Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pay to park?????

• 12-05-2007 11:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭

Hi all
    I have been tempted to ask my local council as regards this issue but dont fancy being laughed out of the office, so i thought i'd try here first(at least if im laughed at here noboby will see me squirm with embarrassment!!)

Right, I live in a town where there is paid parking in operation- its only 25c per hour(i think), which is dirt cheap but should motorcyclists have to pay it?

I very rarely use it but on the couple of occasions that i have i pulled up beside the warden and asked if i had to put a disc on it-the first guy told me no as i wasnt taking up much space(back wheel to kerb) the second guy told me he'd give me 5 mins-any longer he'd book me.

The way i see it if i HAVE to put a disc on it then id probably park horizontal to the kerb(!!)

Anyways- do you guys 'pay and display', if so where do you stick the parking disc(no replies involving wardens and ar$es please!!:D )-how can the warden disprove it, if you said you had a disc and that it blew away or was taken off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭The Doktor

I have never ever, ever, ever paid for parking on my bike ...ever. ;)

I also never ever ever intend to pay..ever

Where do you put the disk? Where could they put the ticket?... and if some even touches my bike the alarm goes off.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

There's no where to put a disc, so you can't be expected to pay. Anyone could just take it off for their cars. I always park on a footpath, never any problems, i don't think people even notice bikes parked on paths.

I live in Cork and have never ever paid for parking, just park on the footpath or somewhere that wont get in anyone's way and you should be fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Bradidup

I believe Dundrum Shopping Centre charges bikes the same rate as cars.
    If anyone is charged in a place like this they are entitled to take up a whole car parking space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,537 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

In Dublin City Council's pay and display spaces, it is illegal to park a motorcycle in them even if the parking is paid for!

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭chasm

Thanks guys,
    So obviously it isnt such a silly idea to go in to the council and ask what their policy is as regards motorbikes and pay and display then. At least id know for sure and not have to depend on the mood of the warden on the day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Motorbikes can be parked on footpaths provided no obstruction is created.

No, they can't.
    It's illegal to park any vehicle on a footpath, and that includes pushbikes...
    But generally it's tolerated within reason.
    I got a parking ticket on my first motorbike though. All bikes in the area were done that day.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Had a friend get a parking ticket for parking his bike on a path. He'd been parking there for years and continued to do so after he got it. Never got another one though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

my wife got a parking ticket a few years ago on her Vespa T5. She parked on path near work, where she's parked for years.

She moved to a different spot, down an alley, inside a bollard, against a wall. One day, there was a handwritten note, on Corpo headed paper, in caps(:rolleyes: ), saying 'NO MOTORBIKES' on path...........or similar........

Then, one Fri eve, we went to a multistorey car park (part owned by Corpo), and were verbally abused by the staff saying 'no ****ing motorbikes'.........so we did what all rational people would do. We knocked off the bikes, at the barrier...........and sat there. Eventually the queue of cars meant they had to let us in. We took up a full space - 2 bikes, one ticket - did our shopping, and then went in search of the manager. He was most apologetic, and went to rollock the staff, and gave us an f.o.c. ticket to leave. He did say, though that the beams on the exit probably wouldn't work for the bikes, and that they'd be opened manually. You should have seen the face on the plaidhc who had to do it..........after his rollocking, of course :D

We didn't pay the fine, and wrote to the council, explaining that we were refused entry to a public car park, and asking for a list of motorcycle spaces........naturally, there were none.

Ticket died.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

^ great story, fair play for complaining.
    Bradidup wrote:
    I believe Dundrum Shopping Centre charges bikes the same rate as cars.
    and i used to pay it until christmas last year!
    was behind the queue of cars waiting to get in to the tesco car park and one of the parking attendants/security came over (I thought he was goin to say no bikes!). He pointed to the smoking area/trolley bay and said I could park there if i wanted. (therefore bypassing the barriers and passing between the bollards) have been doin that ever since and not paying. no one has ever said anything to me.

re parking in the st, as our friend ninja900 has said, its illegal to park in council spaces but in the event you were fined for for onstreet parking and not paying and displaying, challenge it. It wouldnt stand up in court. someone could have taken the ticket from your bike (if it had been attached, ahem) plus you can argue there aint anywhere else safe to park

Faceman, the offence isn't not paying and displaying, it's parking a motorcycle in a pay and display space!
    Even if there was a valid ticket still attached to your bike, you're breaking the law.
    In between the pay and display spaces in Dublin city centre, there are a few motorbike spaces between bollards, but usually taken up by bicycles and it would be difficult to get a bike with panniers into them. Badly thought out and badly done.
    We're far better off with the current blind-eye-if-no-obstruction-and-garda's-wife-put-out-last-night approach ;)

