Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rice Crispies with Chocolate

• 14-05-2007 2:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭

well, what do you call them?

What do you call them? 144 votes

Rice Crispie Buns
    0% 0 votes
    Rice Crispie Cakes
    100% 144 votes

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

rice crispie cakes, how could they be buns, they have no bun qualities at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

For me, any excuse to say buns is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Choco ricies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Buns, bun shape, so buns and buns are good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

copacetic wrote:
    There made in a bun tray and are bun sized! Cakes have to have happy birthday written on them or at least have icing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭aodhu

Just eat them!!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Buns, obviously.

Anyone using the term cake is mentally deficient and has apparently never seen a cake before. A cake is much bigger than a bun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

fun cakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Wertz wrote:
    Buns, obviously.

Anyone using the term cake is mentally deficient and has apparently never seen a cake before. A cake is much bigger than a bun.

A fairy cake is not bigger than a bun.....

or to start a completely different argument...neithers a Jaffa cake! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 SnoopyDogDog

ScumLord wrote:
    There made in a bun tray and are bun sized! Cakes have to have happy birthday written on them or at least have icing.

Not in my house they are not! and making them in a bun tray would naturally make them bun sized ffs! if you made jelly in a bun tray it'd be bun sized and made in a bun try but it wouldn't be a feckin bun.

clearly rice crsipie cakes don't fit into any type of bun definition:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bun

Rice Crispie BUNS are made in bun cases just like when BUN mixture is put in BUN cases and then onto a BUN tray

the same cases you make fairy cakes in??

exactly!

Eirebear wrote:
    A fairy cake is not bigger than a bun.....

or to start a completely different argument...neithers a Jaffa cake! :D

Yeah but a fairy cake is the English name for a bun. It's just a small cake....the fairy bit is the clue.

Point taken on jaffa cakes though....I think that's for VAT reasons...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I have never even heard the term 'rice crispie cake'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

What a coincidence - got a craving for those and made about 50 of them last night! Rice Crispy buns that is!

Wertz wrote:
    Yeah but a fairy cake is the English name for a bun. It's just a small cake....the fairy bit is the clue.

ah now, fighting dirty. now we are west brit fairies cos we call them cakes?!?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Bun – noun
    1. any of a wide variety of variously shaped bread rolls, usually leavened and slightly sweetened or plain, sometimes containing spices, dried currants, etc.

Cake - noun
    4. a shaped or molded mass of other food.

Rice crispie cakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Wertz wrote:

So what your saying here is that a bun is actually a small cake?!?!
    or that fairy cakes a buns cunningly disguised as english fairies?

Your right about jaffas BTW 'twas for vat reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

its "cakes" yis mad yokes! bun means that it has the spongy sorta stuff, i dunno wat ya'd call it, but the crap thats in fairy cakes n stuff.

ricke crispiy cakes are cakes coz they're chocolate+1. The "+1" can vary, so for example, chocolate plus rice = rice cake....or sumtin. i dunno. but either way, for food to inherit a bun status, they need the bun sponge crap.

the only thing that im shocked at more than the poll results so far, is the fact that trilla hasnt mentioned corn flakes yet!!

Bun – noun
    1. any of a wide variety of variously shaped bread rolls, usually leavened and slightly sweetened or plain, sometimes containing spices, dried currants, etc.

Cake - noun

Rice crispie cakes.

well in with the factual end to the argument smelly. however these bun crazy eejits aren't going to let a little thing like being clearly wrong get in the way or their zealotry!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

The meanings above are useless because:

A) SmellyIrishman picked out the meanings that argued in favour of his choice and left out the others,
    and
    B) it's called a bun because it's like a bun, but made out of rice crispies, not because it's meant to have any of the same ingredients as a normal bun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

**new question**

whats the best way to make rice crispie buns/cakes?..

oh and there definitely buns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭ruprect

Rice Krispie buns, sure you make them in the same paper cases as fairy buns

PlayGirl wrote:
    **new question**

whats the best way to make rice crispie buns/cakes?..

oh and there definitely buns

I don't even care anymore. I just want some :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

And as the young boy looked at the piecemeal written history of the seemingly never-ending war which had ravaged his land for all of his 14 years of life so far, he looked up at his father, and with a tear in his eye asked;
    "Father, what separated our people?"
    to which his father replied.
    "you'd never believe me son, you'd never believe me...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Bun – noun

Cake - noun

Rice crispie cakes.
    +1... It just makes sense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Buns ftw.

Eirebear wrote:
    So what your saying here is that a bun is actually a small cake?!?!
    or that fairy cakes a buns cunningly disguised as english fairies?

Your right about jaffas BTW 'twas for vat reasons

I believe the "fairy" bit pertains to their small size, as with the small stature of the mythical creature.

Someone should really make this an election issue; I'll happily give my no1 to the party that includes in it's mandate, a proposal to enshrine the term "bun" as the definition for any concoction primarily made up of puffed rice and cooking chocalate and issue on-the-spot fines to people who refer to them as "cakes"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

humanji wrote:
    A) SmellyIrishman picked out the meanings that argued in favour of his choice and left out the others,
    and

Actually, I just wanted to save you the bother of reading, but here you go, take your pick.

bun1–noun
    2. hair gathered into a round coil or knot at the nape of the neck or on top of the head in certain coiffures.
    3. buns, Slang. the buttocks.

However, in my en devour to further justify my opinion on this worthy cause I did stumble across this from Oxford.

bun • noun 1 a small cake or bread roll.

So it would seem that the name is situational, depending on the size of your crispie object, but ultimately, all rice crispie objects are the children of cakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭dan_y

cocoa pops

Actually, I just wanted to save you the bother of reading, but here you go, take your pick.

bun1–noun
    2. hair gathered into a round coil or knot at the nape of the neck or on top of the head in certain coiffures.
    3. buns, Slang. the buttocks.

However, in my en devour to further justify my opinion on this worthy cause I did stumble across this from Oxford.

bun • noun 1 a small cake or bread roll.

So it would seem that the name is situational, depending on the size of your crispie object, but ultimately, all rice crispie objects are the children of cakes.

HAH! We're all wrong!
    BUN: blood urea nitrogen: the concentration of nitrogen in the blood in the form of urea, indicating kidney function

So remember that when you're munching into one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

Wertz wrote:
    Buns, obviously.

QFT!
    Buns all the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Its clearly a bun. Anybody who says "rice crispy cake" is asking for a slap.

I think this issue could tear boards apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I have never even heard the term 'rice crispie cake'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Rice Crispie Cake ftw!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I always called them Rice Krispie Buns, never called them cakes. They are too small to be called a cake anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Definitely Rice Krispie / Corn Flake Cakes... Never heard anyone call them buns. That's just weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Cakes go hard when they go off.

It was a big thing for MacVities [sp?] with the Jaffa cakes. They used this as a basis for getting jaffa cakes classes as cakes for importing/exporting. Afaik, someone tried to class them as biscuits which had a higher vat price but they proved they were cakes as they went hard when they went off.

So, do these rice krispies kids delights go hard or soft when they go off?

Winters wrote:

Kid's delights? Don't tell me kelloggs have tried to say they invented these things and that this is some sort of branding.
    Everyone knows their mother invented these especially for them when they were little.

Well rice crispies go soft when they stale up, dunno if the chocolate changes that...they never last long enough to find out really.

But it's still a bun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

ScumLord wrote:
    they are made in Queen Cake trays, or else you'd be calling them muffins... let's call them rice krispie muffins :)

Winters wrote:
    Cakes go hard when they go off.

It was a big thing for MacVities [sp?] with the Jaffa cakes. They used this as a basis for getting jaffa cakes classes as cakes for importing/exporting. Afaik, someone tried to class them as biscuits which had a higher vat price but they proved they were cakes as they went hard when they went off.

surely buns go hard when they go off?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

copacetic wrote:
    surely buns go hard when they go off?

So do cakes.

Its Rice Krispies, and Kellogs calls them 'Rice Krispie treats' (Though this can also be applied to Rice Krispies made with marshmellows too)

And don't call me shirley :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

Buns!

When I saw the title of the thread I couldnt even imagine what any other option would be. I'm also really craving one right now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

copacetic wrote:

They so do! They are small and compact.. to me cakes are big and round and substantial.

Rice Krispie Buns all the way! :)

Peteee wrote:
    So do cakes.

Its Rice Krispies, and Kellogs calls them 'Rice Krispie treats' (Though this can also be applied to Rice Krispies made with marshmellows too)

And don't call me shirley :p

i was calling winters shirley.

and it was his argument that they weren't cakes cos cakes go hard, when buns do too, which makes it a bit of a silly argument. which is out of place here cos all the other arguments are so serious and meaningful..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

Hmm buns I think... actually I'm not sure any more. This thread is confusing me :(