear facing, 1 for each side, all aiming outwards (for those with no imagination :p )

talk about a room clearer! it would just take the noise of the little electric motor whinning away in the tank, to have everyone ****ting themselves :D

park it in the middle of the room and.... :D :cool:

well you can hire a scientist who can change the law of gravity and weight so i can get that all on it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

an irish predator drone...i bet osama is crapping himself...LOL

get one of those 7 inch screens from ebay the lilliput ones from HK, they are only a hundred or so dollars..hell u could even do night vision they are also cheap on ebay...

i hate to pop a bubble tho...can i shoot back at your rc chopper??

hell maybe i could buy one of these..

http://www.redwolfairsoft.com/redwolf/airsoft/ProductDetail?prodID=21874

and one of the sponge based rocket....

so add half a kilo of rubberised matting on the bottom as armour plating. LOL

i was thinking for firing back you could attach an inflated baloon below it, if someone bursts the baloon, the heli has to be landed and taken out of the game....

for now, the cheapo one i ordered is too small and light to lift anything more than a very lightweight camera+transmitter, wouldnt fit anything to fire onto it, but might pick up a semi-decent but not too expensive rc helicopter that could be used to attach aeg internals onto...

an apache attack helicopter would look great, replace the missile launchers on the side with mini grenade launchers and stick an aeg barrel on the front where the machine gun is :D

so anyone know where to get one......i would gladly buy a helicopterand modify it to shoot bb's, ...... if only i knew how

dudes, dont want to get all serious...but you could consider a package approach here and sell the kit on ebay. this is the type of weird idea airsoft thrives on...i could see some of the serious teams interested in off the wall ideas like this...especially for defense...however u would need nearly a 2 man team one to spot and one to fly, so it might reduce your firepower a lot. might be good for those long games some sites run over hours.. a short fast game is too close and personal, it would be too slow to deploy i think..but there is something there...and it fits with military thinking, so the mil sim brigades would eat it up..also the screen i mentioned earlier can be battery powered so you could do all kinds of weird crap like strap it to your arm....

justa thought

dibs on copyright!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Somehow, this seems relevant.

http://gprime.net/video.php/flyinglawnmower

If they can do that, then I've no doubt an AEG could be mounted to an RC Copter/plane.

you could easily build a custom box for the control unit which would have the screen and controls built into it, perfect for one-man operation, of course being able to fly a remote control helicopter would help, some of the really high-end ones look difficult enough to fly, but the cheaper ones use twin main rotors for stability and to make them easier to fly.

there are a fair few possibilities for this alright, but to build something really good (with grenade launchers/aeg/camera), you'd be talking about 500-600 euro at least with about a 50/50 split for RC stuff and airsoft stuff

dibs on copyright!:D

i was hoping to just build my mini-prototype one and bring it down to hrta in a couple of weeks, but now you've gone and spoiled that! :rolleyes:

here is the screen

ebay id number 300109348947

and here is a small camera ...only need 9v battery to operate for the chopper so it is light

ebay id 110127614019

the issue might be a small bb aeg, not to sure of that weight, but a cheapo plastic one might not be too heavy once u strip it down.....hell u could even put a laser sight on it for gods sake LOL

That was the funniest video ever Rabbit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭16airassualt

ive seen loads off really good petrol rc helicopters people were flying down near the popes cross on sunday mornings.if you were realy serious about it babye it would be worth the trip down ther to ask a few questions see the helis in action first hand....heres another idea...rc plane with bb grenades..nd mabye some napalm???:D

jesus i expected to get alot of negetive comments like "it just dosen't fit the airsoft scene" or something like that..... i give the idea to my dad when he gets home from work and see what he thinks

here is the screen

ebay id number 300109348947

and here is a small camera ...only need 9v battery to operate for the chopper so it is light

ebay id 110127614019

the issue might be a small bb aeg, not to sure of that weight, but a cheapo plastic one might not be too heavy once u strip it down.....hell u could even put a laser sight on it for gods sake LOL

only problem with that screen is it needs a 12v power supply, although it is quite a decent size, but also kinda pricy...

on the other hand, i picked up a nice little portable tv with a 2.5" screen and av input here

along with the camera/transmitter unit you posted

although this unit would be great as the screen/receiver is all built into one

jesus i expected to get alot of negetive comments like "it just dosen't fit the airsoft scene" or something like that..... i give the idea to my dad when he gets home from work and see what he thinks

personally i think it fits in perfectly, unless your re-enacting the vietnam war or WW1/2, modern/future warfare includes the use of UAV's, so why shouldnt we do this? especially if your going for the future warrior angle

I wouldnt want to be trying to fly, aim and shoot a bb firing helicopter in the terrain that usually accompanies airsoft is the only thing...

You dont often see people flying their 600e+ choppers in dense woodland unfortunately :(

be grand for outdoor in hrta...

i suppose... the only real place you could use it would be at hrta in the field

EDIT: damn douglas... posted before me :D

even just the camera would be pretty cool for recon, real time in color :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

pretty cool idea alright lads im sure it would lead to some hillarious situations, CR that video was brilliant :p . the small balloon idea would make it fair at least. So ye realy considering this? i hope so

yup just gotta run it by my dad and i'll tell you all if its going ahead:p

tonyj_mc wrote:
    even just the camera would be pretty cool for recon, real time in color :)

yup, thats all im planning on at the moment, but if Irish_Trinity's dad is into RC, he should be able to build a pretty impressive one

my ispiration has been peaked, just ordered a wireless camera on e-bay, add it to my helecopter (200 quid one from gadget shops) see if it works, if it does i'll order a clone AEP and see if they all work together

1. Get 1 RC Plane with no AEG's/camera's etc
    2. Fly it in circles until S.C.O.P.E. is spotted.
    3. Go all kamakazi on S.C.O.P.E's ass.
    4. Roll around on the ground laughing your ass off as S.C.O.P.E goes running for cover.
    5. When S.C.O.P.E complains, tell him you were trying to give him a free haircut so that he didn't have a mowhawk hairstyle anymore.

Just think of the fun....

i shall sabotage it *give devious look

4. Roll around on the ground laughing your ass off as S.C.O.P.E goes running for cover.
    5. When S.C.O.P.E complains, tell him you were trying to give him a free haircut so that he didn't have a mowhawk hairstyle anymore.

Just think of the fun....

i cna see you two are good friends ^_^

the camera is easy enough to do, but is there a way to hook up the trigger switch for the aep to the remote?

i was thinking that if you got a helicopter which had a couple of extra buttons on the remote for things like lights or something, this would be ideal as you would just disconnect the lights and wire it into the trigger contacts instead

lol it would be such an annoyance but id be pissing meself laughing ahving that thing buzzing around :p

i was think about the trigger problem, even a seperate remote from a r/c car maybe you teh front wheel for steering might have enough movement in it to pull the trigger less things to take apart. see if it works like that first maybe, can't wait to get the stuff now, just looking a cheap battery powerde monitor

no movement required, the trigger is just two metal contacts that when you pull the trigger, come into contact and current is allowed flow, you just solder a bit of wire onto the two contacts, and a switch at the other end

very true, good thinking batman

tonyj_mc wrote:
    i was think about the trigger problem, even a seperate remote from a r/c car maybe you teh front wheel for steering might have enough movement in it to pull the trigger less things to take apart. see if it works like that first maybe, can't wait to get the stuff now, just looking a cheap battery powerde monitor

The normal trigger could be replaced completely. Afterall, it's just a matter of touching two electical contacts off each other to trigger the motor.

aye, it'd be pretty simple to hook up a servo from a seperate RC car, they've loads of movement alright, though you'd need to put in the reciever for it also (could run it off the electric's present in the heli already)

unfortuately any heli+remote combo dealy (ie, a non kit setup) isnt going to have any spare channels for you to run superflous things off of - but if you had a nice setup (like some 8 channel jobbie :o ) it'd be pretty straight forward to wire up one of the extra channels off the reciever to the trigger contacts, saving a fair bit of weight in the process (no extra servo + reciever)

i can picture H.R.T.A in a few weeks. 10 of us sitting inside controlling Mini flying Aeg's and having tea whilst we battle :rolleyes:

Lazy Mans airsoft, must actually make a trip out to HRTA do many people go

i cna imagine that

tonyj_mc wrote:
    Lazy Mans airsoft, must actually make a trip out to HRTA do many people go
    yes, normally a minimum of 6-10, upto 20 sometimes....check out the hrta this weekend? thread....
    i can picture H.R.T.A in a few weeks. 10 of us sitting inside controlling Mini flying Aeg's and having tea whilst we battle

just need to invent some sort of auto-flying/aiming/firing heli now and wont even need to turn up, just sit at home and let the heli do all the work

and just watch threw the camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

I have a large piper cub radio controlled nitro plane that i would be happy to modify itno shooting bb's.

that would be cool, is it fast? could be a bitch to aim

reckon you could fit a gearbox in the cockpit and a barrel out the front underneath the prop?

actually, sod that, you want two barrels, on on each wing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

tonyj_mc wrote:
    that would be cool, is it fast? could be a bitch to aim

Around 50 mph. I could definatly mount two aep onto the wings. Anyone wanna sacrafice theres? I'll post a pic later.