Yeah, i like the fact that we're ignored sometimes. It's great that we can park anywhere, just don't take the piss, and park on a wide footpath.
    A council guy on newstalk said we can officially park an any bicycle parking area in the city. Presumably the one on the centre of o'connell street is the exception.
    Actually, anyone know why motorcycles aren't allowed to park there?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

^ i think there was a thread on the o'connell street rubbish before and unless im mistaken no one was aware of anyone who was ever done for parking there

nonetheless, the signs were never there before but went up last year I think.
    The Corpo messed up by getting granite that was too light in colour (It'll look like total sh1te in a few years with gum etc.) and they think we all ride old Brit bikes and leave oil slicks everywhere...
    When was the last time you saw a parked bike leave oil behind?
    Yet that was the reason given.

IMHO they made a right b*ll*x of the whole O'Connell St. job, cutting down mature trees and replacing them with sticks, making the kerbs far too low with no change in colour making it impossible for pedestrians to see when they're walking into the road. Already one person has died because of their incompetence and unfortunately they won't be the last.

At least the low kerbs make it easier to park your bike in the no parking area:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

In the short stay carpark at dublin airport, does anyone pay to park their bike. I may need to do it next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I've never tried it myself but someone told me that in Cork city centre the motorcycle parking spaces are free. It's handy for him 'cause his bike has enough storage boxes to dump all his gear in. He can just ride into Patrick's Street and spend the day in town for free.

Same guy warned me against parking on the footpath. A traffic warden can't give you a ticket on the footpath. A Guard probably can, but wouldn't bother. The worst thing is that if your bike falls on someone - you're liable. He said he heard of ****ers knocking it down on top of themselves.

In the short stay carpark at dublin airport, does anyone pay to park their bike. I may need to do it next week

No but it's a major theft area

There are 3 bike parking spaces on Patrick Street in Cork, all free to use, also a much bigger one on the south mall by the bridge,always empty of bikes cos its further out if the city centre, so a**holes in cars are always parking there. There always a fazer parked on the footpath outside the chemists on the grand parade and a couple of scooters parked outside mc donalds on the path and they never seem to get any hassle from traffic guys or the gaurds.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 294 ✭✭XJR

I never ever pay for parking and don't intend to. In Dublin I park on the central island on O'Connell St or as close to my destination as humanly possible - usually right out side.

The first time I drove to the Airport I parked in the Short term car park for two weeks and when I was leaving I was told to just go out the exit that the tour buses used and not bother paying. Happy Days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

there are a couple of spaces in limerick.
    i dont think the wardens or gardai take ant notice of them on the st but i'm sure they wouldn't be impressed with u parking on the st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

ninja900 wrote:
    In Dublin City Council's pay and display spaces, it is illegal to park a motorcycle in them even if the parking is paid for!
    But at the same time, motorcycles don't have to pay. Note the bye-laws are silent on motorcycle with side car (not that you see many these days).
    chasm wrote:
    Right, I live in a town where there is paid parking in operation- its only 25c per hour(i think), which is dirt cheap but should motorcyclists have to pay it?
    What do the bye-laws say? What town is it?
    Paparazzo wrote:
    A council guy on newstalk said we can officially park an any bicycle parking area in the city. Presumably the one on the centre of o'connell street is the exception.
    Actually, anyone know why motorcycles aren't allowed to park there?
    I think its because all the motorbikes used to park there and took away from the street.

There is motorbike parking on Princes Street North and on Burgh Quay at the O'Connell Bridge corner.

460_0___30_0_0_0_0_0_torchedmoped.jpg

Victor wrote:
    I think its because all the motorbikes used to park there and took away from the street.
    in whose opinion?
    Compared to Burger King, Carrolls, Playland etc. that's pretty bloody rich.
    There is motorbike parking on Princes Street North and on Burgh Quay at the O'Connell Bridge corner.
    Both of which are grossly inadequate and Princes St is exposed to reversing vans backing into you. Both of them are much better than the centre of O Connell St from the point of view of vandals and thieves.
    That was courtesy of the Love Ulster march riots. What point if any are you trying to make here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭smoc

Victor wrote:

Just get Fire and Theft I guess. Otherwise why bother paying for parking???? - especially if its for work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭gipi

I passed Princes St parking area at lunchtime last week and saw 4 youngsters hanging round (2 sitting on) a Marauder. One was trying to turn the handlebars (testing the steering lock?). I'm sure none of them were the registered owner of the vehicle :rolleyes:

I'm glad it wasn't my Marauder!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You'd think Princes St would be safe considering there are gardai always stationed outside the GPO.
    Could it be organized that the garda on duty takes a quick glance at Princes St every 10 minutes or so?

But then most scumbags have no fear of the law and can rack 20 plus convictions like a badge of honour :mad: